??!
2 photos
Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ70

Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ70

MPN: 35905659
2.8 from 13 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
5

Fran

FranGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Best camera ever

published

Unable to carry heavy cameras anymore, I bought my first Lumix, loved it and upgraded. Mostly take seascapes and seabirds, that need minimal editing and are used for publication. People are amazed by the zoom in such a small camera and the quality of my pictures. Am looking forward to upgrading to a TZ90 next.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Awesome picture

published

Bought this camera from a relative 2 years ago who had it for about year themselves, picture quality is perfect. Any reviews saying otherwise either needs their eyes checked or have a faulty unit. Optical zoom is really good at 30x. Had a Nikon before this but the shutter broke but the images were really grainy. Would highly recommend if it is still available.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Jen

JenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a good experience- but a silver lining

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
John L

John LSouth of Adelaide

  • Verified purchase

Extremely disappointed. Not fit for purpose

published

Camera has an intermittent fault where the screen blanks out, also has trouble with focus if zoom is used in sunset mode. Purchased from Diamonds in Adelaide, they would not go in to bat for me at all in terms of replacement, however agreed to send back to Panasonic which they did. Unsurprisingly it came back with Panasonic saying they could not replicate the faults. Also (equally unsurprising) when the camera came back to me the faults remained
Panasonic warranty is not worth the paper it is written on and from now on I will never purchase another of their products, and also I will never again purchase from Diamonds.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Pushka

Pushka

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great camera. Excellent photos.

published

I write travel reports and use this camera to post. I get frequent comments on how good the camera is. I have no idea why people are rating it so poorly. Makes no sense to me. I really enjoy using it. I give it 5 stars. It's compact and easily used.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Very poor

published

Delivered today. Going back tomorrow. Tested it and I'm shocked. I'm so shocked my One plus 3T picture quality is better than the 70's intelligent Auto. This camera is really poor.... I honestly couldn't believe it. I also recorded some Video the sound is poor. I took some zooms with it. Then with my Cannon powershot. On my cannon you can read the make of padlock easily on the shed at the bottom of my garden. On the 70 it's just a blur. Impossible to read. It's absolutely poor. All the reviews giving it 9 out of 10 and 4.5 out of 5. OMG. The Google Pixle phone has a better camera than my phone. It would kill the Panasonic. And you can save directly to the cloud no need to WIFI. Etc Etc.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Kathy

KathyNorthern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very disappointed.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Emily W

Emily W

  • 3 reviews

Great little point and shoot

published

Disappointed

published

I bought this camera after my previous canon failed based on reading many reviews highlighting great technical specs. Like another reviewer here, I am about to go on an overseas trip and cannot risk taking this camera due to the high likelihood of poor looking photos. As per other comments, some photos look blurry with washed out, water colour looking effects. Does not seem to handle bright / dark contrasts well, either saturated or too dark. Just returned from remote hiking trip and deleted a lot of treasured memories captured in totally useless photos. Waste of money. Oh and I'm already on the second unit after the first one failed (luckily on the last day of the holiday) and was replaced.

ajc890

ajc890

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best ever Compact Camera

published

I bought this after seeing results from a friend's DMC-TZ70.
Has the option of 30 x Optical Zoom at 12Mp or 60 x Optical Zoom at 5Mp. I was amazed at the clarity of the photo at 60 x Optical Zoom HANDHELD. I could clearly make out figures 4Km away.
The camera has excellent low light features.
I am not a photography expert but the results from this camera using the INTELLIGENT AUTO are brilliant.
Camera is great for all round use and excellent to take on holidays.


HONEST JOE

HONEST JOEAU

  • 17 reviews
  • 17 likes

First time let down by Panasonic

published

Trilaze

TrilazeBentleigh East

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Sooo... disappointed

published

Davis

DavisQueensland

  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very disappointed! Abnormal Colour tint!

published

Questions & Answers

Fran

Franasked

I am on my third Lumix (TZ70) and love it, especially for seascapes and sea bird pics. However, the red button for the video often turns on being too close and by the time I turn it off, the bird has flown. Is there any way to immobilise that button? People keep asking what I am using because the pics are so good. am amazed by the negative reviews above.

No answers

Pam

Pamasked

Second camera where the zoom fails. Any zoom issues known to be common?

3 answers
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Pam, no common issues with the zoom failing. The only thing we would suggest is you ensure there is no dust on the lens as you retract it into place.

Kathy
Kathy

Buy Canon! Never an issue have one for personal use and 2 for work and all are just fantastic
My daughter is now a convert and has 2 also and can’t believe it’s taken her so long to see the light!

John L
John L

Mine still has intermittent faults (read my review), if I was you I'd just forget Panasonic and go for Canon as Kathy has suggested
I've had numerous Canon cameras over the years and no problems at all, still have a 40D that is perfect after many years of sterling service and a good old Ixus 80 that has been battered and abused all over the world and never missed a beat
In purchasing the Panasonic TZ70 I was after a point and shoot camera that would provide a better image quality than the (very basic) Ixus 80, wishing I had stuck to Canon...........


Sammy the Sausage Dog

Sammy the Sausage Dogasked

I was just about to buy a Lumix TZ70, but quite a range of opinions given your experiences. If you guys were to get a camera in the same price range range as the Lumix, what would be your choice ?

4 answers
Edge
Edge

I hated that camera so much i threw it in the closet and bought a Sony HX90V - love it.

Thanks Edge. What was so bad about it ?

Kathy
Kathy

If I were you I'd go for a completely different brand of camera. I bought a TZ70 and it is a lemon. Had it back twice to get fixed still not fixed. Contacted Panasonic they gave me another contact number and said it would cost more again. So disappointed and annoyed. This was not a cheap camera and it cost me $220 for repairs not that anything was done.


Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Details

CategoryCompact Cameras
Price (RRP)$549
NFCYes
GPSNo
Megapixels12.1
Optical Zoom30x
Video QualityFull HD
Height64.6mm
Width110.7mm
Depth34.4mm
Weight243g
Wi-FiYes
Replaced byPanasonic Lumix DMC-TZ80

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: 35905659
  • GTIN13: 5025232817511 and 8887549592041

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.