??!
2 photos
Panasonic RF-D10GN

Panasonic RF-D10GN

MPN: RFD10GNK
4.6 from 10 reviews

Reviews

4.6

10 reviews
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Previous
Next
Fishy1979

Fishy1979South-East, TAS

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Wowsers!

published

So I picked this radio based on 4 things:
1. Have always had good experiences with panasonic
2. This unit has a good size speaker (10cm in this case) so a small tinny sound could be avoided
3. Needed to be DAB+ (future friendly)
4. Previous reviews

So off I go and buy this, get it home, unbox, plug it in - unit auto scans for DAB+ channels, you can then scroll through each of them and 2 clicks to save them to a preset. The unit was setup from the out of the box in under 5 minutes.
The build and sound quality are faultless.
I honestly do not recall anything in recent times being this easy and such good quality. I was hesitant to pay $119.00 for a radio, but I think this unit is worth every cent.
Highly recommend this product!

Purchased in March 2020 at The Good Guys for A$119.00.

1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Fishy, thanks for taking the time to provide your great review and share your setup experience.

Tim W

Tim WSydney, NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Love it, great portable radio

published

Bought this for the bedroom.
This radio has DAB and FM but no AM.
Also has a built in clock, alarm clock and lots of user friendly features like the light doesn't stay on all the time (it turns off after 10 seconds). Also has a sleep function.
You can also store up to 10 preset stations.
As a bonus you can run this on batteries or AC power. Handy if you have a blackout, just remember to buy some batteries.
The DAB radio is great because there are lots of different channels on DAB.
Sound quality is pretty good.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for A$99.00.

1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Tim, thank you for taking the time to provide your great review. Thanks you for also pointing out the great features with this model.

Warren

WarrenMacArthur 2904, ACT

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect portable radio

published

Upgraded my old Portable radio to this new digital one for today’s range of radio stations, this has excellent coverage and sound quality is very good. Just the right size for my kitchen bench top. Can also run on batteries to take away.

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys for A$99.00.

1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Warren, thanks for taking the time to provide the feedback in relation to your perfect portable radio! We appreciate your 5 star review.

Digital Radios

Find out how Panasonic RF-D10GN compares to other Digital Radios

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not meant for Portable Use

published

I purchased this radio on 10th August 2019, and today (13th September) I have just replaced the batteries for the 3rd time. Clearly this radio is not designed to really be a portable product. It is ridiculous to have a radio that requires new batteries every 2 weeks yet market it as portable.
The sound is clear, so now I am resigned to having to place this radio in an awkward spot in my house, simply to be able to plug it in to a power point.
I am very disappointed.
My very old truly portable radio only required batteries about once a year - sadly I gave it to charity when I purchased this one.
Think twice if you do really want a portable radio.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$119.00.

2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Faye
Faye
Roben

RobenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Just what I wanted.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
BOSTON

BOSTONWaterloo

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

Able to preset 10 FM and 10 DAB stations. Excellent sound and reception in a difficult reception area.Easy to preset stations and operate and can run on AC or 2D batteries. Excellent value at $99 at The Good Guys. Minimum adjustments needed to get the best reception. Overall a great buy!

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Well made portable DAB/FM radio

published

this radio was a replacement for the Pure One radio.The Panasonic is larger and heavier but the build quality is substantially better and uses 4 C cell rechargeable batteries(not supplied with the radio). The mono sound is very good and as I mainly use it in the bathroom(where it must be battery powered) I am very happy with the performance. Complaints about poor battery life are a bit unfair because all DAB portable radios have higher power consumption and rechargeable batteries are always recommended. Use of disposable batteries will cost more.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
JC_1972

JC_1972Western Australia, 6031

  • 7 reviews

Great sound from the size that it is.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 60 reviews

Great radio...except for one thing

published
Digital Radios

Find out how Panasonic RF-D10GN compares to other Digital Radios

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mick Gags

Mick GagsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Crystal Clear

published

After looking for weeks for a decent digital radio I came across this Panasonic RF-D10 and I was floored by the quality of the sound the appearance the reception and unbelievable power of its volume
Even on full volume there was no distortion. Plus heaps of other features too many to mention!
The other manufacturers should sit up and take notice
Well done Panasonic 10/10

Questions & Answers

Sonia Z.

Sonia Z.asked

Can you listen to AM radio in Australia on this device?

3 answers
Tim W
Tim W

No AM.
It’s DAB and FM only.

Fishy1979
Fishy1979

As Tim has mentioned, AM band is not supported on this device, however, my favourite station (ABC Radio) has exclusively been AM for many years but recently added their broadcast to DAB+ which was the whole reason I bought this device. If you have a specific AM channel you like, might be worth seeing if they also broadcast in DAB or DAB+ now. I think most radio stations are doing this now.

Sonia Z.
Sonia Z.

Thank you both!

Howie

Howieasked

can you use rechargeable C batteries with the Panasonic RF-D10 radio?

1 answer
Roben
Roben

There is no reason why you could not use rechargeable batteries, Howie. However, you would have to remove them from the radio and charge them in a charger which is separate from the radio.

Sylvan Bonett

Sylvan Bonettasked

Does this have an earphone plug input?

3 answers
Faye
Faye

there is a space for a round plug to be inserted. don't know if that would work with an earphone. Don't be fooled by the "portable" wording. The battery life is only approx. 30 hours, which is useless if you are camping or even away for the weekend. I had to replace batteries every 2 weeks, after just using the radio for a couple of hours in the morning. Now I have it plugged into an outlet, meaning it is not portable. That's not convenient for me.

Roben
Roben

Yes it does have an earphone plug input. It's the common 3.5mm one and it works well.

Roben
Roben

Re the batteries. I had no intention of using it with batteries and have never done so. On DAB I have noticed that other radios I have had use batteries in a short time. My radio is permanently plugged into 240V in the kitchen. It is excellent at quickly and easily swapping between the 3 stations I usually listen to.

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.