5 photos
Pyrex Basic Glass Storage

Pyrex Basic Glass Storage

4.1 from 27 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.1

27 reviews
Previous
Next
Tiziana
TizianaSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews

The lids are bad quality

published

The glass containers are great but the lids are really poor quality. Mine all got ruined pretty quickly - and I wash by hands plus I don’t use the microwave. I wish there was an easier system to get replacements or, better, they were made to last longer

Purchased in March 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Love the Storage containers but the lids just keep decreasing in value! Cheap poor quality lids.

published

Actually LOVE these and used to have the blue lids for my glass bowls and rectangular storage pieces, but had to replace at Pyrex outlet with White lids and that plastic is cheap and gets brittle too quickly. The old blue lids lasted longer were more rubber like and not so easily broken after just a few uses. I'm shopping on line now for replacement lids - my current set only lasted about a year whereas the originals lasted 10 years and the ones after that about 5 years - now we're down to super cheap lids that only last a year!!!

Purchased in May 2019 at burlington, WA Outlet Mall.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Thehonestreviewer
Thehonestreviewer
  • 48 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love them

published

Easy to store away, no messy tubs everywhere I bought the rectangular set and I want to buy one more set. I love them they mahe the cupboard and fridge look neat.

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W Retail Stores.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Food Storage Containers

Find out how Pyrex Basic Glass Storage compares to other Food Storage Containers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ken
KenSydney, NSW
  • 62 reviews
  • 69 likes

Pyrex Glass Storage - Lids of Poor Quality materials - make them useless

published

I have purchased about all different shapes of Pyrex Glass Storage containers for food storage (Hot or Cold), they are good but the Lids are made out of poor quality Plastics that become brittle over time. Pyrex do not supply the replacement Lids to their distributors or retailers. Some upmarket replacement lids available but they are almost half the price of the complete continuers. Hence User has no alternatives but to through these away - Increasing the Environmental Junk and Pollution along with depleting resources.

Pyrex with such a reputation it is shame that they filed to consider the quality or to provide replacement Lids at Reasonable costs.

Purchased in January 2019 at Victoria's Basement Physical stores for $100.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
annazianna
annaziannaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 43 reviews
  • 8 likes

Useful and durable

published

I use their glass cooking bowls alot for things like keeping chopped onions or tomatoes next to the pan on the stove. They are very useful and unlike the plastic ones don't keep the smells on them. I particularly like the items in their watercolour range which seem to have become collectors items now. Would recommend.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Ash Australia
Ash AustraliaCanberra
  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Love, Love, Love

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Harris Scarfe for $50.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Ben
BenSydney, NSW
  • 35 reviews
  • 16 likes

5 stars for the glass, 1 for the lid

published

If only the lids lasted half as long as the bowls themselves.

The lids are just not durable, they crack and fail after only a tiny fraction of the bowl's life. Seems such a waste to resort to cling-wrap, or worse to throw the whole lot out, when the lids fail. I now have some Decor glass containers, the lids seem a lot more durable - here's hoping...

Purchased in January 2016.

Incentivised ReviewNo
DRos
DRosSydney
  • 9 reviews

Safe to use in Microwave !

published

I use both the Pyrex Glass storage and the plastic ones. But I always use the pyrex glass containers to re heat food in microwave as I read that there are possibly some harmful effects of using the plastic containers. They are easy to wash as well and do not get stained either like plastic ones.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Sandra
SandraSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Lids will fail, but replacement available in Sydney.

published

I have every size that Pyrex make in these storage containers. They have never been near the microwave, nor do I use a dishwasher, yet the lids break and will not seal. Even worse, replacement lids seem to be unavailable within Australia, and the only source I can find is to import them from the US at an unrealistic price. Very disappointed.

I am adding an update to my review. Only in the last few months have the agents for Pyrex imported replacement lids which are readily available in Sydney, Australia. Agents address is:
World Kitchen
29-31 O'Riordan St
Alexandria NSW
Ph: 02 9699 2470

They also stock a comprehensive range of Pyrex and Corelle products. A store worth visiting.

Date PurchasedApr 2012
Food Storage Containers

Find out how Pyrex Basic Glass Storage compares to other Food Storage Containers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Antoinette
AntoinetteLake Macquarie
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Bad lids

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Frankie
FrankieAlburry
  • 23 reviews
  • 7 likes

Perfect!

published

What I really like about this product is its design. Since the containers are made from glass, not plastic, they can be safely used when you're reheating using a microwave. They're also easier to cleaner compared to plastic containers.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
LittleGirlBlue
LittleGirlBlueVIC, 3089
  • 19 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great healthy storage containers

published

These are really versatile storage containers. I love that they don't stain when tomato based foods are kept in them. I've never had a problem with them absorbing smells either.
They are really strong - I've never chipped any, and they get treated pretty roughly in this house. Pyrex make great quality products.
Strong, environmentally friendly food storage
Heavy and can be difficult to store if you have a mixture of shapes.

Rockn
RocknVictoria, 3030
  • 36 reviews
  • 9 likes

versatile and strong.

published

These storage containers are great, because they are made from glass and not plastic, they are healthier to use in the microwave when reheating or cooking. you can use them to make packet pastas or heat up spaghetti, or leftovers.
They also come with an easy to put on and take off lid which does not leak, so you can take your food with you.
There are a range of sizes to suit all occasions.
I found they didn't stain, or retain any smell from cooking, and easy to clean.
easy to clean, don't smell, versatile, great for taking food with you

nataliepr
natalieprNSW, 2111
  • 54 reviews
  • 1 like

Good

published
1 comment
TheFamilyMan
TheFamilyMan
Sada
SadaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 676 reviews
  • 114 likes

Excellent

published

This is a great product which gets a lot of usage in my kitchen. I use it nearly daily to keep food in and to serve in as well. I use it in the dishwasher, I put the lid on the top shelf and the glass container in the bottom shelf. This product comes in a couple of colours, dark blue and red and also in rounds and rectangles. It also comes in various sizes too. Overall, its a great product for food storage, but you just have to be a bit careful because of the glass.
This is a lovely storage product. It can be easily cleaned in the dishwasher and it can be used in the microwave too.
It is made out of glass, so I think it can be break, so that risk is always there because there are no handles to hold onto.

Food Storage Containers

Find out how Pyrex Basic Glass Storage compares to other Food Storage Containers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 00071160040236, 00071160101708, 00071160173965, 00071160173972, 00071160173989, 00071160174009, 00071160174719 and 00071160218581

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.