??!
5 photos
Quantum Energy AC4 Series

Quantum Energy AC4 Series

Compact 270L, Compact 340L, Titan Compact 340L, etc...
2.5 from 56 reviews

Reviews

(15)
(6)
(1)
(5)
(29)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.1 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (8)
  • Noise Level
    1.9 (7)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.0 (7)
  • Heating Speed
    2.2 (6)
  • Smells of GasYes (1) · No (8)

System keeps acting up

published

Had this repaired over 5 time already in the past 2 years. With that amount of money may a well have spent it on another hot water system. Customer service was not helpful at all either. Would not recommend this brand to anyone.

Purchased in March 2015 at Quantum Quartz WK for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
allison

allisonPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Avoid quantum titan heat 340lt .. poor warrantee service

published

Purchased in June 2015 for $3,289.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
See all answers

Terrible

published

installed Nov 2017, and the compressor has blown up, no hot water over weekend and no customer service contact, finally tech turns up to say compressor needs replacing and has to come from the East ... what the? could be a week or more>...... never again ridiculous unreliable clearly everyone's compressor are blowing up so wouldn't you have some available within the STATE !!!!!

Purchased in November 2017 for $2,700.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Quantum Energy AC4 Series compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The Heat pump failed after 15 months

published

The compressor died after 15 months still in warranty and the service to have the part replaced is completely terrible with still waiting no tracking or timeline when it will arrive or be fixed for Hot Water no answer on 1800 number only voicemail

Purchased in January 2018 at Plummber for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Will it work tomorrow?

published

1 year old and it is a boat anchor.
The customer service from these people is appalling. The attitude is to blame the installer, the circuit breaker, the process of contacting them and even Telstra!
The product is noisy and intrusive in the summer months when unit cuts in and out throughout the night. we have to close off the windows on the side of the house that the heater is located to shut out the noise.

Purchased in August 2018 at Quantum for $3,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
ozchippy

ozchippyGippsland, VIC

  • 11 reviews

OUCH!! stung again

published

Apparently a short life span on these units seems quite common. Ours is not even 5 years old and now dead. I had a perfectly operational element unit removed to be replaced with this. Disappointed would be an understatement, it feels as though I have been conned by a travelling salesman. Save your money and by something with a good reputation.

Purchased in September 2014.

Smells of GasNo
gundy

gundyPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Piece of cow manure

published

Purchased unit in Nov 2015 now May 2019 the compressor dies of course only two year warranty what a waste of money and time. Would never recommend this product to anyone

Purchased in November 2015 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Elena

ElenaSydney, NSW

Biggest paperweight ever. It should be illegal to sell such a low quality product

published

Installed mid 2016. Started infernal noise late 2018. Out of warranty after 2 years. $120 for technician to tell me it will cost $1100 to replace the compressor which comes with a maximum 1 year warranty

Heat pump was the another dodgy choice made by the builder.

I'm having this piece of scrap metal removed today and replaced with something realiable and hence truly energy efficient in the long run.

I can't believe installation of such a piece of rubbish counts towards basix points. What a dumb box ticking exercise.

Purchased in June 2016 for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
See all answers

Terrible

published

Sold to us as being a quality product 3.5 years after being installed compressor is dead $1100.00 to replace go with a quality brand quantum is not quality at all

Purchased in April 2015 for $3,300.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Quantum Energy AC4 Series compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brian

BrianHunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

One of the most efficient heat pumps

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Sharbo

SharboRiverland

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don’t bother

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Deborah Kinglake

Deborah KinglakeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Had mine for 13 years Fantastic!

published

Hi I've had my Large quantum heater for 13 years, sometimes does 10 showers a day and it's freezing here in winter. But you have reminded me to check it and get it re- Gassed suggested by a plumber years ago.
Looking at all the complaints wonder if different models have more problems??
Also only paid about 1400 a rebate on $5000,
really it's done well

Date PurchasedMar 2004

You would be a fool to buy one of these

published

Just over 7 and a half years old. Came highly recommended by an energy advising company. Would last between ten and twenty. A heath pump hot water system apparently is still a economically great system, but our Quantum system has completely rusted through, leaking everywhere. Was sold as a top brand. Do yourself a big favour, buy a different brand!

Date PurchasedFeb 2010

Not Happy Chappie

published

We purchased a 340L heat pump in 2011 cost was $5000 less rebates. After six year it has developed a gas leak and we are told it is not repairable. Expensive unit for over 6 years. We won't go back there again. Reviews were on the good side six years ago - now negative comments override the favourable ones.
Graeme

Date PurchasedOct 2011
Fivedays

FivedaysAU

  • 13 reviews

Works well but is noisy

published
Date PurchasedMar 1999
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Quantum Energy AC4 Series compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rob

robadelaide

inferred warranty

published

If you want a quantum product don't expect more than 5 years use out of it.. Ours started rusting within twelve months, and they won't even reply to emails or phones calls. They assured me it we would get ten to fifteen years use, out of the over four grands worth of heater, we got less than six years.. This is one Company I would steer well clear of, if you want a reliable honest deal. It definitely won't be from them..

Date PurchasedNov 2011
Rob

Robadelaide sa

  • 8 reviews

One word!.. DONT

published

Quantum is the most ignorant Co. I have ever had the misfortune to deal with, They don't back up their products, they NEVER return promised calls or answer emails.. I would use cold water before wasting money on their products. Treating customers who have spent hard earned money on their heat pumps, the way they do is nothing short of disgusting..

Date PurchasedNov 2011
1 comment
Rob
Rob

Quantum Heat Pump

published

Just received a letter dated 23/12/16 saying that my Quantum Heat Pump is now ten year old and that it might require additional service or replacement. When is is replaced, it will NOT be with a Quantum product. I have had to spend a fortune on repairs ---$247.50 on 5/4/13, $375 on 21/3/14, and $700 on 6/5/15. My previous off-peak service went 19 years without a call out

Date PurchasedSep 2007
omer

omer

  • 2 reviews

Awesome investment, Highly recommeded

published

I had a gas storage hot water system. The gas bill was so high upto 300 dollar. I have get plumber to install the quantum heat pump hot water system. 270L. I am so happy. My electric bill does not gone high as I was afraid of and my gas bill gone low to 40 dollars. This product is very reliable and highly recommended.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Not worth the money

published

First impressions were good. Good savings on power bill after an initial outlay of $4500.00 it had just paid for its self after 6 a d a half years.
We fisr noticed our water pump cutting in and out a short an regular intervals, thinking we need to replace our pump after 20 years (can live with that) we then noticed a leak in our heat pump. Need a new heater there goes the savings. Were too from here?

Date PurchasedJul 2011
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

waleroy

waleroyasked

why is my water heater hotter than it used to be (fells like its nearly boiling)

No answers
Nige J.

Nige J.asked

No hot water?

Have a 250 L 270-11AC3-134

Checked fuses - all good. Checked HWS Unit. No reset button, nothing seen that identifies or fixes the problem. HWS feels cool .

1 answer
allison
allison

get a plumber who knows the product to check. their helpdesk no. not helpful in my case

Peter R.

Peter R.asked

AC4 Compact 340L

why is the water in the system hot. but not hot coming out not even luke warm

1 answer
Jarrad W
Jarrad W

Faulty tempering valve/mixing valve on your plumping

Get an answer from our members and Quantum Energy representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.