Rheem Stellar/RheemPlus 5 Star

Rheem Stellar/RheemPlus 5 Star

 Verified
Rheem Stellar/RheemPlus 5 Star
2.6

112 reviews

PositivevsNegative
33% · 3764 · 57%

Smells of GasYes · No
Build Quality
3.6
Value for Money
3.8
Cleaning & Maintenance
4.3
Noise Level
4.3
Temperature Consistency
3.4
Heating Speed
4.1

Reviews

112 reviews
Yogi bear
Yogi bearDunolly, Victoria48 posts
  Stellar

Manufactured in June 2004 and still going

2004 model and it is still going but have decided since it is almost 20 years old to replace with a heat pump system as this may fail at any day Show details
Steve
SteveGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  Stellar

Instant hot water that last for ages

I have had this unit for two years now and it's working well.
I get instant hot water from the moment I turn on the hot water tap.
I have long showers and so does my partner and it never runs out.
It is a good looking hot water system compared to the others on the market so it looks more appealing to look at. Show details ·  1
Sonja
SonjaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA3 posts
  Stellar
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
Tom
TomPerth, WA6 posts
  5 Plus

Very happy with Rheem 5 Star Storage System

Replaced my old system with the Rheem 5 Star Gas storage system 135L.
It is way better than the last system.
Plenty of hot water with great pressure.
Can now also use multiple hot water taps at the same time. Show details ·  1
John
JohnIllawarra, NSW2 posts
  Stellar

FLAME KEEPS GOING OUT LIKE OTHERS

Installed our Rheem 18 months ago but found the pilot light keeps going out randomly. It has done this since new but started to get worse after the 12 month warranty was up. Paid a plumber $400 to replace the Gas Ignition switch and guess what flame still keeps going out. Looks like Rheem has a problem with their systems as I have notice other people having the same problem. Product should be recalled and fixed. Will not buy another. Show details
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
Gentleman's P.
Gentleman's P.Sydney, NSW2 posts
  Verified 8A0330

Pilot light turns off by itself

Hello , we have a Rheem Stellar 330 installed in October 2020. The Pilot light keeps turning off by itself. It was doing this every second week . However, for last week it is turning off every day seems every day. It to be a common fault and there are many customers with this issue. Needs urgent help Show details
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
Rheem
Rheem   DM   
More

Dear Gentleman's P. Thank you for your enquiry. In regard to your question, we highly recommend that you contact our customer service on 13 10 31, our customer service team will be able to advise accordingly

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia

GJJ
GJJPerth, WA2 posts
  Stellar

Expensive service

I had a Rheem Stellar 330 (130litre tank) installed when the house was built in june 2016. Now after 5 years it's stopped producing hot water. I have been charged $198 for call out fee and 15 minutes. And of course any time after that and parts and I will be charged extra. After seeing all these bad reviews on this website and how Rheem treats customers - I don't think Rheem will be in business in the long term, and I'll probaly cut my losses with this Brand altogether and get another HWS. This is why Rheem has to advertise so much, they can't exactly rely on word of mouth. Show details
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
Bejoy
BejoySydney, NSW2 posts
  Stellar

Poor quality, parts failure and no warranty after the first year

Had a Rheem Stellar 330 installed in 2017. Within a few weeks, pilot light went out and unable to relight even by the installer. Piezo igniter replaced under warranty. In Nov 2020, noticed water constantly flowing from the relief valve. Rheem technician came out and found that the thermostat had failed causing the water to constantly overheat. The whole thermostat with burner unit along with the relief valve had to be replaced. Inspite of the technician suggesting it was a major failure and would not be billed, received a $580 bill (60% of the original cost of the heater).
Be warned, only the physical tank has a 10 year warranty, any part is only covered for 1 year. Not good enough for a system that is meant to last 10 years approx. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mike
MikePerth, WA4 posts
  Stellar

Loosing water pressure

Gradually the water got colder and the pressure started dropping off. Water is hot enough to use but the pressure is now awful. Can not find any help tip on water pressure. Cold water pressure is excellent. Show details
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
Rheem
Rheem   DM   
More
Ayhan B.
Ayhan B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC3 posts
  Fair Incentive Stellar

Bad products

Leking from hot water outlets pipe rheem say it's normal waste for money wery bad product i call the rheem thy just ignoring the problem this unit only 2 years old Show details
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
  • Thumbnail
Rheem
Rheem   DM   
More

Thank you for your review. We encourage you to contact 131 031, where one of our customer service representatives will be able to assist you.

Adam
AdamSydney, NSW2 posts
  Stellar
chook55
chook55Metropolitan Adelaide, SA14 posts
  Stellar

Good Value

I have have used 3 Rheem Stellar 130L gas hot water systems. The previous 2 units lasted 10 and 11 years before developing leaks. I bought the same units as it is built into a cavity in an external brick wall. I know it fits with minimal fuss.
Unfortunately the latest unit has developed a faulty temperature controller after just 5 years. The temperature controller will cost about $250 (Reece) and in the region of $100 to fit.
I will investigate an instantaneous gas and depending on cost a Solar/gas solution when replacing this unit. Show details
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
kirbrit
kirbritSydney, NSW41 posts
  Stellar

Garbage product - hot water failure

I live alone. This water is not hot. Stay well away from Rheem. If there is anything I cannot stand, it's a cold shower. The setting is at maximum and the water is cold. Now I'll probably get a "we're sorry to hear this" and let us know how we can help. Then, for a "small" fee, get someone out to tell me they can't do anything about it. Save your money .. go elsewhere Show details
Sam
SamPerth, WA
  5 Plus

Blew it's lid and damaged the eaves

Installed in 2012 by Celebration Homes. The pilot light kept going out shortly after moving in, the thermostat was replaced under warranty and the controller reinstalled correctly to allow the front lid to close. Now in Feb 2020 the unit decided to literally blow the lid with enough force to punch a hole in the eave above it. Plumber deemed it too dangerous and requires replacing. Rang Rheem to be told it's out of warranty. Don't think they were phased enough either. Show details
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Rheem
Rheem   DM   
More
Marty
Marty2 posts
  Stellar

Just had my one replaced after 10 years of service

My one failed after 10 years of excellent service. The Rheem technician came over organised a warranty replacement everything was done with out a any fuss. All service calls are handled in AUS employ their own plumbers that were polite, clean and efficient. Plus they took all the packaging away. Could not recommend these guys highly enough. Could AUS run company! Show details ·  1

Questions & Answers

Keddu04
Keddu04 · 5 Plus Stellar (850330)

I bought a new model 850330 and had it installed less than 10 months ago. Since then, the flame has gone out out over 5 times every time we have a windy day or night. This reliability is unacceptable. Is there a solution? What can I do? The equipment works but just goes out on windy days!!

Keddu04
Keddu04 · 5 Plus Stellar (850330)

I have this model installed less than a year ago and I have had to re-light the flame every time we have a windy day or night. This is really unacceptable! Is there a fix for this?

Sainter1951
Sainter1951 · 5 Plus Stellar (850360)

Is it normal for steam to exit the front grilles on the unit whilst the shower is on

Rheem
Rheem   DM   

Dear Sainter1951, Thank you for your enquiry. In regard to your question, we highly recommend that you contact our customer service on 13 10 31, our customer service team will be able to advise accordingly

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia

Details

Compare all Rheem Stellar/RheemPlus 5 Star listings

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.