1 photo
Ryobi RCS2340

Ryobi RCS2340

3.7 from 16 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electric Chainsaws in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ryobi

Pros

Electrical and mechanical chain brake
Anti-vibration system
Powerful 2300 W high torque motor

Cons

Chain tensioning feature not efficient

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (13)
  • Safety
    3.7 (11)
Previous
Next
Andrew F.
Andrew F.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Best thing I’ve ever bought

published

Used this for 2 winters flat out cutting large and small logs for firewood. Best thing I ever bought. 10/10 value for money. After a lot of use had to get the chain sharpened.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $120.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John
JohnHobart, TAS

Very reliable, powerful electric chainsaw.

published

Plenty of power, chain goes a long time between sharpening extremely satisfied with it. Had some old very dry hard oak and wattle logs 300 to 450 in diameter, it did an excellent job cutting through those.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mkm
mkmNorth Western Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

it has some positives but falling short for what i needed

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse Online Store for $149.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Fantastic tool

published

Bought this because I couldn't get hold of a bar for my petrol chainsaw one Sunday and needed it right away.
It cut a 15m hardwood trunk between 300mm and 450mm diameter with absolute ease.
The tensioner did come loose at first like others have mentioned but I realised you have to overtighten it a bit then go back a notch and it stayed fine for a good few cuts. It only takes about 3 seconds to re tension so it wasn't an issue.
Quiet as. Also between cuts you don't have any noise at all. Obviously you would need a petrol saw for work in the bush but at home this will be my go to saw. Wish I'd bought one years ago.

Purchased in June 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $149.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Chainsaws

Find out how Ryobi RCS2340 compares to other Electric Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Triple S.
Triple S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Brilliant

published

Absolutely a great chainsaw
Sliced through a 300 mm potosporum with ease without too much trouble
Would recommend this chainsaw highly
Was considering an Ozito but chose the Ryobi and I am glad I did

Purchased in May 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $149.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David M.
David M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Another crap product from Bunnings

published

Worked well for first 30 cuts . Dumped All bar oil after first use .only used in small stuff Constantly having to adjust chain tensioner mayb 1-2 cuts . And grinding noise on deceleration is ominous. Another crap product from Bunnings

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $230.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony at Oberon NSW
Tony at Oberon NSWCentral West, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Chain tensioning mechanism not fit for purpose

published

Reviewing the RCS2340B model, purchased June 2019.
This chainsaw has the potential to be a very good tool except for a serious design fault. The chain tensioner mechanism is badly designed, doesn't work as it is meant to, and wears out quickly. I have replaced the entire tensioning mechanism once, in February 2021 and it is already wearing out and does not hold the chain tension. I note other reviewers report the same problem.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $149.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Peter S.
Peter S.South East Queensland, QLD

The blade tension keeps coming loose and is dangerous. I had to hold the knob to stop it undoing.

published

I only had one small stump to cut and went through 2 blades. Because the tensioner kept slipping, it took forever. The chain bar is awkward when replacing the chain. Nothing keeps it in place easily.

Purchased in December 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $149.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hardball
HardballSydney, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 101 likes

It's not a saw - it's a weapon!

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $149.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Hardball
Hardball
Hardball
Hardball
Hardball
Hardball

Note. Don't install the oil pump upside down. They don't work too good. You will know it's right way up when the oil pump gear engages with the worm drive. If it's upside down, the oil pump sits too high and does not engage.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Chainsaws

Find out how Ryobi RCS2340 compares to other Electric Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David
DavidPerth, WA

Disappointed Ryobi RCS2340

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $149.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter W.
Peter W.Sydney, NSW

great saw - Keep sprocket clean!!!!!

published

So far an excellent saw. *Always* clean the sprocket, bar and power head when replacing the bar and tensioning and you'll have NO problems. Docked 3 tons of Ironbark - great.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $149.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Max L
Max LSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 24 reviews
  • 20 likes
  • Verified

Great unit, blade seemed to blunt a little quick for mine

published

Mechanically it is a great unit, maybe not suited to a camphor laurel stump. But very powerful unit. Easy to clean. I prefer this to the cordless which I used before as it seems more powerful.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $149.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Chainsaws

Find out how Ryobi RCS2340 compares to other Electric Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
hanlonian
hanlonianPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Faulty design, the chain falls off

published

The chain tensioner doesnt work, the adjusting teeth arent deep enough and when in use it eventually loses its grip on the bar completely letting the chain fall off .
Though Bunnings gave me a full refund and I was able to buy a different brand

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $150.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
exitguy
exitguyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

All it's Supposed to be

published

Purchased nearly 4 weeks ago to do a major lopping & cut down of some very large Yuccas. Cannot fault this unit, it has cut everything I've thrown at it. Being electric so easy to handle without having to worry about motors, petrol, oil and mixing the right measures - plug it in, get your protective gear on and away you go. Bunnings Northland for $149 + $11 1L Chain Oil = Bargain
Would get 5 star but the power chord plug sometimes would come out of the extension chord socket where it was plugged into - have used that extension chord plenty of times with other equipment and this is the first time that has happened.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $149.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
darter
darterHobart
  • 7 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified

WOW, WHAT A SURPRISE.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

JohnN
JohnNasked

Does Ryobi RCS2340 have any mean to adjust the flow of the lubricant ? For other chainsaw, eg Makita UC4041A, it is possible to increase or decrease the flow by turning the screw at the bottom of the chainsaw.

1 answer
mkm
mkm

No not that I'm aware of. I am more aware of keeping the chain tight than lubricant. I just check levels at the beginning of use

Andrew M.
Andrew M.asked

Ryobi RCS2340 Spare Parts

No answers
Andrew M.
Andrew M.asked

Need new Oil Pump assembly for Ryobi RCS2340
Where can I Order parts , like Ebay ?.

1 answer
Triple S.
Triple S.

Try Ryobi

See all Ryobi RCS2340 questions

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

This Ryobi chainsaw is a lightweight model that has none of the heavy vibrations, noise or exhaust of petrol chainsaws. Its weight is distributed evenly to allow for comfortable and balanced handling. There is also an automatic bar and chain lubrication feature, and it is suitable for a range of tasks.

Features

One of the Best-in-Class Sawing Performance: The powerful 2,300 W motor of the RCS2340 powers a 40cm Oregon bar and chain. This produces a chain speed of 16 m/s, one of the class-leading for electric products. A wrap-around handle also provides ease of use while sawing, even in difficult positions.

Ergonomic Handle Design: An anti-vibration ergonomic handle provides higher user comfort during use. Coupled with the wrap-around front handle providing comfort even in awkward positions.

Tool-Less Chain Tensioning and Clear Oil Tank: A tool-less chain tensioning system provides an easier way to maintain the chainsaw in between use, while a clear chain oil tank means you can monitor the level of oil in the chainsaw with ease.

Automatic chain and bar lubrication: This feature ensures continuous cutting, with the quick mechanical brake system providing smooth control. Slicing through logs, branches and other material can lead to a lot of mess but this chainsaw's innovative debris deflector directs wood chips away from the user, making the experience far more enjoyable.

Electrical and Mechanical Chain Brake: An electrical chain brake stops the chain from moving the instant when the trigger is released and a mechanical brake will snap on the instant if there is any kickback during use.

Benefits: Well-balanced and lightweight design for easy handling. Includes Blade sheath, 150ml bar & chain oil.

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.