??!
2 photos
Saltmate RP Series Chlorinator

Saltmate RP Series Chlorinator

RP20 Chlorinator, RP30 Chlorinator
2.1 from 12 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.1

12 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.1 (11)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (11)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (10)
Previous
Next

Saltmate RP20 Timer Faulty after 1 month use

published

I bought Saltmate RP20 in Oct 2020. One month after the installation it appears the timer plays up. The time does not move correctly and often stuck at certain point. Pool and Spa Warehouse, the place I bought Saltmate RP20 asked me to bring the machine back to them and pay them $70 to let Saltmate to check it. It is a joke that customer has to pay under Warranty claim for a nearly brand new product.

Purchased in October 2020 for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
See all answers
GarryH

GarryHSydney Surrounds, NSW

Some problems but running ok.

published

My Saltmate RP20 is around 2 1/2 years old. The unit is not undercover and the casing rusted badly after about 12 months. Saltmate sent me a new case which I installed. It is still in perfect condition after a further 18 months. Recently the chlorine lights stopped working but the unit was still chlorinating the water My local pool shop Kewba Pools at Erina Heights replaced a circuit board ($217) and it is working fine now. I have been really happy with the self cleaning cell. It has required virtually no maintenance which is a real blessing compared to my old manually cleaned unit.

Purchased in June 2018 at Pool and Spa Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeSmall
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Poor service and product

published

We bought the deluxe saltmate 2 years ago and the cell stopped working 2 months before the warranty ends. It’s been more than 3 months and still have no answer or any calls from the supplier as to what is happening. The next step will follow up in a consumer legislative manner to resolve the issue. No happy.

Purchased in October 2018 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Online store for A$911.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
See all answers
Chlorinators

Find out how Saltmate RP Series Chlorinator compares to other Chlorinators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ROGER C

ROGER CSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Saltmate RP20 - a bad product

published

Bought Saltmate RP20 chlorinator in 2017, the unit failed 5 months after and after some exchanges, it was replaced by another unit. In mid-2020 (less than 3 years), the unit malfunctioned again and the repair cost $450 but the unit failed again after 3 months, it had to be returned for rectification. More money wasted buying chlorine!

Australian Made - the quality is sub par and reliability is very poor. Technical support is average but the workmanship is questionable.

Given my experience, I won't recommend Saltmate - pay a bit more for a better product.

Purchased in June 2017 at Direct Pool Supplies for A$980.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
See all answers
Xushen M.

Xushen M.Victoria

Not satisfied with the quality

published

My RP20 went out of order only 18 months after I installed it. The chlorinator refused to start and could not generate chlorine.

It is also a bit frustrating to get the service because it did take a few days to find the right person to help me with it. It is good to have the 5-year warranty but it is still quite painful when it is broken.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
See all answers

Regrettable Purchase

published

Purchased 3 years ago, timer clock went down after 9 months and was replaced by pool shop at no charge. 14 months later the timer has gone again and will cost approximately $200 to replace with more than likely another below par timer. Surely not hard to get this right Saltmate ?
Wanted Australian made and have been burnt...

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
See all answers
GEORGE

GEORGESouth East Queensland, QLD

Not at all impressed, I wanted to buy Australian made.

published

Chlorine output indicator and timer clock worked ok but after 12 months use, indicator not accurate, clock does not keep time. SMT150 is a basic model but should function better and longer without any issues, They are not cheap to buy.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
See all answers
Gillie23

Gillie23Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Piece of SH!t

published

We bought the Saltmate Rp 20 , 3 years ago for $929 from direct pool supplies as recomended by the sales man i was going to buy the poolrite surechlore. after 2 years the cell gave out should last for 10000 hours they wouldnt replace it but proratered it cost me around $400 for a new cell. one year later the cell has gone again. I get my pool water checked every month through summer the pump and cell run for 2x 4hr times morning and afternoon not good enough. Im going to try the poolrite surechlore as i should have done in the first place

Purchased in August 2016 at Direct Pool Supplies for A$929.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
See all answers
Toliman

TolimanHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Temperamental, but Solid and Reliable. When it works.

published

Purchased in August 2015 at Access Pool Supplies for A$1,470.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
See all answers
Chlorinators

Find out how Saltmate RP Series Chlorinator compares to other Chlorinators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Saltmate RP30- I think we bought a lemon

published

We bought a Saltmate RP 30 Salt water pool chlorination in March 2016. The cell failed after 19 months, was replaced and the replacement has just failed after 20 months. Saltmate wants $550 to replace the cell. We live in Brisbane, the pool equipment is in a sheltered but airy spot and we run the chlorinator for 8 hours a day. I wouldn't buy another Saltmate product.

Purchased in March 2016 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Online store for A$909.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeLarge
See all answers
William Allison

William AllisonFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Excellent product with excellent service cannot fault

published

This chlorinator handles our 10metre pool with 75kl water in tropical far North Qld with ease. Easy to set up and easy to use. You will not be disappointed with this purchase from Best Pool supplies online. We have purchased a number of items from them with exceptional service and prompt delivery.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
TheLoneRanger

TheLoneRangerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 29 reviews
  • 27 likes

Good but has a few issues!

published

Purchased in November 2018 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
See all answers
1 comment
TheLoneRanger
TheLoneRanger

No complaints other than the timer clock!

Questions & Answers

Scott c

Scott casked

RP20 Chlorinator

Timer clock , seems to go eratic is there a easy fix?

2 answers
Derick Norkon
Derick Norkon

Switch from auto to manual, buy a $6.32 HPM 24 Hour Analog Timer from Bunnings. My timer failed after about 12 months.

Steve S.
Steve S.

Did the same after 18 months. Now 5 years later the cell has gone. They tell me that's about average.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare both Saltmate RP Series Chlorinator
CategoryChlorinatorsChlorinators
Price (RRP)899
Compare both Saltmate RP Series Chlorinator

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.