??!
18 photos
Samsung Galaxy Tab A

Samsung Galaxy Tab A

8.0", 10.1" (2016 Model), 9.7", etc...
4.1 from 563 reviews

Reviews

(241)
(223)
(58)
(15)
(26)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (38)
  • Battery Life
    4.1 (44)
  • Body Durability
    4.1 (42)
  • Speaker Quality
    3.8 (40)
  • Display Quality
    4.3 (41)
  • Screen Durability
    4.2 (39)
  • Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
    3.5 (35)
  • Video Quality
    3.9 (35)
  • Rear Camera Quality
    3.8 (34)
  • Night Photography Quality
    3.3 (29)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (38)
  • Security
    4.1 (31)
  • Speed
    3.7 (37)
lai

laiSydney, NSW

Slow tablet

published

Doesn't charge fast. It's like they gave me a dud charger because my Samsung mobile phone charger charges it faster! I sis ok have the Samsung tablet A 10.5 (model before this) and it's way better !

Purchased in March 2020.

Hardware
Battery Life
Software
Speed
Ease of Use
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Slow and jerky - Get anything else.

published

First off, it's slow to hook up and launch any apps. it takes forever to turn on and off. when a new OS is ready it takes forever to load. Having come from an iPad this sucks. I try the kindle's and the pages dont scrool easily they jerk and you lose your page. Save your money, and get something else.

Purchased in December 2019 at Costco for $240.00.

1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Lynz

LynzSydney

Poor battery

published

Tablet has been on charge for half an hour an only gone up 1 percent sad .this tablet is 2months old an only been used 4 to 5 times.SM-T510...my older samsung was way faster charging

Purchased in November 2019 at Bing Lee Online store for $399.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Tablets

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Tab A compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mellissa D.

Mellissa D.Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

product and service

published

The other Samsung tablet had screen replacement. Having same issue again, but Samsung say there is no fault with the tablet. Seriously... They lie in their report about the tablet, as to what was wrong and condition of tablet. My report said scratches on screen (has a screen protector) if they cant see that, and scratches on the back. It has always been kept in a case and has one tiny scratch that I had to look really hard for. Never ever want to have to deal with them again. I loved my Samsung products, as have a tv, microwave, surround sound, phone ect, but now I will stay well away from this brand.

Purchased in July 2017 at Harvey Norman for $294.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Kimberly S.

Kimberly S.Far North Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

I love my galaxy tab

published

This is my second purchase of the Samsung galaxy tab, I have gifted my 1st one to my son. The galaxy tab is just the right size for traveling, watching Netflix during long car rides with the kids and surfing the web.

Purchased in December 2019 at Telstra.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Laura D.

Laura D.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Best android tablet I've used so far

published

This product is affordable, I have had no problems with it, does the job and isnt heavy to lug around with me, I love it, I'm very happy, it has a long buttery life and doesn't have to be updated every second which is nice.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Louise

Louisensw

  • 30 reviews
  • 1 like

Quality product

published

Used mainly to check email, surf the net and watch netflix. Really good for watching movies in bed with headphones on so as not to disturb anyone. Great picture quality. Bought one of those special foam pillows to rest it on, awesome set up!

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Video Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Ease of Use
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
gerry161

gerry161Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 49 reviews
  • 3 likes

better than the original

published

Why are the speakers on the short side, (the note 1 was on left and right side in horizontal mode) when it grabs a vertical page cannot use if on lap or in bed...as it muffles sounds, it is not a phone.
Far too much unwanted programs (bloatware) also the Smart Transfer grabs everything from your phone (Oppo) and my old Samsung Note 1 Tablet. Better graphics and CPU speed. and no Bezel. Needs a real AV Norton etc. The one that comes with it is said to be not safe.

Purchased in October 2019 for $319.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
gerry161
gerry161

Yes mostly good but is treated more like a phone which it is not.

Jo Jo M.

Jo Jo M.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews

I love my tablet it's my go to for chilling on the lounge

published

I use my tablet for a lot of different things mainly Netflix a few slot games then my hubby steals it and plays his games and also Gumtree. Also it's great for photos and videos too

Purchased in September 2019 at Optus store for $430.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Tablets

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Tab A compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tim G

Tim GSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Great budget tablet

published

Excellent tablet for the price. Lovely amoled screen delivers stunning quality. It is the wi-fi model so its used mainly to surf the web and social media. Can be a bit slow but a restart usually sloves this.

Purchased in November 2018 at Flybuys reward.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

spitfire99

spitfire99AU

  • 27 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great tablet

published

I bought this on sale in Nov 2017 and it has been excellent, the display is clear and bright, battery lasts all day with constant usage, it never crashes or fails and the wi-fi is excellent. It has been used many hours per day everyday and has been great to use and no faults. As a first tablet with nothing but smartphones to compare against, I couldn't be happier, it is so much better that a smartphone for on-line shopping, web browsing, games and most apps, I can also print to a wi-fi printer. Built in cameras are ok, not as good as an Apple iPhone 6s, but I don't use it often as a camera. Sound from built-in speakers is not so good, so I use a pair of headphones when necessary.

Purchased in November 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $298.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Doge

DogeNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

The best tablet/iPad i every have seen

published

this is so good it is like a phone you have more options than a iPad with is really good i would recommend tablets for adults i use it to play games and use it as my 2nd main device it really satisfy s me and my apps work smoothly there is really nothing else to say about it it is that good i can't describe it.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman for $295.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Florencia

FlorenciaQueensland, 4870

  • 3 reviews

Slowness should be the name

published

My almost 4 years old samsung phone is faster than this tablet. I know is afordable but honestly, takes ages to load a simple window in chrome or just move around the system. So disapointed Samsung! It's also heavy, not sturdy... just heavy.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $200.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Gets The Job Done

published

I purchased the Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" WiFi 16GB 2017 from Officeworks in February this year. I primarily use this tablet when I'm traveling and connect to available WiFi networks or tether to my phone. It's great for web browsing and using apps. I had to purchase a cover to protect the tablet as I don't think it's very durable. However, it's an all round good tablet for my basic requirements.

Purchased in February 2019 at Officeworks Online store for $276.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Badger

BadgerDarling Downs, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Best tablet on the market.

published

Got a Samsung tab A 10.5 in on a lease plan with telstra in 2018,what a great tablet.I have nothing bad to say about it,only positive comments.Easy to use,well made and tough as nails.Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of acquiring a Samsung tab A 10.5.

Purchased in February 2018 at Telstra.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Tablets

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Tab A compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rosie

RosieCalwell 2905, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Excellent Tablet

published

I find my Tablet so handy when writing emails. Also it is great for reading books instead of having a Tinder. Also playing games is better than playing on your phone

Purchased in March 2019 at Optus for $290.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

SUE-AUSPOST

SUE-AUSPOSTSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

great tablet

published

bought this from the store and instantly started using it with no hassles and very little setup. Camera is 0ok for what i use it for and is very good size to read books via amazon app. long battery life so far and the screen has been crisp. i would recomend this over an ipad for most people

Purchased in March 2018 for $300.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Steve-gee

Steve-geeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 41 reviews
  • 1 like

A great value phone and Tablet, whatever your needs?

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Kogan for $499.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Lauren D

Lauren DNorthern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good value for purpose

published

I wanted to purchase a cheap tablet to cast/stream movies etc onto our tv (with the help of Chromecast) and this one was the cheapest i could find at the time, and i am very happy with it. Battery life is great, lasts longer than a week, WIFI connection is good, can be slow at times but that could be due to my location, but not a big issue. The camera on it isnt great, but thats not the reason i purchased it so not an issue for me.

Purchased in March 2019 at Officeworks Online store for $177.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Arvind

ArvindPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Enjoying it

published

Bought this for my partner instead of a laptop. Easy set up as she had a Samsung Account and a Google account. Looks and Runs just like her Samsung A8 phone

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 29

Questions & Answers

Jinkz S.

Jinkz S.asked

Hi! I just received the Galaxy Tab A T290 today and I got a 64gb SD card in it. The SD card is recognized and it is displaying files from said SD card but I cannot move apps from internal storage to my SD card for some reason. My tablet is completely up to date and I have tried going through the route I'm used toto which was Settings>Apps>Whichever app I select>Storage. It doesn't give me the option to change the storage to SD card even on apps that I know can be moved since I moved them on a previous device. Anyone know how to move apps on this device?

1 answer
Samsung
KathSamsung

Thanks for coming through, Jinkz. Happy to hear you got your hands on our Galaxy Tab A! Unfortunately only certain applications will allow you to be moved to your micro SD card. It would be best to reach out to the app developers for further information.

Kath
Samsung AU

S D.

S D.asked

Can you use an S Pen on this

2 answers
spitfire99
spitfire99

No, not on this version.

Samsung
AdaSamsung

You are unable to use an S-pen with the Tab A.

Jo
Samsung AU

Peter W

Peter Wasked

Galaxy Tab A 10.5" 4G

Transfer photos from camera sd card to Tablet ??

3 answers
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Peter, we have provided a link below to assist you with transferring files from your microSD card to your Tab A. We hope this helps.

https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/how-do-i-transfer-files-from-external-sd-card-to-my-device/

Jo
Samsung AU

Peter W
Peter W

Could you please advise a suitable adaptor that will connect with my tablet so I can insert the sd card and down load photos straight on to the tablet.
Many thanks
Peter W

Samsung
AdaSamsung

If your camera uses a microSD card, you are able to insert the microSD card into the Tab A itself.

Jo
Samsung AU

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.