??!
18 photos
Samsung Galaxy Tab A

Samsung Galaxy Tab A

8.0", 9.7", 7.0", etc...
4.2 from 553 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
238
4 star
222
3 star
57
2 star
14
1 star
22

Tim G

Tim GSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Great budget tablet

published

Excellent tablet for the price. Lovely amoled screen delivers stunning quality. It is the wi-fi model so its used mainly to surf the web and social media. Can be a bit slow but a restart usually sloves this.

Purchased in November 2018 at Flybuys reward.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


spitfire99

spitfire99AU

  • 27 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great tablet

published

I bought this on sale in Nov 2017 and it has been excellent, the display is clear and bright, battery lasts all day with constant usage, it never crashes or fails and the wi-fi is excellent. It has been used many hours per day everyday and has been great to use and no faults. As a first tablet with nothing but smartphones to compare against, I couldn't be happier, it is so much better that a smartphone for on-line shopping, web browsing, games and most apps, I can also print to a wi-fi printer. Built in cameras are ok, not as good as an Apple iPhone 6s, but I don't use it often as a camera. Sound from built-in speakers is not so good, so I use a pair of headphones when necessary.

Purchased in November 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $298.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Doge

DogeNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

The best tablet/iPad i every have seen

published

this is so good it is like a phone you have more options than a iPad with is really good i would recommend tablets for adults i use it to play games and use it as my 2nd main device it really satisfy s me and my apps work smoothly there is really nothing else to say about it it is that good i can't describe it.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman for $295.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Florencia

FlorenciaQueensland, 4870

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Slowness should be the name

published

My almost 4 years old samsung phone is faster than this tablet. I know is afordable but honestly, takes ages to load a simple window in chrome or just move around the system. So disapointed Samsung! It's also heavy, not sturdy... just heavy.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $200.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Gets The Job Done

published

I purchased the Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" WiFi 16GB 2017 from Officeworks in February this year. I primarily use this tablet when I'm traveling and connect to available WiFi networks or tether to my phone. It's great for web browsing and using apps. I had to purchase a cover to protect the tablet as I don't think it's very durable. However, it's an all round good tablet for my basic requirements.

Purchased in February 2019 at Officeworks Online store for $276.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Badger

BadgerDarling Downs, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Best tablet on the market.

published

Got a Samsung tab A 10.5 in on a lease plan with telstra in 2018,what a great tablet.I have nothing bad to say about it,only positive comments.Easy to use,well made and tough as nails.Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of acquiring a Samsung tab A 10.5.

Purchased in February 2018 at Telstra.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Rosie

RosieCalwell 2905, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Excellent Tablet

published

I find my Tablet so handy when writing emails. Also it is great for reading books instead of having a Tinder. Also playing games is better than playing on your phone

Purchased in March 2019 at Optus for $290.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


SUE-AUSPOST

SUE-AUSPOSTSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

great tablet

published

bought this from the store and instantly started using it with no hassles and very little setup. Camera is 0ok for what i use it for and is very good size to read books via amazon app. long battery life so far and the screen has been crisp. i would recomend this over an ipad for most people

Purchased in March 2018 for $300.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Steve-gee

Steve-geeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 39 reviews
  • 19 likes

A great value phone and Tablet, whatever your needs?

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Kogan for $499.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Lauren D

Lauren DNorthern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good value for purpose

published

I wanted to purchase a cheap tablet to cast/stream movies etc onto our tv (with the help of Chromecast) and this one was the cheapest i could find at the time, and i am very happy with it. Battery life is great, lasts longer than a week, WIFI connection is good, can be slow at times but that could be due to my location, but not a big issue. The camera on it isnt great, but thats not the reason i purchased it so not an issue for me.

Purchased in March 2019 at Officeworks Online store for $177.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Arvind

ArvindPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Enjoying it

published

Bought this for my partner instead of a laptop. Easy set up as she had a Samsung Account and a Google account. Looks and Runs just like her Samsung A8 phone

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


hal55

hal55Hunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very capable tablet, easy to recommend

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Officeworks Online store for $349.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life

PhilC

PhilCIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good tablet, with some flaws

published

Apps work well and some default apps can be disabled if not needed.
Security updates should come for longer. This is not product specific. Needs legislation.
Screen too sensitive to slide when tapping. Can take 3-4 taps to launch an app. Similar when sending message/email.
Internal storage is limited. This affects how many apps can be installed. I sometimes need to reduce to the ones I actually use. This is a trade-off against price, not a criticism.
I don't use either camera in the tablet. Prefer phone or camera.
I use a purchased security app, not a built in one.

Purchased in September 2017 at Officeworks Physical store for $270.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Software
Speed
Ease of Use

Tanya G.

Tanya G.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

I'm in love with this product, I'm able to do my work, play games and watch movies on this tablet, picture and sound quality is above what I expected, and I'm still finding new amazing thing I can do on it.

Purchased in March 2019 at Officeworks Online store.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Hi Tanya, I'm glad to hear that your Tab A has fit into your everyday lifestyle perfectly! If any questions arise, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.

Jo
Samsung AU

David S.

David S.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great for watching video when paired with a Bluetooth speaker

published

Used almost exclusively for showing videos to clients. The size and quality of image is great value. Built-in speaker is a bit weak but when paired with an external Bluetooth speaker, the viewing experience for one person is really very good. Can pick these up $50 cheaper now than what I paid last year.

Purchased in March 2018 for $328.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
1 comment
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Hi David, we're happy to hear that you are enjoying your Tab A! If any questions arise, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.

Jo
Samsung AU

Joanna

JoannaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Best thing I’ve bought!

published

Seriously the best thing I’ve ever bought! This Samsung Tablet is reliable, fast charging with long lasting battery.
Internet connection is great, streaming from Apps is what I use it for.

Purchased in November 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $186.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Kate

KateMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for the kids

published

I purchased this product for my child to use as she always wants to use my phone
This product is great for wifi where your children can enjoy playing educational games
It has a great picture quality for the size

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $229.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

sevie2006

sevie2006Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Perfect!! Love the screen size

published

Easy to use.. my daughter watches her shows sometimes.. got her a great pink case to go with it.. purchased tempered glass aswell.. just incase she drops it.. she finds it so easy to use.. battery life is excellent..

Purchased in March 2019 at Officeworks Online store for $328.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Mellisa G

Mellisa GSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great value, best reasonably priced tablet on the market

published

I purchased this tablet to replace my old one and I am very happy with it. While storage can be an issue, it is easily fixed with a 64gb sd card, the only flaws for me, are not being able to install directly to sd card, and the lack of options for securing Bluetooth connection (unable to hide device to all but allowed devices).

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for $189.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Debbie

DebbieWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

I use my tablet for almost everything it has great features easy to use and perfect for my games reading watching movies photos and for the kid's to use the Samsung is sure the best for me

Purchased in July 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $389.00.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use

Page 1 of 28

Questions & Answers

S D.

S D.asked

Can you use an S Pen on this

2 answers
spitfire99
spitfire99

No, not on this version.

Samsung
JoanneSamsung

You are unable to use an S-pen with the Tab A.

Jo
Samsung AU


Peter W

Peter Wasked

Transfer photos from camera sd card to Tablet ??

3 answers
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Hi Peter, we have provided a link below to assist you with transferring files from your microSD card to your Tab A. We hope this helps.

https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/how-do-i-transfer-files-from-external-sd-card-to-my-device/

Jo
Samsung AU

Peter W
Peter W

Could you please advise a suitable adaptor that will connect with my tablet so I can insert the sd card and down load photos straight on to the tablet.
Many thanks
Peter W

Samsung
JoanneSamsung

If your camera uses a microSD card, you are able to insert the microSD card into the Tab A itself.

Jo
Samsung AU


paulneri

paulneriasked

Dear Samsung
My wife (a newbie in the market for a Tablet) has asked me to ask you the following questions regarding this Tablet. We currently have a desktop PC wireless arrangement:
(1) Can I watch SBS News and other SBS programs?
(2) Can I watch ABC Iview news and other programs?
(3) Can I download books?
(4) Can I get weather and tidal forecasts?
(5) Can I buy a "5 series program" e.g. gardening series and store/watch it on the Tablet?
(6) Can I listen to content on the Tablet without earplugs i.e. like a radio? I want to prop it up in the Kitchen and listen to news etc without ear plugs.

Thanks

3 answers
Steve-gee
Steve-gee

Wow Paul, some gutsy questions and I am not Samsung, you should try asking them? Bless you, Steve.

Lauren D
Lauren D

Hi mate, Yeah i'm sure you can do all those things. In regards to tv shows and books you might have to download some apps from the Play Store, im not sure which ones exactly though.
Weather apps are usually pre-loaded so its a yes for that.
In regards to music, you could listen without ear plugs but i doubt it would be very loud, unless you connect to a bluetooth speaker.
I'm sure when you go to purchase the sales person could also help with these questions.

Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Hi Paul, we'd be sure to help you and your wife out with this :) The Galaxy Tab A is able to access the internet. Hence, if you are looking into a specific program that is able to be accessed via a website, you will be able to do so. You are also able to download a third-party application on your tablet to help you with e-books. The Galaxy Tab also has a dual speaker.

You are able to weather by the app or a simple search on the internet. With the gardening program mentioned, we recommend for you look into the application used to view your program. If you require further assistance, feel free to head to your nearest Samsung Studio or authorised Australian retailer.

https://www.samsung.com/au/tablets/galaxy-taba-t290/

Jo
Samsung AU


Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.