3 photos
Schick Hydro 5

Schick Hydro 5

2.8 from 23 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.4 (13)
  • Causes Irritation Yes (3) · No (10)
Previous
Next
David J. Mallett
David J. MallettMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 32 reviews
  • 15 likes

No longer cost justified given significant reduction in packaged blades whilst the cost of the product has tripled

published

Great sharp blades with lubricating strip for tough beard stubble, however no longer cost justified given significant reduction in packaged blades whilst the cost of the product has tripled, hence No longer cost justified

Paula Cook
Paula CookSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Crappy cheap plastic blade head falls off

published

My partner uses these razors and every time he does the crappy cheap plastic blade head falls off. Thought it was a bad one off, bought 2 moreand problem persists. The razor head just flicks off without much pressure to the face.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Andrew C.
Andrew C.New South Wales

A truly rubbish razor

published

Who designed this? The amount of spring in this product makes it impossible to get a decent shave. No wonder supermarkets are discounting. The Schick Hydro 5 is a junk product

Purchased in April 2021 at BigW for $6.50.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
Men's Shavers / Razors

Find out how Schick Hydro 5 compares to other Men's Shavers / Razors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Frustrated

published

I can't wait until I need to buy a new shaver set.

shaving system I have a tree blade hydro and it is so frustrating. I cannot keep the blade attached to the handle. It falls off almost constantly. Even had to take the drain apart once because it went down the drain. It is comfortable to use when and only when shaving .. I cannot understand why there is such quality in the blades but the attachment to the handle is so cheaply designed.

Purchased at HEB.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Guillaume
Guillaume
  • 2 reviews

Terrible

published

Terrible. Have to over the same patches again and again and again. Will not purchase again. I have used cheaper razors with much much better results. Stay away from this one

Purchased in December 2020 at Woolworths for $16.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes
Fitnesspm
FitnesspmMount Waverley
  • 33 reviews
  • 17 likes
  • Verified

1000% better than a Gilette Razor

published

I was using a Gilette Razor for years until they released a hate campaign towards men last year so I changed over to Schick. I can't believe how much better shaving is with Schick. So much easier and smoother compared to a Gilette razor where I can finish my shaving in half the time. I highly recommend!!

Purchased in February 2020 at Chemist Warehouse for $20.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo

NOT BAD AT ALL. GOOD SMOOTH SHAVE

published

Not the greatest or best shave I have ever gotten BUT A VERY CLOSE SECOND. It does a good job and give a smooth shave. I am on my third week with this blade, I usually shave 3 or 4 times a week, BTW use a good gel shave cream it helps.
Schick Hydro good in my book.
JoeT

Purchased in August 2020 for $9.99.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
Avinash M
Avinash MGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 20 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great design, poor durability

published

Was a great product 5 years ago when the blades were made sharp. However, over the last year, my blades only last a week or two before I have to throw them out. Going to switch to Bic from next month onwards.

Purchased in May 2020 for $10.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
Stephen
StephenSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews

Sorry but this an inferior shaver

published

Bought Schlick hydro 5 from Mollymook chemist as price was good & read on display how good they were but after first shave I could not shave my face smoothly & had to go over face many times to get rid of the stubble ect. The 5 blades dont seem sharp enough. I have other cheaper shavers which shave much better. I consider this product to be very inferior to competitors and would never recommend it to anyone. Sorry Schlick but I wish I didnt have to experience your product.

Purchased in December 2019 at Mollymook chemist nsw.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes
Men's Shavers / Razors

Find out how Schick Hydro 5 compares to other Men's Shavers / Razors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Garry
GarryNorthern Territory
  • 3 reviews

Surely the Company CEO would use another brand

published

Been using for a week since the cheaper than cheap WW Alpha 5 blades are no longer in stock. So I thought I'd go up market and get the Hydro 5. Big mistake guys. My shaved head resembles that of a dementia patient who's been allowed a razor . How can an expensive product be far worse than a cheap one. I can feel patches all over my head & I've been shaving for 3X longer to get to this stage.
Pull this product & get something right please.

Purchased in October 2019 at Woolworths.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
Sofia& M.
Sofia& M.North Western Region, NSW

Blades go blunt too easy

published

Switched to schick as a bought one for my wife that I have used not to her knowledge and was quite smooth so I bought a men’s one for myself was impressed at first but blades last 5 shaves max I had owned a gillete that blades last easy ten close to twenty is it just me or these crap and overpriced

Purchased in August 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $20.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes
Danny F
Danny FGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I've had a BIC disposable that lasted longer

published

Worked great the first few times, the blade got blunt so I went to pop in a replacement, had some of the titanium replacements and of course they are a bees phallus different so it wouldn't go in. After struggling with it for a minute I decided to pop the old one in and now it can't hold onto that! Save your money and buy a single blade bic.

Purchased in August 2019 at Coles for $30.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
The M.
The M.Sydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

click-back feature too slack

published

My Hydro5 cuts me very easily as the click-back feature, that's supposed to be a manual operation for close trimming, actually clicks-back too easily / unintentionally while shaving, and so exposes the corner of the blade/s.

Cuts me to bits almost every time!!

Purchased in May 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Renato_A
Renato_AGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 33 reviews
  • 37 likes

Very Good - But Possibly Problematic

published

Purchased in June 2015.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
Emily
EmilyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Best razor I’ve found

published

I’m a female and this is hands down my favourite razor. It glides so easily and doesn’t cut my skin or cause ingrown hairs like many other razors do. My legs are sooo smooth after using this razor. The only con is the price of the refills!! I usually wait until they go on sale.

Purchased in January 2019 at Woolworths.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
Men's Shavers / Razors

Find out how Schick Hydro 5 compares to other Men's Shavers / Razors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Barry H.
Barry H.asked

when to change the blade?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features

  • A 5-blade design is intended to provide a close, smooth shave.
  • An ergonomically designed handle is larger and easier to grip where your palm makes contact with it.
  • In place of a lubricating strip, this razor uses 7 little gel pools in a row above the blades. Schick claims that these provide more hydration and less friction.
  • The built-in flip trimmer changes the angle of the blade with a flick of the thumb. This is designed to allow men the option to trim beard hair as well.

Here’s what reviewers thought:

Reviewers had mixed opinions about the effectiveness of this razor. Those who weren’t happy with this razor’s performance chalked it down mainly to the blades not being sharp enough to provide an effective shave.

Dissatisfied reviewers reported that they had to make several passes over skin in order to remove hair. Even after doing this, hairs were left behind. Others still reported that the blade falls off constantly from the handle, which is frustrating.

Reviewers who were satisfied with the Schick Hydro 5 appreciated that the blades provided a smooth-enough shave, when used with the right shaving cream.

CategoryMen's Shavers / Razors
Release dateJan 2011
Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 00841058015000
  • GTIN13: 4891228302924
  • GTIN12: 841058015000

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.