??!
1 photo
Smeg SAI95

Smeg SAI95

MPN: 35902538
3.1 from 13 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
5
1 star
2

Sue

SueSouth East Queensland, QLD

Love cooking with SMEG SA195 induction - disappointed by fragility of the glass

published

I had my first SMEG SA195 90cm induction cooktop installed 21 months ago for my lovely new kitchen. I love cooking and the SMEG was great to use and I am still learning about all the functions and capabilities of this cooktop. I also loved the sleek, easy clean surface, however I have since become disillusioned by the lack of strength in the ceramic cooktop. While making sandwiches adjacent to the stove I bumped a glass lid against the edge of the cooktop and this caused a chip & 2 cracks in the surface. The shine has gone from my SMEG experience. I had my previous ceramic cooktop for 20 years and never an incident like this! Now I feel as though I have wasted $3000.

Purchased in October 2017 at The Good Guys for $3,000.00.

1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Gennelle

GennelleSouth East Queensland, QLD

Just so pleased with this cooktop

published

I was looking for an easy clean surface ..tick
Then ease of control, and am delighted to say it is as instant if not better than gas... tick
I am cooking rice using absorption method just so easily, no boil overs and perfect cooking...tick
My one ‘complaint’ is not being able to leave pots and pans and on the surface when not using. This has somewhat reduced my landing surface for getting things from oven, or even just leaving a pot sitting to resume some cooking later.
That’s the nature of induction though, so I can live with that.

Purchased in April 2019 at Winning Appliances.

Digital Darren

Digital DarrenMelbourne, Victoria

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic cooktop - so glad we got the Smeg

published

This 90cm replaced an older 60cm induction cooktop. Induction is great, but the Smeg is fantastic! The larger size allows for plenty of space between pots, and the controls are super responsive. My favourite part is the dual-zone linking where two panels can be joined together as a single big one. Love the keep warm settings too. The minimal design looks great (but make sure you take the time to read the manual to find out what all of the buttons and combinations do). We use a special ceramic cooktop cleaner (from supermarket) once a week or so to keep it looking nice. Great product.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Pan Size

published

Can I use a 32cm chef's pan on my induction cook top, I had a reply from my previous review from Smeg, they sent out a services man, he told me I had purchased the incorrect chefs pan, so I went back to place of purchase, HOUSE and they happily exchanged my pan for a new one the same, she explained sometime the pan can be faulty, I took the pan home a boiled water and I could see the heat was only in the middle, I used the small frypan that Smeg supplied and it boiled all over in the pan... Really is it that hard to get a 32 cm Chefs pan that will cook evenly!!! I really want to like my brand new induction cooktop but I am really struggling ...

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Lou

LouBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Wow! Amazing cooktop.

published

We have had the Smeg SA195 installed for a week and are still being amazed at the different features we are discovering. We had been hesitant about switching from gas but had heard good things about induction from friends who had made the switch from older electric appliances, although none had changed from gas. The speed and ease of cleaning are the outstanding features. The cooktop is so easy to clean and sleek against our black granite cooktop. There are no fiddly trims or anything to catch spills or pans. The high cooking temps are great for chips.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
3 comments
Lou
Lou

Spoke too soon. Woke up yesterday morning with the cooktop flashing error code Er47, whatever that means. Switched power off and back on to no avail. Can't use it at all which is very disappointing for something only a few months old..

Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Lou
Lou

Mark

Mark

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

A shocking SMEG experience

published

We purchased this induction back in Dec 15 and installed in March 16. SMEG have been out to our place at least 10+ times (and failed to show up as many times). We have had issues from the noise coming from the cook top through to malfunction on half/all of the 5 cooking areas. I can't help feeling that the service people that SMEG send out are between a rock and hard place - they say the right things then we never get a resolution. My recommendation on my experience do not go near them.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Love it.

published

I am a serious cook and have used the whole gamut of cooktops. This Smeg 90 cm induction is my favourite. It’s responsive, slick to use and so easy to clean. It was a fairly major job to have it wired correctly but it is so worth it. There is room for my larger pans and saucepans. Induction performance is enhanced by great quality cookware and this cooktop deserves the best.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Robert D

Robert D

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed in the quality of the glass top

published

I bought this model at the end of March 2015. It was great, cooked well and fast with the boost function. Only 2 yrs later the glass cracked with the smallest tap of a spoon? I can't believe this as I've had other brand glass cooktops and I've never had this!
$3000 for this... ever so disappointed. Too much money to spend for only 2 yrs :-(

Date PurchasedMar 2015
2 comments
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

First Impressions

published

Purchased yesterday this Induction Cooktop, and is my first depatrure away from Miele appliances in some 30 years.
I know i am probaby nit picking, but when you spend some $3000, you would expect a better user manual.
The manual, especiallty the installation section looks like it was written by a 10 year old, then shoved through a Google translator for English.
Once again, i know i am being pedantic, but first impressions means alot to many people.

Message to SMEG:
Get someone to rewrite the manual, who understands proper English and Grammar.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Chris

Chris

  • 2 reviews

Glass top cracked

published

Hi
Just wondering how to rectify broken glass in cooktop. This is my second smeg cooktop and both have broken(not through misuse).
I do love the product but two out of two I'm thinking of changing to another brand. As paying almost $3000 after saving up for it then breaking another top not sure I should continue with Smeg.

Any recommendations for either replacing glass or purchasing another brand?

Regards

Date PurchasedMar 2014
2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Chris
Chris

Not as good as it advertised

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Mick

MickChifley 2606, ACT

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

An absolutely excellent cook top

published

  • Verified purchase

Regret buying this cooktop

published
2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Dani C
Dani C

I am very pleased to say that my faulty cooktop was replaced & the new cooktop is excellent !! A huge thank you to Steve Cullen & Leon at Smeg.

Questions & Answers

Stephen S.

Stephen S.asked

I have read the manual and cannot get my smeg to start

2 answers
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

hi Stephen S - thank you for your question, in order for us to discuss this matter with you can you can you kindly email us direct with your full name, address and a convenient contact telephone number. we will then contact you direct to discuss this matter. Our email address is: service@smeg.com.au and please mark to the attention of Lesley. Kind Regards, Smeg Australia.

Stephen S.
Stephen S.

All good now thankyou


Judy M. L

Judy M. Lasked

We have SMEG induction cook top at our old place for over 10 yrs and just recently found out from a tenant that the cook top has cracked across to one of the circle zone. Is the glass/ceramic top replaceable or we should be looking to get a new cook top as it is not worth replacing the glass? What option do I have?

1 answer
Gennelle
Gennelle

The glass top can be replaced. Half the cost of a whole new cooktop. I caused a crack in mine on corner edge. Replaced just the glass and fortunately house insurance for breakages helped towards cost


Neil R

Neil Rasked

Why does my smartsense cooktop only heat half the saucepan?

1 answer
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Hi Neil R thanks for your question.

There could be numerous reasons for this to happen, It is difficult to say without seeing the actual cook top. Can we please suggest that you check the following:

1. Are you accidentally using the "bridge" function, This function allows the use of 2 cooking zones at the same time (left zones, middle zones, right zones) with the same features as a single cooking zone.

2. Are you accidentally using the Keep warm function, This function allows the reach and automatically maintains at the temperature of 42, 70 or 94°C. This function ensures that liquids will not overflow and stops anything from fast burning at the bottom of the pan.

3. Is the saucepan a small saucepan? ( if so, check underneath and see that the induction pads are covering all of the bottom of the saucepan)

If none of this helps, please do not hesitate to contact our Service Department direct on 02 8667 4833 and we will discuss further.

Kind Regards.

Smeg Australia.


Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.