??!
4 photos
Stihl HS 45

Stihl HS 45

3.7 from 16 reviews

See the Best Hedge Trimmers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
3

Peter Frost

Peter FrostWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Excellent hedger

published

We use this in a council run gardens..gets a lot of use . Runs well, economical, gets the job done. Easily as good as the echo hedgers.comfortable to hold. No vibration


Martin

MartinHobart, TAS

Good machine - if you can get it to run.

published

Bought it after having used Stihl chainsaws and brush cutters for years without any dramas. Very disappointed with difficulty in starting it - should be a piece of cake for such a small motor. Nothing worse than getting all tooled up to trim the garden and the thing won't start, or starts and then stops, or won't start after a fuel refill. Dealer told me it was because the fuel gums up the carby if it is not used for a while, but the brush cutter starts easily after the same period. Once it's going, it does the job fine - plenty of power.

Purchased in January 2017.

Avoid

published

Absolute lemon. I've always brought Stihl, but this and my last chainsaw are shockers.Avoid the blisters and locking up of the blades on a tinny hedge. Not like the old Stihl products ! New gas mixture as the dealership recommended didn't make a difference. It will eventually run and work for 5min then it's all over.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
aumegm

aumegmAdelaide, South Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Stihl HS 45 600

published

Have used the HS 45-600 commercially, without any issues. Don't forget to lubricate the blades with WD-40 before and after use. If you have the extra money or need something with less vibration output then look at the HS46 which offers significantly lower vibration.

Available in two blade lengths; 45cm/18" or 60cm/24".

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Typically Chinese

published

Delivered this morning. Started and ran for around about five seconds. Refused determinedly ever to start again. 288 Euros out of pocket. Faced with the hassle (and expense) of disposing of this junk. Back to the hand clippers and a very long metre by metre slog. When will the West ever learn?

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Mike

MikePerth

  • 2 reviews

Excellent product

published

I have been using this for a few months now cutting hedges around my property. This hedger is well build, easy to start and use. I would recommend keeping the hedger clean after using and lubricant the cutting blade to keep the hedger in good condition. Stihl offer a good warranty and support

Date PurchasedNov 2017

poor longevity

published

Only did a couple of hours work with this 45 model and it needed a complete rebuild at a cost of $450 dollars. The agent did not tell me that that was the likely repair bill . Stihl must have very dodgy design flaws for this to happen and I would not recommend any Stilh product. Please look elsewhere or you will be sorry! They are just not capable engineers

Date PurchasedAug 2014

Max

MaxNew Plymouth NZ

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

HS45 2stroke motorised hedge trimmer

published
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Nugget

NuggetSydney, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 12 likes

This is Perfect for My Needs

published
Date PurchasedJun 2015
John

JohnNewcastle

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

Reliable Hedge Trimmer

published

Dapto Dawg

Dapto DawgIllawarra, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

My first Stihl and probably the last

published

hillslady

hillslady

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

This is a reasonably compact hedge trimmer, perfect for trimming all our shrubs. It starts first time every time. We also have a Stihl brushcutter, and were confident a Stihl hedge trimmer would be worth the money, and we were right. It makes light work of an otherwise tedious job.
Reliable, easy to use, not too heavy
Can't think of any


Slazmo

SlazmoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 235 reviews
  • 234 likes

Care to be gassed while hedging???

published
2 comments
michael5959
michael5959

maybe u should go some where and learn how to start then one handed,the blades wont move and till you hit the throttle

Slazmo
Slazmo

nah mate - it needs throttle to start, been serviced and it still needs throttle. So resting it on the ground gets dust and dirt in the blades and holding it on one hand is downright dangerous.


dan31

dan31Launceston, Tasmania

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stihl HS45 Hedge trimmer.

published

I find this machine easy to start and operate. It runs smoothly and is economical on fuel. It has great cutting capacity and cuts through the branches like butter.Great value at $450 for a machine with a 600mm cutting bar length.I would recommend the Stihl HS45 to anyone.Great product from Stihl
Great value, fast and easy to use.

james1234567890

james1234567890AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Entry level trimmer

published
KevinE

KevinEAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

A good trimmer for thicker branches

published

I prune hedges & trim trees for a living & I've had my HS45 since 2002; it's easy to start & is a strong runner. The anti vibration has never been too great on it though. Anyone who prunes hedges daily will tell you that no hedge trimmer can do it all & this unit is no exception! It fails miserably on fine hedges such as conifer & diosma because it has single sided blades. However, it will cut through the heavier going with ease! It's nice & light & almost bullet proof.
Very strong unit, especially the engine. Great for cutting up prunings to fit more into the trailer.
It's a loud unit, louder than any of my other trimmers. Also, the position of the exhaust means that you end up breathing 2 stroke exhaust.

1 comment
james1234567890
james1234567890

Questions & Answers

Eric T.

Eric T.asked

my stihl hs45 throttle cable lever wont pull the throttle enough to get movement from blades is the cable stretched i guess. Any help?

No answers

Geoff B.

Geoff B.asked

What is the blade adjustment to ensure good cuts?

No answers

Neil Plank

Neil Plankasked

how much fuel does the fuel tank hold?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Stihl representatives

Details

CategoryHedge Trimmers
Power SourcePetrol
Weight4.7kg
Price (RRP)$299
Blade Length450mm
Release dateMay 2007

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.