4 photos
Stihl HS 45

Stihl HS 45

3.7 from 23 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hedge Trimmers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Stihl? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

3.7
23 reviews
    Previous
    Next

    Reviewer Photos & Videos

    • Thumbnail
    Tom B
    Tom BSouth East Queensland, QLD
    • 4 reviews
    • 1 like

    I'm a Contractor

    published

    Purchased in June 2018 at Corinda mowers brisbane.

    Incentivised Review No
    Hunter
    Hunter
    • 4 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Good no frills trimmer

    published

    Purchased in September 2020 for $349.00.

    Incentivised Review No

    Other Hedge Trimmers

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Blane F.
    Blane F.Sydney, NSW
    • 13 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Good machine

    published

    Brought Stihl HS45-600 Petrol Hedge Trimmer
    Works perfect if you know how to work it

    I looked on YouTube and starts work and cuts good
    Nice machine and happy with it

    5 stars from me

    Purchased in September 2020 at GYC for $249.00.

    Incentivised Review No
    Hedge Trimmers

    Find out how Stihl HS 45 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Pradorav
    PradoravIllawarra, NSW
    • 6 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Has not let me down

    published
    • Thumbnail

    Purchased in March 2012 for $400.00.

    Incentivised Review No
    Naz
    NazGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

    The best hedge trimmer for it size

    published

    I am using the hs45 for 3 years starts on first some days I use 3 to 4 tanks of fuel couple of hours with no problem any machine if you look good after it will last longer an no problems at all Same with this Stihl hs 45 I will never change on different brand Stihl is Stihl n.1

    Purchased in March 2017 at Stihl Dealer for $300.00.

    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

    The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

    Shane
    ShaneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
    • 5 reviews
    • 1 like

    AVOID. No better than the throw away crap Bunnings sell.

    published

    Does a great job for the first few hours but then what should be a minor tune up requires a $250 carby replacement. No better than the throw away crap Bunnings sell at a third of the price and with 3 year warranty.

    Purchased in March 2019 at Stihl Dealer.

    Incentivised Review No
    big kev
    big kev
    • 2 reviews

    hard to start

    published

    I own several garden machinery items and recently purchased a Stihl H545-600mm hedge trimmer. It's a shocker to start and I'm sorry I purchased it as I tossed up between this and a Husqvarna, which was more expensive. It's ok when it get going, it's disappointing to say the least.

    Purchased in August 2019.

    Incentivised Review No
    Peter Frost
    Peter FrostWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

    Excellent hedger

    published

    We use this in a council run gardens..gets a lot of use . Runs well, economical, gets the job done. Easily as good as the echo hedgers.comfortable to hold. No vibration

    Incentivised Review No

    Other Hedge Trimmers

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Martin
    MartinHobart, TAS

    Good machine - if you can get it to run.

    published

    Bought it after having used Stihl chainsaws and brush cutters for years without any dramas. Very disappointed with difficulty in starting it - should be a piece of cake for such a small motor. Nothing worse than getting all tooled up to trim the garden and the thing won't start, or starts and then stops, or won't start after a fuel refill. Dealer told me it was because the fuel gums up the carby if it is not used for a while, but the brush cutter starts easily after the same period. Once it's going, it does the job fine - plenty of power.

    Purchased in January 2017.

    Incentivised Review No
    Hedge Trimmers

    Find out how Stihl HS 45 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Avoid

    published

    Absolute lemon. I've always brought Stihl, but this and my last chainsaw are shockers.Avoid the blisters and locking up of the blades on a tinny hedge. Not like the old Stihl products ! New gas mixture as the dealership recommended didn't make a difference. It will eventually run and work for 5min then it's all over.

    Date PurchasedMay 2018
    aumegm
    aumegmAdelaide, South Australia
    • 8 reviews
    • 6 likes
    • Verified

    Stihl HS 45 600

    published

    Have used the HS 45-600 commercially, without any issues. Don't forget to lubricate the blades with WD-40 before and after use. If you have the extra money or need something with less vibration output then look at the HS46 which offers significantly lower vibration.

    Available in two blade lengths; 45cm/18" or 60cm/24".

    Date PurchasedMar 2018

    Typically Chinese

    published

    Delivered this morning. Started and ran for around about five seconds. Refused determinedly ever to start again. 288 Euros out of pocket. Faced with the hassle (and expense) of disposing of this junk. Back to the hand clippers and a very long metre by metre slog. When will the West ever learn?

    Date PurchasedJune 2018
    Mike
    MikePerth
    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    Excellent product

    published

    I have been using this for a few months now cutting hedges around my property. This hedger is well build, easy to start and use. I would recommend keeping the hedger clean after using and lubricant the cutting blade to keep the hedger in good condition. Stihl offer a good warranty and support

    Date PurchasedNov 2017

    poor longevity

    published

    Only did a couple of hours work with this 45 model and it needed a complete rebuild at a cost of $450 dollars. The agent did not tell me that that was the likely repair bill . Stihl must have very dodgy design flaws for this to happen and I would not recommend any Stilh product. Please look elsewhere or you will be sorry! They are just not capable engineers

    Date PurchasedAug 2014

    Other Hedge Trimmers

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Max
    MaxNew Plymouth NZ
    • 6 reviews
    • 11 likes

    HS45 2stroke motorised hedge trimmer

    published
    Date PurchasedMay 2014
    Hedge Trimmers

    Find out how Stihl HS 45 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Questions & Answers

    Joanthony M.
    Joanthony M.asked

    What petrol do I used unleaded or mix unleaded n oil

    1 answer
    Hunter
    Hunter

    As you will see in the Stihl instruction book and the dealer should have told you, like all Stihl petrol powered products, this has a two stroke engine so you should use a petrol oil mix of one part two stroke oil to fifty parts unleaded (non-ethanol) petrol. You can buy two stroke oil at most hardware and garden machinery shops with a special measuring dispenser.

    Shane C.
    Shane C.asked

    Which way is choke

    2 answers
    Naz
    Naz

    Up is choke

    Pradorav
    Pradorav

    On the right side of trimmer with cutters pointing away from you is an orange coloured lever. Pushing this forward arcing down fully towards fuel primer bulb is in full choke position.

    태준 한.
    태준 한.asked

    Enginge make noise but blade does not follow as much as engine noise

    No answers
    See all Stihl HS 45 questions

    Get an answer from our members

    Details

    CategoryHedge Trimmers
    Power SourcePetrol
    Weight4.7kg
    Price (RRP)$299
    Blade Length450mm
    Release dateMay 2007
    ManualDownload manual
    Visit official website

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.