??!
4 photos
Stihl HS 45

Stihl HS 45

3.6 from 21 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.6

21 reviews
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Previous
Next
Blane F.

Blane F.Sydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Good machine

published

Brought Stihl HS45-600 Petrol Hedge Trimmer
Works perfect if you know how to work it

I looked on YouTube and starts work and cuts good
Nice machine and happy with it

5 stars from me

Purchased in September 2020 at GYC for A$249.00.

Pradorav

PradoravIllawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Has not let me down

published

Purchased in March 2012 for A$400.00.

Naz

NazGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

The best hedge trimmer for it size

published

I am using the hs45 for 3 years starts on first some days I use 3 to 4 tanks of fuel couple of hours with no problem any machine if you look good after it will last longer an no problems at all Same with this Stihl hs 45 I will never change on different brand Stihl is Stihl n.1

Purchased in March 2017 at Stihl Dealer for A$300.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Stihl HS 45 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shane

ShaneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

AVOID. No better than the throw away crap Bunnings sell.

published

Does a great job for the first few hours but then what should be a minor tune up requires a $250 carby replacement. No better than the throw away crap Bunnings sell at a third of the price and with 3 year warranty.

Purchased in March 2019 at Stihl Dealer.

big kev

big kev

  • 2 reviews

hard to start

published

I own several garden machinery items and recently purchased a Stihl H545-600mm hedge trimmer. It's a shocker to start and I'm sorry I purchased it as I tossed up between this and a Husqvarna, which was more expensive. It's ok when it get going, it's disappointing to say the least.

Purchased in August 2019.

Peter Frost

Peter FrostWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Excellent hedger

published

We use this in a council run gardens..gets a lot of use . Runs well, economical, gets the job done. Easily as good as the echo hedgers.comfortable to hold. No vibration

Martin

MartinHobart, TAS

Good machine - if you can get it to run.

published

Bought it after having used Stihl chainsaws and brush cutters for years without any dramas. Very disappointed with difficulty in starting it - should be a piece of cake for such a small motor. Nothing worse than getting all tooled up to trim the garden and the thing won't start, or starts and then stops, or won't start after a fuel refill. Dealer told me it was because the fuel gums up the carby if it is not used for a while, but the brush cutter starts easily after the same period. Once it's going, it does the job fine - plenty of power.

Purchased in January 2017.

Avoid

published

Absolute lemon. I've always brought Stihl, but this and my last chainsaw are shockers.Avoid the blisters and locking up of the blades on a tinny hedge. Not like the old Stihl products ! New gas mixture as the dealership recommended didn't make a difference. It will eventually run and work for 5min then it's all over.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
aumegm

aumegmAdelaide, South Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Stihl HS 45 600

published

Have used the HS 45-600 commercially, without any issues. Don't forget to lubricate the blades with WD-40 before and after use. If you have the extra money or need something with less vibration output then look at the HS46 which offers significantly lower vibration.

Available in two blade lengths; 45cm/18" or 60cm/24".

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Stihl HS 45 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Typically Chinese

published

Delivered this morning. Started and ran for around about five seconds. Refused determinedly ever to start again. 288 Euros out of pocket. Faced with the hassle (and expense) of disposing of this junk. Back to the hand clippers and a very long metre by metre slog. When will the West ever learn?

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Mike

MikePerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent product

published

I have been using this for a few months now cutting hedges around my property. This hedger is well build, easy to start and use. I would recommend keeping the hedger clean after using and lubricant the cutting blade to keep the hedger in good condition. Stihl offer a good warranty and support

Date PurchasedNov 2017

poor longevity

published

Only did a couple of hours work with this 45 model and it needed a complete rebuild at a cost of $450 dollars. The agent did not tell me that that was the likely repair bill . Stihl must have very dodgy design flaws for this to happen and I would not recommend any Stilh product. Please look elsewhere or you will be sorry! They are just not capable engineers

Date PurchasedAug 2014
Max

MaxNew Plymouth NZ

  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

HS45 2stroke motorised hedge trimmer

published
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Nugget

NuggetSydney, NSW

  • 25 reviews
  • 18 likes

This is Perfect for My Needs

published
Date PurchasedJun 2015
John

JohnHunter Region, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 15 likes

Reliable Hedge Trimmer

published
Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Stihl HS 45 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dapto Dawg

Dapto DawgIllawarra, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

My first Stihl and probably the last

published
hillslady

hillslady

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

This is a reasonably compact hedge trimmer, perfect for trimming all our shrubs. It starts first time every time. We also have a Stihl brushcutter, and were confident a Stihl hedge trimmer would be worth the money, and we were right. It makes light work of an otherwise tedious job.
Reliable, easy to use, not too heavy
Can't think of any

Slazmo

SlazmoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 243 reviews
  • 239 likes

Care to be gassed while hedging???

published
2 comments
michael5959
michael5959

maybe u should go some where and learn how to start then one handed,the blades wont move and till you hit the throttle

Slazmo
Slazmo

nah mate - it needs throttle to start, been serviced and it still needs throttle. So resting it on the ground gets dust and dirt in the blades and holding it on one hand is downright dangerous.

dan31

dan31Launceston, Tasmania

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stihl HS45 Hedge trimmer.

published

I find this machine easy to start and operate. It runs smoothly and is economical on fuel. It has great cutting capacity and cuts through the branches like butter.Great value at $450 for a machine with a 600mm cutting bar length.I would recommend the Stihl HS45 to anyone.Great product from Stihl
Great value, fast and easy to use.

james1234567890

james1234567890AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Entry level trimmer

published
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Shane C.

Shane C.asked

Which way is choke

2 answers
Naz
Naz

Up is choke

Pradorav
Pradorav

On the right side of trimmer with cutters pointing away from you is an orange coloured lever. Pushing this forward arcing down fully towards fuel primer bulb is in full choke position.

태준 한.

태준 한.asked

Enginge make noise but blade does not follow as much as engine noise

No answers
Eric T.

Eric T.asked

my stihl hs45 throttle cable lever wont pull the throttle enough to get movement from blades is the cable stretched i guess. Any help?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.