??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Duraceramic FP6000

Sunbeam Duraceramic FP6000

2.1 from 29 reviews

Reviews

(4)
(2)
(1)
(9)
(13)
Leonie S.

Leonie S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

I’m extremely disappointed in my ceramic frypan.

published

I’m extremely disappointed in my ceramic frypan. It’s going back to the shop today. It goes black under whatever I’m cooking which transfers into the food and when I cooked fried rice in it... disaster! It stuck so bad I had to soak it overnight and even then I had a lot of trouble removing the baked on fried rice. I tried different settings but too low wouldn’t cook it. I just wanted a Sunbeam non stick frypan that was always available in the shops. But none at Big W.

Purchased in February 2020 at Big W for $79.00.

Rod

RodSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Very Happy So Far!

published

I didnt look at any reviews prior to buying our frypan and after reading some of the negative one's I was starting to regret my decision before I'd even used it. Have to say, not sure what all the problems are! Used it to cook bacon & eggs and then cooked a chicken dish that required browning the skin prior to further cooking for another 1.5hrs. Everything was perfect! In both cases it was just wipe clean before washing. So far very happy with the purchase and far better than conventional frypan!

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for $66.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Rod,
Thanks for the lovely review and great feedback!

Initially disappointed but quite good

published

I was initially disappointed because of a roughly linear band of blackening and discolouration of the white ceramic cooking surface adjacent to the heating element appeared after a couple of uses. This appeared permanent as it couldn't be removed by usual washing and scrubbing.
Eventually after looking up the product reviews and reading similar findings from other reviewers I thought that the discolouration was going to be a permanent feature.
The remedy turned out to be quite easy.
After 20 seconds easy cleaning with a small amount of liquid ceramic and stainless steel cooktop cleaner using a non-scratch mesh sponge scourer the ceramic surface appeared like new.

Purchased at BigW.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Boris Terry,
Thank you. That is a great honest review!

Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Duraceramic FP6000 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony

TonySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The "latest coating" - marketing crap

published

We needed to purchase a new frypan as the teflon was beginning to break down on our older frypan. We use our frypan at least 4-5 nights a week. When we went to replace it, we were given the sales speel that "this new ceramic one wont chip, wont need oil and wont end up with the burn element ring". Well guess what - we are starting to get the element ring again. We only use the non scratch scourer to clean it. Dont know the exact age yet but assume under 12 months. Glad we paid more to get the same results - NOT. My advice, buy a lower cost teflon unit each year instead of this unit. Waste of money

3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Tony
Tony

Yes have found the receipt, waa dated 29.1.19

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Tony,
That's great, please return to store for a replacement...

Trish_D

Trish_DSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Brilliant.

published

I can't believe how much better this cooks than my other frypans have. The surface heats so evenly and so little oil is needed. It is very easy to clean. Having the ability to lift to drain is a plus as not all frypans have that any longer. I found it very easy to get used to the temperature probe and it is extremely simple to increase or decrease the temperature by small degrees. It is a very workable size, being a large but not too large electric frypan. I'm delighted with mine.

Purchased in April 2019 at Big W for $60.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Trish_D, Thanks for the great review! Kind Regards Sunbeam

michael

michaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

burns food on low setting

published

when we first bought this pan we too loved the ceramic base over teflon however in the last 3 months its burning the food on the element line in the middle of the pan snitzels stroganoff and other foods seems like it's on full heat but dial is only half way..my wife has gone back to the frypan on the stove

reading other reviews we all have the same issue...burning on the element and hard to remove

Purchased in July 2018.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi michael,
So sorry to hear of this. Being purchased within the last 12 months - please return this the store of purchase for a replacement. Your feedback will be passed on to our product team. Kind regards,
Sunbeam.

Mickldo.

Mickldo.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste of money.

published

Bought the DuraCeramic skillet to replace the usual Teflon skillet I've used for many years. What a disappointment. However careful I am with temperatures and food cooked, the results have been disgusting. Burnt food around heating element, and no way to get it off. Boiling water with dishwashing liquid added in pan won't remove burnt food. In the bin will be a good place for it.....

Purchased in June 2018.

3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Mickldo,
Sorry to hear of your experience with the FP6000. We do appreciate your feedback and it will be passed on to our product team. If you have obtained your receipt please return it to the store of purchase.

Mickldo.
Mickldo.
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Mickldo,
We are unable to advise the retailers to replace without a receipt. Sunbeam however would love to assist. Please call us on 1300 881 861.

Beckles

BecklesSunbury

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

So misleading it's disgusting

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
1aussiegal1967

1aussiegal1967Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

This is cheap rubbish that’s just easier not to use

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Duraceramic FP6000 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter from the Tweed

Peter from the TweedTweed

  • 25 reviews
  • 1 like

Wasted opportunity

published

The idea of a ceramic surface is great, but unfortunately Sunbeam have produced this with the same cheap single ring element as other budget frypans.
We don’t use it much but already the surface is discolored and hard to clean where the element runs. It doesn’t look like it will actually last any longer than the conventional (and cheaper) alternatives.
Don’t buy it.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Peter, so sorry to hear this frypan isn't meeting expectations for you.

Ian

Ianwidgee

Poor quality

published

First frypan was scratched. Second frypan's glass lid was off centre to metal surround - Chinese quality!!

Control unit does not lock into frypan's terminals so the pan can go off heat easily. I put a salt shaker sideways under control unit to ensure connection.

First cook: Cooked sausages and "non stick" surface would not clean with scrubbing brush. Manual says to use abrasive cleaner??

Control knob is useless as temps. marked as 0, min, med, max. I marked outer ring so as to get better heat selection. Will not buy another Sunbeam.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Ian, not happy that this product is not performing as it should. Please return this product to the store and take your receipt. The store will happily replace this for you.

Garryphnz

GarryphnzAuckland, New Zealand

Dura ceramic? rubbish!

published

Had the first one replaced by the retailer after 3 Mths when the so-called non-stick ceramic was catching all food and leaving marks on the surface where the element is. Got told we were using it too hot! It’s a b... fry pan it’s supposed to be hot!

After an argument got it replaced and the new one does exactly the same! Dura ceramic is a have and a marketing gimmick to sell a dud product at a higher price. Probably worse than Teflon.

Could not recommend this product at all and Sunbeam needs to review the product performance of the dura ceramic if it is going to keep selling them. I’ll be taking it back to the retailer for (another) replacement but Teflon this time.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Garryphnz, so sorry for your bad experiences with this product, feedback is something we do take on board. At this point I would suggest the FP5910 frypan. A classic all rounder

Not happy

published

Not happy cooked first time the ring part had burn ring, today cooked first part if my breakfast took out then went to cook my eggs but they didn't cook fry pan just died wont work only a yr old not happy, I'm a disabled pensioner thought using a electric cooker would li d be cheaper then using my electric stove, now I have another expense.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Mick
Mick

Sorry I couldn't find the docket, it's not the probe I put another one into it, besides I cooked half of my meal firstly

Melody

MelodyBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed :-(

published

Chose the ceramic for a healthier cooking option as well as the convenience of of a bench top fry pan, first time pan burnt immediately around elements now food just burns and sticks. Used plenty of coconut oil and cooked on low. Temperature turns itself up and down constantly so has to be watched closely. After less than a week have noticed parts of the ceramic has started chipping even though it has been cleaned gently. Not happy at all, waste of money.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Melody - so sorry to hear of the issues you are having with your FP6000. Please contact our customer care team on 1300 881 861 and we would be more than happy to replace this unit for you, or supply you with a different model.

Very Disappointed

published

Purchased this as an upgrade from the old failing teflon after reading ceramics are great, it started off really well in the first few months but after one year it needs soaking all the time. I use coconut oil and never get to half. way on the dial. More research for the next one.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Duraceramic FP6000 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
t00dles

t00dlesQLD, 4000

  • 60 reviews
  • 39 likes

DREADFUL!

published

This has been my worst purchase EVER. This thing burns, cooks unevenly, is impossible to clean, sticks and is the most useless product I have ever spent money on!! I am so disappointed in this. I would never ever buy another Sunbeam product based on this fry pan alone! Absolutely awful! Doesn't even deserve 1 star.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Dave A

Dave ALismore

  • Verified purchase

At last, a decent frypan

published

I warm it up gently, then turn to medium and it cooks beautifully.
It was a present after i read the complaints, but i disagree with most.
It has to be the best frypan we've ever had, cooks well, cleans easily, what more do people want?
It will be used a lot.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

A dreadful product

published

Very disappointing frypan. It is impossible to clean and does not cook evenly. I was looking for a banquet style frypan and loved the idea of the ceramic coating. In no way does it come up to my expectations I so wish I’d bought something else. Would not recommend this at all.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

It’s the worst.

published

This frypan is the worst frypan I have ever purchased. I purchased it as I wanted a frypan which was non stick, easy to clean and Teflon free. What a joke! Everything sticks then burns, temperature all over the place, and as far as cleaning goes, I could soak it for a week and the food which has burnt and stuck on the pan wouldn’t come off! i have now resorted to using bicarbonate of soda to clean it. It can’t wreak havoc on it as it is was useless from the start.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
valco

valcoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great frypan

published

First time user of a ceramic base. It is quick, non stick, easy to clean, can cook anything without ruining the food. (If any one can I can). I just add water and heat it up to remove any sticky food before washing it. No need to scrape or scrub to clean. I really recommend this type of frypan. I also really love Sunbeam.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Loel

Loelasked

Has anyone else had chips appear on the surface of their skillet?

2 answers
Rod
Rod

Not at this stage. Very happy with our purchase so far

Tony
Tony

Yep, shortly after getting it. This ceramic coating is supposed to be "the hardess" material around. Well thats crap. And burning, base has a constant burn ring around the element that wont remove. We use teflon tongs and olive oil spray only. Just waiting for it to die and I'll purchase the standard frypan.

Ruth L.

Ruth L.asked

Hi, am very happy with my Sunbeam skillet SK6000 which I purchased some months ago. However, the Integrated Knob and Steam vent on top got loose and has come away. As I am an old aged lady pensioner, am having trouble reassembling this and no instructions in the manual. Can you help?

4 answers
Trish_D
Trish_D

I would RING Sunbeam as soon as possible, it doesn't matter whether the skillet is still in warranty. The phone number should be in your instruction manual. Good luck.

Ruth L.
Ruth L.

Many thanks for your reply. I will contact Sunbeam.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Ruth L,
Yes I agree with Trish, please contact us on 1300 881 861 so we can assist you.

BSG3

BSG3asked

Good afternoon, in the book it says to clean with a cream multi purpose cleaner. Which cleaner would you recommend?

3 answers
Trish_D
Trish_D

Hi, BSG3, the only cleaner I've used is the Jif cream cleaner and that's the only one I've been able to find that sounds OK. It works well, you only need a small amount on a paper towel or damp cloth. If I could still buy it I'd use the Corning Ware cleaner which was just brilliant but I haven't seen it for ages.

BSG3
BSG3

Thank you. Will try Jif.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi BSG3,
Yes any cream cleanser will do the job.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.