??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Duraceramic FP6000

Sunbeam Duraceramic FP6000

2.0 from 35 reviews

Reviews

2.0

35 reviews
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(9)
1
(18)
Previous
Next
Craig

CraigGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

We have persevered, but this pan is a FAIL

published

We have used the Duraceramic pan for over 2 years now and are very disappointed. The element does not distribute the heat evenly across the surface and the controller cycles through too large a temperature range trying to regulate the temperature. This results in food burning, and then broiling in cycles. Disappointing.

Purchased at The Good Guys for A$80.00.

Janet H.

Janet H.North Queensland, QLD

Unhappy with this product

published

I purchased this skillet as I have regularly replaced my Teflon frypans each year or two. I have never used metal tools and have only cleaned with sponge. I found after the first use cooking chops no oil added that it burned the chops and the frypan. I only use the middle range to heat but the pan is burnt looking and hard to clean. After a couple of more uses the brown stain has become worse and the food sticks to the surface. TOTAL FAILURE. Duraceramic surface is absolutely useless.

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys for A$50.00.

lexxel

lexxelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 66 reviews
  • 44 likes

So easy to use and clean

published

I bought this a week ago and very impressed. I have had these types of frypans before but never a ceramic coated one

I will keep the review short because i would imagine people having experience with electric frypans - now the key feature I am going to point out is the ease of it in regards to cleaning - I cooked a chicken pasta bake, now this means i add cheese to it and spiral pasta and chicken Not once did anything stick but after to clean it, few hours after dinner, it was simply just wipe with a dish cloth, no struggle - now i have used others and never been that easy to clean

Dinner came out excellent and no probs what so ever - highly recommend if you want simplistic cleaning and cooking

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$68.00.

Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Duraceramic FP6000 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Dissapointing

published

I have only used it a few times thought it would be healthier then Teflon. But it is stained and food sticks to it. Worst frypan ever I’m going back to Teflon.

Purchased in March 2020 at Kmart.

Alpal

AlpalPerth, WA

This product failed miserably

published

I purchased recently and have used it about 12 times. I have never used metal tools and have only cleaned with sponge. After about 6 uses a brown stain appeared in the shape of the heating element. I have only had the temperature to about 6 or 7 out of ten. The stain has become worse and also food now sticks to the surface. TOTAL FAILURE. Duraceramic surface is absolutely useless. DO NOT BUY

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for A$80.00.

Deb

DebWestern Australia

Absolutely terrible!

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W for A$80.00.

3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Deb
Deb

Please accept my opinion and experience without being condescending. There are many other reviews with the same issues.

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

My apologies Deb, that was not my intention at all. I just went off what you had shared and thought some of my points could help.

Leonie S.

Leonie S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

I’m extremely disappointed in my ceramic frypan.

published

I’m extremely disappointed in my ceramic frypan. It’s going back to the shop today. It goes black under whatever I’m cooking which transfers into the food and when I cooked fried rice in it... disaster! It stuck so bad I had to soak it overnight and even then I had a lot of trouble removing the baked on fried rice. I tried different settings but too low wouldn’t cook it. I just wanted a Sunbeam non stick frypan that was always available in the shops. But none at Big W.

Purchased in February 2020 at Big W for A$79.00.

Rod

RodSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Happy So Far!

published

I didnt look at any reviews prior to buying our frypan and after reading some of the negative one's I was starting to regret my decision before I'd even used it. Have to say, not sure what all the problems are! Used it to cook bacon & eggs and then cooked a chicken dish that required browning the skin prior to further cooking for another 1.5hrs. Everything was perfect! In both cases it was just wipe clean before washing. So far very happy with the purchase and far better than conventional frypan!

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for A$66.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Rod,
Thanks for the lovely review and great feedback!

Initially disappointed but quite good

published

I was initially disappointed because of a roughly linear band of blackening and discolouration of the white ceramic cooking surface adjacent to the heating element appeared after a couple of uses. This appeared permanent as it couldn't be removed by usual washing and scrubbing.
Eventually after looking up the product reviews and reading similar findings from other reviewers I thought that the discolouration was going to be a permanent feature.
The remedy turned out to be quite easy.
After 20 seconds easy cleaning with a small amount of liquid ceramic and stainless steel cooktop cleaner using a non-scratch mesh sponge scourer the ceramic surface appeared like new.

Purchased at BigW.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Boris Terry,
Thank you. That is a great honest review!

Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Duraceramic FP6000 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony

TonySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The "latest coating" - marketing crap

published

We needed to purchase a new frypan as the teflon was beginning to break down on our older frypan. We use our frypan at least 4-5 nights a week. When we went to replace it, we were given the sales speel that "this new ceramic one wont chip, wont need oil and wont end up with the burn element ring". Well guess what - we are starting to get the element ring again. We only use the non scratch scourer to clean it. Dont know the exact age yet but assume under 12 months. Glad we paid more to get the same results - NOT. My advice, buy a lower cost teflon unit each year instead of this unit. Waste of money

3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Tony
Tony

Yes have found the receipt, waa dated 29.1.19

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Tony,
That's great, please return to store for a replacement...

Trish_D

Trish_DSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 11 likes

Brilliant While It Worked.

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Big W for A$60.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Trish_D, Thanks for the great review! Kind Regards Sunbeam

michael

michaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

burns food on low setting

published

when we first bought this pan we too loved the ceramic base over teflon however in the last 3 months its burning the food on the element line in the middle of the pan snitzels stroganoff and other foods seems like it's on full heat but dial is only half way..my wife has gone back to the frypan on the stove

reading other reviews we all have the same issue...burning on the element and hard to remove

Purchased in July 2018.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi michael,
So sorry to hear of this. Being purchased within the last 12 months - please return this the store of purchase for a replacement. Your feedback will be passed on to our product team. Kind regards,
Sunbeam.

Mickldo.

Mickldo.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste of money.

published

Bought the DuraCeramic skillet to replace the usual Teflon skillet I've used for many years. What a disappointment. However careful I am with temperatures and food cooked, the results have been disgusting. Burnt food around heating element, and no way to get it off. Boiling water with dishwashing liquid added in pan won't remove burnt food. In the bin will be a good place for it.....

Purchased in June 2018.

3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Mickldo,
Sorry to hear of your experience with the FP6000. We do appreciate your feedback and it will be passed on to our product team. If you have obtained your receipt please return it to the store of purchase.

Mickldo.
Mickldo.
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Mickldo,
We are unable to advise the retailers to replace without a receipt. Sunbeam however would love to assist. Please call us on 1300 881 861.

Beckles

BecklesSunbury

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

So misleading it's disgusting

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
1aussiegal1967

1aussiegal1967Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

This is cheap rubbish that’s just easier not to use

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Duraceramic FP6000 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter from the Tweed

Peter from the TweedTweed

  • 25 reviews
  • 36 likes

Wasted opportunity

published

The idea of a ceramic surface is great, but unfortunately Sunbeam have produced this with the same cheap single ring element as other budget frypans.
We don’t use it much but already the surface is discolored and hard to clean where the element runs. It doesn’t look like it will actually last any longer than the conventional (and cheaper) alternatives.
Don’t buy it.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Peter, so sorry to hear this frypan isn't meeting expectations for you.

Ian

Ianwidgee

Poor quality

published

First frypan was scratched. Second frypan's glass lid was off centre to metal surround - Chinese quality!!

Control unit does not lock into frypan's terminals so the pan can go off heat easily. I put a salt shaker sideways under control unit to ensure connection.

First cook: Cooked sausages and "non stick" surface would not clean with scrubbing brush. Manual says to use abrasive cleaner??

Control knob is useless as temps. marked as 0, min, med, max. I marked outer ring so as to get better heat selection. Will not buy another Sunbeam.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Ian, not happy that this product is not performing as it should. Please return this product to the store and take your receipt. The store will happily replace this for you.

Garryphnz

GarryphnzAuckland, New Zealand

Dura ceramic? rubbish!

published

Had the first one replaced by the retailer after 3 Mths when the so-called non-stick ceramic was catching all food and leaving marks on the surface where the element is. Got told we were using it too hot! It’s a b... fry pan it’s supposed to be hot!

After an argument got it replaced and the new one does exactly the same! Dura ceramic is a have and a marketing gimmick to sell a dud product at a higher price. Probably worse than Teflon.

Could not recommend this product at all and Sunbeam needs to review the product performance of the dura ceramic if it is going to keep selling them. I’ll be taking it back to the retailer for (another) replacement but Teflon this time.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Garryphnz, so sorry for your bad experiences with this product, feedback is something we do take on board. At this point I would suggest the FP5910 frypan. A classic all rounder

Not happy

published

Not happy cooked first time the ring part had burn ring, today cooked first part if my breakfast took out then went to cook my eggs but they didn't cook fry pan just died wont work only a yr old not happy, I'm a disabled pensioner thought using a electric cooker would li d be cheaper then using my electric stove, now I have another expense.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Mick
Mick

Sorry I couldn't find the docket, it's not the probe I put another one into it, besides I cooked half of my meal firstly

Melody

MelodyBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed :-(

published

Chose the ceramic for a healthier cooking option as well as the convenience of of a bench top fry pan, first time pan burnt immediately around elements now food just burns and sticks. Used plenty of coconut oil and cooked on low. Temperature turns itself up and down constantly so has to be watched closely. After less than a week have noticed parts of the ceramic has started chipping even though it has been cleaned gently. Not happy at all, waste of money.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Melody - so sorry to hear of the issues you are having with your FP6000. Please contact our customer care team on 1300 881 861 and we would be more than happy to replace this unit for you, or supply you with a different model.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Loel

Loelasked

Has anyone else had chips appear on the surface of their skillet?

2 answers
Rod
Rod

Not at this stage. Very happy with our purchase so far

Tony
Tony

Yep, shortly after getting it. This ceramic coating is supposed to be "the hardess" material around. Well thats crap. And burning, base has a constant burn ring around the element that wont remove. We use teflon tongs and olive oil spray only. Just waiting for it to die and I'll purchase the standard frypan.

Ruth L.

Ruth L.asked

Hi, am very happy with my Sunbeam skillet SK6000 which I purchased some months ago. However, the Integrated Knob and Steam vent on top got loose and has come away. As I am an old aged lady pensioner, am having trouble reassembling this and no instructions in the manual. Can you help?

4 answers
Trish_D
Trish_D

I would RING Sunbeam as soon as possible, it doesn't matter whether the skillet is still in warranty. The phone number should be in your instruction manual. Good luck.

Ruth L.
Ruth L.

Many thanks for your reply. I will contact Sunbeam.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Ruth L,
Yes I agree with Trish, please contact us on 1300 881 861 so we can assist you.

BSG3

BSG3asked

Good afternoon, in the book it says to clean with a cream multi purpose cleaner. Which cleaner would you recommend?

3 answers
Trish_D
Trish_D

Hi, BSG3, the only cleaner I've used is the Jif cream cleaner and that's the only one I've been able to find that sounds OK. It works well, you only need a small amount on a paper towel or damp cloth. If I could still buy it I'd use the Corning Ware cleaner which was just brilliant but I haven't seen it for ages.

BSG3
BSG3

Thank you. Will try Jif.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi BSG3,
Yes any cream cleanser will do the job.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.