??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Ellise Stainless Steel Banquet FP8950

Sunbeam Ellise Stainless Steel Banquet FP8950

MPNs: 35904550 and 5176
3.3 from 23 reviews

Reviews

3.3

23 reviews
5
(10)
4
(1)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Previous
Next
Midisoul

MidisoulSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Used this one in our Cafe - Excellent

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Joyce Mayne for A$85.00.

Ellen H.

Ellen H.Hunter Region, NSW

Great pan- enjoyable to use.

published

Great size for large meals. I use a little oil & this sticks a bit more than teflon, but not difficult to manage with good utensils.I put water in once I've finished cooking while hot, then can easily clean it later. Very satisfied.

Purchased in July 2020.

Reibunny

ReibunnyCaboolture, Queensland

  • 2 reviews

Use a bbq mat people

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Ellise Stainless Steel Banquet FP8950 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I'm impressed

published

I seriously lovvvvvve this pan.
I hesitated for so long b4 buying any stainless steel frying pan as I was concerned about sticking and negative reviews, but I have seasoned pan as directions and continued to season it and am having no problems at all.
Schnitzels, stews, sausages, fish....so far so good

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$130.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

So GLAD you LOVE it !
Thank you for your awesome Feedback.

Bad frypan

published

Despite obsessively preparing the pan before cooking, it sticks most foods. It is also overpowered, so there you can not adjust temperatures at a low levels. It does not do what it advertises, and I would you urge you to avoid it.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$150.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Renee

ReneeNorth Queensland, QLD

Love this electric frying pan!

published

I bought this frying pan as I got sick and tired of throwing out the "non stick" type due to chipping and food burning and getting stuck beyond help!
I LOVE this frying pan, cooks my meat and dishes beautifully. Sometimes food does get stuck, but its Easy as to clean!! I LOVE IT!!

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$139.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Renee,
Thanks for the GREAT review!

Sally

SallyNelson

  • 2 reviews

Everything sticks

published

I hoped getting a stainless steel electric frypan would be an expensive way to stop food sticking. Well everything sticks from pancakes to meat patties, I find the thermostat is odd as have to keep turning it up to fall to keep cooking.

Purchased in July 2019 at Briscoes for A$150.00.

4 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sally,
For the stainless steel pans, they need to be seasoned so as to limit sticking. This process can be followed as per Instruction Booklet.
Also you will find that the food (meat etc) will lift more easily when cooking is complete.

Sally
Sally

I have seasoned it per the booklet

Sally
Sally

I have now cooked the chicken to your exact booklet instructions, the chicken is stuck and burnt !

Susan

SusanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible

published

I replaced my 20 year Sunbeam Stainless Steel fry pan with this one but cannot control the heat at all. You need the thermostat in the off position most of the time. It is still under warranty so will try and replace it.

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$140.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Susan,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. So sorry to hear of this. Please return it to the store of purchase with your receipt. I will be sure to pass this feedback on to our product team. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

THE best frypan i have ever bought

published

I have thrown away so many fry pans over the years. Went into an electrical store one day and the sales lady told me about the Stainless Steel frypan, specifically this one. I am writing this 8 years later. it has never failed me.. just remember to let it cool after cooking, and put some water in, then simply WIPE clean. amazing. love it!

Purchased in February 2001 at Retrovision for A$120.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Suzie,
Thanks for the fantastic review!. Kind Regards Sunbeam.

Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Ellise Stainless Steel Banquet FP8950 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hedgy

HedgyGippsland, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

One word is enough.

published

In a word, this frypan is wonderful. I have always had Sunbeam frypans and this one tops them all. After cooking, just pour in some cold water and by the time you are ready to wash up, everything comes off easily with no need for hard scrubbing. It can go in the dishwasher as well but I don't bother as it is rather large. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. There is a 25 year guarantee on the stainless steel.

Purchased in February 2018 for A$141.00.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Hedgy, thank you for the great review, we really appreciate it!!!

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Hedgy,
Thanks for the great review!

Yval

YvalPalmeston

  • 14 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great for its size, not easy to wash

published

I have an older model of sunbeam fry pan it was amazing, easy to clean in and out. The model obviously had discontinued long time ago. The only problem, it was too small and shallow.
I bought this newer model it was big enough, deep enough. It get hot very fast. It made of stainless steel, that's the reason why I bought it.
But the design is pretty bad, it has too many corners and narrow spaces where oil and food can stuck, including the bottom of the pan where there are many small ventilations and plastic legs. It is pretty heavy too. I am not disappointed with this model,but i wish sunbeam could come up with better design.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

This frypan is a failure!

published

The thermostat on my stainless steel banquet frypan has never worked properly, I must start on no higher than 3 setting and finish cooking on "off" for quite some time. I cannot use olive oil at all as it sets off the fire alar ms. Very disappointed I n product and will not buy any more Sunbeam products. Which I have always bought for over 50years. A real lemon. Bought at Harvey Norman in 2017 and from first use it has been frustrating.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Best ever!

published

We've had ours for years now with no problems. Works great, easy to clean. Strong hygienic stainless steel - good quality. Cook up some sausages and chops, make a big one dish meal, stir-fry, shallow fry, does it all. Loved it so much I bought another one for my daughter

Date PurchasedSep 2015
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the positive review Gezi!!

AJM

AJMBrisbane

No parts available

published

Frypan itself works beautifully , problem is the bakelite surround which covers the control probe broke . Rang Sunbeam to be told no such part available , and my 2 1/2 year old stainless steel frypan won't be covered under warranty . Bad luck . Won't be buying another Sunbeam appliance ever.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
GJM

GJMQueensland

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Poor Quality Couldn't Use It

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi, GJM, so sorry to hear of your bad experiences with Sunbeam and apologise for any negative Customer Service experience. Please contact out team on 1300 881 861 so we can turn this around and assist you...

Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Sunbeam Ellise Stainless Steel Banquet FP8950 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Seasoning resulted in burnt oil stains with first use

published

Was very happy with my purchase until I used it for the first time after recommended seasoning. Now I'm stuck with burnt oil stains. Instruction booklet doesn't cover this issue so I contacted Sunbeam Customer Support online and 3 weeks later they have not responded to my enquiry. All I want to know is how to remove this grime without damaging the frying pan.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Natalie

NatalieNewcastle

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very disappointed, not like my old Sunbeam

published

Temperature probe problems.

published

From the start we have had problems with the control probe. Too hot or too cool. The medium temperature is hard to work. We love the fact the pan gets very hot and is stainless but we like it hot when we want it to be hot.
The sad thing is that we still have our Sunbeam fryer from the 1960s (late 69) and it still works perfectly but we needed the larger size. The difference in quality of the probe is staggering.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
ash2628

ash2628Brisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Product!

published

If you are in the market for an electric frying pan can highly recommend this one. I stopped using my gas stove top frying pans and my slow cooker as this does the job of both and with minimal washing up and so easy to use. Easily my best ever kitchen purchase!

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Hennip

HennipQueensland

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Can't keep up with the power chords

published

Found the temperature control gave either below simmer (on 1) or excessively boiling (2 +). Just out of warranty (just my luck!) so took the chord to Sunbeam repairer in Brisbane. His advice -buy a new chord as the frypan itself would be OK. Bought the new chord and was OK for few months. Extreme temperature fluctuations again - really poor functioning for day to day cooking. Have now moved to a regional area and no Sunbeam dealer! I get the staining as well if I heat it up incorrectly - came off ??I think with Gumption and soaking.

Date PurchasedJan 2014
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Gayle L.

Gayle L.asked

I’ve had my Ellise stainless steel frypan for three years & have only used it on three occasions due to heat control. The thermostat control won’t stay regulated on any setting & especially low 2-4 it’s all over the place constantly ruining meals, my previous one lasted for 20 years without any problems. I feel for the price it’s very disappointing, I would be happy to know if this is a common fault.

1 answer
Susan
Susan

Hi Gayle - a faulty batch was manufactured - I had exactly the same problem and returned mine after a year as I wouldn’t use my frypan either - the new one though is very good and the heat controlled perfectly.

Cam

Camasked

What is the black substance coming off my new Ellise Sunbeam Banquet Frypan l have never had this problem with my Sunbeam Frypans before, nor with any of my stainless steel saucepans . Is there any other substance blended with the stainless steel ?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Cam,
I am not sure what this would be as the pan as we know is stainless steel.
Please call us on 1300 881 861 to assist further

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.