??!

Sexy but loud

Nice kettle, looks good, works well, sounds like a plane landing.
Light inside that makes the water level easy to see, easy to fill, ergonomic.
Sadly, you don’t get to test run a kettle in the store so I was surprised that this one was much louder than my last kettle. Other than the noise, it’s great.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Nice looking but VERY NOISY

Bought as a pair with 3 slice toaster - they look very nice, compact, and working fine. The only thing, the kettle is really noisy. We either have to stop watching TV or put volume really high to be able to hear over the kettle. So if you have an open plan living, this is going to be really annoying...

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Stylish but poor design

The design lines you up for a steam burn unless you overfill it. So if I want just one cup of tea, I only need the minimum BUT if I do this I have to almost invert the jug to get enough boiling water out to fill my cup. On the other hand when I overfill it, almost needs half a jug, it takes a lot longer, uses more electricity but I am able to get the water in my cup bu holding it just beyond the vertical and the steam safely away from my hands etc. So. Not as good as my $29 Sunbeam jug which looks ordinary but is much more efficient. Anyhow, my wife likes the colour.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Unreliable costly Sunbeam Kettle.

Bought kettle / toaster combo from JB HI-FI for its good looks and also for the fact of Sunbeam having a supposed good name. I also bought the same combo for my son as a new home present. The kettle is just out of warranty and now turns itself off and on for no apparent reason. At this stage it manages to boil but the stoppages are more frequent. I have read in another review that this is a problem so i would not recommend this product.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
1 comment
Hi Ted N! Sorry to hear of the issues you have experienced. Please contact her customer care team who would be more than willing to assist.

Disappointed

We've had this kettle for more than 6 months now. Before first use I filled the kettle, boiled and discarded the water. Every time I've used the kettle (at least twice every day) the drinks have a distinct, very unpleasant chemical flavour. I've boiled water in a pot and made drinks that way to compare and those drinks taste just fine. Also, we bought a matching toaster which we had to return because the push-down mechanism broke within 2 months. Really disappointed as these products are not cheap products.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
2 comments
Hey Bina.....thanks for the review....we are willing to assist you with the taste of the water in the kettle....can you give us a quick call on 1300 881 861 please.I've just called the number I was asked to call (1300 881 861) and found the response I got not helpful. I ended up hanging up because I felt not heard.

Its a fashion statement...

The other half purchased it from Myer as we needed a new kettle. Obviously the glitz and glamour of the colour range etc caught her attention. $129 is a bit stiff for something that boils water.....

It looks nice in the kitchen, it boils water and serves it purpose. I do like the White LED indicator to show when its boiling away .

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Scratches too easily and became noisier over time

I loved the look of this with it's nice matte finish, but within a day or two it's scratched and you can remove them. Not impressed with this design flaw for the price. Replaced it today with a Kmart kettle for $39. I wouldn't recommend this matte style to anyone, we don't even have kids, just two fairly tidy and careful adults. If the matte gets a top coat in future models I'll buy another. Disappointing after previously using the same brand in the gloss style kettle. Also became noisier over time which was annoying.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

This is the 4 time the kettle has stopped working.

To be fair Sunbeam have replaced the product when faulty the previous 3 occasions. Same fault each time, the element won't heat which is the key task of the product. It took a month each time to swap it out. Very dissapointed now its gone a 4th time with the same fault I am being told its 3 months out of warranty as the clock runs from original purchase date. Clearly the product is not fit for purpose.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

Unreliable

I purchased this in July 2016 and was very happy with the look of the kettle. It was, disappointingly, quite noisy, but I didn't have time to return and exchange and all that hoo-ha. After a few months, we noticed that the kettle worked 95% of the time, but 5% of the time, it turned itself off/on/off/on/off/on (etc). So if we set it to boil water, it might take 20 minutes, because it kept on turning itself off and on again. How could a kettle mess up so badly, right?! - I thought I was going with a reliable brand.

Sunbeam has (at least) a 12 month warranty, and so after 5 months of owning the product and being concerned about its faultiness, I called them and asked how to get some kind of replacement. Sunbeam said, no worries, just to contact the store that I bought it from. (They also casually said "try rotating it on the base, it might just be the connection" which was worrisome, as though they've heard this problem a bunch of times before. Not cool, Sunbeam!) I then emailed Peter's of Kensington, the vendor, who asked me to send the kettle to them and they will "review it" and consider sending a replacement.

I sent it back and they asked if I'd like a replacement. I thought maybe I just had the odd one out (although since then, other reviews have been added here - showing people having the same problem) so I ordered a replacement. After 13 months the problem started again with the new kettle. I will be returning for a refund, as it's not fit for purpose.

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Just ok

Next time I probably wouldn't spend $100 on this model again, the aesthetics are nice and the blue suits my house decor, but the kettle is on the noisier side and scratches really easily, I'm not sure what from though as being that it gets hot you don't generally place anything near it!

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Perfect stylish addition in my kitchen

Had for a couple of weeks very stylish well made love the color matte finish easy to keep clean first couple of times using it was very quiet.I thought yes I finally found a quiet kettle but alas its noisy now.It also has a 3 way safety system which I thought was a great feature and the water window lights up when you boil the kettle.

UPDATE: Unfortunately had to return the kettle 13/8/16 due to loud crackling sound when boiling contacted Sunbeam who were helpful and told me to return it to store of purchase Myer were excellent full refund and I purchased a Sunbeam Maestro kettle which is a lot quieter fingers crossed no more problems.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Details

Sunbeam London Collection Blue (KE2210B)Sunbeam London Collection White (KE2210W)Sunbeam London Collection Green (KE2210G)Sunbeam London Collection Grey (KE2210GR)Sunbeam London Collection Champagne (KE2210CP)Sunbeam London Collection Rose Bronze (KE2210BZ)
CategoryElectric KettlesElectric KettlesElectric KettlesElectric KettlesElectric KettlesElectric Kettles
Price (RRP) $129.00$129.00$129.00$129.00$129.00$129.00
Capacity1.7 L1.7 L1.7 L1.7 L1.7 L1.7 L
Features360° Swivel Base and Water Gauge360° Swivel Base and Water Gauge360° Swivel Base and Water Gauge360° Swivel Base and Water Gauge360° Swivel Base and Water Gauge360° Swivel Base and Water Gauge
Variable Temperatures NoNoNoNoNoNo
Construction Material Stainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Colour / Finish Matte BlueMatte WhiteMatte GreenMatte GreyChampagneRose Bronze
Cord Length 0.7 m0.7 m0.7 m0.7 m0.7 m0.7 m
Weight1.22 kg1.22 kg1.22 kg1.22 kg1.22 kg1.22 kg
Power2,400 W2,400 W2,400 W2,400 W2,400 W2,400 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.