??!
1 photo
Breville the Compact Kettle Clear BKE395CLR

Breville the Compact Kettle Clear BKE395CLR

MPN: BKE395
4.1 from 17 reviews

Reviews

(8)
(5)
(2)
(1)
(1)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (6)
Andy O.

Andy O.

  • 2 reviews

Full of plastic elements

published

I bought this kettle because of its claim to be plastic free - which is a lie! The lid is full with plastic (boiling water will condense there). Glass Jug feels-and-sounds-plastic-too

Purchased in March 2020 at eBay for $65.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money

Leaks

published

Got this as a wedding present a couple of years ago. We were happy with it, but condensation builds up around lid which leaks down the outside when your pour it, making a mess. This was ok when it was my wife and I, but now we have a small child and can’t risk hot water falling on her when she is around.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
John S.

John S.

  • 7 reviews

Good kettle

published

Purchased in February 2020 at David Jones for $62.10.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville the Compact Kettle Clear BKE395CLR compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
real buyer

real buyerSpencer Gulf

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Ideal kettle for 1-2 people

published

I'm very satisfied with the taste of the water.
It's very easy to determine the kettle's water level because the kettle is clear (note, it's made of hard plastic not glass.)
The kettle heats water extremely fast. I timed it with a stop watch and it was 49 seconds for 1 cup!
The outside of the kettle does get dangerously hot during use. (The handle stays cool.)

There were a few reasons why I paid a premium for this kettle:
1. Made of Stainless Steel (the best material imo.)
2. Clear, so you can see the water level and to see the purity of the kettle water.
3. It was small, I only require a small kettle because I am one person.

Purchased in March 2019 at eBay for $57.76.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
WING

WINGSydney

  • 22 reviews

Best for small family

published

I used to have big hot water container to keep the water hot and now we don't need that anymore. Looking for the downsize kettle and this is perfect for us. Easy to see the water level, and quick heating.
However, the glass heat up after boiling, it may get burnt especially for the spout part.

Purchased in January 2020 for $65.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Terry S

Terry SPERTH

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Everything i need

published

Love this kettle. It’s the perfect size for just the 2 of us and I like the soft closing lid. Kettle boils very fast, it’s stable, and it looks so good!

Meenz

MeenzSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect, just what I was looking for...

published

I love my compact little kettle (boils up to 3 cups). It fits perfectly in my small space in my apartment, it looks elegant with the glass and stainless steel finish, has a soft opening lid, and is light weight,

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer Retail Stores for $84.95.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 17 likes

Best kettle ever!

published

Best purchase I have made in a long time. Love the soft opening lid and the switch on the top of the handle is very user friendly for my 87 year old mum. The design of clear glass and stainless steel is a good look in my kitchen. This kettle boils fast! Lightweight and easy to use. Thank you Breville!

Date PurchasedOct 2018
ram

ramSydney

  • 3 reviews

A good kettle, but...

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville the Compact Kettle Clear BKE395CLR compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wannabuynow

wannabuynowMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best kettle ever

published

Moved into small unit and not much bench space. Hesitantly, bought this little kettle. It is the best, boils my cup of water by the time I get out the mug and tea bag. Easily fits on the cradle and so far, hasn't marked internally. Quiet and clean. Love and an perhaps the best kettle Ive owned.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Volvi

VolviGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect For My Needs

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Excellent companion kettle in the kitchen

published

Just new, 1 litre size and made of glass and metal. The only thing plastic is the handle. Boils rapidly without wastage and appears to have much better workmanship than other kettles I looked at. Not the cheapest, but I like the design and trust it will last. I like that the on/off button is on the handle and not at the base which are lot are, and looked too flimsy. Has a large opening at the top for easy filling and cleaning.

Amelia V.

Amelia V.Melbourne

  • 6 reviews

Works nicely!

published

When I first bought it, it worked great just like any other kettle, but it turned a little brown in the inside after a few more uses. It makes it look old, in my kitchen that looks fairly clean and modern. But other than the looks of it, it's overall a great product.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Roben

RobenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Just what I wanted.

published

It is much better than the Sunbeam glass kettle it replaced, which malfunctioned spasmodically, and had too many unnecessary temperature settings. I can't fault this one. The soft close lid is excellent and there is no chance steam can burn your hand, as is the case when pouring with some kettles.

ecoliving

ecolivingAustralia

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great kettle, more product info on website needed

published
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi ecoliving - thanks for your comprehensive review. Thanks, the Breville team

Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville the Compact Kettle Clear BKE395CLR compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SusanOz

SusanOzBrisbane

  • 29 reviews
  • 54 likes

Disguised plastic

published
trueblueaussie61

trueblueaussie61Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Wow... Fabulous Kettle!!

published

This Breville Glass 1 Litre Kettle BKE395 is quiet, boils quick, light, comfortable handle & easy to clean with the wide opening. Stylish modern design & made from quality stainless steel looks great on the countertop. Excellent for couples, singles & elderly people. If you want a small kettle without compromising style, look no further.

Questions & Answers

long c.

long c.asked

The lip has some glue which seem like using for bond the lip with the kettle. The normal one doesn't have it? I am confused about that. I bought it from Harvey Norman.

2 answers
John S.
John S.

I just checked mine, and found that it's true - the spout is attached to the body with some sort of clear adhesive! Not ideal. Possibly it is some kind of clear silicon sealant, rather than glue. If it is silicon, then maybe it's not so outrageous since the base already uses a silicon seal which slightly touches the water. I will send an email to Breville and ask them what the adhesive is made of and if it's BPA free.

On another note, my unit has started making a slight popping noise during the initial phase of boiling. It sounds a bit like the sound of popcorn popping. It goes away after about 10 seconds. It was not doing this when brand new. Does yours do this as well? Speculation: perhaps water has leaked into the base, beneath the metal plate and is wetting the heating element underneath, and the sound is the bubbling of those water droplets burning off?

John S.
John S.

Update: Breville has advised that it is a silicon sealant.

long c.

long c.asked

The lip has same glue here, will it melt? Will it harmful?

3 answers
WING
WING

I don't have that. I suspect you need to take it out

long c.
long c.

The glue seem like using for bond the lip with the kettle. The normal one doesn't have it? I am confused about that.

Terry S
Terry S

I don’t have this problem so I am a bit confused. My kettle is working perfectly and has been no trouble at all.

long c.

long c.asked

The lip has some rubber steal here. Is this normal? Will it leak?

1 answer
real buyer
real buyer

I just checked and yes it does leak.
I believe it is normal. If you tip the kettle up water will come through the spout anyway.

I haven't had any issues with the top leaking because I don't turn it upside down to the point it starts to leak.

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.