??!
2 photos
Suzuki GSX650F

Suzuki GSX650F

4.7 from 17 reviews

See the Best Sport Touring Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


This is perfection!

Bought this as my first bike, I didnt even knew what kind of bike I wanted, but GSXF650 gave me more than I expected, I think its one of the best choice for a beginner. Plenty of power, smoothness, and pleasure. Engine works and sounds so nicely and if you got yourself a LeoVince exhaust with a DB killer out... man it's Godlike!!! 10/10

Purchased in April 2017 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mileage 15,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension

Perfect Allrounder

Full powered 2008 model. This bike fits the bill for anyone wanting a mid size comfortable sports tourer. Its not a super sports rocket but has more than enough power for day to day riding, and i can still feel my fingers after 30mins. It is a heavier bike and makes you feel extremely planted on the road, especially freeways. Mirrors are the best i have had on a bike in over 30 years of riding. The ride is very comfortable and this bike handles much better than it should.
For a budget sports tourer, Suzuki have got this one spot on!!

Date PurchasedJun 2014

2012 GSX650F what a pleasant surprise a great bike!

I can’t believe I didn’t check this model out years ago. Have seen them around of course but viewed as a plain Jane budget bike had little interest so was never on my radar. Been riding for 35 plus years and had more bikes than I can remember, from big cruisers, sport tourers, crotch rockets to adventure bikes the list is long. Growing frustrations with my 2013 FJR prompted me to make a move. Loved the bike and that motor wow! but grew tired of the excessive weight and upteen attempts to alter the ergos with limited success. I simply could not get the bike comfortable for extended trips. It was time for a change. The little zuke feels like a mini FJR but in stock form is more comfortable. I can hear the laughter but keep reading. The 650F is often described as a light duty budget sport tourer. I was never one interested in budget bikes! You get what you pay for right, how could this bike possibly fill my needs coming off an FJR and how much fun or performance could I possibly expect from it! I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. No it does not have all the farkles of bigger more expensive bikes and is lacking somewhat with precision suspension higher end rocket racers have but to my surprise it meets all my basic needs and then some. I find the simplicity of the bike refreshing to be honest. It is fast enough for overtaking any situation on the freeway. It’s detriment to being an over weight 650 by class is a huge positive when out in the fast lanes. The only 650 I’ve ever been comfortable with on the highway not getting blown around other than my Wee Strom. Wind protection and management with the full faring and added touring wind shield is above average. The bike is ergonomically comfortable with an upright seating position and comfortable rider triangle. The lower positioned foot pegs are a welcomed relief for longer rides. The only additions I’ve made are 1” bar risers, Givi hard bags, the aforementioned touring wind shield and much needed centre stand. It’s easy to handle, fun in the mountain twisties, great for city commutes and longer weekend rides. Cost of maintenance and ownership is ridiculously cheap due to super Suzuki reliability. The bike is not outstanding in any one performance area other than maybe that slick gearbox but performs well in all other aspects. I really love this bike and enjoy riding it immensely. I recommend you check it out for a closer look. They are a bargain in the used arena, maybe a little difficult to find but worth the effort from my experience. Down to 3 bikes now in my stable and if I get down to 2 I’m pretty sure that little 650F will still be there.

Date PurchasedApr 2014

Good solid bike

I bought a LAMS model 2k on the clock 2011 in mint condition. The best features of the bike are very usable power even for a LAMS, a big bike feel which is great for a 6 footer like me, the digital casette is outstanding giving digital readouts of speed, trip length, odometer, time and an excellent surprise in a gear display - I can't believe every bike doesn't have one. After changing the tyres it rides well giving a solid grippy feel around corners inducing a sense of confidence. I had a significant front wheel slide around a roundabout but the bike just stood up and gripped. I find the line I choose is the line it sticks too. Fuel consumption is excellent. I ride from the Mornington Peninsula to South Melbourne everyday and get 350km's to 17 litres. On the negative side the bike is very heavy which can be challenging if you want to get ride through cars to get up the front but if the gaps are big enough you can get through. I'm thinking the weight might be a positive when the time comes to get a bigger displacement bike such as a VFR800 as I'll be well trained in handling a heavy bike. The front suspension dips pretty heavily under moderate+ braking yet you get used to it. The stock tyres suck big time and need to be changed quickly. I'm rapt with the bike but consider it an intermediate until the VFR comes along.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Full version is a cracker

I own the 2008 full powered version and as a 43yo with back problems, 6ft and 90kgs, this bike is magic. And after owning at least 10 bikes over the years, this is the best bike l have ever owned. Seating position is great, comfortable for at least 2 hours. Great wind protection, although would recommend touring screen if doing a lot of long rides. Holds the road excellent due to its weight in winds and on freeways. It is heavy, but not too top heavy which I found on my old FZ1. Easy to commute on as it is quite narrow and well balanced. Mirrors actually work. Carry a pillion on is easy and comfortable as well. Steers into corners excellently at low or high speeds. And it will keep up with the bigger capacity bikes in almost all day to day scenarios.

After more time on this bike, mods have included, touring screen, top box, 1" (25mm) bar risers, hand guards, heated grips.
Still no negatives on the bike. Just came back from a 3 day (1,600km) journey through Vic Alps and the bike performed flawlessly. Was comfortable all day. Adjusted the front suspension to stiffen it up as stock it dips too much, Rosso 3 tyres have added exceptional grip, and still one of the smoothest motors and gearboxes on any bike l've ridden.
If l were to buy another bike, this one would stay in the garage as it is such an easy bike to live with. And the cheapest bike to service/run l've ever owned.
Still a cracker in my opinion.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

The all round perfect bike

I bought the Suzuki GSX650F 2015 from new, got an unbelievable deal on the bike, was going to get a second hand gixxer 750r but this actually worked out cheaper and when i sat on it was a lot more comfortable riding position. I can ride this bike for hours without any aches or pains, had the bike for a year now and had no problems at all with it. The bike looks good, handles well, is, economical, reliable, and has more than enough power for any rider. If you want to see what it is like to ride, I do motovlog videos on You Tube just type in Trucking Biker and subscribe. I have no intentions of upgrading from the GSX650F and will probably keep for many years to come. The only thing I honestly didn't like was the stock exhaust it was too big and heavy and just wasn't loud enough.

Date PurchasedNov 2015

Couldn't have wished for a better bike to learn on!

At 6'2", 100kgs i wanted a man size bike, and i got everything i wished for! My first bike, and although initially she was a bit heavy, i quickly found my comfort zone! ..Plenty of power! ..Smooth ride! ..Also big and visible!! ..The only thing i would improve is a bit more sound ..but that's an easy aftermarket exhaust fix!

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Suzuki GSX 650FU (Lams)

Awsome! This is my first bike (mature age rider - 41yrs) I've owned this bike from new since December 2012. Regrets - None! I'm only averaging just under 5000 klms p/a as I use the bike for the odd weekend ride and annual trip to Phillip Island rather than as a commuter. At this stage, I have no intention of selling/upgrading my bike even though I now hold a full licence. Fuel economy is good if you don't over-rev the engine (300-350klms per 19 litre tank of 95 octane fuel). In my opinion the bike is extremely stable, but wasn't great for doing the MOST Test (NSW) as I found it heavy compared to when I hired a 125cc bike! That said, the Suzuki GSX 650FU (LAMS) is a great bike to learn to ride on and if you ride defensively and within your ability, then you shouldn't have any problems at all!

Date PurchasedDec 2012

Worst Bike

Bought the bike 3 months ago. I work away so its always garaged and turned on a couple of times a week to run. Never had it for a full week as i keep taking it back to the dealership because of fuel problems. Do not buy one, waste of money and time!

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Great bike

Great bike, heard other horror stories about other makes,would definitely buy another Suzuki.
Corners very well, good fuel consumption,very predictable
Would recommend to anyone buying a first bike. Would buy centre stand and rack and bag for ease of servicing and oiling and adjusting chain. Just replaced chain and sprocket at 30K
Never let me down, started first try after sitting for a month.


The best big lams bike available

Ok. i looked at a lot of lams bikes from hysong 650 through to all the ninjas and i finally settled on the Suzuki 650fu. Even though i didn't particularly like colour scheme being 6ft 1 and around 115 kg i bite the bullet. The colour scheme has grown on me and with in the first three weeks i had 3 people come up to me and say " nice looking bike mate ". I organize bike rides with my work and they range from art least 5 to 25 - 30 bikes and im the only LAMS bike. Everyone else is really impressed with how the Suzuki goes, the handling and acceleration are excellent for a learners bike and its only once you hit 110 plus that you notice the limiter, the brakes are awesome, handling excellent and the fuel economy extremely respectable [ 320 - 360 ks ]. A few of my mates have been impressed with the way it rides when we have swapped bikes. Its a great size to get use to for when and if you up grade as the bike is the same size as the 1000.. If i had my time again i would pick exactly the same bike im passing it onto my son. the best lams bike available ive done 23000 ks in 14 months.The worst thing about the bike hmmm the lights could be a little better. Good luck.
You wont be disappointed
Handling. braking. cost


The Perfect Companion

This is my first bike as a legal road user, Where do i start.... It's smooth and forgiving a few times i have had a compression lockup because i downshifted one too many times and every time its pulled back into line with ease. The stock exhaust is a little bulky but is nice and shiny :D. Power is there up till about 6k then it tapers as per the LAMS restriction which i find better then say the LAMS ninja which has a throttle block.
Power Delivery, Aesthetics, Stable and Sure Footed
Exhaust is a little big and cannot be easily modified as the end cap screws are tig welded onto the end cap.


Suzuki GSX650FU (LAMS)

This is my very first bike. And as a mature rider i can say what an absolute pleasure it is to ride. Very smooth, and as this is the restricted version, it is a little scary to think what the unrestricted one goes like!

On paper this bike was between 20-40 kgs heavier than the other bikes in the 500-650cc category, but i can say the weight makes the bike very stable, as I learn how to lean the bike into and through corners, not once have i felt the bike unstable. Over the 4 weeks I have been riding (and 1600kms) it has not skipped a beat.

The instruments are very clear and the gear change indicator is very usefull as a learner. It took a while to get used to the sensative throttle, just a very small movement of the wrist, puts plenty of revs on. I was a bit concerned in the shop about the seat height position (but it was the best of all the models I was looking at) at 6' 2" (and 93kgs) it felt as though my legs would be a bit too bent.

But it is actually very comfortable, and natural position. The longest ride I have done is 2 hours, with a mate who has a Yamaha cruiser, he was constantly wingeing about a sore backside, mine was fine.

The brakes seem to have good stopping power, no emergency stops yet, though i'm sure one is coming!
Overall this has been a very enjoyable introduction to the powered bike world, I will still use my road cycle for fitness, but this is just enourmous fun!
Dave


Good budget buy

Changed the can to a Staintune (left over from a 1250 Bandit I had once).
Infact many parts are interchangable with the 1250 Bandit.
It sounds better than on the 1250, but closer to a vacuum cleaner than a Harley.
Initially it was very jerky on the throttle release, but increasing the front spring preload to a 1/2 a turn from stock, cured this and improved the handling. The springs are too soft for my 100kg weight, but the rear is fine.
The seat interchangable with the 1250S and the GSX650 is far more comfortable, as the back section is not as steep and press on the tail bone.
Wind from the screen buffets my helmet visor (I am 6 foot tall).
The motor gearing is nor ideal, as it was lifted straight of a 2005 GSXR600, and all the gear ratio's are too close together.
It makes for a busy motor, and I am always looking for 7th.
I tried a rear sprocket with 2 more teeth, but the performance dropped away to much, and was rowing gears still.
Night vision from the headlamp is outstanding, both high and low beam.
Cheap GSXR 600 look a like
fuel use a bit heavy, heavy bike too push

1 comment
Good quality here, have had mine (2009 unresticted) for 2 years and love it still. Colour, Style, Ride and Reliability is outstanding for the price range of this machine. This bike is highly recommended..

Excellent

this is a good bike from suzuki, it is a great bike for those that don't wont the bad back or sore wrists from the sport bikes that are out there, suitable for those who want a medium bike between tourer's and out and out racers. highly recommended
This bike is good, an all round solid bike with good looks and good performance

Excellent

Really Good bike for first ful license
very powerful of its kind
good looking
easy to handle
crisp handling
Thousand times better than yamahas, kawasaki or hondas same range bikes
Good Handling, Good Pickup speed, Good looking, fun to ridem, powerful for a sports tourer 650f, confortable
color and vinyl

1 comment
im 53 yo experianced rider and I had the lams removed this bike is awsome,it handles like a train once you set up whilst riding hard,I have owned 850,s and 900 reds previously and this thing would eat them alive in comparison,however beware on cornering and backing off half way round ,it likes to stand up straight ,more-so than most....allround brilliant product typical suzuki technoligy 9/10 points

Excellent

I found the change from a naked SV650 to GSX650F with full fairing a challenge as the headlamp and front end moved when I turned the Sv and the fairing is fixed and does not turn with the steering on GSX650F. Took two minutes to adjust myself by looking ahead, not down. Also when you hit 4,000 revs the engine says GRRRRRRRRR!
The look, Blue and White traditional colours,Up to date . High tech. Fabulous design, ride, wonderful feel. Easy to ride.
Disapointed I did not find it sooner.
It stays on my mind continually. It is addictive.

Questions & Answers

Hi I have a gsx650f with a denso 32920-17h71 ecu . trying to derestricted from lams. Sites say cut wire 30 but has two plugs. What one do I disconnect big plug or small
3 answers
Take a look at this thread https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/gsx650f/ecu-modifi-t2750-s240.htmlSorry can't help. Mine is unrestrictedHi Shady sorry mine is unrestricted but I don't think you have to cut the wire you should be able to unplug it, but can't really advise because I do believe that they are different to the UK.

How can I remove the Lams device from my GSX650F 2015 model?
2 answers
Talked to a guy in a Suzuki dealer, he said sadly its not very simple, its not just a software change it would likely require dismantling the throttle body etc.1) download the service manual, 2) check page 77, 1A-6 for the ecu terminals 3) cut the mode select switch which is number 30. ECU is twin mapped, this changes to the unrestricted ECU map. Beware this may not be legal if you do not hold an open license and may void your insurance/warranty.

How many kilometres can this bike do before it starts to die and needs replacement parts or until it's engine stops?
2 answers
I've had mine from new (2009) and it's never missed a beat. 65000km on the clock now. I've only replaced a mirror & a clutch lever - both broke when the stand sunk into the lawn overnight & the bike fell over.Apparently they are good for at least 300,000 if serviced correctly and not flogged when cold.

Details

Suzuki GSX650F
CategorySport Touring Bikes
Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.