4 photos
Yamaha YZF-R15

Yamaha YZF-R15

v2.0, v1.0
4.1 from 19 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Sport Touring Bikes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Yamaha Motor? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.1
19 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Mileage 36,000 km
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
j. m.
j. m.
  • 2 reviews

For the price it's perfect

published

Purchased in February 2015 for $2,800.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5

Good bike for street rides

published

Perfect bike for beginners. Good engine condition until maintain the servicing and cost of reparable items are comparably low. I observed perfect engine capacity for beginners. It will rose up to 130 km/hr on sped o meter. front side leg panels are good protectors for legs if ee fell down they will protect your legs.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Tim
TimSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Small bike for beginner

published

Mine is 2012 model, bought it from last owner in 2015 with only 3K ish kms on it. Had problem with faulty stator, which also costs me a huge tow truck bill as i was left in the mountain with a not starting bike. I guess that's just a rare case and bad luck for me since i haven't heard much of this problem from other owners. Sold it shortly as i didn't wanna spend more money on fixing it.

Pro: Small size and power (this can be a con, depends on your size and riding experience, i'm 5'9'' and 80kg , a bit small to me), fuel saving, friendly to beginners.

Con: no as comfortable compare to standard street/naked bikes, a bit cramped. No suitable for highway ( it could reach highway speed but...., you wouldn't want to do it)

Date PurchasedMay 2015
James
JamesMelbourne
  • 5 reviews

Everyday commuter

published

Had this bike for the past 2 years. Ride to and from work everyday, approximately a 45 minute ride. Does well in 80km/hr zones, however struggles a bit on freeways. Can tell from the increased vibrations when having to maintain 7000 rev/min. Would recommend especially due to the fuel economy. Get up to 400km per tank

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Sport Touring Bikes

Find out how Yamaha YZF-R15 compares to other Sport Touring Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jimbo
JimboMelbourne
  • 8 reviews

Great bike for a nervous rider

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Yamaha YZF-R15

published

I bought this bike on last year with great discount from motobiz blacktown. Service is bit expensive but more cheaper on fuel. I used everyday for travel from home to work and work to home. It is great saving machine. Can't expect more than this from this motorcycle. No need for bigger engine.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
beeru
beeruGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

awesome choice

published

what can i say , best choice i made in the last 2 years , if you live near the city lets say under 10km then this is your ride ,easy to ride ,excellent performance ,cheap to run , parking is free, looks are sporty and learners approved ,just one awesome

Date PurchasedJan 2015

My first bike

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

What can you do to a R15

published
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Sport Touring Bikes

Find out how Yamaha YZF-R15 compares to other Sport Touring Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jacoboncloud
jacoboncloudSydney, Australia
  • 4 reviews

Perfect bike for learners!

published

I got this bike as new from local yamaha Sydney dealer. Stylish, Powerful(though it's just 150cc but has 12kw). Owning this bike for only one month and love it. Only thing is neutral is sometimes hard to kick but I think because it's new?? And the price is acceptable with lower cost on CTP and insurance (Again because of it's 150cc)

Recommend for learners and daily commuters.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Awesome riding experience.

published

Please don't fall for the rumours about the seaing position of the split seat. In v2. The riding experence is great for a person who has a desire to race. And the top speed of 130 is a fake it can do better, after several service. And only problem i see is that the bike cannot actually defeat its most compitators like the rc200,rs200, but it can over the sf150&apache190 or bike lower than 200cc and 20bhp.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
John Crossland
John Crossland
  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Riding a YZF-R15 in NZ to get back into biking after over 20 years away from riding in UK

published
John Crossland
John Crossland

See Murray Walker re: wobble & weave on YouTube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fvsDIq3WwVA

John Crossland
John Crossland
John Crossland
John Crossland
Sport Touring Bikes

Find out how Yamaha YZF-R15 compares to other Sport Touring Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brisway
Brisway
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Faulty fuel pump

published

My motorcycle about two years old experience done 7000 kms starting problem and this issue happening over a year now. Northstar Yamaha told me this will cost over $500 to replace them. Too expensive and I feel Yamaha Australia should be replacing for free. Unfair and very bad. Palani

Awesome value for money, especially $4k

published

Factory Fault- Fuel pump

published

Bike only starts when cold. Good bike but faulty fuel pumps have me back in workshop with more $$ spent.

Questions & Answers

Jordie
Jordieasked
Yamaha YZF-R15

I think I have a 2012 r15 v1 (not sure what version) but I need a new engine, can I put 2011 v2 engine in it?

No answers
Mike S.
Mike S.asked
Yamaha YZF-R15

Yzf-r15 v1 hitting noise during running. Any ideas?

No answers
Nausad A.
Nausad A.asked
Yamaha YZF-R15

My bike is normaly start and running perfet but when I on headligh it's missing. Any help.

2 answers
Meet P.
Meet P.

Looks like battery might be issue. But not sure

David W.
David W.

On low beam it only runs on one light, you need to switch it to high beam for both lights to come on mate?

See all Yamaha YZF-R15 questions

Get an answer from our members

Yamaha YZF-R15

Details

Compare both Yamaha YZF-R15
Yamaha Motor YZF-R15 v1.0
  • Discontinued

Yamaha Motor YZF-R15 v1.0

3.3
(3)
CategorySport Touring Bikes and Learner Approved BikesSport Touring Bikes and Learner Approved Bikes
Engine Capacity150cc150cc
Replaced byYamaha Motor YZF-R15 v2.0
Compare both Yamaha YZF-R15

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.