??!
4 photos
Yamaha YZF-R15

Yamaha YZF-R15

v2.0, v1.0
4.1 from 19 reviews

See the Best Sport Touring Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
8
4 star
5
3 star
5
2 star
1
1 star
0

j. m.

j. m.

  • 2 reviews

For the price it's perfect

published

Purchased in February 2015 for $2,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Mileage 36,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers

Good bike for street rides

published

Perfect bike for beginners. Good engine condition until maintain the servicing and cost of reparable items are comparably low. I observed perfect engine capacity for beginners. It will rose up to 130 km/hr on sped o meter. front side leg panels are good protectors for legs if ee fell down they will protect your legs.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Tim

TimSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Small bike for beginner

published

Mine is 2012 model, bought it from last owner in 2015 with only 3K ish kms on it. Had problem with faulty stator, which also costs me a huge tow truck bill as i was left in the mountain with a not starting bike. I guess that's just a rare case and bad luck for me since i haven't heard much of this problem from other owners. Sold it shortly as i didn't wanna spend more money on fixing it.

Pro: Small size and power (this can be a con, depends on your size and riding experience, i'm 5'9'' and 80kg , a bit small to me), fuel saving, friendly to beginners.

Con: no as comfortable compare to standard street/naked bikes, a bit cramped. No suitable for highway ( it could reach highway speed but...., you wouldn't want to do it)

Date PurchasedMay 2015
James

JamesMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Everyday commuter

published

Had this bike for the past 2 years. Ride to and from work everyday, approximately a 45 minute ride. Does well in 80km/hr zones, however struggles a bit on freeways. Can tell from the increased vibrations when having to maintain 7000 rev/min. Would recommend especially due to the fuel economy. Get up to 400km per tank

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Jimbo

JimboMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Great bike for a nervous rider

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Yamaha YZF-R15

published

I bought this bike on last year with great discount from motobiz blacktown. Service is bit expensive but more cheaper on fuel. I used everyday for travel from home to work and work to home. It is great saving machine. Can't expect more than this from this motorcycle. No need for bigger engine.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

fadi

fadi

  • 3 reviews

awesome choice

published

what can i say , best choice i made in the last 2 years , if you live near the city lets say under 10km then this is your ride ,easy to ride ,excellent performance ,cheap to run , parking is free, looks are sporty and learners approved ,just one awesome

Date PurchasedJan 2015

My first bike

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

What can you do to a R15

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
jacoboncloud

jacoboncloudSydney, Australia

  • 3 reviews

Perfect bike for learners!

published

I got this bike as new from local yamaha Sydney dealer. Stylish, Powerful(though it's just 150cc but has 12kw). Owning this bike for only one month and love it. Only thing is neutral is sometimes hard to kick but I think because it's new?? And the price is acceptable with lower cost on CTP and insurance (Again because of it's 150cc)

Recommend for learners and daily commuters.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Awesome riding experience.

published

Please don't fall for the rumours about the seaing position of the split seat. In v2. The riding experence is great for a person who has a desire to race. And the top speed of 130 is a fake it can do better, after several service. And only problem i see is that the bike cannot actually defeat its most compitators like the rc200,rs200, but it can over the sf150&apache190 or bike lower than 200cc and 20bhp.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

John Crossland

John Crossland

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Riding a YZF-R15 in NZ to get back into biking after over 20 years away from riding in UK

published
5 comments
John Crossland
John Crossland

See Murray Walker re: wobble & weave on YouTube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fvsDIq3WwVA

John Crossland
John Crossland
John Crossland
John Crossland

Brisway

Brisway

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Faulty fuel pump

published

My motorcycle about two years old experience done 7000 kms starting problem and this issue happening over a year now. Northstar Yamaha told me this will cost over $500 to replace them. Too expensive and I feel Yamaha Australia should be replacing for free. Unfair and very bad. Palani


Awesome value for money, especially $4k

published

Factory Fault- Fuel pump

published

Bike only starts when cold. Good bike but faulty fuel pumps have me back in workshop with more $$ spent.

Glenn F

Glenn FMelbourne, Victoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2014 V2 -Was excited from the little information on the web, 1500kms later pretty much blown away.

published

Rene

ReneMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 29 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great little bike

published

Tommy

TommyPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

V.1 model

published
2 comments
adrianpeds
adrianpeds

what disc did they use to modify to fit?

Tommy
Tommy

Boz21

Boz21Sydney

Awesome motorcycle!

published
3 comments
Andrewdkelly7
Andrewdkelly7

Hi there, just wondering how fast this bike can get up to? I would be interested in purchasing one dependant on top speed. Thanks heaps

Boz21
Boz21

About 130 km/h.

Ash87
Ash87

Questions & Answers

Nathan B.

Nathan B.asked

Replace a fuel pump 2011

No answers

ng12

ng12asked

How much is life expectancy of R15 yzf how much kilometres can it travel before it shows engine problem?

1 answer
Jimbo
Jimbo

With all bikes, it depends on many factors,
As long as you follow the service schedule and maintenance, these bikes will last a long time.
I've seen some uber riders with r15s with over 150k and running strong


Samir W

Samir Wasked

ok so I have a yzfr15 2012 model I started my bike today in about 40c degrees and it sat in idle for about a minute then died no warning lights came on have plenty of fuel and power and now wont start any ideas?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Yamaha Motor representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.