??!
1 photo
Kawasaki Ninja 650

Kawasaki Ninja 650

650 ABS, 650L ABS and 650R ABS
4.6 from 16 reviews

See the Best Naked Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0

Warwick Del

Warwick Del

  • 4 reviews

Perfect bike for the city

published

Bought this from Bikebiz in the Auburn area second hand.
Works like a charm, been on bikes for many years across various makes.
For a old man like myself, was not expecting to have this much fun and less pressure on my back cruising around Northern Beaches.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers

Sam I.

Sam I.

  • 4 reviews

Not as good as you read about!

published

I purchased my Kwak (650 Ninja) in 2015 and was my tool to get me from and to work. The handling is OK but I really did expect more for the money. It doesn't compare to the likes of Triumph in terms of the luxury feel but the servicing costs far outweigh any good experience I had with this bike. They wanted me to service and pay over the odds. I felt like I paid a decent price for my Ninja but they wanted more money each time I took it back for a service. At higher speeds I din't feel that comfortable on the 650 as I have on previous bikes, the handling is so so through twisties. Wouldn't recommend due to price of servicing and parts. Just looks nice.

Purchased in March 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mileage 500 km
See all answers
MrSkinner

MrSkinnerGold Coast

  • 7 reviews

Quick, Fast & Affordable

published

First sports bike!! Kawasaki 650L is a great learning sports bike. This bike has great handling, stand up right when maneuvering corners and track work. Bike has many options for customisation and altering for different weight and height categories. Excellent for learning the road and moving your way up to a larger model

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Bhasi

BhasiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Sports bike for a Starter

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Good commute bike fun to ride on weekends

published

Perfect bike for commute, really comfy for short or long distances (>150km) even for the passenger. 2 cylindre gives you good power, little fuel consumption 4L/100km. Change the exhaust and you have the best city bike. Also it is learner legal so really fun as a first bike, after 2years you will need an upgrade for something more powerfull

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Jay

JayDubbo

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome on every level

published

I purchased this bike kust recently and my son who is a honda rider was less than impressed with my choice. I let him ride my bike the other day and he is now looking at a ninja for his next bike. I have always loved ninjas but this bike is just awesome. The attention to detail and rider comfort are well above what I expected. Thinking of buying one? I say just do it you will not regret it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Expose thugs

Expose thugsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

Love it

published

My bike is 2012 model but I love it. Enough power, goes like a rocket. has done 7000Km but no issues apart from needing a battery change. Bought from eBay for $60 and took 20 minutes to change. Comfortable seat, hard to do many Kms though. Definitely recommend. Looks great and sexy.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Jeff

JeffGold Coast

So far so good Non LAMS 650

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Lance

Lance

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant ride

published

I absolutely love this bike, everything about it. The power, the weight and the size are perfect. This one bike has made me a Kawasaki loyalist for life. Once I'm on my fulls i will be on a h2 or zx10rr guaranteed. great customization options as well. Do buy people.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
MoFresh

MoFreshMelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great commuter bike!

published

I purchased a 2013 version of this bike (current generation) and am very pleased with it. Comfortable riding position, exception fuel consumption (< 4.0 L/100km average even when commuting in traffic) and a good note when you put an exhaust on (I added an IXIL system). The two cylinder has plenty of low-end grunt (although it obviously misses the top-end power of the 4-cylinder bikes) and it always pulls away well in traffic.
Starts perfectly, ABS is a life-saver (literally!), parts are cheap and easy to replace and pillion is super-comfy (according to my wife). I'm coming from 4-cylinder super-sports bikes, and this bike is comfy, practical and reliable.

I have ridden this bike for approximately 2500 km.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Chockolate

ChockolateBrissie

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ninja 650 non-LAMS, ABS

published

Had it for a year and done 10,000 kms of hard city commuting. It holds up very well and has given precisely zero trouble. The ABS is really good for the type of riding I do, especially when someone brakes hard in front in the wet. Riding position is comfortable, power is great, looks are great, suspension is great, weight dist is great. The gearbox can be a bit clunky shifting from neutral into first, but you quickly get used to that. I find the seating marginally low for me given I'm around 182cm, but not uncomfortable by any means. Not sure what magic they've done with the steering, but you can flick this thing so easily. Very satisfied with the purchase!

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Blond

BlondBrisbane

  • 15 reviews
  • 11 likes

Loving my bike

published

I bought one early this year at team homo, mine is Lams approved and is restricted as a result. I look forward to getting my unrestricted licence so that I can remove the restrictions... Having said that I do love it!... It's reliable, cheap to run, feels fantastic to ride, and I do love having something powerful between my legs...


Chalkyone

ChalkyoneSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Kawasaki 650R (Non-LAMS)

published
1 comment
Chalkyone
Chalkyone

mitch

mitch

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Kawasaki Ninja 650 (non lams)

published
Troy17

Troy17CANBERRA

  • 2 reviews

Big lams bike

published

I purchased this big brand new and have no regrets.

Aways starts and is very reliable.

Is a nice full size bike so is ideally suited to any learner who might be a big guy, I'm 190 cm and have no trouble spending a full day riding.

Have had it for 3 months and covered 3,000 km both country rides and commuting.
Full size bike, plenty of torque, comfortable, reliable, economic (4.3l/100km)
Dreading the resale value, some finish not as neat as it could be, gear indicator would be nice for a learner

1 comment
Troy17
Troy17
Terry mace

Terry maceAdelaide

Kawasaki Ninja 650 (non lams)

published
1 comment
Terry mace
Terry mace

Questions & Answers

Ben

Benasked

Is the Ninja 650F a learners approved bike in QLD (It has been rego'ed as a LAM's in NSW) Lots of conflicting information on the Govt websites.

No answers

Randel A.

Randel A.asked

Hi i have a kawasaki ninja ex650c and my cdi is stuffed and it letter N i got one of ebay with the letter E are thay the same

No answers

Michelle J.

Michelle J.asked

Ninja 650L ABS

As I am new to riding I would like to know that once you have your open class licence can you have the throttle restriction taken off the bike???????

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kawasaki representatives

Details

Kawasaki Ninja 650 ABS

Kawasaki Ninja 650 ABS

7 reviews
Kawasaki Ninja 650R ABS
  • Discontinued

Kawasaki Ninja 650R ABS

1 review
Kawasaki Ninja 650L ABS
  • Discontinued

Kawasaki Ninja 650L ABS

6 reviews
CategoryNaked Bikes and Sport Touring BikesNaked Bikes and Sport Touring BikesNaked Bikes and Sport Touring Bikes
Release dateJan 2010

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.