??!
5 photos
Toyota HiLux MK8.I (2015-Present)

Toyota HiLux MK8.I (2015-Present)

3.1 from 129 reviews

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
36
4 star
25
3 star
17
2 star
20
1 star
31

Benny H.

Benny H.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Reliable, cheap to run, go anywhere

published

Purchased new sr5 plus this year mainly due to reliability and style. Little slow but it is a Ute... drives great on and off road cheap to run for 4wd. Stereo is a little glitchy, interior is great and the whole thing is built well. I got a good price otherwise its an expensive dual cab compared to others. Mine has the upgraded system for dpf and Ive never had issues here, acceleration isnt awesome but power button definetly sorts this for overtaking and manual gearbox is effortless. I love it but have owned 4wd utes prior...its no passenger car

Purchased in July 2019 at Jarvis Cars for $48,499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

KillaWhat

KillaWhatSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 34 reviews
  • 38 likes
  • Verified purchase

Top Of The Price Bracket Of Utes Middle Of The Road Features

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Canberra Toyota for $58,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
gtp

gtp

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good and solid but not perfect (what is?.....)

published

Purchased in October 2015 at Canberra toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Not much bang for your buck

published

Gonna keep this short and sweet. Terrible fuel economy. The cruise control system is garbage and interior/speakers/ just the little things are lacking. Had a Mazda BT-50 XTR before this I’ll never buy another Hilux can’t wait to get rid of it.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Anf

Anf

  • 2 reviews

Good vehicle but not great

published

Brought the Hilux Rugged X as a boat towing vehicle and everyday work vehicle. Features for a $65K vehicle is quite low. Does not have a lot of the standard features you expect from a car this expensive.

Purchased in February 2019.

Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew

Wayne bishop

Wayne bishopPerth, WA

Gear box clutch

published

Brought 2018 work mate Hilux ute has bad back lash when let the clutch out told this is normal for these utes terrible feels like it 20 years old,crap look else where

Purchased in February 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $21,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mark Larsson

Mark LarssonIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Oh what a feeling

published

On my second dual cab Hillux now, A turbo diesel this time, Great for long trips and around town or just towing a trailer very comfortable and great fuel economy.

Purchased in March 2019 at Toyota Dealers for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ahmad

AhmadSydney, NSW

This is the worst vehicle I ever bought

published

Purchased in January 2019 at City Motors Group for $45,888.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

All in All a Great ute

published

Our 3rd Hilux after 2 x 2007 models.
Have had no issues whatsoever, we run a regional electrical contracting company so vehicles carry plenty of weight. Fuel consumption isn’t great, but nothing with ladders on roof and bullbars/spotlights is.
Feels stronger in the chassis and driveline than previous model. Have done 80,000km in the past year now and it hasn’t skipped a beat.
Only downside is seats aren’t as comfy or shaped/positioned as well as previous model.

Purchased in March 2018 at Peter Kittle Motor.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew C.

Andrew C.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Tailshaft and steering issues from new

published

Tailshaft faulty. Thump when stopping and starting . Royal Run around from Toyota . Toyota reliability ??? What’s that

Steering wheel not staying straight seems to move slightly depending on which direction you turn

Purchased in May 2019 for $55,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Roger

RogerNorth Queensland, QLD

Not regretting for buying a Hilux

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $30,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Clicky

ClickyGippsland, VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Basic but dependable

published

Purchased in September 2018 for $49,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Eddie

EddiePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great vehicle

published

Done 55k,serviced on time by myself,never had any problems. I drive my hilux every day, usually 10 kms to work and back,no dpf issues ever. In saying that i do use the correct dpf oil at services and have minimal idle times. Have never had any driveline clunking i have read about either.I see people believe theres a fuel gauge problem, because they can only get 60 liters in the tank once the low fuel light is on.Isn't this simply a early warning system meaning fuel level is getting low and it will need filling in the next 100 200 kms?Unlike my previous new ute which had many problems from the first month i owned it until i traded it with auto trans problems at 90k ,this hilux was cheaper to buy and much more reliable than the ranger

Purchased in July 2016 for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Shane b

Shane bWheatbelt, WA

Poor fuel usage

published

I purchased a 2017 hilux SR with automatic transmission. Bought this vehicle brand new. It is used as a farm vehicle and on the open highway. Have had all its services done on time at the dealership. I am relatively happy with it. I have done 40k now and have had no mechanical issues with it. From new it has had a higher fuel usage than I expected. Around
13L/100km. Can get around 11.7 on a long run with no load. I have complained to the dealer about it. Their computer says there's nothing wrong with it.
On the highway when doing 110km/h it mostly stays in 5th gear. Only changes to 6th gear going downhill. Seems like the motor is under powered. If I can get the high fuel usage problem solved I would rate it 5 stars.

Purchased in December 2017 at Toyota Dealers for $51,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ron G

Ron GSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A little love lost

published

Loved it when I first got it. Good on highway, good on fuel (diesel). Regular services under warranty. Then the letter came about the first of three recalls and then it became a headache.

Purchased in November 2016 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tim

TimPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Lies lies lies

published

Purchased in January 2017.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017

Unfixable Brake squeal - buyer beware

published

Toyota “genuine service” have failed to stop the break squeal after 4 attempts.

For the last 32,000kms my fully optioned diesel auto sr5 with “leatherette” interior has sounded like a squealing 50 year old “sh$tbox”.

RRP on this car with my Toyota genuine upgrades was $80k (I didn’t pay $80k)

Terrible experience.

Feel like I bought an 80’s hilux rust bucket that’s been running beach tours for 30 years

Caveat emptor!

BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

KIKI

KIKI

  • 40 reviews
  • 30 likes
  • Verified purchase

Wow, very bumpy!

published

With no load in the back, the drive is just terrible. My brain is being smashed against my skull in a most aggressive manner, over roads that I know are smooth. You can feel every tiny crack, bump or crevice in the road. I have asked if there is any suspension adjustments that can be done, but it seems not (any suggestions, apart from filling the tray with concrete?) Under load, it's great and it was a bargain (only $22,000 new 2018).

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2018
DriveRWD

Love the hilux, but it’s not perfect.

published
BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Drive4WD

A/C Clutch fuse/Relay 2006 Workmate

published

The clutch has stopped engaging and I cannot locate the magnetic clutch relay or fuse. Please help and Thank you. I have checked all other fuses and they are fine. A/C light coming on in cab but clutch not engaging. I have probably looked at the right place 50 times now but still haven't got it.

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyUte
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Page 1 of 7

See all Toyota HiLux reviews

Questions & Answers

Jim Carver

Jim Carverasked

Are there dpf issues on 2.4 diesel hilux like 2.8. (mine is 2016 2 wd.)? cheers jim.

No answers

camb P.

camb P.asked

Can a 2011 bullbar fit a 2018 hilux.

No answers

carly collins

carly collinsasked

Just bought a brand new hilux sr5 took it on freeway got to 100kms in speed and there's vibration can anyone help me out as to why?

2 answers
Ian Y.
Ian Y.

Sounds like you need your wheels balanced. Check tyres for lumps another words tyre trend splitting.

carly collins
carly collins

Thanks I've booked it in.


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

CategoryUtes
Compare all Toyota HiLux

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.