??!
1 photo
Uniden Guardian App Cam Solo

Uniden Guardian App Cam Solo

2.0 from 27 reviews

See the Best Wireless Surveillance Systems in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
1
4 star
2
3 star
4
2 star
8
1 star
12

Marcelo A.

Marcelo A.Sydney, NSW

App not working on mini iPad , bad support

published

I Have 6 of these cameras. I had it full time broadcasting to my mini iPad. After the latest upgrade of the app, the app is not opening anymore. I have done all what is possible as reinstalled the app and even resetting the iPad . I contacted the support , they sent me an email saying it is working and that is it. Not helping at all to solve my problem.

Purchased at JB Hifi Home for $980.00.


Han

HanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Waste of Money! Useless!!!

published

We bought this product 6 months ago, and it was totally dissapointing! The battery only takes 3-4 days then needed to be recharged again. Worst product ever! Expensive yet did not met our expectation. I would not recommend this product! Waste of money!

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman for $896.00.

Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection

Failed after a few weeks

published

Bought two pack and installed one. All seemed to go OK but was never satisfied with the detection capabilities. Worked at this level for a few weeks the connection failed. Put new batteries in, reset the unit and now will not connect to WIFI? So I pulled the other new unit out and exactly the same, both will not connect to wifi.Dissatisfied would not buy again.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Murphy

MurphyMELBOURNE

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Dangerously unreliable

published

The Uniden App Cam Solo 4 pack and a WI FI extender was highly recomended to us by Harvey Norman at Nunawading and the complete package cost us over $900 in August 2019.
We needed to be able to monitor our 93 year old mother in law living in the granny flat outside.
The inital setup was straight forward and worked.
About a week ago on all 4 cameras I now only get the message Live Viewing Failed.
All other devices on the home WIFI network function correctly.
A few days ago the mother in law had a fall in the granny flat.
Luckily she was able to contact us by mobile phone for our assistance.
This Uniden product is seriously flawed.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
6 comments
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Murphy
Murphy

04124xxxx

Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Wanda Wy

Wanda WyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Uniden Guardian App Cam Solo+ -Many factors make it good & bad

published

Purchased in September 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

Kapil K.

Kapil K.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Useless Cameras, complete waste of money

published

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys for $795.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
3 comments
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Kapil K.
Kapil K.

Kapilk_@hotmail.com

Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Tony

Tony

  • 3 reviews

Ok cameras but not reliable

published

Purchased a 4 pack and they were easy to setup and connect to the app.
A positive start, unfortunately sensitivity makes them go off all the time. Yet sometimes movement is not detected.
The original batteries did not last 180days as highlighted. They might if you turn off all notifications, turn down the sensitivity and resolution and alarms. If this would be done they would be useless.
Have purchased rechargeable batteries but they might last 6 weeks or 3 weeks.
If you go away for any length of time then they will go flat and cameras will not work.
Expensive and not worth it

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

Bob

BobNarangba

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good Cams but not perfect.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Tony

TonyMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Cannot access via phone. Connection failed message

published

Purchased from JB HiFi about a month ago. Was able to view remotely on my smartphone for the first few weeks but now receive a "connection failed" message. Works fine when at home but I need it when I'm not there.

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi.

4 comments
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Tony
Tony

Hi. Thanks for the reply. My email is
tony.foulstone@bigpond.com

Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
AdelaideGuy

AdelaideGuyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified purchase

Do not buy

published

This product is useless, if someone walks close to it does not set off, but every car over 10m away sets it off. The battery does not last and are not rechargable. I replaced with the Solo+ with solar panel which fixed the battery issue but still picks up cars a long way away but not people in my driveway. Night Vision is not that useful. I don't understand why the mounts make it so easy to remove. If someone can easily steal the camera what is the point.

Purchased in June 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

not happy

published

I purchased 2 x AppCam Solo+. The camera is supposedly sold with free cloud recording. What they don't tell you is that you have to renew your membership every month. Despite chasing Uniden, I keep getting the run around. I would not recommend the product at all.


ovenbaked

ovenbakedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good, lots of features, clever in many ways, not for everyone

published

thornycrop

thornycropWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified purchase

Useless / Not Fit For Purpose / Substantially Annoying

published

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for $228.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
1 comment
thornycrop
thornycrop

Poor connection to phone app

published

Just bought 4 over the weekend and installed one. Connection and installation went well. However trying to connect to the camera from the phone to view the feed is unreliable. Frequently comes up with connection failed even though the modem and wifi works. Even tried connecting immediately after receiving a notification of movement doesn’t work. Its disappointing. Am deciding whether to return to store for a refund.

Purchased in July 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
3 comments
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
SER
SER

Please provide me with an email address to contact.

Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Jeroen J.

Jeroen J.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Steer away from them, can't connect on external WIFI!

published

I have 4 solo's, they used to connect okay on external WIFI (at work) but since a few months it won't connect, only on 4g it works. I have tested with different WIFI networks and multiple phones, (the external network is of good quality, I can stream HD content). I can only connect the cameras on my home WIFI, yup pretty lame and cannot recommend them as Uniden is not in a hurry to update the app and they are costing top dollar.

Purchased in March 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
1 comment
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Peter

PeterSydney Surrounds, NSW

Great performance for a battery operated system as long as it's non hard wired limitations are understood and accepted.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman Physical Store for $805.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
1 comment
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Pyro Ivan

Pyro IvanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Don't waste your money

published

Great concept, awesome interface, hopelessly inconsistent operation. I have six of these cameras, terrific when they work but disappointingly temperamental. Using rechargeable batteries overcomes the hungry power consumption bit they quote often fail to detect movement, are slow to activate when movement is detected and only records for 7 to 9 second intervals. Often only recording the tale end of the subject exiting the frame. I have one camera that won't record or detect motion at all and goes offline every 2 days. Massively disappointing

Purchased in March 2019 for $1,080.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
3 comments
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Pyro Ivan
Pyro Ivan

sthcstfreight@aol.com

Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Michael

MichaelCentral West, NSW

I wish I had done my homework before purchasing.

published

I purchased my 4 x Solo+ cameras yesterday believing they will do the trick, good advise from the salesperson and some reading. I had trouble setting up and connecting to the phone. Now I read all the negativity, I now have second thoughts on the quality I am going to receive from the units. We have had a huge amount of house break-ins and my vehicle was stolen. Yes I know the horse has bolted. I was planning a weeks holiday and if these machines wont cut the mustard then a change to an item from another company might be the go.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
1 comment
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Karl V.

Karl V.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Great if you can get them to work

published

If you can connect to the cameras using the app you get decent picture and sound. Speaking thru the cameras does not work at all. I was told they where google home hub connectable which they are not.
Connecting to the cameras even when on the same network barely works. If remote it works about 1% of the time.
Turning on the motion detection will reduce battery life from theoretical months the 8 real days.

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $820.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
3 comments
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Karl V.
Karl V.

Hello. sure please email me at vorwerkk@gmail.com. Thanks Heaps
Karl

Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Stuart

StuartSouth East Queensland, QLD

Seriously Disappointed

published

I bought this product because of the reputation of Uniden but this product really is useless! Everything is good EXCEPT battery life. Turned down every feature (that attracted me in the first place) and battery life is less than 7 days. I placed the 4 cameras up high so as to prevent theft and I need a ladder to change batteries. I am 67 and climbing ladders is not a recommended activity!! There is no way to use a plug-in power supply as no connection exists. I will dump these in the trash and replace with a powered system at the earliest opportunity.

Purchased in March 2018 for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
3 comments
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Stuart
Stuart

Email: wizard_merlin@outlook.com

Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jo Stacey

Jo Staceyasked

Hi, I have just purchased 3 app cam solo cameras as well as 3 solar panels to charge the batteries. I will be setting them up on a remote property that does not have continuous wifi access and plan on using SD cards to record the images. Will this present any problems? Does the camera require wifi access to work (my understanding is that it does not). Thanks

No answers

MARTIN mclaughlin

MARTIN mclaughlinasked

I purchased a set of 4 solo single cameras from JB HiFi on 25/07/2018. I also purchased 5 x 4 Rechargeable batteries & a single battery recharger which enables me to maintain the cameras in a continuously active state. I have the cameras configured to our nbn based internet via a Telstra WIFI router enabling me to monitor our property from anywhere in the world which did alert me to an intruder when we were in Europe in September 2018. Now unfortunately this week I have been unable to monitor any of the 4 cameras via WIFI on my smart phone while at home. There has been a recent app update and my current version is 4.16.2.0. The message “connection failed” appears on all camera displays and all the “settings” cog icons are greyed, with PIRs all blue. We are due to travel overseas again on 21st October 2019 so I want the cameras fully active ASAP. Any help?Martin McLaughlin mobile [details removed]

8 answers
Peter
Peter

Hi Martin , try reinstalling the cameras as per original set up . They should still be in the system meaning the reinstall steps are not as long as the original set up steps. Peter

Thanks Peter, I have tried that several times earlier this week but couldn’t get beyond cameras trying to connect to WIFI router and failing each time. Last night I resorted to deleting and reloading the app from App Store but again the cameras failed to connect to WIFI router (I also reset router several times). It was also necessary for me to reregister via the app with a new password which I eventually successfully completed. Batteries are all fully recharged so what else should I try??? Martin McLaughlin

Peter
Peter

Hi again Martin . I don't know , Uniden should come to your rescue soon as they monitor these questions . Just as an aside , is your router dual band if so these cameras only work on the 2.4 Ghz band .. Peter


Abby

Abbyasked

Camera foitage is great however, battery life is pretty short and i have had the battery in charge now for about 3 hours and it's still not charged how long does it take and it's using a plug in charger not solar or portable charger??

1 answer
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Thank you for your review.

Sorry that your experience with our Uniden product was an inconvenience.

Can you please provide a contact number or email?

I can arrange for a consultant to get in contact with you.


Get an answer from our members and Uniden representatives

Details

CategoryWireless Surveillance Systems

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.