??!
1 photo
Uniden Guardian App Cam Solo

Uniden Guardian App Cam Solo

1.9 from 51 reviews

Reviews

1.9

51 reviews
5
(3)
4
(4)
3
(6)
2
(12)
1
(26)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (40)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (40)
  • Ease of Use
    2.8 (40)
  • Night Vision
    3.2 (34)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    2.1 (37)
  • Ease of Installation
    3.3 (36)
  • Motion Detection
    2.7 (36)
Previous
Next

Terrible camera and customer service

published

Bad camera and customer service does not care about their customers or their products. The camera would not connect to WIFI had my router checked by service provider and we set the camera right next to the router and it still did not connect. Phoned for help but did not provide any.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
1 comment
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Palm

PalmSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

I see the improvement on the latest app update. Keep going !!! More improvements would be nice.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
shane c

shane csydney

  • 5 reviews

Uniden guardian app cam solo

published

When purchased was told that you get a month free cloud storage.at the end of that month all you have to do is subscribe again and it free you could do this as much as you like,now uniden have taken that away and made it seven days,whish they would have done this before I brought them as i would have never purchased them well done uniden!!!!won't be buying your products again.

Purchased in September 2019 at Officeworks for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Wireless Surveillance Systems

Find out how Uniden Guardian App Cam Solo compares to other Wireless Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gray McGowan

Gray McGowan

  • 2 reviews

Won't work, won't charge

published

Objectively, it's hard to right a review as my experience will differ from the next person. Once the battery ran flat (3 months) it would no longer charge and wouldn't link to my phone anymore despite changing my broadband believing that was the problem, so it's been relegated to the nearest landfill.

Purchased in September 2019 at Noel Leeming Physical store for A$269.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Sangar K.

Sangar K.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Worst security system i have ever purchased.

published

They lure you in by displaying HD images on the box as you purchase the camera system.
took it home and set up, first box was faulty, went back JB to grab another one and that one worked.
only to find out that the images are really poor quality, you can not tell the difference between a human and an ant in the cameras. these are no where near HD 1080p.

False advertising at its best.

Purchased in July 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Bea A.

Bea A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Won't connect to live stream

published

I was on holiday and about a week into the trip I was getting "failed to connect" message when trying to live stream. It's the first time its happened, and just so happened to occur on our longest holiday yet. My cheaper, wired, cameras have no issues. Will not trust the uniden for holidays in future. Customer support were no help, they advised I need to be with the cameras to reset them.

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
1 comment
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Brokey Mcfuck.

Brokey Mcfuck.Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Great option for quick install and reliability

published

I actually found these cameras very easy to use once you understand how to use the app and settings. The only issue I had was connecting to the 5ghz, once I changed 2.4ghz they all worked fine. I also changed the internet connection from telstra to aussiebb beacuse telstra upload speeds were aweful and making the viewing glitchy. Some cameras I have installed in a partly shaded garden area with the solar panel option for power. They hardly go below 95% battery over night and fully recharge very quickly.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$215.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Wouter B.

Wouter B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Great System, easy to install, and it just works...

published

I am not sure why everybody else is complaining about these. I bought mine about a year ago, and they all work just fine. I added 2 cameras this week, and connected them without any issues. I can view them from anywhere in the world, there was no messy installation process, installing each camera took me all of 10 minutes per camera, and the battery life is great, I only have to change batteries every 2nd month. Only issue I have with them is that they are dam expensive!

Purchased in February 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Graham

GrahamSouth East Queensland, QLD

Major problems

published

Got one to monitor holiday house. Many log on attempts via the remote connection. Had a power outage and now it won't re-connect to wifi when power back. Battery life terrible.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
1 comment
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Wireless Surveillance Systems

Find out how Uniden Guardian App Cam Solo compares to other Wireless Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Neal

NealPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Solo Camera connection to wifi issues

published

Hi, I purchased a solo App Cam 3G camera and 3 App Cam solo cameras, had a few issues connecting a couple to my wifi but eventually got there through trial and error but no obvious pattern. Anyhow, now purchased 2 App Cam Solo PT (Pan & Tilt) cameras and cannot connect to my wifi, password is correct, all other cameras working fine until I disconnected one and did a camera reset, now cant connect this camera so stuck with 3 cameras I cant connect.
wifi password is good, I even tried removing the password, still would not connect. Seem's there is an issue with cameras communicating with my router though no problems with any other wifi device!

Purchased in February 2020 at JbHIfi for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
1 comment
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Scott

ScottMid North Coast, NSW

Sucked in again, Please read reviews before purching

published

So disappointed with myself for allowing sales person talking me into buying this junk, $800.00 worth of rubbish, I had a friend that was interested in one and even offered to buy it off me but was to embarrassed to sell ended up giving it to him and he was also very disappointed but happy did not waste his money

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hifi Home for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Adam B.

Adam B.South East Queensland, QLD

Slow and takes ages to connect

published

Some one could rob my house and leave befor the camera picks it up.
Very slow connect time.
And I have every fast internet speed.
Sometimes dose not connect at all. Really want to fix the problem

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
1 comment
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Leanne

LeanneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Cameras not detecting

published

Purchased 3 pack uniden solo cameras with with battery on 30th December. All seemed well. By 11 January cameras stopped filming almost completely. Cameras are on high sensitivity, restarted cameras several times, even rebooted cameras. Cameras are only filming within 5 metres of them. They were filming cars before but noe we have driven cars out of the driveway and they were not filmed and we did not even get an alert!

Already emailed customer service. Please help.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Not happy

Not happySydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

I CANT GIVE IT NEGATIVE

published

This has got to be the worst product ever marketed. I should have read the reviews but my wife insisted the marketing looks great.
I have the best wifi system available and the camera fails to pick up the signal. This is on all four cameras. I tried rebooting and moving all the cameras closer to the unit. It just won’t work. I am leaving for a holiday to realise my house is not secure. Anxiety not needed.
Save your money and get a proper wired unit. You can’t beat the professionals. This is a total waste of money and time as I will no doubt be arguing with the sales company to get a full refund. I thought unidentifiable were a good product having used their two way radios. I think this might be my last time.

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money

Drops out of wifi

published

Purchased the Uniden Solo plus 3 days ago. Day one worked perfectly fine. Day two the camera dropped out of wifi and wouldnt connect. Reset the system and connected again and worked for rest of the day. Day three it drops out of wifi and wouldnt connect!!

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Wireless Surveillance Systems

Find out how Uniden Guardian App Cam Solo compares to other Wireless Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified purchase

Uniden Guardian GVDR20440

published

Purchased this setup from jb hi fi a few weeks back, cameras were easy enough to mount & DVR to camera setup pretty simple.
I use my iphone as my screen and my main issue is with the app and play back ect.
Very glitchy, very rarely can I watch playback where I guy I work with has a cheap eBay system which is more superior to what I have at the moment. Support team isn’t very good either expect to be connected to the Phillipines.
I wouldn’t recommend uniden security systems

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for A$599.00.

Cas

Cas

  • 3 reviews

Motion Detection ... Can't turn it off !!

published

We purchased the triple pack App Cam Solo+. The cameras work fine however I cannot find a function to turn off the motion detection/record. I want the units working for when I am not home. There is a 'record' function in 'settings' however when I have it toggled 'off', and even the audio toggled 'off' it still records. This is draining the batteries (only lasted one day because was basically recording full time), it's also filling up my ICloud storage. I've called Uniden but have been told by a recorded message to call within working hours (9.00am - 5.00pm). I have called many times within these hours ... no answer !! This was not a cheap product. I am very unhappy.

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
1 comment
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden
Patrick C.

Patrick C.Pilbara, WA

Telstra gen 2 modern

published

I also had the same problem as Ash dropping out 4-5 times a day got a Tri band mesh WiFi booster and that solved my problem, apart from that great cameras one dislike would be how flimsy the mounting system is. Could easily be stolen

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Paul

PaulPeel, WA

  • Verified purchase

I should of read this first

published

Hi
I just got the single Xlight today and i have been sitting here for the last 4 hours and have succeeded in only getting the green flashing light 3 times, and timed out 3 times, i have a flashing red solid red and even the bright LED light comes on.

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for A$199.00.

1 comment
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Thank you for your review.
Sorry that your experience with our Uniden product was an inconvenience.
Can you please provide a contact number or email?
I can arrange for a consultant to get in contact with you.

Jack Chomley

Jack ChomleyCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Tried many times to make 2 cameras work:-(

published

Bought 2 cameras from Jaycar, in April 19 and have made numerous attempts to get them connected to the app, bought new phone, got a new router replacing the originals I had. Still no go, latest effort today for 3 hours I tried everything, cameras fail to connect, checked all settings and changed some back and forth to experiment.
So, tomorrow its back to Jaycar and see what happens. Its impossible to see WHY these are so hard to get going. Got an Arlo System 3 months ago and set it up, no problem.

Purchased in April 2019 at Jaycar Electronics.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Jason

Jasonasked

I have a Uniden Solo, all working well, just when i go into Playback " Failed to load video info. Please tap to retry. I keep taping it wont playback.

Thank you.

1 answer
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Hi,

Please send through an email to our customer service team on custservice@uniden.com.au who will be able to assist you further.

Thank you

John S.

John S.asked

I have fotgotten passworf

1 answer
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Hi,

Please send through an email to our customer service team on custservice@uniden.com.au who will be able to assist you further.

Thank you

BigSteve

BigSteveasked

Due to the current times we have had unknown people in the back veggie patch stealing plants...We got the guardian Xlight and it works like a dream...So we wanted a spotlight cam with a bigger,brighter light and so we got the App Cam Spotlight...It's not the best cam...with the router in the middle of the house we only get FPS 12 and bitrate 178 - 397 kbps in the day and ZERO across the board at night but the Xlight gets 75 - 90 KB/s ..only 3 metres difference between the two cams..Note I can get wifi 20m from the house? Any help would be great....

3 answers
Uniden
Uniden A.Uniden

Hi,

Please send through an email to our customer service team on custservice@uniden.com.au who will be able to assist you further.

Thank you

shane c
shane c

Go to officeworks and buy a wifi extender

BigSteve
BigSteve

Dear Uniden A. I have sent an email to said address and have NO reply at all in 2 weeks.....Your customer service is a JOKE.!! I have used uniden products way back in the 80s - 90s when your uniden RD9 was one of the best radar detectors on the road...Hell I even have a uniden 2 way in my truck now!..BUT your wifi cam and customer service is appalling.

Get an answer from our members and Uniden representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.