??!
1 photo
V-Zug Combi-Steam XSL

V-Zug Combi-Steam XSL

4.4 from 10 reviews

See the Best Steam Ovens in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0

FairLady

FairLadySydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Uneven baking results-HSL (38 cm) combi steam oven

published

I bought the oven in Feb 2018. The oven does not give an even result for baking biscuits, bread etc. And also when I use it for grilling chicken wings with steam oven function at 230 degrees. I contacted VZUG more than 3 weeks ago, and emailed relevant details to VZUG as requested. I haven't heard anything back from VZUG. This oven is still under warranty and VZUG said they would send a technician to adjust it. So far, this oven is an extremely expensive piece of steamer!! because its oven function for baking is poor in quality.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

I will never use a microwave again

published

I cannot believe how beautifully this oven cooks everything and usually all at once ! Veal schnitzel and vegetables that taste like they are the freshest produce with flavour enhanced. Everything tastes like a restaurant meal with less salt, less preparation. I haven't cooked so much nor had so much fun in the kitchen in years. The Vzug is paying for itself by not wanting to eat out ! Easier to eat fresh and wholesome food as this oven encourages fresh whole food cooking by its simplicity. Personally I never want to use a microwave again. Just wish I had bought the larger one !!! I
really really love this appliance.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
cxc

cxcGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

we can't live without it now

published

Excellent oven. we do some many cooking with it. the steam/combi function is particularly useful for Asian cooking. we use it for almost every meal. we had it for almost 3 years now. The quality is excellent too, haven't had any major issue.

Every kitchen should have it. Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedNov 2014
Andrew Farrance

Andrew FarranceMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Vzug are great!

published

My wife is the cook, not I. But using the auto cook functions (roast veggies in the combined steam and meat in the SEP conventional oven) I make a fantastic roast! Just pop it in, set the finish time and relax :)
It does reheat really well, even making 3 day old drying out chicken curry pieces taste moist and edible again (for Master 10yo super fussy).
Remembering, you can cook with steam OR conventional heat OR both!
We love it. Expensive, yes, but you get what you pay for. We no longer use the microwave (except for Milo and 3 day old pizza when I am in a real hurry). Reheating family dinners is actually faster, and WAY more Convienient. Pop dinner in, program a finish time and your done.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Andrew Farrance
Andrew Farrance

PaulH

PaulHMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Amazing piece of kit

published

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Preheating Speed
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
2 comments
PaulH
PaulH
PaulH
PaulH

The VZUG Combi-Steam XSL and the Combair XSL are simply "Brilliant"

published
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Tom Groves

Tom GrovesBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 26 likes

The best Combi Steam I have ever used!

published

I found this Combi -Steam very easy to use and I can cook anything I want and get the perfect result every time. I love the Easy Cooking Guides function which takes all the guesswork out of what I need to cook it on especially when there are over 116 guides. I also love the soft roasting option and bakeomatic. I highly recommend this oven to anyone whether they are a chef or have no idea of what they are doing.


Need new chiller

Need new chillerPerth

  • 32 reviews
  • 19 likes

Cook like a pro, intuitive appliance

published
Deeslee

DeesleeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Not user friendly

published

This oven has a lot of features which I have found are not easy to use. The soft roaster produces tender meat which is grey and pale. Not at all appetising. Also you can't roast potatoes at the same time as the meat. With some of the functions, it's not possible to set or anticipate the end of the cooking time. This is a great inconvenience when cooking for a family. V-Zug offer a demonstration of the oven and a 3 course meal included. Unfortunately, this demonstrated that it's not sufficient to have only one oven as some of the dishes had to go into another oven.
The supplied recipe book, is typically European, with lots of recipes which use cream, butter and cheeses. A 'modern Australian' adaptation would be good.

Perceptive

PerceptiveSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

The BEST Combi Steamer ever!

published

This is nothing like the OLD steamers.

This Combi-steamer from V-ZUG is the only complete package, it got everything from a fan forced oven to a steamer to a baker & roaster with recipes, a slow cooker with meat probe to even a food re-heater (Regenerate, both moist and crisp) it replaces any microwave and it is simple to use, even by husbands and kids!

Questions & Answers

Cazz14

Cazz14asked

Hi there at V-Zug! I am just getting my thoughts together about a kitchen renovation and am starting to look at appliances. I have been to a few V-Zug demonstrations and am sold on the XSL Combi Steam oven. My only decision now is whether to go with 2 steam ovens or just 1 and have it paired with the Combair oven. It seems to me, that those people that are very familiar and comfortable with the steam oven, suggest going with the 2 of those, rather than the Combair.
I feel somewhat confused about which way to go. This is for a family of four who do not do a lot of entertaining other than Christmas and birthdays. Appreciate some guidance. Thank you.

7 answers
FairLady
FairLady

The demo lady that sold me the XSL combi told me that she owns 2 combi ovens. It could be just a sales strategy. Is that the same with you, which have made you consider having a second one? I myself, plan to have a second oven as non combi. But that maybe because I do not know much about baking with steam. Do you?

Cazz14
Cazz14

Yes, like you I am new to cooking with steam, and therefore a little unsure about not having a conventional oven.
I am constantly being told that the steam oven can do everything and more than a conventional oven, however it doesn’t have a grill element. After talking to a few sales reps and demonstrators who are familiar with the steam ovens, they all are of the opinion that if you can afford 2 steam ovens, then that is the way to go as you can still use them as a normal dry oven without the steam. It’s a big financial investment and you just don’t want any regrets after you purchase.

FairLady
FairLady

Yes, definitely have to think twice because I think VZUG is overpriced. There are a lot of programmes that I don't use bc I don't like the way it does its job, for instance the baked goods, if I use the program, it will get soggy first before it is heated. And a lot of annoying problems here and there as I have mentioned in my post. It is nor that easy to clean, as I am afraid to get the chemical into the back of the oven through the holes. If you are getting another steam combi oven, would you consider another brand? AEG or Miele (unboxed at Rosehill)


shazartist

shazartistasked

Hello all, Nice to see lots of good reviews on this product. I have never heard of the brand before. I don't eat meat but lots of vegetables and sea food. Does the V-Zug combo steamer have mostly settings for pre for meat ? I have never used a steamer before and looking for one that is user friendly I was looking at the Gaggenau but am reading it may not be for the first time user and the Miele maybe easier. I notice the V-Zug has pre selected programs for cooking but I am not sure what they are.

2 answers
Katrina
Katrina

Hi, it has some great meat pre set meals- honestly simple to use. But to really get the most out of it make sure you attend a few demonstration classes AFTER you have mastered the basics. Well worth the time. With proper knowledge and practice it almost totally replaces microwave, stovetop and oven. But attending the class later and more than one makes it easier to keep learning and build on the simple recipes

shazartist
shazartist

Thank you for your answer Katrina, If most of their pre programmed meals are for meat dishes that will not be much use to me. I live in a regional area so am 2 hours away from a city, so am unlikely to find a class for this product, although I may find one for Gaggenau or Meile. I found the product through a youtube and it was very informative. It really looks like a fabulous product and the price is much lower than Gaggenau. Really good cook books seem to be in short supply or nil for combo steamers :(


MikeT

MikeTasked

The oven keeps saying that you must fill the water tank even when we have. No matter what we do the same error message returns. What are we doing wrong?

2 answers
cxc
cxc

Making sure you've pushed the water tank all the way in. You should feel a soft click. That's the only thing I could think of. If still doesn't work, you might have to contact vzug.

Katrina
Katrina

Could be as simple as you are not placing the water jug correctly back in place. Make sure it slides right up the back of the space it is placed back into. Other than that I suggest you call the appliance help line. Mine has given me that message but I reposition the jug to be pushed right back and it is fine.
KR


Get an answer from our members and V-Zug representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.