??!
1 photo
Volkswagen Amarok

Volkswagen Amarok

2H.I, 2H.II
3.5 from 128 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (17)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (16)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (16)
  • Braking
    4.6 (16)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (15)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (17)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (17)
  • Handling
    4.6 (16)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (16)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (17)
  • Features
    3.6 (14)
Previous
Next
Sam

Sam

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I’ve ever owned

published

I’d give this car a 10/10- Refined. Well designed. Smooth. Powerful yet economical. Have done 50,000km and faultless. 3 years on and I wouldn’t swap it for anything.. The new 2020 model utes by Mazda and Isuzu still don’t come close to comparing! Well done VW!

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Comfort
See all answers
Amarok driver

Amarok driverGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome ute

published

Had it nearly 3 years now, no issues what so ever, brilliant fuel economy (8.6 mostly) even with a steel bull bar fitted. Particulate filter light came on a couple of times but driving on the freeway at 100kph for 5 minutes and it goes out, obviously not getting hot enough around town. Use to have a Colorado, there is no comparison, the V6 Amarok is so much better in every way. I read a lot of criticism about Amarok off-road, from my experience unjustified, last year I was even lucky enough to do the Spirit of Amarok event at the Melbourne off-road proving ground, amazing what these can do without a transfer case and in my opinion they are the future.

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sean S.

Sean S.South East Queensland, QLD

this car is no good at all 9 days all i got out of it

published

9 days 423.7 km all we got from it 1/2 tank of fuel but fault with these seem to be the serpentine belt failure on engines running a timing belt we have no car know for a long time saved along time for this car so let down by VW we have to save for long time just to fix it know buy a VW ever again so let down by the way they made this 2015 motor fail so dam easy Amarok just no good and any VW with them 2.0l TDI motors

Purchased in September 2020 for A$15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Volkswagen Amarok compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam

Sam

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

V6 Amarok- What a Beast!!!

published

Had this V6 Amarok almost 3 years and can’t fault it. Unbeatable power, comfort and fuel economy. Nothing drives like it. Powerful, drives just superb and looks the part too. Usually at 3 years I look to upgrade but no way, more than satisfied!

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jarryd

JarrydMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 13 likes

Beast

published

Picked up my Amarok Canyon, amazing limited edition model. Constant 4 wheel drive makes you feel like your sitting on a hovering couch. Very smooth and solid Ute. It was expensive but worth it in the end, VW has not let down. Technology wise it’s due for an upgrade, interior on the other hand is probably the best in all dual cabs available to purchase.

Purchased in January 2020 at Volkswagen Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cheesed off21

Cheesed off21South East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 14 likes

Very roomy

published

Purchased in June 2015 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Udo F.

Udo F.Mid North Coast, NSW

Starter motor failure on 2017 V6 Amarok Ultimate

published

Purchased in March 2017 for A$73.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Amanda

Amanda

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Faulty dpf filter & stress lone cracks on headlights and fog lights

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

2014 mechatronics warning

published

My car has recently been towed to Volkswagen aftwr it got stuck in 6th gear while driving with no warning. I have been told the issue is the mechatronics. It is a 2014 model. I know there was a recall in 2013. Volkswagen service centres suggestion was pay for a new transmission as well because they coudnt tell if that needed replacing so instead of a potential $20,000 bill just replace the transmission?!. Otherwise pay $6600 for the mechatronics and possibly then pay for a transmission totally $20,000 which the car isn't worth!!!! It's not an old car and having had these issues in the model before mine. Not happy as I now have a car that doesn't drive.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Volkswagen Amarok compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Keith

KeithSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my V6 VW Amarok BUT!!

published

Love my Amarok, but just recently the engine malfunction light came on and the Ute went into limp mode. I called my local VW dealer and they advised not to drive it until it was inspected, unfortunately they couldn’t get it into the workshop for 3 weeks. So I called VW Liverpool NSW and they got booked in within 2 days. Then my Emissions control light also came on. And I could hear a knock. On inspection they couldn’t do a normal reset on the emissions and had to call Germany. They couldn’t reset and advised to replace. The knock was my oil pump which also needed replacing. It will take over 4 weeks to get the parts and fix. The Ute is the V6 and is one year old.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Peter

PeterGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

VW selling faulty unsafe cars

published

I have purchased the VW Amarok Ultimate V6. I have been driving for almost 2 years and without warning the engine loses power goes into limp mode and needs to be towed. After almost 2 years VW does not have a fix and refuses to do anything about it. I have been in near accident because of the power loss as a truck almost ran into me. I have since found out that VW knew about the faults with these vehicles and continues to sell them. Quite disappointing considering that someone was killed on the Monash freeway because their car lost power.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers
Dawn

DawnPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The best car for around town and out in the bush

published

I love my Amarok.This is my second one in 7 years.The first one I bought in 2012.It is so economical and smooth to drive.Have been on several out back journeys over many dirt roads and never had a problem.I have now bought the new V6 model and I think it is even smoother and still as economical.
I don't think I would ever drive another car after having these.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best Ute I've Owned

published

I've owned a Hilux, BT50 & Colorado and the Amarok is hands down the best ute I've owned. It's currently only done 45,000 km's but never missed a beat and haven't had any issues. I've had it serviced at Volkswagen and very happy with the customer service and the fixed priced servicing.

Purchased in March 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Andrew Murdoch

Andrew MurdochSouth West, WA

Any one had front seat trouble????

published

Purchased in November 2017 for A$48,000.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers
Josh

JoshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Well appointed, great to drive.

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Commercial Centre for A$69,834.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Volkswagen Amarok compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Don S.

Don S.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

On my second Amarok

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Keystar Volkswagen for A$65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Danley

DanleySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Avoid Petrol Amaroks like if it was the Flu

published

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Phil777

Phil777

  • 2 reviews

2018 2L TDI gutless and jittery

published

Bought a demo Amarok and have had it for about a month. Interior and appointments are great, but the engine is really quite gutless and fusses about through the gears. Economy is good though larger diesels are getting about the same.. (Thinking of the Navara diesel)
The ride is my biggest beef. It feels like my old 1999 Jeep (that's not a compliment). It's very very hard and you will feel every tiny bump in the road. My son who has a Pajero was lost for words and didn't want to bag dad's new ride too much, but I could tell he was shocked.
Do your home work and test drive a few different dual cabs first.

Purchased in February 2019 at Wangara VW.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Graeme

GraemeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great vehicle but with some frustrating features

published

I use my Amarok every day for general use and pick ups and deliveries, it also tows a 2850 kg caravan quite regularly, runs very well but I think the dealers servicing is vastly over priced.
When I replaced the timing belt the dealer said I should also replace the water pump (at around 105000 km)
I have driven millions of km and never had to replace a pump other than some seals on a 1952 model car in the 1970's so I thought this was over the top.
Brakes are good and the handling is excellent
I have driven this ute 162000 km since purchase and until recently had VW dealer servicing but their servicing prices have sent me to a local workshop at about 1/3rd of the dealers charges.

Purchased in May 2015 for A$55,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers

The perfect work vehicle

published
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Carrotcruncher

Carrotcruncherasked

Amarok 4x4 TDI500 3.0L V6 Turbo Diesel (2016-2021)

I have had the car 3 months almost and it has 65000 kms on the clock.
Three times it has failed to change up the gears either from stop or from a very low speed in 1st.
When I pull up, put the transmission into PARK and then back to DRIVE there is not a problem.
Can be dangerous in traffic having to pull up and then start off again, otherwise I have to stay in the low gear with engine revving madly until a safe pull up place is found.

No answers
Ian S.

Ian S.asked

Amarok

can you replace a Amarok 2011 tub with a 2020 tub.

No answers
Hardball

Hardballasked

Amarok

Anyone chipped a TDI500 manual?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 20 Volkswagen Amarok
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price A$39,990A$39,990A$39,990A$39,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy
Doors4444
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption8.6 L/100km8.6 L/100km8.6 L/100km8.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L80 L80 L80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power132kW @ 4000rpm132kW @ 4000rpm132kW @ 4000rpm132kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque420Nm @ 1750rpm420Nm @ 1750rpm420Nm @ 1750rpm420Nm @ 1750rpm
Country of ManufactureArgentinaArgentinaArgentinaArgentina
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Ground Clearance500 mm500 mm500 mm500 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateNov 2016Nov 2016
Compare all 20 Volkswagen Amarok

Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.