??!
1 photo
Volkswagen Amarok 2H (2011-Present)

Volkswagen Amarok 2H (2011-Present)

3.5 from 119 reviews

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
51
4 star
18
3 star
10
2 star
16
1 star
24

Keith

KeithSydney, NSW

Love my V6 VW Amarok BUT!!

published

Love my Amarok, but just recently the engine malfunction light came on and the Ute went into limp mode. I called my local VW dealer and they advised not to drive it until it was inspected, unfortunately they couldn’t get it into the workshop for 3 weeks. So I called VW Liverpool NSW and they got booked in within 2 days. Then my Emissions control light also came on. And I could hear a knock. On inspection they couldn’t do a normal reset on the emissions and had to call Germany. They couldn’t reset and advised to replace. The knock was my oil pump which also needed replacing. It will take over 4 weeks to get the parts and fix. The Ute is the V6 and is one year old.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Peter

PeterGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

VW selling faulty unsafe cars

published

I have purchased the VW Amarok Ultimate V6. I have been driving for almost 2 years and without warning the engine loses power goes into limp mode and needs to be towed. After almost 2 years VW does not have a fix and refuses to do anything about it. I have been in near accident because of the power loss as a truck almost ran into me. I have since found out that VW knew about the faults with these vehicles and continues to sell them. Quite disappointing considering that someone was killed on the Monash freeway because their car lost power.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers
Dawn

DawnPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

The best car for around town and out in the bush

published

I love my Amarok.This is my second one in 7 years.The first one I bought in 2012.It is so economical and smooth to drive.Have been on several out back journeys over many dirt roads and never had a problem.I have now bought the new V6 model and I think it is even smoother and still as economical.
I don't think I would ever drive another car after having these.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best Ute I've Owned

published

I've owned a Hilux, BT50 & Colorado and the Amarok is hands down the best ute I've owned. It's currently only done 45,000 km's but never missed a beat and haven't had any issues. I've had it serviced at Volkswagen and very happy with the customer service and the fixed priced servicing.

Purchased in March 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Andrew Murdoch

Andrew MurdochSouth West, WA

Any one had front seat trouble????

published

Purchased in November 2017 for $48,000.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers

Josh

JoshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Well appointed, great to drive.

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Commercial Centre for $69,834.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Don S.

Don S.South East Queensland, QLD

On my second Amarok

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Keystar Volkswagen for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Danley

DanleySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Avoid Petrol Amaroks like if it was the Flu

published

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Phil777

Phil777

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

2018 2L TDI gutless and jittery

published

Bought a demo Amarok and have had it for about a month. Interior and appointments are great, but the engine is really quite gutless and fusses about through the gears. Economy is good though larger diesels are getting about the same.. (Thinking of the Navara diesel)
The ride is my biggest beef. It feels like my old 1999 Jeep (that's not a compliment). It's very very hard and you will feel every tiny bump in the road. My son who has a Pajero was lost for words and didn't want to bag dad's new ride too much, but I could tell he was shocked.
Do your home work and test drive a few different dual cabs first.

Purchased in February 2019 at Wangara VW.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Graeme

GraemeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great vehicle but with some frustrating features

published

I use my Amarok every day for general use and pick ups and deliveries, it also tows a 2850 kg caravan quite regularly, runs very well but I think the dealers servicing is vastly over priced.
When I replaced the timing belt the dealer said I should also replace the water pump (at around 105000 km)
I have driven millions of km and never had to replace a pump other than some seals on a 1952 model car in the 1970's so I thought this was over the top.
Brakes are good and the handling is excellent
I have driven this ute 162000 km since purchase and until recently had VW dealer servicing but their servicing prices have sent me to a local workshop at about 1/3rd of the dealers charges.

Purchased in May 2015 for $55,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014

The perfect work vehicle

published
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Awesome Drive. Excellent fuel economy.

published
BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeVolkswagen
LineCore Edition
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Long Miles

Long Miles

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Techicnal Smart Practical poor

published

Scott and Eliza M

Scott and Eliza MMittagong

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

great truck

published

Has exceeded our expectations. Purchased new in Dec 2017 and now with almost 30k on the clock. Paid a great price even though we thought it would be much more expensive beibg a VW. Handles way better than expected and hauls without fuss. Can not do without our first dual cab ute and already planning our next.

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineCore Edition
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Dickie headerson

Dickie headersonAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

My second one and happy

published
BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineTrendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Tim

Tim

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Reliable fast for a dc and economical

published

What can I say, have went to Uluru and back towing a big van and was surprised how good on fuel it was. Goes great offroad. Only problem I've had is a rear main leak but the dealer fixed it straight away. Serviced every 15k and drive to work in it every day.

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Wayne

WayneCanberra

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Largest cab on market

published

Family car lots of room auto nice and smooth to drive cheapest on market with fuel most comfortable to sit in for long drives 4 cyclinder real gives great power with the twin turbos And upgrade on radio with one of the best blue tooth phones in cars today

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineTrendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

WILL

WILLADELAIDE

Good to drive longevity question

published

300,000 kms second motor, the first motor was fixed by vw but the second I'm waiting on a response but doesn't look promising...Its had the aftermarket cover over the timing belt however the sepentine belt (only 10,000kms old) still managed to get in behind the timing cover and destroy the head..

BodyCab Chassis
CabDual
Drive400
BadgeTDI400
LineTrendline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2012

David S

David SBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it! But not again

published

Fantastic vehicle to drive. More comfortable to drive than the other main competitors in that market that i drove. Pretty good on fuel. Out competed a hilux and patrol when i went off roading in northern nsw. however, capped price servicing is super expensive and im apprehensive when the warranty runs out as a few items have needed to be replaced and the cost was quite high, If i had my time again i would have gone a vehicle with cheaper servicing and parts (hilux). But i still think the amaroks the best to drive.

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI400
LineCore Edition
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Clutch blown up 65 000 ks

published

Never towed any thing heavy only box trailer to the tip dual clutch bad noises very expensive to replace 65
Ooo ks just a joke vw service very bad sub standard should be warranty job absolutely annoyed, if you look on the net some vehicles don't even make it to 15'ooo ks before this happens

BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle
DriveRWD
BadgeTDI340
LineHighline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2013

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Michelle K

Michelle Kasked

2018 Volkswagen Amarok TDI420 Core Plus - Purchased vehicle at 310km's April'19 it has now done 3000km's June'19 and fault light keeps coming on and gets stuck in 3rd gear and goes into limp mode. VW Service team found wire wasn't connected in the fuse box, body earth was not properly connected and body control module was replaced - this was a brand new car. After everything replaced and fixed, Volkswagen says can't find fault but the issues are still happening but now are not showing up in the history when back at Volkswagen, while VW have dismissed my issues stating nothing wrong. Has anyone else had the same issues as so disappointed with the Amarok and feel very unsafe considering the car goes into limp mode.

No answers

Frankly Speaking

Frankly Speakingasked

Can anyone make some recommendations on size and weights of caravan suitable for towing with 2 liter Amarok dual cab auto 2015. Looking at over all performance.
Thank you.

1 answer
Dawn
Dawn

It depends which model but with the factory towbar is 2.8 to 3 tonne.the towbar down weight is 250 kilos,depending on which towbar is fitted.
We have been towing a 2.2 tonne Kimberly Karavan for thousand of kilometres while outback and have had no problems.Averaging 15 litres per 100 kilometres.


Frankly Speaking

Frankly Speakingasked

Hi.
Love my 2 lt Highline. Just over 12 months driving it. Have not towed anything yet. Looking at a caravan for some trips. Anyone using this size auto vehicle for towing long distances? Looking at van around the 2000 kg weight. I would appreciate any replies. Thanks.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

Details

CategoryUtes
Starting Price $39,990
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
Wheels16" Alloy
Doors4
Seats5
Fuel Consumption8.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power132kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque420Nm @ 1750rpm
Country of ManufactureArgentina
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)750 kg
Ground Clearance500 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.