??!
1 photo
Volkswagen Amarok 2H (2011-Present)

Volkswagen Amarok 2H (2011-Present)

3.4 from 122 reviews

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
51
4 star
18
3 star
11
2 star
17
1 star
25

Udo F.

Udo F.Mid North Coast, NSW

Starter motor failure on 2017 V6 Amarok Ultimate

published

Purchased in March 2017 for $73.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Amanda

Amanda

  • 5 reviews

Faulty dpf filter & stress lone cracks on headlights and fog lights

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

2014 mechatronics warning

published

My car has recently been towed to Volkswagen aftwr it got stuck in 6th gear while driving with no warning. I have been told the issue is the mechatronics. It is a 2014 model. I know there was a recall in 2013. Volkswagen service centres suggestion was pay for a new transmission as well because they coudnt tell if that needed replacing so instead of a potential $20,000 bill just replace the transmission?!. Otherwise pay $6600 for the mechatronics and possibly then pay for a transmission totally $20,000 which the car isn't worth!!!! It's not an old car and having had these issues in the model before mine. Not happy as I now have a car that doesn't drive.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Keith

KeithSydney, NSW

Love my V6 VW Amarok BUT!!

published

Love my Amarok, but just recently the engine malfunction light came on and the Ute went into limp mode. I called my local VW dealer and they advised not to drive it until it was inspected, unfortunately they couldn’t get it into the workshop for 3 weeks. So I called VW Liverpool NSW and they got booked in within 2 days. Then my Emissions control light also came on. And I could hear a knock. On inspection they couldn’t do a normal reset on the emissions and had to call Germany. They couldn’t reset and advised to replace. The knock was my oil pump which also needed replacing. It will take over 4 weeks to get the parts and fix. The Ute is the V6 and is one year old.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Peter

PeterGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

VW selling faulty unsafe cars

published

I have purchased the VW Amarok Ultimate V6. I have been driving for almost 2 years and without warning the engine loses power goes into limp mode and needs to be towed. After almost 2 years VW does not have a fix and refuses to do anything about it. I have been in near accident because of the power loss as a truck almost ran into me. I have since found out that VW knew about the faults with these vehicles and continues to sell them. Quite disappointing considering that someone was killed on the Monash freeway because their car lost power.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers

Dawn

DawnPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

The best car for around town and out in the bush

published

I love my Amarok.This is my second one in 7 years.The first one I bought in 2012.It is so economical and smooth to drive.Have been on several out back journeys over many dirt roads and never had a problem.I have now bought the new V6 model and I think it is even smoother and still as economical.
I don't think I would ever drive another car after having these.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Best Ute I've Owned

published

I've owned a Hilux, BT50 & Colorado and the Amarok is hands down the best ute I've owned. It's currently only done 45,000 km's but never missed a beat and haven't had any issues. I've had it serviced at Volkswagen and very happy with the customer service and the fixed priced servicing.

Purchased in March 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Andrew Murdoch

Andrew MurdochSouth West, WA

Any one had front seat trouble????

published

Purchased in November 2017 for $48,000.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers
Josh

JoshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Well appointed, great to drive.

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Commercial Centre for $69,834.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Don S.

Don S.South East Queensland, QLD

On my second Amarok

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Keystar Volkswagen for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Danley

DanleySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Avoid Petrol Amaroks like if it was the Flu

published

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Phil777

Phil777

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

2018 2L TDI gutless and jittery

published

Bought a demo Amarok and have had it for about a month. Interior and appointments are great, but the engine is really quite gutless and fusses about through the gears. Economy is good though larger diesels are getting about the same.. (Thinking of the Navara diesel)
The ride is my biggest beef. It feels like my old 1999 Jeep (that's not a compliment). It's very very hard and you will feel every tiny bump in the road. My son who has a Pajero was lost for words and didn't want to bag dad's new ride too much, but I could tell he was shocked.
Do your home work and test drive a few different dual cabs first.

Purchased in February 2019 at Wangara VW.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Graeme

GraemeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great vehicle but with some frustrating features

published

I use my Amarok every day for general use and pick ups and deliveries, it also tows a 2850 kg caravan quite regularly, runs very well but I think the dealers servicing is vastly over priced.
When I replaced the timing belt the dealer said I should also replace the water pump (at around 105000 km)
I have driven millions of km and never had to replace a pump other than some seals on a 1952 model car in the 1970's so I thought this was over the top.
Brakes are good and the handling is excellent
I have driven this ute 162000 km since purchase and until recently had VW dealer servicing but their servicing prices have sent me to a local workshop at about 1/3rd of the dealers charges.

Purchased in May 2015 for $55,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014

The perfect work vehicle

published
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Awesome Drive. Excellent fuel economy.

published
BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeVolkswagen
LineCore Edition
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Long Miles

Long Miles

  • 2 reviews

Techicnal Smart Practical poor

published

Had the Amarock V6 for 14 months, brought new travelled 70 000klm

The Good points
Carries 1 ton easily and tows 3.5 ton easily in all conditions. The Amarock is very good towing better than our 100 series with better power and fuel economy both empty and loaded.

The Down side
Twice the pipe going onto the inlet manifold has come off the second time on a trip to the tip of Cape York, engine went into limp mode, vehicle was drien from Jardine ferry to Coen without airfilter. Now we have oil leaking out the inlet pipe near the turbo VW says there is within the vehicle's operating conditions. Panels are made out of harden cheese. The vehicle is made very cheaply I don't recommended them

Purchased for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers

Scott and Eliza M

Scott and Eliza MMittagong

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

great truck

published

Has exceeded our expectations. Purchased new in Dec 2017 and now with almost 30k on the clock. Paid a great price even though we thought it would be much more expensive beibg a VW. Handles way better than expected and hauls without fuss. Can not do without our first dual cab ute and already planning our next.

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineCore Edition
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Dickie headerson

Dickie headersonAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

My second one and happy

published
BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineTrendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Tim

Tim

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Reliable fast for a dc and economical

published

What can I say, have went to Uluru and back towing a big van and was surprised how good on fuel it was. Goes great offroad. Only problem I've had is a rear main leak but the dealer fixed it straight away. Serviced every 15k and drive to work in it every day.

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineHighline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Wayne

WayneCanberra

  • 5 reviews

Largest cab on market

published

Family car lots of room auto nice and smooth to drive cheapest on market with fuel most comfortable to sit in for long drives 4 cyclinder real gives great power with the twin turbos And upgrade on radio with one of the best blue tooth phones in cars today

BodyUte
CabDual
Drive4WD
BadgeTDI420
LineTrendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Adam

Adamasked

2ltr Amarok auto or manual thanks Adam

No answers

Michelle K

Michelle Kasked

2018 Volkswagen Amarok TDI420 Core Plus - Purchased vehicle at 310km's April'19 it has now done 3000km's June'19 and fault light keeps coming on and gets stuck in 3rd gear and goes into limp mode. VW Service team found wire wasn't connected in the fuse box, body earth was not properly connected and body control module was replaced - this was a brand new car. After everything replaced and fixed, Volkswagen says can't find fault but the issues are still happening but now are not showing up in the history when back at Volkswagen, while VW have dismissed my issues stating nothing wrong. Has anyone else had the same issues as so disappointed with the Amarok and feel very unsafe considering the car goes into limp mode.

1 answer
Lyn M
Lyn M

Amarok 2014 similar issues. VW say might be mecatronics $6000 then might also be transmission a further $12800. VW won't take responsibility. Recall on Audi and VW transmission but Amarok not included. Sounds like the same issues.


Frankly Speaking

Frankly Speakingasked

Can anyone make some recommendations on size and weights of caravan suitable for towing with 2 liter Amarok dual cab auto 2015. Looking at over all performance.
Thank you.

1 answer
Dawn
Dawn

It depends which model but with the factory towbar is 2.8 to 3 tonne.the towbar down weight is 250 kilos,depending on which towbar is fitted.
We have been towing a 2.2 tonne Kimberly Karavan for thousand of kilometres while outback and have had no problems.Averaging 15 litres per 100 kilometres.


Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.