??!
11 photos
Volkswagen Transporter

Volkswagen Transporter

T5.I, T5.II, T4, T6
3.3 from 62 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (8)
  • Braking
    4.3 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (8)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (8)
  • Handling
    4.1 (8)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (8)
  • Features
    3.1 (8)
Previous
Next

Exactly what i needed.

published

T4 1.9 TD. Bought at 140k miles. I deliver locally produced food, and cover 200 miles a week. Best van I've owned. Had transits, a Vito (yuk) LDV, and an Iveco. This runs sweetly, and is easy to work on..garage replaced cambelt, as im not THAT confident, feels better. As long as you keep fluids and filters changed regularly, it will be good to you. Overall spend so far £1100 for van, and about £1100 for new brakes, filters, belts, fluids, tyres and replacement dummy cat section of exhaust. Ready for another 100k miles now probably.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mason Lee

Mason LeeWestern Australia

Great car for work it’s strong enough for the job

published

I use this car every day and it still handles like a dream. I must say .. great car volts wagon for me I must say well for 12 thousand dollars

Purchased in January 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Dingo M.

Dingo M.Sydney, NSW

Time will tell..

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Blobbo

BlobboSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Best engineering

published

Have a 2018 diesel Frontline T6 campervan, and enjoy using it as my everyday car. Mechanicals are excellent, and the dual clutch gearbox is marvelous with its freewheel action, and 7 speed. Very comfortable ride. As usual VW are very sparing with the extras you get, and accessory costs are over the top. Just hope nothing goes wrong.

Purchased in April 2018 for $94,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Murray

MurraySydney, NSW

Love and hate - can’t trust it

published

Purchased in October 2014 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
craigs902

craigs902South East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

I have major reservations on how long the motor will last. These engines have a massive world wide EGR issue that causes

published

Van is powerful, great to drive, cruises very well and is massive inside. Been setup as a full camper and is awesome for that reason, one of the only vans this size where you don’t have to get out of the van to access the rear, great in rainy weather.

Purchased in December 2016 at Private for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jan_Allen

Jan_AllenWheatbelt, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable Biturbo T1340 132kw 7 speed DSG ex nsw cop van

published

rattling in the twin clutch area now at 165000km's no worries ,this is my third VW Van, first one was a 1974 T2 Factory camper 1800 Auto, second one was a 1976 "African 2.0 litre twin carb manual 14 seater, Totally reliable.I could pull the engine out of either in 1/2 an hour, no problems. This one will be a challenge.

BodyVan
Badge132TDI
WheelbaseShort
CabTransporter
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014
1 comment
Jan_Allen
Jan_Allen

Where can I buy a detailed Service/workshop manual for my T5?

Don't buy VW Crafter 2.0 Engine

published
BodyVan
BadgeTDI340
WheelbaseShort
CabSingle
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Best of a great bunch

published

I bought a T4 three years ago with 300K kilometres on the clock. It is the 5 cyl 2.5litre petrol converted to dual fuel ( since new) . It has just ticked over 400K and is still purring. I have driven VW vans my whole life and consider this particular model to be virtually bullet proof...Bruce

BodyVan
BadgePriceless
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon i

Simon iTerrigal

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable. Fuel efficient.

published

Reliability excellent
Cost of parts can be high
Extremely fuel efficient
Tough
Cheap to run
Bought at 100000 I’ve done 150000 more and only replaced tyres, brakes and clutch.
Good amount of space and carrying capacity
Few jiggly things like door handles failing, otherwise can’t failt it........it’s 15 years old

BodyVan
Badge103TDI
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2011
Sinar63

Sinar63Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nearly as reliable as a swiss watch or a swiss .....

published

Purchased in April 1995 for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Rob Golley

Rob GolleySouth-East, TAS

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant Van 2.5TDI

published
BodyVan
BadgeTrNsporter TDI
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Wanderer

WandererMelbourne

Cheapest car I've ever had

published
BodyVan
BadgeKombi
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2012

T5 not like the T4

published

Replaced our T4 with a new T5 4 years ago.
Despite regular service from the agent we have found this van to be crap compared to our old T4 that basically ran to 250000 without issue. 4 years old (70,000km) and needed new brake disks on the front, catalytic converter shat its self, doors are no longer hanging straight, and on it goes... We won't be buying VW again on the back of this poor life.

BodyVan
Badge2.0LTDI
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2013
Clav

ClavAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Brilliant van

published

Bought new done nearly 180000 reasonably hard kms carrying heavy loads. Always regularly serviced, including new fuel filters more regularly than required by VW. It can be hard on front tyres and disks when driven hard. Only problem was when it went into limp mode a couple of times @ about 90000 kms. This was fixed immediately with a recall by VW at no cost to me. After driving my previous Hi Ace the VW was like a really comfortable powerful reliable car to drive. I had the 2 seater bench passenger seat fitted and Rhino Lining sprayed on the vans floor - turned out to be a great move. Thoroughly recommended

BodyVan
Badge132TDI
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael

MichaelBundaberg

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great workhorse

published

Great work horse.
Fully loaded & kitted out service van, carries over 1T everywhere and handles it perfectly.
Manual, drives like a car, excellent fuel economy, and enough power for a work van.
Very easy to get around, neat interior, comfortable seats, big door pockets etc.
Had this one nearly 6 years with no issues whatsoever.
Will be replacing it with the same when required.

BodyVan
Badge103TDI
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2012

You need to ask more questions

published

Handling of this vehicle is heavy. Performance, steering is good. Interior is great.
Seller did not disclose major repairs needed - neither did the paid inspector list major issues on pre-purchase.
You need to fully inspect all Transporters, and from various inspectors independently, prior to purchase (which I thought I paid for)
Running costs are average.
Repairs are expensive for all Volkswagon vehicles. I need to warn you re this. Don't go genuine parts.
If you have the right mechanic who is in the know, you can get parts much cheaper elsewhere.
Fuel economy is only average.

It all depends on what type of VW vehicle you want, and what you expect it to do for you. Many don't deliver expectations.

BodyVan
BadgeDon't have one
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Don't buy VW - great to drive & good fuel economy - unreliable & expensive - not built to last

published
BodyVan
Badge103TDI
WheelbaseLong
CabDual
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2011

Disaster

published

This vehicle is a financial disaster. Gearbox went at only 120,000 kms. Price to fix $10,300.00. Couldn't believe it. But wait it gets worse. They advise fly wheel and drive shaft also need replacing. Price $12,500.00!! The drive shaft is only stocked in the Philippines not Australia. 14 day wait.
I have lost 2 weeks of income plus need to find the cash for the repairs.
Keep clear of this van if you want to get anywhere financially.

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014

A Great Work Vehicle

published
BodyCab Chassis
Badge75TDI
WheelbaseLong
CabDual
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2005
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Shane P

Shane Pasked

Transporter

I am looking for aftermarket wheel rims for my new Transporter Crewvan t6.1.
I understand rims from an Amarok might fit, but that there is a problem with rims hitting on the brake caliper.

Is it the 16" or 17" rims that have the issue ?
Does anybody know.

thanks in advance,
Shane P.

No answers
Dianne M.

Dianne M.asked

Transporter

Looking at a VW Transporter 2009 T5 Auto 182,000 klms. Are there any major problems with this model?

No answers
Peter

Peterasked

Transporter T4 (1994-2003)

I have a coil issue with my VW T4 2.0 AAC ENGINE. I HAVE NOW REPLACED 8 IGNITION COILS IN 6 MONTHS. Took the van to a VW specialist, replaced battery , hall sensor; sparks plugs, distributor rotor and cap , plugs leads. I am still having the same problem and have to carry spare coil in the car with me to stay of trouble. Can anyone come up with an answer as i am sick and tired of mechanics pretending to have fixed the problem and stealing my money( VW "specialists" in particular.)?

3 answers
CraigB
CraigB

Peter, we have the same problem and nobody seems to be able to fix it. Have had the van towed seven times now in the past few months. Have to have a spare coil in the car now as it keeps on breaking down. Desperate to find what is causing this also.

Ian
Ian

Hi Peter and Craig.
Have you had any further progress with this issue. I recently bought a 1999 2ltr Transporter, that appears to have the same issue. Runs perfectly for first 5 mins then stalls? No power unless foot to floor, was able to limp home. I have checked fuel pressure and injectors, thinking dirt in the system, and was about to go the coil and hall sensor.
Think ill look elsewhere, will let you know if any luck.
Ian T

Trac
Trac

I had the same problem took it to a private fuel injection mechanic in 126 Jellicoe St Toowoomba, Qld. He was from German heritage and knew his stuff on fuel injection systems. He had to trick the computer with the fuel/air mixture. Not sure if still operating. Was about 14yrs ago T4 still going strong.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 4 Volkswagen Transporter
CategoryUtes and VansUtes and VansUtes and VansUtes and Vans
Starting Price $37,490$32,000
TransmissionAutomatic, Dual-Clutch (DCT) and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel15" Steel
Fuel Consumption7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L5 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power75kW @ 3500rpm75kW @ 3500rpm
Max Torque250Nm @ 1500-2500rpm250Nm @ 1900rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
Extra Features
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg700 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,200 kg1,700 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateNov 2015Sept 2004Mar 2010Jan 1994
Discontinuation dateFeb 2010Oct 2015Dec 2003
Replaced byVolkswagen Transporter T5.IIVolkswagen Transporter T5.I
Compare all 4 Volkswagen Transporter

Visit official website

Other Vans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.