??!
11 photos
Volkswagen Transporter

Volkswagen Transporter

T5.I, T5.II, T4, T6
3.3 from 60 reviews

Reviews

3.3

60 reviews
5
(19)
4
(10)
3
(11)
2
(9)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (6)
  • Handling
    3.8 (6)
  • Braking
    4.3 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.5 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (6)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (6)
  • Features
    2.8 (6)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (6)
Previous
Next
Dingo M.

Dingo M.Sydney, NSW

Time will tell..

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Cab Type Single
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Blobbo

BlobboSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Best engineering

published

Have a 2018 diesel Frontline T6 campervan, and enjoy using it as my everyday car. Mechanicals are excellent, and the dual clutch gearbox is marvelous with its freewheel action, and 7 speed. Very comfortable ride. As usual VW are very sparing with the extras you get, and accessory costs are over the top. Just hope nothing goes wrong.

Purchased in April 2018 for A$94,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Murray

MurraySydney, NSW

Love and hate - can’t trust it

published

Purchased in October 2014 for A$14,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
craigs902

craigs902South East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 7 likes

I have major reservations on how long the motor will last. These engines have a massive world wide EGR issue that causes

published

Van is powerful, great to drive, cruises very well and is massive inside. Been setup as a full camper and is awesome for that reason, one of the only vans this size where you don’t have to get out of the van to access the rear, great in rainy weather.

Purchased in December 2016 at Private for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jan_Allen

Jan_AllenWheatbelt, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable Biturbo T1340 132kw 7 speed DSG ex nsw cop van

published

rattling in the twin clutch area now at 165000km's no worries ,this is my third VW Van, first one was a 1974 T2 Factory camper 1800 Auto, second one was a 1976 "African 2.0 litre twin carb manual 14 seater, Totally reliable.I could pull the engine out of either in 1/2 an hour, no problems. This one will be a challenge.

BodyVan
Badge132TDI
WheelbaseShort
CabTransporter
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
1 comment
Jan_Allen
Jan_Allen

Where can I buy a detailed Service/workshop manual for my T5?

Don't buy VW Crafter 2.0 Engine

published
BodyVan
BadgeTDI340
WheelbaseShort
CabSingle
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Best of a great bunch

published

I bought a T4 three years ago with 300K kilometres on the clock. It is the 5 cyl 2.5litre petrol converted to dual fuel ( since new) . It has just ticked over 400K and is still purring. I have driven VW vans my whole life and consider this particular model to be virtually bullet proof...Bruce

BodyVan
BadgePriceless
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Simon i

Simon iTerrigal

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable. Fuel efficient.

published

Reliability excellent
Cost of parts can be high
Extremely fuel efficient
Tough
Cheap to run
Bought at 100000 I’ve done 150000 more and only replaced tyres, brakes and clutch.
Good amount of space and carrying capacity
Few jiggly things like door handles failing, otherwise can’t failt it........it’s 15 years old

BodyVan
Badge103TDI
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2011
Sinar63

Sinar63Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nearly as reliable as a swiss watch or a swiss .....

published

Purchased in April 1995 for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year1995
Cab Type Single
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rob Golley

Rob GolleySouth-East, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant Van 2.5TDI

published
BodyVan
BadgeTrNsporter TDI
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Wanderer

WandererMelbourne

Cheapest car I've ever had

published
BodyVan
BadgeKombi
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2012

T5 not like the T4

published

Replaced our T4 with a new T5 4 years ago.
Despite regular service from the agent we have found this van to be crap compared to our old T4 that basically ran to 250000 without issue. 4 years old (70,000km) and needed new brake disks on the front, catalytic converter shat its self, doors are no longer hanging straight, and on it goes... We won't be buying VW again on the back of this poor life.

BodyVan
Badge2.0LTDI
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Clav

ClavAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Brilliant van

published

Bought new done nearly 180000 reasonably hard kms carrying heavy loads. Always regularly serviced, including new fuel filters more regularly than required by VW. It can be hard on front tyres and disks when driven hard. Only problem was when it went into limp mode a couple of times @ about 90000 kms. This was fixed immediately with a recall by VW at no cost to me. After driving my previous Hi Ace the VW was like a really comfortable powerful reliable car to drive. I had the 2 seater bench passenger seat fitted and Rhino Lining sprayed on the vans floor - turned out to be a great move. Thoroughly recommended

BodyVan
Badge132TDI
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Michael

MichaelBundaberg

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great workhorse

published

Great work horse.
Fully loaded & kitted out service van, carries over 1T everywhere and handles it perfectly.
Manual, drives like a car, excellent fuel economy, and enough power for a work van.
Very easy to get around, neat interior, comfortable seats, big door pockets etc.
Had this one nearly 6 years with no issues whatsoever.
Will be replacing it with the same when required.

BodyVan
Badge103TDI
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2012

You need to ask more questions

published

Handling of this vehicle is heavy. Performance, steering is good. Interior is great.
Seller did not disclose major repairs needed - neither did the paid inspector list major issues on pre-purchase.
You need to fully inspect all Transporters, and from various inspectors independently, prior to purchase (which I thought I paid for)
Running costs are average.
Repairs are expensive for all Volkswagon vehicles. I need to warn you re this. Don't go genuine parts.
If you have the right mechanic who is in the know, you can get parts much cheaper elsewhere.
Fuel economy is only average.

It all depends on what type of VW vehicle you want, and what you expect it to do for you. Many don't deliver expectations.

BodyVan
BadgeDon't have one
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Utes

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don't buy VW - great to drive & good fuel economy - unreliable & expensive - not built to last

published
BodyVan
Badge103TDI
WheelbaseLong
CabDual
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2011

Disaster

published

This vehicle is a financial disaster. Gearbox went at only 120,000 kms. Price to fix $10,300.00. Couldn't believe it. But wait it gets worse. They advise fly wheel and drive shaft also need replacing. Price $12,500.00!! The drive shaft is only stocked in the Philippines not Australia. 14 day wait.
I have lost 2 weeks of income plus need to find the cash for the repairs.
Keep clear of this van if you want to get anywhere financially.

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014

A Great Work Vehicle

published
BodyCab Chassis
Badge75TDI
WheelbaseLong
CabDual
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2005

Much less than what I expected

published
BodyVan
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
The house of ms

The house of msGympie

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Transporter 1994 & 1997

published

I have a 1994 transporter with 492,000km on the clock & the last 6 months I thrashed it knowing I was taking it off the road- due only roadworthy issues - I owned it for 4 years and spent almost nothing on the mechanics. I now have a 1997 transporter and I do get between 500-600km per tank - I've read some reviews that say - the meaner you treat them - the more they will give you. After sitting on Japanese motors especially in Australia NSW & QLD summers I truly appreciate the motor out the front and not under my bum. I did have a hiace camper and even on a trip was battling to get 350km out of the tank. Thus far the transporters have been good value for me.

BodyVan
BadgeTransporter
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.5L
TransmissionManual
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Brian

Brianasked

Transporter

Hi
I have a 2009 VW Transporter T5 TDI.
It has developed a severe miss when warmed up. Even stalls on occasion.
I have used Molycote injection cleaner to no avail.
Is this a Glow plug problem?
The van has 455,000km on the clock and has been looked after well.

No answers
Angelica

Angelicaasked

Transporter T5.I (2004-2010)

What does L5 mean on the 2.5 diesel

No answers
michael r.

michael r.asked

Transporter T4 (1994-2003)

Hi all,

I have a 1999 T4 short nose 2L petrol with 317K on it and i think the big end bearing is starting to go. So two questions.,

First - how easy is this to replace the big end on the 2L, yes i have more than a little bit of mechanical knowledge, so capable, but don't want to start the unfinishable if its better to just install a new motor.

Second question, if a new motor is easier, can i fit a 2.5L petrol into the short nose, or does this motor only fit in long nose versions.

Appreciate your thoughts and time in responding :)

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.