11 photos
Volkswagen Transporter

Volkswagen Transporter

T5.I, T5.II, T4, T6
3.3 from 65 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Volkswagen

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (9)
  • Braking
    4.1 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (9)
  • Handling
    4.0 (9)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (9)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (9)
  • Features
    3.0 (9)
Previous
Next

Should change their brand name to Faultswagen, Das Faulty!

published

Purchased in October 2011 at Volkswagen Dealers for $68,990.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Foad
Foad
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Total waste of money

published

In 2013 I've bought my 2010 transporter T5 has 66000kms. August 2016 it broke a fan belt which doesn't sound to bad, but the fan belt made its way into the cam belt. There is a hole in the cam belt cover. It wrapped around a cog and caused the engine to go out of time. It destroyed the engine and cost me around $13000 to put new engine. Its transmission start kicking in 2018 and anywhere I took it for repair they said its cost a fortune to fix it up and now the transmission gene and cost me $9000 to $14000 to repair, just sent it to wreckers.
Don't do my mistake and run from VW, its very costly car.

Purchased for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
oldboysixtwo
oldboysixtwoGeralton
  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Does the VW transporters stack up against the Combi

published

I recently purchased a 1997 VW Transporter Camper. The vehicle has covered 345.000klms, uses no oil, engine has loads of power. Having the up front 5 cylinder Aldi engine allows much more room in the van section. Years previous I own a VW combi Camper. It was well set out but engine a the rear used up valuable storage space. The VW vans handle and drive like sedans.

Exactly what i needed.

published

T4 1.9 TD. Bought at 140k miles. I deliver locally produced food, and cover 200 miles a week. Best van I've owned. Had transits, a Vito (yuk) LDV, and an Iveco. This runs sweetly, and is easy to work on..garage replaced cambelt, as im not THAT confident, feels better. As long as you keep fluids and filters changed regularly, it will be good to you. Overall spend so far £1100 for van, and about £1100 for new brakes, filters, belts, fluids, tyres and replacement dummy cat section of exhaust. Ready for another 100k miles now probably.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mason Lee
Mason LeeWestern Australia

Great car for work it’s strong enough for the job

published

I use this car every day and it still handles like a dream. I must say .. great car volts wagon for me I must say well for 12 thousand dollars

Purchased in January 2013.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Dingo M.
Dingo M.Sydney, NSW

Time will tell..

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Blobbo
BlobboSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Best engineering

published

Have a 2018 diesel Frontline T6 campervan, and enjoy using it as my everyday car. Mechanicals are excellent, and the dual clutch gearbox is marvelous with its freewheel action, and 7 speed. Very comfortable ride. As usual VW are very sparing with the extras you get, and accessory costs are over the top. Just hope nothing goes wrong.

Purchased in April 2018 for $94,999.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Murray
MurraySydney, NSW

Love and hate - can’t trust it

published

Purchased in October 2014 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
craigs902
craigs902South East Queensland, QLD
  • 18 reviews
  • 7 likes

I have major reservations on how long the motor will last. These engines have a massive world wide EGR issue that causes

published

Van is powerful, great to drive, cruises very well and is massive inside. Been setup as a full camper and is awesome for that reason, one of the only vans this size where you don’t have to get out of the van to access the rear, great in rainy weather.

Purchased in December 2016 at Private for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jan_Allen
Jan_AllenWheatbelt, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable Biturbo T1340 132kw 7 speed DSG ex nsw cop van

published

rattling in the twin clutch area now at 165000km's no worries ,this is my third VW Van, first one was a 1974 T2 Factory camper 1800 Auto, second one was a 1976 "African 2.0 litre twin carb manual 14 seater, Totally reliable.I could pull the engine out of either in 1/2 an hour, no problems. This one will be a challenge.

BodyVan
Badge132TDI
WheelbaseShort
CabTransporter
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Jan_Allen
Jan_Allen

Where can I buy a detailed Service/workshop manual for my T5?

Don't buy VW Crafter 2.0 Engine

published
BodyVan
BadgeTDI340
WheelbaseShort
CabSingle
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Best of a great bunch

published

I bought a T4 three years ago with 300K kilometres on the clock. It is the 5 cyl 2.5litre petrol converted to dual fuel ( since new) . It has just ticked over 400K and is still purring. I have driven VW vans my whole life and consider this particular model to be virtually bullet proof...Bruce

BodyVan
BadgePriceless
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon i
Simon iTerrigal
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable. Fuel efficient.

published

Reliability excellent
Cost of parts can be high
Extremely fuel efficient
Tough
Cheap to run
Bought at 100000 I’ve done 150000 more and only replaced tyres, brakes and clutch.
Good amount of space and carrying capacity
Few jiggly things like door handles failing, otherwise can’t failt it........it’s 15 years old

BodyVan
Badge103TDI
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2011
Sinar63
Sinar63Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nearly as reliable as a swiss watch or a swiss .....

published

Purchased in April 1995 for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Rob Golley
Rob GolleySouth-East, TAS
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant Van 2.5TDI

published
BodyVan
BadgeTrNsporter TDI
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Questions & Answers

Lester Mountford
Lester Mountfordasked
Transporter T4 (1994-2003)

Anyone know where I can get a new/reconditioned T4 TCU for 5cyl 2.5 litre auto part number 098927731 AB

No answers
Hdavina
Hdavinaasked
Transporter T4 (1994-2003)

Does anyone know someone either in Perth or surrounds that knows anything about the auto transmissions in the T4 Transporter vans as mine has a intermittent problem that no one seems to know what to do with. When on the open road it will sail over many hills with no problem, then after a while, it will change down going over a smaller incline and then doesn’t want to change back up again for a while. Once it starts doing this, it does it more regularly. It usually takes maybe an hour of driving before doing it for the first time. It makes me think it might be temperature related. Any ideas?

No answers
Mavarrick E.
Mavarrick E.asked
Transporter T4 (1994-2003)

I cannot find anyone in Sydney who can fix all my doors on my 1998 Transporter. The original Alarm was cut out and the central locking fobs broke. I would like the central locking back at a reasonable price, can anyone help, thank you, Mav.

No answers
See all Volkswagen Transporter questions

Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

Volkswagen Transporter

Details

Compare all 4 Volkswagen Transporter
CategoryUtes and VansUtes and VansUtes and VansUtes and Vans
Starting Price $37,490$32,000
TransmissionAutomatic, Dual-Clutch (DCT) and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel15" Steel
Fuel Consumption7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L5 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power75kW @ 3500rpm75kW @ 3500rpm
Max Torque250Nm @ 1500-2500rpm250Nm @ 1900rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermany
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,200 kg1,700 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg700 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateNov 2015Sept 2004Mar 2010Jan 1994
Discontinuation dateFeb 2010Oct 2015Dec 2003
Replaced byVolkswagen Transporter T5.IIVolkswagen Transporter T5.I
Compare all 4 Volkswagen Transporter
Visit official website

Other Vans

Previous
Next
See all Vans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.