1 photo
Whirlpool 8kg 6th Sense Condenser Dryer DSCR80320

Whirlpool 8kg 6th Sense Condenser Dryer DSCR80320

MPNs: 36370931 and DSCR80320
2.2 from 19 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Condenser Clothes Dryers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Whirlpool

Reviews

2.2
19 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.2 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    2.1 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.7 (9)
  • Noise Level
    2.2 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Kim
KimSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

LEAKS & IS NOW RUSTING!

published

Purchased at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Angus R.
Angus R.Sydney, NSW

Poor Design of Sensors

published

Spent a fair bit of money buying this as thought it would be excellent and uses little power.

I want to like it. But sadly, it does stop drying cycle to early for clothes to be dry and lower second filter is crap.

Bummer.

Purchased in September 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
benni
benniSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

HUGE disappointment. The main problem is the flimsy "Filter" and it's HUGE replacement cost...

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Kylie F
Kylie FSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 20 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Love the Condenser Dryer

published

I had been wanting a dryer for a couple of years now and finally my husband purchased one through Appliances Online.
I'd honestly never heard of a condenser dryer before so was hesitant to use it at first.
Like any dryer there are items you don't put in (like husbands King Gee work pants!) however it is very handy for wet weather and drying sheets, towels etc.
We mainly use it for big items during winter on the weekend:- sheets, towels etc when I need to get it done quickly and back to wrangling kids.
Emptying the water part is super easy and cleaning the lint filter after each use is a breeze. Have used a few of the different settings easily.
Great size, clothes and other items dry well.
All in all very happy with the Whirlpool.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2020 at Appliances Online for $693.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Condenser Clothes Dryers

Find out how Whirlpool 8kg 6th Sense Condenser Dryer DSCR80320 compares to other Condenser Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peggy
PeggyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Very Disappointing

published

The dryer needed mechanical attention 3 times whilst under warranty. Now it's out of warranty, 2 years, 8 months old, and doesn't work at all. I'm throwing it out. I couldn't possibly onsell it with a clear conscious.

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys for $719.00.

Incentivised Review No
Constance T.
Constance T.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Possibly dangerous. Avoid.

published

We bought one of these second hand and immediately ran into the "clogged lower filter" issue. After taking it apart to clean the condenser, we saw that a wire had partially burnt through one of the tubes from the compressor which carries compressed gas. When we moved the burnt wire, gas started leaking.

I don't know what sort of coolant these use or whether it's flammable, but there was still burnt wiring. Given this and the seriously horrible design of the condensing system, and how quickly it gets clogged with lint, avoid getting these even second hand.

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Single mum heart broken

published

This was the biggest amount of money I have ever spent other than on a car. It is horrible. Stops cycle whilst still dripping wet, alarms when filters etc are clean. Took it back got another one and it’s exactly the same. I am so so devastated. If I’d had more time I would have read the reviews and not got it. Please don’t, one might be broken but two wouldn’t be, it is a faulty machine!

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,050.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Lisa
LisaMurrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

If I could give it no stars I would

published

Worst dryer ever. DO NOT BUY. Like the sensors don’t work. Never drys first time. Have had service people here. Just got a replacement dryer. Having the exact same issues.

Purchased in November 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Please don’t waste your money!

published

Purchased in January 2018 for $600.00.

Incentivised Review No
Condenser Clothes Dryers

Find out how Whirlpool 8kg 6th Sense Condenser Dryer DSCR80320 compares to other Condenser Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cheryl M
Cheryl MSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A dryer that doesn't dry

published

The clothes are always left damp, even on "extra dry" setting. It often takes 2 or 3 attempts (2 hours or more each) to get the clothing dry. With sheets, forget it. I hang them over furniture with fans on. The lower filter is also a huge pain, always getting clogged and difficult to get in there to clean it.
Wish we'd bought a different dryer, such a waste of money.

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for $700.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Renee
ReneeSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Big mistake. Waste of money and time.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Terrible

published

Decided to spend a bit of coin on a decent dryer that wouldn’t have the entire laundry condensed up. Supposedly good on power. I’m not sure if that is because it takes at least 2 hours to dry anything. Even on a quick setting it is rediculous. Thinks it knows when your clothes are dry but just stops when they’re still wet. Can’t seem to dry anything in under an hour. And that could just be 1 item that is damp.
Would never buy another. And will see if the shop will take it back.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Condenser Clothes Dryers

Find out how Whirlpool 8kg 6th Sense Condenser Dryer DSCR80320 compares to other Condenser Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AndyM
AndyMBrisbane
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

6th sense not worth 2 cents

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Shirley Marjanovic
Shirley MarjanovicSydney, NSW
  • 14 reviews
  • 7 likes

This condensed Dryer is Perfect for me!

published
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Tan
TanVictoria, Australia
  • 5 reviews
  • 25 likes

Not worth the price.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Questions & Answers

Holly C.
Holly C.asked

This dryer does not DRY clothes!
Regardless of the dryness level selected, the ONLY Way to get dry clothes is to run it to time for 2.5 hours. Defeats the purpose of an economical dryer.
Why is this dryer like this? Most people have this issue!

No answers
Robert F.
Robert F.asked

I would like to get some answers from whirlpool! Why is this machine like this? Why doesn’t it dry clothes! You have multiple negative reviews but you continue to sell this machine and offer no resolution! Is there a setting we’re all missing?
Has anyone resolved the issue of the sensor turning it off every 10 minutes!??

2 answers
Constance T.
Constance T.

No solution, it's a very poorly designed machine. I would get rid of it ASAP. They fill with lint, and in ours a wire had burned through a compressor hose, so they can be dangerous as well as a frustrating and useless waste of money and materials.
If you really want to keep it, you can try tearing it down and cleaning it out. There is / was a video on YouTube of a man from Romania (I think) doing this to get it running again. You have to really take it apart to get to the condenser, which will be where the error code is coming from. Other condenser dryers usually have user-accessible condensers for cleaning. Not this one, it was made to be used for a small amount of time and then thrown away.

Whirlpool
Anthony F.Whirlpool

Hi Robert,
The sensor turning the dryer off every 10 minutes could indicate a fault with the machine. It would be best to contact Arisit Warranties at arisit.warranties@arisit.com and lodge a service call to get a technician to have a look at that. Just send through proof of purchase in the email along with a description of the fault.
Regards

Stew
Stewasked

When switch power on display F6 I can't use it what can I do?

1 answer
AndyM
AndyM

I used to turn the dryer off and waited a few minutes then tried it again. It worked for a while doing that. Ultimately as the dryer was still under warranty they tried to fix it. They couldnt so I go a full refund

See all Whirlpool 8kg 6th Sense Condenser Dryer DSCR80320 questions

Get an answer from our members and Whirlpool representatives

Details

CategoryCondenser Clothes Dryers
Price (RRP) $999.00
Energy Rating2 star(s)
FeaturesChild-Safety Lock, Lint Filter and Stackable
Door Hinge Right
Dimensions 854 x 596 x 659 mm
Drying Programs 8
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhite
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 36370931 and DSCR80320
  • GTIN13: 8003437474637

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.