The Ozito 1400W Ecomow Electric Lawn Mower ELM-1400 has been replaced by the newer Ozito ELM-1536 model.

Date Purchased: Jul 2018

Decent for a $150 lawnmower

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 30, 2018

I was skeptical on the $149 price tag but 3 months in and this mower gives a surprisingly good cut. My lawn is approx. 3x5m and it cuts no problems. The catcher is decent sized although a pain to assemble the first time. Mower itself is lightweight and easy to clean. I took it to my parents' house as I wanted to see how it would fare cutting a 9x5 lawn and it did the job with ease. I'll be interested to see how well it holds up with the regular mowing over summer, but for now this remains a good buy!

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Jan 2018

User friendly

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 01, 2018

The mower cuts well and is easy to handle, however if the grass is a little too long it gets stuck underneath and I need to manually scoop the cuttings out. It is best suited to thin, short grass and not thick, long grass. I find it easy to maneuver and is very light weight.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Mar 2018

Good mower for the price

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 29, 2018

After moving into a house with a small front and back yard i needed a basic lawn mower to do the job .Not wanting to spend a fortune , i turned to this mower. It was easy to put together. After first use i was surprised and happy with the outcome. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Date Purchased: Aug 2017

Ok for the price

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 16, 2018

The mower cuts alright and is easy to maneuver, however it gets stuck and turns off quite easily.

It is simple to operate and maintain.

Best suited to smaller yards as it has a small capacity, it should also be noted that the cable is tiny so a long extension cable is mandatory.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gold Coast

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Mar 2018

Exceeded expectations

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 28, 2018

Bought this for my husband who was reluctant to use an electric mower- after giving it a try he loves it!
We have a small yard out back and front and it does the job perfectly. Sometimes the cord is an inconvenience but would prefer that than petrol or battery.
Exceeded our expectations for a cheap little mower!

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Mar 2018

Not a bad unit for a small area

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 20, 2018

Now, I wouldn't want to mow a quarter acre block with this unit, but for a small yard, or small amount of grass, this does a more than adequate job. I bought this at Bunnings for less than $200, which is a bargain in anyones language. So much easier and cleaner than a petrol mower. Seriously easy to use.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

melbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Sep 2017

functional electric lawnmower

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 27, 2018

Why would you want an electric lawnmower? Many reasons. They're lighter, quieter, less polluting, and there's less to go wrong. This ozito is a good example of a working electric mower, because it has a serious 1400w motor plugged into a power point. Do not buy underpowered battery powered lawnmowers that would be lucky to give you a haircut before running out of juice. This plug in one is the way to go. My only complaint is why limit it to 1400w? It's a power tool, and should use the full 2400w available to it from the power point. Apart from that, it does a good job, plastic catcher is a little cheap but gets the job done. In my opinion having used this mower over the past year, it is suitable for mowing lawns of up to 500m2 in size.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Date Purchased: Mar 2018

Bad

2 out of 5, reviewed on May 26, 2018

Mower starts up a few times after purchasing it, but fails to start consistently after that, sent it to bunning's for repair and after that fails to start as well, just problems after problems. and the wheel is plastic as well, so wears out quickly as well. Overall thrash tbh.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

Perth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Nov 2017

Good little mower.

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 24, 2018

Great cutting results gets the job done an nice a quiet so if you're an early morning person you can mow with out waking everyone up.
Easy to push around as it's nice and light.
Really easy to use and maintain has safety switch to stop it being turned on by mistake would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

South Australia

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Oct 2017

Best Purchase !!

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 21, 2018

We are super happy with our Ozito Electric Lawn Mower. It is fast and easy to use. We have quite a large back yard and the fully charged batteries get through it with ease. It is a sleek design and find it cuts the lawns well without butchering them. Very happy :)

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

Date Purchased: Sep 2016

Easy to start, clippings end up back on lawn instead of catcher

3 out of 5, reviewed on May 18, 2018

Pros:
Mower is really easy to start
Really easy to use, pushes well

Cons:
Expensive batteries, battery life not great.
Most of the grass clippings do not end up in the catcher. They are spat back out onto the lawn or more annoyingly onto our paved areas. I dont think I have ever emptied the catcher, thats how bad it is.
Our lawn had a lot of tall grass weeds. The mower goes straight over these pushing them down and does not cut them. I have to reverse back over to cut them. Didnt seem to have this problem with our last mower.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Sep 2017

Light And Easy To Use

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 17, 2018

This is great to use. Its built light and extremely easy to maneuver. It will choke with long grass so you need to keep up regular lawn maintenance. It runs for about 15-20 minutes before the battery is down so you need to be quick. I do the front yard one day and the back another time. It is easy as pie to operate and I am happy with it.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Mar 2017

Great for a small yard

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 05, 2018

This mower is a godsend, it’s light and easy to handle no struggling with pull starts and petrol just a simple push of the button and away you go. While it’s a great lawn mower it is only suitable to good conditions ( lawn that’s regularly maintained ) it’s not suitable for long grass or rough terrain but being as good as it is it makes mowing a good lawn effortless. The battery lasts about 15 minutes just long enough to whip around ( we have about 200sqm of lawn and a 10 meter street frontage ) and it does it all with no problems.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

MELBOURNE

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2013

Very good for the price

4 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 30, 2018

The mower does its job. It has been with me for four years now. It is a great mower for personal use, I am not sure what it does for a professional job. Pretty cheap. The blade wears off with usage, but then considering it's price that is acceptable. It is not very easy to maneuver mainly due to the cord, so it's mostly an electric mower drawback. Easy to operate. The rubbish collector attached to the back comes in two pieces that needs to be fixed together(part of DIY), so that doesn't stay long together. This is the only thing that should have been better definitely. Maintenance is almost none. Safe to use.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

Keysborough

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Date Purchased: Feb 2018

Ozito 1500w electric lawn

4 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 26, 2018

First time using electric lawn, i got Ozito 1500W model from Bunning $150, this is light weigth and pretty good for small area, but a bit of inconevient that you must be careful and lift up the wire, i also prefer wireless but a bit of concern about the battery life and reliabilty therefore go for wired.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

Date Purchased: Apr 2018

Very happy with it

4 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 16, 2018

Just got this mower after my old petrol one died and reading reviews online. Really good for the price. 15 minutes and simple to put together. Power lead not really a problem, just change the way you mow so that the lead is always behind on the part you've already mowed. Very light weight, easy to maneuver even one handed. Cuts really good and seems to have plenty of power.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

Date Purchased: Apr 2018

Cheap and nasty

1 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 13, 2018

Not happy with mower its battery operated but all plastic not worth the money $229 be good probably for a tiny patio I gotta now go purchase another lawn mower from somewhere else wanted a petrol mower parts on it can break very easily as it plastic guess I'll put it away for my grandkids when they come over lol

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 answer
Private message

Date Purchased: Mar 2018

Great Mower for the price

4 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 09, 2018

For an electric mower:

1. It cuts very well.
2. It is easy to maneuver the mower however the cord is a bit of a pain and you need to be mindful of same.
3. No issues re maintenance to date but it was a bit of a pin putting the catcher together.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Aug 2015

Ozito 1400w 190mm electric edger

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 12, 2018

The edger is more plastic then anything else. Its fragile as the plastic parts warp and twist. Bunnings sell them but don't stock replacement blades.
Further, if you try to replace the blade yourself (if you do find a distributor) the lock nut is so tight, you end up stripping the nut to remove the blade.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Date Purchased: Sep 2017

Excellent mower.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 05, 2018

I bought this when I moved to my new house. I was in two minds before the purchase, as I was not sure whether to go for a petrol or electric mower. However, now having started using this, I'm extremely happy with my decision. It was cheap but works extremely well every time.

Purchased at: Bunnings Warehouse

Was this review helpful? Yes

1 of 8 pages


Questions & Answers

how do i install a new fan belt?

supooh asked on Jul 18, 2018

Hi guys!!!! Having a vibrating type noise coming from my mower while running it. Kind of sounds like something is off-balance??? Anyone else had this issue and possibly know how to fix it?

JethroD asked on Jun 23, 2018

Hi i have a ozito 1400 the motor rins fine but blade doesnt spin any ideas be great?

Beast asked on May 31, 2018

See all 24 questions about Ozito 1400W Ecomow Electric Lawn Mower ELM-1400

Product Details

Price (RRP) $179
Power Source Electric
Cutting Width 380mm
Maximum Cutting Height 70mm
Minimum Cutting Height 20mm
Mulching Capability No
Replaced By Ozito ELM-1536