??!

One dimensional system that doesn't grow with your family needs.

We purchased the upgraded ESP Plus system when we built our new home and, after living in the property for 5 months, we wanted to look at our upgrade options for greater control.

Sadly, Actron only provide upgradeable components at time of purchase. When building, your budget is tight so you make compromises but, with every other compromise you make when building, you can change or upgrade your decisions later. With Actron you have to replace the whole indoor and outdoor units to upgrade to better functionality. All of their brochures refer to the Ultima "option" but the "option" is only available up front for a considerable increased cost and can't be added later.

It is clear that Actron is only interested in proprietary systems to drive higher margins, rather than user flexibility. This is even more obvious when you look at 3rd party options and realise that Actron don't provide any compatibility to upgrade with others solutions either. All of the major brands provide both internal upgrades as well as third party integrations, allowing you choice and flexibility.

I wouldn't recommend the Ultima either as then you are still locked into that functionality did your needs, or technology, change. Businesses need to learn that integration and customer choice is critical in this day and age.

If you are looking at Ducted AC and like the idea of adding functionality down the track, go with Daikin, Mitsubishi, Panasonic or Samsung as they provide much greater flexibility.

Purchased in February 2019 for $15,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
3 comments
Hi Kerri, We appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Product Review, it’s important to us and we want to help you out if at all possible. Upon reviewing your post, we have some notes that may be of assistance. In terms of upgrade options for greater control available to you after your system has been installed, your ESP Plus system is compatible with our ActronConnect mobile control app, which will provide you with mobile control over your system, and this can be retrofit More broadly, with the important role that controls play in achieving overall energy efficiency and comfort, we believe that the best results come when the controls and the systems have been designed hand in hand, supported with a single manufacturer’s warranty. In our experience, allowing third party controls can sometimes lead to reliability and performance issues. Our locally based staff are available to discuss our wide product range with prior to purchasing to assist in making an informed decision, We want to discuss further with you and help you find the best solution possible. If you could please email service@actronair.com.au and give us your name, address, email, contact number and the serial number on your outdoor unit, one of our team will be in contact to discuss the specific issues with you, with a view to helping you find the best solution. If you’d prefer, please call us on 1800 119 229 (National 8am-5pm AEST) and we can discuss the situation directly. Thanks - AndrewThanks for your response as it helps validate how out of touch ActronAir is with their customers! ActronConnect is a very simple and limited add-on. It doesn't offer variable controls by room. It doesn't offer additional sensors or controllers by room. It doesn't offer genuine automation options. It doesn't work with current technologies like IFTTT, Google Home, Amazon Alexa or Apple Homekit. It is clear that ActronAir is only interested in their own interests and not that of the customer who, in this digital age, want flexibility, scalability and interoperability. Furthermore, I would suggest a large volume of your units would be sold through third parties, such as builders, and they clearly don't have the same training or knowledge on systems as we were made to believe we could upgrade later. Even your own brochure is deliberately misrepresentative as it states that the Ultima (which does offer variable controls and sensors by room) is an available "upgrade". It is not an available upgrade but a separate decision and upsell that can only be made at point of sale, therefore is not an "upgrade" option. I have sent an email with my details and serial number as I am very interested in your position and how you are misguiding the consumer either directly, or through your support and network. Anyone that has bothered to read this much of the review please be sure if you want any level of flexibility when building, due to budget or needs, than go with any other major brands that understand the importance of providing customer choice.Hi Kerri, We have received your email and will be in contact with you to discuss.

Noise levels are very bad

The noise levels from this unit are extremely disappointing and my neighbours hate it. In fact I am concerned they will report it to the council and then I will be in a world of pain. The cycling on / off of valves within the unit mean the noise is not constant, so it doesn't fade into the background. It can reberberate through the whole house. However Actron Air just say the "system is working as it should".
If you don't believe me then search for "Actron Air Conditioner noise" on youtube - there is evidence there.

Purchased in October 2016 for $19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
1 comment
Hi Brad, We are sorry to hear about the noise issues you are having with your system, and we appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Product Review, as your feedback is important to us. We want to help find you the best solution possible. We have located your information on our database based on the serial number in the photo attached. A member of our Service Team will be in contact to work with you and your installer to find the best possible solution. Thanks - Andrew

Great cooling and heating but single control panel

We moved into a house that had Actron Air ducted system with 3 zones and a single control panel.
It seems that the system has been there for a few years.
We would have loved if there was an option to set a different temperature for zones/outlets

Purchased in May 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Home Insulation Level Not sure
Room Type Whole House
1 comment
Hi Sid D, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on Product Review. We appreciate all feedback and are happy to hear you are overall happy with your ActronAir unit. In regards to the zoning in your air conditioner, this limit comes down to the type of unit that was installed at your house initially. If you would like to discuss options please email service@actronair.com.au and give us your name, address, email, contact number and the serial number on your outdoor unit. The team will be in contact to discuss the issues with you and help you find the best solution or you can call us on 1800 119 229 (National 8am-5pm AEST).

works great, terribly noisy, groans up an down

The unit is super good, heating and cooling, controls are good, fan only mode is useful, mine has the noise reduction blanket they fit to the compressor area, hate to think whats its like without one.
Cooling mode is tolerable but in winter when you turn on the unit and we have 13 degrees temp, it is crazy noisy outside for about 10-15 minutes, very heavy drone that tonally goes up and down and comes through the house double brick walls and I'm sure ticks off the neighbors.
After a while settles down and not too bad.
Would look to another brand next time, however maybe they all are noisy.
regards
mike

.

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
3 comments
Hi Mike, We are sorry to hear about the noise issues you are having with your system. We appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Product Review, your feedback is important to us. If you could please email service@actronair.com.au and give us your name, address, email, contact number and the serial number on your outdoor unit. The team will be in contact to discuss the issues with you and help you find the best solution or you can call us on 1800 119 229 (National 8am-5pm AEST) and discuss these issues with Technical support in the first instance who can work with you and the installer to find a solution. Thanks - AndrewThanks Andrew for the response, I am going to remount the A/C onto rubber isolating mounts after winter, so will contact then. regardsa mikeHi Mike, No problem. Please contact our service team to discuss prior to any work. Thanks - Andrew

That's better that's Actron

The unit is the best thing i have ever bought and it copes well on high demand and extended periods.
Very Satisfied with the product the features and controls are a bonus and simplicity at it's best.
The air conditioner is perfectly built for this harsh Australian weather.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Whole House
1 comment
Hi Ray, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on Product Review. We appreciate all feedback and are happy to hear you are enjoying the comfort of our ActronAir system.

Was noisy when installed but Actron addressed all the issues

New Updated Entry: While I initially had all the below reservations, Actron kindly attended to all the issues and fixed the unit so that it is now running very efficiently and quietly.

Old Entry:
This is a very noisy unit which we regret buying. We can't turn it on at night because it makes a loud vibrating noise every 5 seconds. Our neighbours have also complained that they can't sleep at night when it's on.

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
2 comments
Hi Karl, We are sorry to hear about the issues you are having with your system. We appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Product Review, your feedback is important to us. We would like to help you find a solution for your issue. To start could you please email technicalsupport@actronair.com.au and give us your name, address, email, contact number and the serial number on your outdoor unit. The team will be in contact to discuss the issues with you or you can call us on 1800 119 229 (National 8am-5pm AEST) and discuss these issues with Technical support in the first instance who can work with you to find a solution.I just want to thank AcrtonAir for reading my online review and making direct contact with me to address all my concerns. They kindly gave me very professional advice on the problem with the unit and they sent out technicians to replace the parts which were causing the noise. Great follow up service which I really appreciate. Thank you!

AIR CONDITIONER REFURB

My old mitsubishi ducted a/c gave up the ghost after 25 yrs with only 1 breakdown, looked at a replacement for reliability, price and good reviews and picked the Actronair. Very pleased with so far, quiet and efficient.Tad more expensive than others but worth it.

Purchased in February 2019 at Go General a/c (excellent install) for $11,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
1 comment
Hi Mike, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on Product Review. We appreciate all feedback and are happy to hear you have chosen ActronAir for your home.

Quiet and efficient.

I am very happy with our ActronAir Ducted AC system. I was worried about noise at full flow but it is very quiet and its ability to cool all of the house is quick and easy. Once it reaches the set-point it maintains that temp without fuss. I opted for individual zone control and find that this helps to keep the demand in the kid's rooms in check. 24 Deg is the constant and it works beautifully to maintain that temp. ABLE Heating and Cooling were flexible, helpful and professional.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
1 comment
Hi John, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on Product Review. We appreciate all feedback and are delighted to hear you are happy with your ActronAirESP Plus system especially after the very hot summer we experienced. We are very happy to hear the install went smoothly with the dealer also.

Too many problems. Rubbish!

we had the ActronAir ESP Plus model installed with our new home, which we moved into in May 2018. The unit worked "ok" most of the time, and now we're starting to get a few issues - just 9 months after moving in.

For the price (between $13,5k - $16k) the unit should be alot better.

We have 6 zones, 2 control panels & WiFi module

The below are my issues:

1. yes its a little noisy but nothing to be too concerned about
2. the default vents were the round diffusers which are USELESS!! even when you open them up as far they'll go you get very very minimal air. and thats even when you stand on a ladder and stick your hand infront of the vent - you get very minimal air (with the uni on HIGH). Then to prove my theory - i took the vent completely out and guess what? a 'decent' air flow! so if i had my time again, i'd go for one of the square/downward facing vents as the standard ones blow air straight across - not down.
3. Even on 'HIGH', the airflow is very poor - apparently with a flat roof - air circulation is poor. that would have been nice to know. i thought they'd make it work regardless of the roof style.
4. Dual control panels (upstairs/downstairs) - the indoor temperature readings are innacurate (or not separate)
5. WiFi module - installed it on my phone - will not install on wife's phone. works 'ok' on my phone however there are quite a few bugs/missing features with the app, sometimes it fails. and Actron have not updated the app in 3 years! very poor & unprofessional. it's as if they've given up on the app/model & trying to sell a higher-end model.
6. Without sensors in everyone (another upsell) the unit will not manage the temperature correctly - we would set the temp at 24/25 in winter, but the temp in the room will keep rising over 32! very stupid & dangerous!
7. After 7 months we got the first "filter" warning. After cleaning the filter...around a week later...the "filter" light appeared again.
8. had it on 'cool' yet its blowing hot air - advised it's because we have it on "continuous" but that shouldn't matter??
9. one of the vents stopped working - repairman found a ripped duct - how does that happen?!

an entire zone wasn't working when we moved into the house but "apparently" it was - it was just labelled incorrectly on the control panels. this was fixed, however this zone is the weakest zone in the entire house - a shame as this is the most important zone - the living area!

the only way to cool the house properly on a hot day (besides closing windows, blinds etc) is to lower the temp down to 18/19 and leave it for a couple of hours & then it will start to get comfortable.

not sure of the exact model but its the ESP Plus. we paid extra to upgrade to 6 zones, 2 controllers & wifi.

worse yet - there is no email/contact form on their website - so the only option is to fill in their 'quote form' - which hangs & won't work!

i feel as though for this type of unit, you'd want better performance & service and this unit fails to deliver.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Hi Bish, We are sorry to hear about the issues you are having with your system. We appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Product Review, your feedback is important to us. Upon further review of the issues we noticed some of these are not product related issues and will require a review in conjunction with your installer to determine the cause. If you could please email service@actronair.com.au and give us your name, address, email, contact number and the serial number on your outdoor unit. The team will be in contact to discuss the issues with you and help you find the best solution or you can call us on 1800 119 229 (National 8am-5pm AEST) and discuss these issues with Technical support in the first instance who can work with you and the installer to find a solution. Thanks - Andrew

A/C - money well spent

Beyond happy with this A/C it ran almost everyday during summer, i must say how impressed i am with the unit in high tempreature days, compared to our last unit, it is such a huge difference.
We cannot fault the unit - happy we chose to go with extra zones so we can turn off the rooms we are not using.
The company who installed it also went above and beyond in selling its features and helping using design zone layout to best suit our house.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

best air con ever

best ever air con unit, love the performance of the unit. Sound levels are low. WIFI feature is amazing. zoning was too easy. easy to install and super easy to maintain. love Actron. probably will never ever go to any other unit. Always recommend this unit to everyone. on an ESP mode cannot even hear it running.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Powerful yet economical

Actron SRD160C (3 phase) was installed in our place early 2012 as it was built new. Since then it has worked brilliantly.
Fortunately, we have not had any of the reliability issues mentioned in the comments below (touch wood). But it is important to read all these comments and to be aware of all potential issues.
We live in Western Sydney. Temps are well over 40C during summer yet our Actron unit easily keeps the inside down to 21C. Even though our unit is only rated at 16kw our 4 bed 2 storey house is comfortable all summer. The inside temp quickly reduces once the aircon is switched on.

The inside unit is very quiet. Fan is left on high continuous mode during the day. We do not use the ESP mode since in this mode the inside fan speed constantly changes - annoying.

Outside unit:
The location of our outside unit is well away from the bedrooms (smart location). Hence, we do not have the problems with noise mentioned below. We can appreciate the many comments about the outside digital scroll compressor being very, very noisy. When it is first turned on the compressor is always on - not a problem. However, once the set temp gets closer the compressor starts to turn itself on and off. These on / off cycles vary in length until the compressor eventually turns off. So the compressor is not a real inverter. Only just tries to simulate an inverter. But in the process it is noisy as it switches on and off and the gas pressure inside the unit varies.

Another reason we bought Actron was the location of the fans on top of unit. Top mounted fans blow the hot air up and away from unit. Side mounted fans would have blown hot air back into the unit since our unit is sandwiched between wall and fence.

The 2 top fans make a constant 'fan' noise which is a bit on the noisy side too. However, by moving a lot of air they make the unit very energy efficient - which is much more important to us.

3 phase vs single phase units:
An aircon technician posted a good comment in the questions below (2015 sometime). He favoured Actron 3 phase units as they were more reliable. Very glad we paid extra to get 3 phase put on to house went built. Not something easily done after. Please read his comment in full.

That is about all i can think of right now.
I will post more if i have any future issues.

Date PurchasedJan 2012

Noisy mess that doesn't work well

Like many on this forum, I can attest to how LOUD this AC unit is, with that horrible rolling, moaning, thumping noise every 10-15 seconds. The installers came out to take a look and reckon that's how it's supposed to work.

The unit hits 50-55dB when we're sitting INSIDE the house. Next to the unit, it runs above 80dB. EVERY 10 seconds it spikes into a thump.

Here's a video for your enjoyment...
https://youtu.be/GjFgva37hH0

Now, if it worked amazingly well, we would don some earmuffs and live with it. But it's a sweaty mess inside the house during summer when the unit just struggles.

Date PurchasedDec 2015

New Install SRV201E / SRD203C 8 zones and 10 outlets

Frost Air-conditioning (Castle Hill) just completed my Actron installation, Have not used the system yet as we are still renovating but the installation went seamlessly and the installation team did a great job.
We have a large house and 5 rooms have restored 1920's decorative ceilings and we are pleased to say not cracks or damage to the ceilings. The installer knew what he was doing and all care taken.

At this stage we recommend Frost on Price, Systems advice and Installation, Will add to review about the Actron unit when we move in and use it for a few months.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Well have used the A/C unit for the last week and its quiet and warms the house nicely, The outdoor motor is a lot quieter than our old 12yr old Actron, I can talk to the neighbour over the fence while it is running behind me. Will update after a few months of use.

Does the job well

We've had our Actron in for a little less than 12 months. We don't use it much as our house is well insulated and catches a great breeze, so it hasn't had a big workout yet. When we have used it though, it works brilliantly. We are a large two level 5 bedroom home, and it cools the whole house quickly on a hot Brisbane day. The condenser unit is on our roof above our master bedroom. You can definitely hear it at night so in hindsight I'd position it elsewhere, but it's not too loud.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Excellent all round.

Large 3 phase unit with 7 zones works faultlessly. Produces more than adequate cooling in all zone even on very hot days on a setting of 25c. Brilliant installation by Grahame Miller and the crew from Cool Blue Air Conditioning in Yallah. They even organised for the new meter for the necessary three phase to be installed. Very competitive price.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Great system!

We have been very happy with our Actron system. The system runs quietly (the neighbours' evaporative coolers are far noisier) and cools the house nicely. We are very pleased that we installed this system. The stickers in the control panels keep falling off though which is a pain and it is a bit hungry on power. We'll be interested to see what it is like in the winter for heating.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Very Happy

Whisper quiet and simple to operate. The system meets all the requirements that I have for keeping a two story west and north facing home comfortable. The system cools selected rooms only, maintains the required temperatures and quickly cools the house down when needed. In summary an excellent A/C system.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Fantastic

Super fast comfortable temperature compared to the ancient costly unit it replaced. It will save me a fortune and make ALL of the house liveable during summer. REALLY happy. Installation by A Grade Air Conditioning who arrived on time, finished the removal and install in 7 hours and cleaned up afterwards.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

DO NOT BUY ACTRON AIR!!

High energy usage contrary to "energy saving performance" claim. VERY noisy. Had to replace soft starter switch and coil at a cost of $900 even though it was used only TWICE in a few years!! How is this possible? Actron is just another company that rips people off. Avoid at all costs!

Date PurchasedOct 2013

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

We had our air con installed last November. The cooling is fantastic but the heating is awful. The cheap plastic round vents creak and pop because they are expanding and when the unit gets turned off, it takes around 40 mins to contract with the creaking and popping. We haven't had it on because it drives us nuts. Anyone else with this problem?
3 answers
Hi Marie00, We appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Product Review, it’s important to us and we want to help you out if at all possible. The type of supply outlets installed to your system is determined by the installer. We advised to firstly try and get in contact with them and have them look into the issue. If you are not aware who the installation company was, you can provide us with the serial number of your outdoor unit & email this to service@actronair.com.au or call us on 1800 11 229 and we can help supply you with this information. Thanks - AndrewOkay then. We have the installers number. Will ring him next week. Hopefully it will get fixed. Thanks for replying.Hi Marie00, No problem. Do not hesitate to contact us if you have any issues.

Looking for unit SRC 22 .8 kw 3 phase information Paul
3 answers
Hi Brian, Are you after a quote? If so please PM me your email, contact number and address. We can get the ball rolling.Trying to track down the unit and it's full functionsHi Brian, You can find all our product brochure on our website. Here is the link to the information you are requesting. https://www.actronair.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/Add-On-Brochure-Updates-January-2019-FIXED-LR.pdf

Hi, I had the ESP installed 3 weeks ago and the filter sign has come on so I checked the filter doesnt seem to need cleaning but I cant slide the filter out of the grill , there seems to be two screws half way up are your filters screwed in? My old one just slid out.
1 answer
Hi Janelle, Thanks for getting in contact with us. Please call our service/tech support team on 1800 119 229 and they guide you through.

Details

ActronAir ESP Plus SRV131E (12.3kW, Single Phase)ActronAir ESP Plus SRV151E (14.4kW, Single Phase)ActronAir ESP Plus SRV191E (18.6kW, Single Phase)ActronAir ESP Plus SRV171E (16.9kW, Three Phase)ActronAir ESP Plus SRV201E (19.3kW, Three Phase)ActronAir ESP Plus SRV231E (23.0kW, Three Phase)ActronAir ESP Plus SRA190C (18.2kW, Three Phase)
CategoryDucted Air ConditionersDucted Air ConditionersDucted Air ConditionersDucted Air ConditionersDucted Air ConditionersDucted Air ConditionersDucted Air Conditioners
Reverse CycleYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Outdoor Unit Depth580mm580mm580mm580mm580mm685mm
InverterYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Cooling Capacity12.27kW14.37kW18.64kW16.88kW19.32kW23.00kW
Heating Capacity12.16kW15.0kW18.52kW17.93kW20.09kW23.5kW
Indoor Unit Height412mm412mm435mm412mm435mm485mm
Indoor Unit Width1090mm1290mm1420mm1290mm1420mm1470mm
Indoor Unit Depth615mm615mm680mm615mm680mm695mm
Outdoor Unit Height990mm990mm1045mm1045mm1045mm1105mm
Outdoor Unit Width1320mm1320mm1460mm1460mm1460mm1685mm

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.