??!
1 photo
ActronAir ESP Plus Series 2

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (28)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (29)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (29)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (23)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (28)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.3 (23)
Previous
Next

absolute rubbish dont waste your money

published

Our unit has been operating for 5 years (6years old) and the bearing the compressor has given way. One year out of warranty, Actron dont want to know about it. Very difficult to contact Actron and didnt get back on their 'call back option'. A very poor experience and i recommend you avoid any of their products.

Purchased in September 2014 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
See all answers
Kracker 2014

Kracker 2014Peel, WA

Actron 14kw esp unit

published

Hi everyone,
Just wanted to let people know that I have an Actron 14kw ESP unit, it's 6 years old, had 1 compressor failure in year 2, softstarter failure in year 5(last year) and it now has a just done a second compressor a few weeks ago, I'm a frigy as well and am a bit disappointed in the reliability of the product, especially being Australian designed, I have installed many ac over the years, never had a call back due to a refrigeration failure, I will be installing a Dakin unit next couple of weeks.

Purchased in December 2014 at AC wholesalers for A$10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

We are sorry to hear about the issues you have had with your system. We appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Product Review, your feedback is important to us.

Marie

MarieSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Finally a company that delivers

published

Only installed 5 weeks ago and so far working as expected, yet to experience extreme temperatures that will tell if this system is what it is hyped up to be.

Purchased in August 2020 at Globalrez Air.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Ducted Air Conditioners

Find out how ActronAir ESP Plus Series 2 compares to other Ducted Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
K Aus

K AusGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Blows cool air on heat cycle.

published

Purchased in November 2018 for A$14,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Thank you for working with us to resolve the problems you are experiencing. Providing a great customer experience is very important to us, and we are sorry that your initial experience did not meet that standard.

graham

grahamSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

as promised,and backed up

published

had system in 3 weeks,had question on how use.a tech came out and showed us how it was fixed,most helpful said any worries just ring.so far no need,happy so far all good

Purchased in August 2020 for A$12,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Michael22

Michael22Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very good Air conditioner, very good after-sales service

published

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
UWS

UWS

  • 4 reviews

Brand new unit failed twice in 2 weeks

published

We got this system installed in the newly built Metricon home. Heating did not work on the day it was handed over (on a Friday). It was going to standby. That's all. Builder logged a service call. By Sunday, it started working on its own. On Monday we moved. On Tuesday service person called. But there was no issue to be shown.
After another 10 days on a Friday, it failed again. Not working at all. Called the service company. They are not to arrive before Monday. Now, we are going to spend a whole weekend freezing in the winter. Cannot even go to Bunnings to buy a fan heater under stage 4 lockdown.
Quite frustrated after spending about 24K.

Purchased in July 2020 for A$24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
5 comments
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
UWS
UWS

I sent you all the details. No technician has arrived today. System is completely dead for the successful 4th day.

ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Thank you for sending the requested information

This has been provided to our Service Management Team for further review & to contact you

Effective whole house ducted system

published

We had a 3 phase 17Kw ESP Plus unit installed recently and can only comment on the heating functionality to date.
The heating is strong once it warms up, this takes approx 10-15 mins
The airflow is strong enough to heat the whole 3 bedroom house and does seem to scale down based on active zones as per the ESP feature.
The control unit is comprehensive and allows good scheduling and zone control. Would be good to have the room temperature on the display without having to press a button to obtain that info. Daikin has this on their controllers.
The mobile app works well and allows remote access to the unit to activate before arriving home.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Review collected in partnership with ActronAir

Glen2000

Glen2000

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Would not recommend

published

Generally it works well as an air conditioner. It cools, it heats and the zones work. It is much heavier on electricity than the sales brochure and it is noisy but we have no neighbours so passable. The problem is reliability. Two weeks before the end of the warranty the soft starter and compressor went. Which was fixed on warranty and Actron to be fair were great. Now three more years later its gone again. That's $1k for the soft starter even before we can find out if the compressor has gone. This isn't covered even though its three years. I just can't recommend and will buy elsewhere.

Purchased in August 2011 for A$13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
Ducted Air Conditioners

Find out how ActronAir ESP Plus Series 2 compares to other Ducted Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DJK

DJKHunter Region, NSW

Blows Cool Air on Heat Cycle

published

Purchased in January 2013.

Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
DJK
DJK
Ken R.

Ken R.Sydney, NSW

Great service and fixed issues promptly

published

Had the system installed in 2011. Had been running fine until July 2017 where the soft starter and capacitor failed and Actron came out and repaired it under warranty. Exactly 3 years later the same 2 components failed again. I contacted Actron and they sent out technicians who checked the system and replaced the same 2 parts under warranty again. Thanks Actron!

Purchased in January 2011 at ActronAir for A$12,495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
John J.

John J.Hunter Region, NSW

Disappointed

published

I have had my Actron Air ESP Plus for less than 3 months and I have used it 5 or 6 times and now I don't have an air conditioner because the fan motor inside the roof has broken down and the company that sold me and installed the system can't tell me how long it will be before they can fix it, when the air con was working it was blowing harder in some parts of the house and hardly blowing in other parts plus the WIFI keeps dropping out whenever I wanted to turn the air con on by my phone.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLarge Bedroom, Living/Dining Area, Small Bedroom and Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Review collected in partnership with ActronAir

Brands' of Warriewood

published

Un it has only been place on three recent days and has worked as required.
Controls we have yet to work out the full functions but what we have used are easy.
Have not operated in extreme weather

Purchased in March 2020 at Chill Air Conditioning for A$12,375.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Review collected in partnership with ActronAir

Robyn  Cross

Robyn CrossNorth Western Region, NSW

I love it

published

I love that it is zoned and has a thermostat to turn off once ideal temperature is reached.
I paid extra to get the phone app and it is well worth it

Purchased in February 2020 for A$12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Review collected in partnership with ActronAir

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

EXTREMELY HAPPY

published

We have had our Actron Air System installed and have been extremely happy with it. It heats and cools the whole house very evenly and copes under high demand in both summer and winter conditions and copes very well with extreme temperature days. It is easy to operate and has multiple settings to suit any needs in any room at one time. Very Very happy with our system. Highly recommend Actron Air Systems.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Ducted Air Conditioners

Find out how ActronAir ESP Plus Series 2 compares to other Ducted Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dougie54

dougie54Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

perfect so far,how did we manage with our old evap

published

all seems good even though its early days we has a few days upper 30's and it was awesome,we have it set at 24 degrees so we will see how it goes in the colder months to come

Purchased in March 2020 at ford and doonan for A$12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLarge Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Review collected in partnership with ActronAir

Disgusted

DisgustedPerth, WA

Capacitor and soft starter failed after 5 years of minimal use

published

Paying over $15k I thought I was buying the best and until last week it worked well. I turned it on during a hot spell and all I got was hot air blowing in. Turned out it was the capacitor and soft starter that needed replacing for a cost of over $800. This is unacceptable in my mind for a repair on an aircon that gets minimal use. I was told by the repair man that they fail when it's hot. Well, duh!!! Aren't they made to run when it's hot? Not happy with this situation and would not again buy nor recommend an Actron aircondtioner.

Purchased in July 2014 at Needham Air for A$15,179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Allan  White

Allan WhiteHunter Region, NSW

Old aircon was 2002 dated, so this one leaves it for dead.

published

48 degrees outside & inside held at 25 when on cool low fan. But when just the main bedroom is zoned, the fan noise is very noticeable. So we don't use that zone on its own.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$10,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Review collected in partnership with ActronAir

Thorsten

Thorsten

  • 4 reviews
  • 13 likes

Totally unreliable

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Thorsten,
We've sent you a PM.

Damien R.

Damien R.Perth, WA

Noise issues

published
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Mario

Marioasked

ESP Plus Series 2

what is error code e99

No answers
head

headasked

ESP Plus Series 2

When the house was built the space the builder provided is not as large as the SRD191C required and who is resposable as its showing signs of failure is it the builder or the installer?
As its a developers project

No answers
Amy G

Amy Gasked

ESP Plus Series 2

Less than 12 months again and the soft starter needs to be replaced again I. Our action air conditioner again.
Our unit was installed in 2012 and this is seems to be an annual exercise.
Less than 12 months ago we replaced the soft starter and the capacitor with the hope that this would elevate the issue.
We have had no power outages and it would be great if a long term solution as $800 a year is expend and unnecessary.
What can be done to fix our air conditioner?

2 answers
graham
graham

hi amy, had no worries to date touch wood. good luck with yours will watch mine carefully
regardsg.lawson

ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Amy,

We are sorry to hear about the issues you are having with your system. We appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Product Review, your feedback is important to us.

We would like to help you find a solution for your issue. To start could you please email info@actronair.com.au and give us your name, address, email, contact number and the serial number on your outdoor unit. The team will be in contact to discuss the issues with you or you can call us on 1800 119 229 (National 8am-5pm AEST).

Thanks,
Melissa

Get an answer from our members and ActronAir representatives

Details

Features:

  • Master controller and individual zone controller available for customisable temperature zones
  • WiFi connection allows you to use a phone or computer to control the ducted system without having to get up and grab the controller
  • ‘Set and forget’ timer functions ensure that the air conditioner doesn't run for too long and waste energy

Review summary:

Some reviewers have experienced problems with their ActronAir conditioners breaking down. However, in many instances the company has cooperated with customers to resolve any issues. Reviewers have praised the company for their communication and their willingness to follow up with complaints.

The air conditioners usually worked well for extended periods of time and could cope with a variety of weather conditions. However, some reviewers found that there was a limit to how much the air conditioners could handle and observed that their air conditioner struggled to work in the harsh summer heat. Others noted that their air conditioners were overly loud, which caused disturbance.

Compare all 7 ActronAir ESP Plus Series 2
CategoryDucted Air ConditionersDucted Air ConditionersDucted Air ConditionersDucted Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) A$1,689.00A$1,895.00A$2,407.00A$2,550.00
Features On/Off Timer and Remote ControlOn/Off Timer and Remote ControlOn/Off Timer and Remote ControlOn/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control
Cooling Power12.3 kW14.4 kW18.64 kW16.9 kW
Heating Power12.2 kW15 kW18.52 kW17.9 kW
Reverse Cycle YesYesYesYes
Auto Cleaning (Self Cleaning)NoNoNoNo
Auto Restart FunctionYesYesYesYes
Weekly TimerYesYesYesYes
Cooling Energy Rating 5 stars5 stars4.5 stars4.5 stars
Heating Energy Rating 5 stars4.5 stars5 stars5 stars
Indoor Unit Dimensions 412 x 1090 x 615 mm412 x 1290 x 615 mm435 x 1420 x 680 mm412 x 1290 x 615 mm
Outdoor Unit Dimensions 990 x 1320 x 580 mm990 x 1320 x 580 mm1045 x 1460 x 580 mm1045 x 1460 x 580 mm
Max Outdoor Sound Pressure Level50 dB52 dB54 dB54 dB
Operating Temperature for Cooling-10 to +50-10 to +50-10 to +50-10 to +50
Operating Temperature for Heating-10 to +50-10 to +50-10 to +50-10 to +50
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Compare all 7 ActronAir ESP Plus Series 2

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.