??!

Reviews

(25)
(10)
(2)
(7)
(18)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.4 (8)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (8)
  • Room Type
    • Whole House (10)
    • Living/Dining Area (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (11)

Damien R.

Damien R.Perth, WA

Noise issues

published
Noise Level

dave

daveMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Action Air Ducted system

published

Actron Air has been a nightmare since installed, always breaks down when really hot weather,Soft starter fails every year when the weather gets hot,also have to change the capacitor as well ($1000 annual cost). has caught fire on the outside unit.For the price payed nothing but trouble, would not recommend at all, total waste of money.

Purchased in December 2009.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Absolute torture to live next door to

published

Our neighbour has this Actron air conditioner and the thumping on and off of the compressor is like water torture. Impossible to sleep/concentrate in my home when it is on unless we create noise in our house to block it out. Neighbour has refused to do anything after apparently having been told by Actron that the system is working properly, so local council is involved because the noise has been measured and we have been told it is not compliant with council noise regulations. Awaiting neighbour to respond to Council letter - second time we have gone through this and previous “fixes” have not worked. This unit should not be installed where there are neighbours within 5km - it is driving me and my family nuts.

1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Just in time for summer

published

We are so happy with our Actron ESP Plus unit, we have put up with a old unit that struggled to cool or heat, we had our unit installed during some very hot days and we are absolutely loving the cool house and are amazed at how quickly the house cools down, how quiet the unit is inside and outside. The wall unit is very easy to use, and most importantly the price was very competitive. A great purchase and a very satisfied customer.

Purchased in November 2019 for $10,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review on Product Review! We appreciate your feedback and are elated that you're enjoying your new ActronAir system.


Peter

PeterSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Love our new Actron ESP Plus

published

We installed the unit in July to replace a previous ducted system. We have not yet used the cooling cycle but we are extremely happy with the ESP as it provides warmed air consistently throughout the house

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Kerri

Kerri

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

One dimensional system that doesn't grow with your family needs.

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $15,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
3 comments
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Kerri
Kerri
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Kerri, We have received your email and will be in contact with you to discuss.


Brad N.

Brad N.Perth, WA

Noise levels are very bad

published

The noise levels from this unit are extremely disappointing and my neighbours hate it. In fact I am concerned they will report it to the council and then I will be in a world of pain. The cycling on / off of valves within the unit mean the noise is not constant, so it doesn't fade into the background. It can reberberate through the whole house. However Actron Air just say the "system is working as it should".
If you don't believe me then search for "Actron Air Conditioner noise" on youtube - there is evidence there.

Purchased in October 2016 for $19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
6 comments
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Brad N.
Brad N.
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Sid D

Sid DSydney, NSW

Great cooling and heating but single control panel

published

We moved into a house that had Actron Air ducted system with 3 zones and a single control panel.
It seems that the system has been there for a few years.
We would have loved if there was an option to set a different temperature for zones/outlets

Purchased in May 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Home Insulation Level Not sure
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Mike

MikeSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

works great, terribly noisy, groans up an down

published

The unit is super good, heating and cooling, controls are good, fan only mode is useful, mine has the noise reduction blanket they fit to the compressor area, hate to think whats its like without one.
Cooling mode is tolerable but in winter when you turn on the unit and we have 13 degrees temp, it is crazy noisy outside for about 10-15 minutes, very heavy drone that tonally goes up and down and comes through the house double brick walls and I'm sure ticks off the neighbors.
After a while settles down and not too bad.
Would look to another brand next time, however maybe they all are noisy.
regards
mike

.

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
3 comments
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Mike
Mike

Thanks Andrew for the response, I am going to remount the A/C onto rubber isolating mounts after winter, so will contact then.
regardsa
mike

ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Mike, No problem. Please contact our service team to discuss prior to any work. Thanks - Andrew

That's better that's Actron

published

The unit is the best thing i have ever bought and it copes well on high demand and extended periods.
Very Satisfied with the product the features and controls are a bonus and simplicity at it's best.
The air conditioner is perfectly built for this harsh Australian weather.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Ray, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on Product Review. We appreciate all feedback and are happy to hear you are enjoying the comfort of our ActronAir system.

Review collected in partnership with ActronAir


Karl

KarlSydney, NSW

Was noisy when installed but Actron addressed all the issues

published

New Updated Entry: While I initially had all the below reservations, Actron kindly attended to all the issues and fixed the unit so that it is now running very efficiently and quietly.

Old Entry:
This is a very noisy unit which we regret buying. We can't turn it on at night because it makes a loud vibrating noise every 5 seconds. Our neighbours have also complained that they can't sleep at night when it's on.

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
2 comments
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Karl
Karl

Mike

MikeSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

AIR CONDITIONER REFURB

published

My old mitsubishi ducted a/c gave up the ghost after 25 yrs with only 1 breakdown, looked at a replacement for reliability, price and good reviews and picked the Actronair. Very pleased with so far, quiet and efficient.Tad more expensive than others but worth it.

Purchased in February 2019 at Go General a/c (excellent install) for $11,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Mike, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on Product Review. We appreciate all feedback and are happy to hear you have chosen ActronAir for your home.

Review collected in partnership with ActronAir


John  Nardozza

John NardozzaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Quiet and efficient.

published

I am very happy with our ActronAir Ducted AC system. I was worried about noise at full flow but it is very quiet and its ability to cool all of the house is quick and easy. Once it reaches the set-point it maintains that temp without fuss. I opted for individual zone control and find that this helps to keep the demand in the kid's rooms in check. 24 Deg is the constant and it works beautifully to maintain that temp. ABLE Heating and Cooling were flexible, helpful and professional.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Review collected in partnership with ActronAir


Bish

BishSydney

  • 11 reviews

Too many problems. Rubbish!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Happy Customer

Happy CustomerSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A/C - money well spent

published

Beyond happy with this A/C it ran almost everyday during summer, i must say how impressed i am with the unit in high tempreature days, compared to our last unit, it is such a huge difference.
We cannot fault the unit - happy we chose to go with extra zones so we can turn off the rooms we are not using.
The company who installed it also went above and beyond in selling its features and helping using design zone layout to best suit our house.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Gagan

GaganMarsden Park

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

best air con ever

published

best ever air con unit, love the performance of the unit. Sound levels are low. WIFI feature is amazing. zoning was too easy. easy to install and super easy to maintain. love Actron. probably will never ever go to any other unit. Always recommend this unit to everyone. on an ESP mode cannot even hear it running.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

gb130175

gb130175Sydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

Powerful yet economical

published
Date PurchasedJan 2012

Noisy mess that doesn't work well

published

Like many on this forum, I can attest to how LOUD this AC unit is, with that horrible rolling, moaning, thumping noise every 10-15 seconds. The installers came out to take a look and reckon that's how it's supposed to work.

The unit hits 50-55dB when we're sitting INSIDE the house. Next to the unit, it runs above 80dB. EVERY 10 seconds it spikes into a thump.

Here's a video for your enjoyment...
https://youtu.be/GjFgva37hH0

Now, if it worked amazingly well, we would don some earmuffs and live with it. But it's a sweaty mess inside the house during summer when the unit just struggles.

Date PurchasedDec 2015

Something_Wrong

Something_WrongSyd

  • 3 reviews

New Install SRV201E / SRD203C 8 zones and 10 outlets

published

Frost Air-conditioning (Castle Hill) just completed my Actron installation, Have not used the system yet as we are still renovating but the installation went seamlessly and the installation team did a great job.
We have a large house and 5 rooms have restored 1920's decorative ceilings and we are pleased to say not cracks or damage to the ceilings. The installer knew what he was doing and all care taken.

At this stage we recommend Frost on Price, Systems advice and Installation, Will add to review about the Actron unit when we move in and use it for a few months.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Something_Wrong
Something_Wrong

downunder

downunderQLD, 4152

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Does the job well

published

We've had our Actron in for a little less than 12 months. We don't use it much as our house is well insulated and catches a great breeze, so it hasn't had a big workout yet. When we have used it though, it works brilliantly. We are a large two level 5 bedroom home, and it cools the whole house quickly on a hot Brisbane day. The condenser unit is on our roof above our master bedroom. You can definitely hear it at night so in hindsight I'd position it elsewhere, but it's not too loud.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Ben K

Ben Kasked

Hi I have a SRD190C Model ducted aircon unit and was wondering if i can upgrade it to use an app for it.
Thanks

1 answer
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Ben,

Our ActronConnect app is compatible with ESP Plus units. Check out this link if you'd like to know more https://www.actronair.com.au/residential/actron-connect-wireless/ or contact our Technical Support team on 1800 119 229 with any questions.

Thanks - Catherine


wayne

wayneasked

my father-in law has a SRD190C, 3 phase, 18.60 kw.
the unit has worked well for over 4 years that I know of, but every time I visit I listen the outside unit and it sounds as if it is short cycling, don't know it this is a inverter type, but I am used to inverter types ramping up and down, this unit sound as if it is cutting in and out several times a minute, is this normal, all filters are regularly clean and as I said it works very well in Tamworth with 40 degree temperatures. my question is why does the outside unit sound as if it is short cycling? any info would be apricated.

1 answer
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Wayne,

What you're describing with the compressor motor tonal change up and down if perfectly normal operation for the ESP systems. The compressor motor is a digital scroll compressor which loads and unloads the motor to achieve 10-100% capacity control, rather than speeding up and down the motor like an inverter system.

If you'd like to know more, give our Technical Support team a call on 1800 119 229 and they can run you through it.

Thanks,
Catherine


Bron D

Bron Dasked

How can you sort my neighbours Actron air conditioner on the property line where all our bedrooms are that thuds on and off every 11 seconds or so and is gradually driving me insane. It has been reported to Council and was found to be outside noise limits. Supposed fix has not sorted it. Neighbour is uninterested in our plight. Your air conditioner unit with the compressor thudding on and off is wholly unsuited to anywhere with neighbours in a 5 km radius.

1 answer
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Bron,

To have a Service technician attend site to inspect the unit and any possible causes, we would need the owner to contact us with some details and to arrange a time to access the unit. I understand from your message that they may not be interested in doing this.

They also have the option of contacting our Technical Support team to troubleshoot any issues over the phone. They can contact our Technical Support on 1800 119 229 (National 8am-5pm AEDT) or email technicalsupport@actronair.com.au at a time that suits them. We will just need them to provide their contact details and the serial number of the outdoor unit.

If the issue can't be resolved over the phone and will need a technician to attend the property, this can be arranged over phone/email also.

If your neighbour knows it will just take a phone call or email to get the ball rolling, they may be more inclined to help out and then we can take it from there.

Let us know how you go.


Get an answer from our members and ActronAir representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.