??!
1 photo
AEG ALT18B

AEG ALT18B

MPN: ALT18B
4.3 from 10 reviews

Reviews

(6)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Product is used:
    • Occasionally (1)
    • Weekly (1)
  • Grass Type
    • Short grass (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Safety
    5.0 (1)


MR W

MR WGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Not so perfect

published

Used five times over ten weeks and was very impressed until the line spool stopped rotaring. Back to Bunnings it goes. Will give same model another go as I was enjoying using it.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Maurice

MauriceSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointing quality and customer service.

published
Billy.D

Billy.DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great lite weight unit.

published

Best Grass Cutter. Lite Weight. 2 speeds. Batteries chargers up in 2-2 1/2 hours. Low speed will last for over a hour. High speed about 25 mins. Best warranty but not cheap at $399.Highly recommend.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Donna1968

Donna1968South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Another great invention

published

Powerful! for non commercial use (unsure about daily use) 2 power settings, only need lower power for home use, does our 700 mtr square yard with ease, 40 mins is plenty, very quiet, light weight, charges off our solar panels, uses same standard battery as other AEG Power tools including mower, all parts are replaceable and made with quality. Comes with good quality cord. Bump feed works well. on off switch works real good.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Brendan

BrendanSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 3 reviews

Good quality but not without its flaws

published

I have almost every AEG 18v brushless tool in their lineup,I love their gear.
This trimmer is powerful,light and easy to use
Bump feed head works well and is easy to feed.
I live on a rural property and a 5.0ah battery gets most of my work done depending on how long I've let it go for.
I only have two gripes
-they dont provide a harness/shoulder strap like almost every other brand does
-it has severe vibration issues-they have re designed a few other tools recently due to vibration issues. If I use this for 25 mins my hand swells right up and goes tingly,not good health wise.
None of my petrol trimmers did that even with an hour of use.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Sewsoau

SewsoauAdelaide

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great product

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018

  • Verified purchase

Very impressed with this trimmer

published

After having had a 240v electric trimmer 10+ years ago that could barely cut the grass, I persevered with a petrol trimmer until I finally decided to buy a better trimmer. I was looking at the Honda line trimmers as they have such great reviews, and my father has one that I tried. He suggested looking at the electric ones again since technology has improved so much, and with a little trepidation I bought the AEG. I was completely surprised how well it cuts, light and manoeuvrable, quiet and clean. Battery life is great. It takes a second or two to spin up to full speed but from there it's got heaps of grunt. It came with a full spool of cord, the bump-out head works well.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Sash

Sash

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Who needs 36v

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
paul27

paul27Queensland

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Fantastic

published

I would never use a petrol powered tool again. It's Light, powerful and very quiet. The battery lasts very well, I've done my back yard 3 times and the fron yardt once and it doesn't need charging yet and it is so much cleaner than one using fuel and oil also.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Dylan

Dylan

  • 3 reviews

AEG 18v Line trimmer

published

So far this has been a good purchase. It has a straight shift and a good length if you're on the taller side. 5ha battery gives u about 30-40 min. I got 2 x 5ha battery as it was part of a combo but for my medium size yard 1 battery gets it done. You need to give it about 0.5-1sec to spool up to speed then it goes well. It feels sold built and we'll balanced. Happy I got it.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Questions & Answers

Rinaldo E.

Rinaldo E.asked

I have a new ALT18BS6, it joins the rest of my AEG battery powered fleet. I have L1830R batteries, which work perfectly in all the other AEG products, but they will not insert into the trimmer? They slide in but they stop short (about 1 cm) of locking in, so no connection is made? I tried as much force as I dare, even unreasonable force, but to no avail (and no damage) If I look at the battery slot shape and compare with the other AEG tools, it is a slightly different shape. The trimmer is rated to work with AEG L1830R, what is going wrong?

No answers

Ann D.

Ann D.asked

Will a AEG ALT58B bumphead fit a AEG ALT58BS6 line trimmer

No answers

Sharon M

Sharon Masked

Trying to work out how to replace the line. Are there written instructions or a video somewhere? The diagrams in the manual are not helpful.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and AEG Power Tools representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.