??!
1 photo
AEG ALT18B

AEG ALT18B

MPN: ALT18B
4.3 from 15 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Comfortable to use

  • Long battery life

  • Makes little noise

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (6)
  • Safety
    4.7 (6)
  • Battery Life
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Chris Kenyon

Chris KenyonCANBERRA

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified purchase

Brand new and doesn't work

published

Charged the battery, put the machine together and went out to enjoy an expensive piece of equipment doing its job.
No. Two second burst of revs then it died, again and again.
How can they market this is a professional tool?

Purchased in February 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $649.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeTall grass
See all answers
1 comment
Chris Kenyon
Chris Kenyon
Dwayne C.

Dwayne C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 22 likes

I am converted

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Mark S

Mark SNorthern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great whipper. Should have got one sooner.

published

This was the only real lightweight affordable option with a straight shaft and 2.4mm cord.
Very quiet and lots more power than my petrol whipper. I have a larger house block with plenty of buffalo grass to trim. After 30 minutes the battery was only at 50%.i was on the lower speed with the throttle mostly at 50-75%.
light and comfortable with no vibration issues.
The cord lasts well but the bump head is probable a touch too sensitive. It's fine once you get used to it.

Highly recommended and I will never go back to petrol... Next purchase will be a battery mower!

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how AEG ALT18B compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AJ W.

AJ W.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Domestic Battery Powered Wizardry

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Michael

MichaelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Brilliant!

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
MR W

MR WGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not so perfect

published

Used five times over ten weeks and was very impressed until the line spool stopped rotaring. Back to Bunnings it goes. Will give same model another go as I was enjoying using it.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Ragnar

RagnarSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Disappointing quality and customer service.

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Billy.D

Billy.DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great lite weight unit.

published

Best Grass Cutter. Lite Weight. 2 speeds. Batteries chargers up in 2-2 1/2 hours. Low speed will last for over a hour. High speed about 25 mins. Best warranty but not cheap at $399.Highly recommend.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Donna1968

Donna1968South East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Another great invention

published

Powerful! for non commercial use (unsure about daily use) 2 power settings, only need lower power for home use, does our 700 mtr square yard with ease, 40 mins is plenty, very quiet, light weight, charges off our solar panels, uses same standard battery as other AEG Power tools including mower, all parts are replaceable and made with quality. Comes with good quality cord. Bump feed works well. on off switch works real good.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how AEG ALT18B compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brendan

BrendanSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good quality but not without its flaws

published

I have almost every AEG 18v brushless tool in their lineup,I love their gear.
This trimmer is powerful,light and easy to use
Bump feed head works well and is easy to feed.
I live on a rural property and a 5.0ah battery gets most of my work done depending on how long I've let it go for.
I only have two gripes
-they dont provide a harness/shoulder strap like almost every other brand does
-it has severe vibration issues-they have re designed a few other tools recently due to vibration issues. If I use this for 25 mins my hand swells right up and goes tingly,not good health wise.
None of my petrol trimmers did that even with an hour of use.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Sewsoau

SewsoauAdelaide

  • 12 reviews
  • 20 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great product

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
  • Verified purchase

Very impressed with this trimmer

published

After having had a 240v electric trimmer 10+ years ago that could barely cut the grass, I persevered with a petrol trimmer until I finally decided to buy a better trimmer. I was looking at the Honda line trimmers as they have such great reviews, and my father has one that I tried. He suggested looking at the electric ones again since technology has improved so much, and with a little trepidation I bought the AEG. I was completely surprised how well it cuts, light and manoeuvrable, quiet and clean. Battery life is great. It takes a second or two to spin up to full speed but from there it's got heaps of grunt. It came with a full spool of cord, the bump-out head works well.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Sash

Sash

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Who needs 36v

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
paul27

paul27Queensland

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Fantastic

published

I would never use a petrol powered tool again. It's Light, powerful and very quiet. The battery lasts very well, I've done my back yard 3 times and the fron yardt once and it doesn't need charging yet and it is so much cleaner than one using fuel and oil also.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Dylan

Dylan

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

AEG 18v Line trimmer

published

So far this has been a good purchase. It has a straight shift and a good length if you're on the taller side. 5ha battery gives u about 30-40 min. I got 2 x 5ha battery as it was part of a combo but for my medium size yard 1 battery gets it done. You need to give it about 0.5-1sec to spool up to speed then it goes well. It feels sold built and we'll balanced. Happy I got it.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how AEG ALT18B compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Rust

Rustasked

I have a AEG 18 v 5 ah line trimmer but machine will only operate for about five minutes before it stops. It was working for a much longer period when first purchased. It’s about 18 months old and has not had a lot of use

No answers
Paul L.

Paul L.asked

Hi I purchased a aeg 18 v whipper snipper in the box it came in 2 pieces I was wondering if I could purchase ledgers chain saws that go in the end with the motor

No answers
Dave C.

Dave C.asked

Where can i purchase an extra battery for 18v aeg whipper snipper

1 answer
Erik M.
Erik M.

Bunnings

Get an answer from our members and AEG Power Tools representatives

Details

Features:

  • The AEG ALT18B whipper snipper uses a lithium-ion battery, helping you power through all your gardening with little effort.
  • A straight and split shaft design lets you use the same engine to power other attachments, like a lawn edger.
  • The machine is 3.7kg, making it a relatively lightweight option that can make covering larger areas that much easier.
  • It’s 97 decibels when running, making the noise level comparable to being inside a nightclub.
  • This whipper snipper will cost you $299, which includes a 6 year warranty.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the AEG ALT18B was comfortable to use and easy to maintain.
  • They also appreciated the long lasting battery, and said it helped them get through their gardening tasks without needing to constantly recharge.
  • The whipper snipper is quiet for the level of power it has, according to reviewers.
  • Reviewers praised the quality of the machine, saying that it was very durable.
CategoryBattery Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) $299.00
Handle TypeLoop Handle
Shaft TypeSplit and Straight
Power SourceBattery (Removable)
Engine TypeLithium-Ion Battery
Voltage 18 V
Cutting Head TypeLine
Cutting Width370 mm
Line Diameter24 mm
Weight3.7 kg
Noise Level 97 dB
Manufacturer Warranty6 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: ALT18B

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.