1 photo
Ryobi 18V One+ OED1850

Ryobi 18V One+ OED1850

MPN: OED1850
4.2 from 21 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Battery Whipper Snippers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ryobi

Pros

  • Lightweight and easy to use

  • Long lasting battery

  • Quiet

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (11)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (10)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (11)
  • Safety
    4.5 (11)
  • Battery Life
    4.0 (5)
Previous
Next
Dom
DomSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 34 reviews
  • 24 likes

I'm surprised how good it is. Creates nice clean edges.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Sean
SeanHunter Region, NSW

Don't waste your money

published

I have a number of Ryobi battery tools that are great, but this edger is a POS. Cuts out all of the time and a 4 amp battery lasts less than 10 minutes. The blade isn't sharp so it hacks the grass and it's hard to keep it in a straight line. I was using this to replace an old Atom petrol-powered lawn edger, I gave up after around 15 minutes and went back to using the Atom. This thing will sit in the shed and I'll fork out the money for another Atom.

Purchased in February 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Grant
GrantNorth Western Region, NSW
  • 15 reviews
  • 20 likes
  • Verified

Great Handyman Tool

published

Purchased one about a week ago. Registered tool online to get extra two years warranty. What a great little edger. Bit hard on the battery on first use. I was using a whipper snippet before. I now have straight edges. The edger only took a few minutes to set up and learn to use.

Purchased in December 2020 for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ OED1850 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robert W.
Robert W.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

What a ripper little piece of kit

published

Purchased in October 2020 for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Michael R
Michael RSydney, NSW

Ryobi warranty is useless if no invoice is available

published

Was given one for Christmas 2019. Worked fantastic up until August then stopped. Because it was a gift I never received the invoice/docket and ryobi won’t warrant a product that’s only 9 months old. What a joke!

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stephen
Stephen
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Buy the Cyclone foot one

published

Hi Got the Ryobi 18 v Edger today done about 15 meters set on middle cutting setting
keeps cutting out wants to run its own way ripping up the ground hard to control & keep the blade from
hitting the concrete & wasting the blade, maybe a round cutting blade would be better for contact with concrete so I got a Cyclone foot one fantastic. Stephen

Purchased in October 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Craig
Craig
  • 18 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified

Exceeded my expectations. Excellent edger.

published

I bought the 18v kit RED 1850L i40 edger from Bunnings. Was $229 and included a 4ah batter and charger. Used it yesterday on overgrown couch grass edges. Absolutely amazing bit if kit. I love it. Very easy to use. Powerful. Way better than my Star petrol edger piece of junk.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cosgrove
CosgroveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 22 reviews
  • 17 likes
  • Verified

First time using an edger and very happy

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dan
DanPerth, WA
  • 23 reviews
  • 10 likes

Does the job

published

Does the job and with ease cuts good being battery powered nice and street easy to handle easy to use.
Defo worth the money as having 18v drill I didn’t need the battery pack.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ OED1850 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gareth
GarethPeel, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

So far so good!

published

Easy to use, nice and quiet and last a while if you have a decent battery! Most of my edges are surrounded my curbs and pavers so the blade wears out pretty quick but other than that it suits my needs.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Andrew M.
Andrew M.Sydney, NSW

Excellent product with a tiny flaw

published

This edger is fantastic, easy to use and a great addition to my Ryobi ONE suite!

Only problem is the star cap on the front guide wheel which popped off on the 1st rough patch.
I solved this by drilling a 2.5mm hole through the shaft and putting a split pin in. Measure carefully though.
Note to Ryobi; This is like a one cent cost per unit.

Purchased in June 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Alex
AlexMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Great tool, 6 year warranty

published

Tired of line trimmers and was looking for something that is not such a pain to use.
The tool is performing great (as expected), just plug and play, no hassle with the lines.
Key points:
1) To Nick - it comes with 6 year replacement warranty so I guess it can be replaced if the motor is dead?
2) I bought a 9AH battery as I have other RYOBY tools that I use frequently. Doing our back & front yards consumes barely half of the battery.

So far quite happy with the purchase.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Not happy after a while

published

Bought this just over two years ago and it’s been great. However, now it won’t run intermittently and it’s like the brushes have given up (don’t know if this motor has brushes). Of course it’s just out of its warranty period. So it’s a no for me!
PS The questions you ask above are about a whipper snipper. This product is only a lawn edger.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Craig
CraigMillicent

The 2ah battery they include gives 6 mins run time

published

Bought this edger because of the reviews. The kit comes with the 2ah battery which is completely useless. It only gives 6 mins run time before it needs to charge for 1.5 hours. Factor into the price of buying at least the 4ah battery when purchasing. Very disappointed with the battery, what a waste including something so small. Otherwise it works well.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Hypnotoady
HypnotoadyMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Best Garden Tool Ever!

published

I was going to buy one of those line trimmers until I saw a guy use an edger and how neat and straight his edges were. I bought the Ryobi 18V One+ OED1850 from Bunnings and got the 5.0ah battery, which I have since found is over kill as it only needs charging occasionally. Once you get the hang of it this thing its perfect for cutting edges, I was wary at first of letting the blade touch the edge of the concrete, but now have found that it's normal for this to happen at times. I can do all the edges in record time and even the neighbors comment on how neat and straight they are. No mixing fuel, no buying that line that quickly runs out, no ear plugs, it's all good, the blade seems like it will last a long time.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ OED1850 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

john harding
john hardingasked

were can i buy one

1 answer
Grant
Grant

Bunnings

Damien
Damienasked

Can I swap line for blades?

No answers
Rajat
Rajatasked

Does 18v edger skin works with a 36V battery?

1 answer
Andrew M.
Andrew M.

no it doesn't, it uses the ryobi one 18v battery system which is a different shape.

See all Ryobi 18V One+ OED1850 questions

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

Features:

  • Four edging depths allow for both a variety of cutting options, as well as for height adjustment (so you can adjust the trimmer to suit your height)
  • Guide wheel provides help with cutting, as you can simply run the wheel along the edge of the pavement to cut any overhanging grass
  • Battery and charger are sold independent of the unit, which may be marketed as ‘skin only.’ Both of these represent an additional cost to the original purchase.
  • A straight shaft makes for a more ergonomic design that lets you easily go about a variety of gardening tasks.

Points of praise:

  • Many reviewers found that the Ryobi 18V One+ OED1850 was easy to use and assemble.
  • They also said that it neatened up their edges effectively, making for a wonderfully manicured lawn.
  • According to reviews, this machine is lightweight and ergonomic, and simple to handle around tight areas.
  • Reviewers noted that the battery was long lasting and let them power through their gardening.
  • Reviewers appreciated how quiet the machine was.
CategoryBattery Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) $179.00
Handle TypeLoop Handle
Shaft TypeStraight
Power SourceBattery (Removable)
Voltage 18 V
Cutting Head TypeBlade
Cutting Width220 mm
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: OED1850

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.