4 photos
ALDI Ambiano Food Dehydrator

ALDI Ambiano Food Dehydrator

MPNs: 95206, 95459 and KYS336B
2.3 from 18 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Food Dehydrators in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by ALDI

Reviews

2.3
18 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Died first go

published

Didn’t even get to use it once, fan inside was making an awful noise and plastic appeared to de melting so turned it off and a complete waist of time and money

Incentivised Review No
Lurlene Eve
Lurlene EveIllawarra, NSW

Would not purchase again as it falls apart after only 4x being used

published

I purchased this dehydrator in December 2020. It is so fragile despite being very careful with it. To my great dismay pieces are breaking off, the trays are splitting. Have used this product only 8 times! Love the product otherwise. Would not recommend the purchase of this product

Purchased in December 2020 for $40.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Sara S.
Sara S.Perth, WA

Plastic rubbish

published

I have only given this machine a 1 star review and that’s only because the jerky I made was really good. I have used the machine about 8 times and the next time I use it, it will be ready for the bin. The plastic trays are so fragile that after the first use small pieces snapped off. Each time I use the machine more keeps snapping off. I am at the point where 1/2 the trays are completely broken.

Purchased in February 2021 at ALDI for $40.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Unhappy
UnhappyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Never buy this.

published

No after sales service, no accessories available. The trays crack and disintegrate after one or two uses. Would never buy this product again. If I could give it a minus rating, I would.

Incentivised Review No
Food Dehydrators

Find out how ALDI Ambiano Food Dehydrator compares to other Food Dehydrators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
willsmother
willsmotherAU
  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for price

published

I have two, owned for a couple of years now. So far reliable and trays have survived dishwasher. I give them heavy use in fruit season hence the need for two. Trays need rotation both top to bottom and turning. Takes several hours to dry depending on type of fruit. Small berries fall through tray as they dry, finer mesh inserts would be handy but it’s a budget machine. I only dry sliced fruit and vegetables. Tempted to upgrade to larger horizontal drying machine at some stage but that’s only because I live in a country town with lots of free fruit and do a lot of drying.

Purchased for $39.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Crystal
CrystalMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Terrible product

published

Used it for about 8 hours to make beef jurky and was fine all went well.
Went to do the same a week later about 4 hours in all the plastic started cracking you could see and hear it cracking every single bit of plastic was cracked

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2021 for $40.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
bavarian
bavarianSydney, NSW

is it safe

published

i'm using it no for about 4 weeks. But i notice there small part of the plastic tray which are coming of. Like some small flakes. I'm using it to dehydrate chicken fillet

Purchased in December 2020 for $40.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next

Epic fail

published

After nearly 26 hours, my very thinly sliced orange slices were still emitting juice when squeezed. Absolutely hopeless ! It would have been quicker to dry them in the sun. Very disappointed in this product sorry.

Purchased in December 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Used for Soft Fruit
Martine A.
Martine A.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Kitchen Stable!

published

Very happy with this dehydrator. I’ve been using it heaps over the last 2 years to dry sugar cookies. My only negative Is that the trays stack, if you aren’t 130% careful you can stack them wrong causing damage to the cookies on the lower racks.
For $40 I couldn’t be happier.

Purchased in December 2018 at ALDI for $40.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Food Dehydrators

Find out how ALDI Ambiano Food Dehydrator compares to other Food Dehydrators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified

Rubbish job

published

If I could give this product 0 I would. The manual says 8 hours for thinly sliced tomatoes. After close to 24 hours I gave up, put the machine in its box and took it back to ALDI for a refund. I tried apples and apricots with just as much success. The problem is it just doesn't get to temperature.

Purchased in December 2019 for $90.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Frank
FrankCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic dehydrator

published

This is a great dehydrator all round. I use it mainly on mangos at 70 for 12 hours and they come out perfect, full of flavour and crispy. The design of this dehydrator makes it easy to load and clean. For the price I think it's a steal.

Purchased in December 2019 at Aldi Bundaberg QLD for $40.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Sue
SueNew South Wales
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

I'd love to make this work

published

I've tried every way I can think of to dry lemons - sliced thick, thin, wedges, peeled, unpeeled, 70 degrees, 55 degrees, but they just end up sticky and look like they'll go mouldy very quickly i.e. not dry enough, even after 17 hours. Feel like they'll still need freezing, not really the point. Don't want to keep using all that electricity unless I know it's worthwhile. If anyone can help me get the rating up to 5* or even 3* I'd be extremely grateful.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Food Dehydrators

Find out how ALDI Ambiano Food Dehydrator compares to other Food Dehydrators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Penny
PennySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Good

published

I have been using this dehydrator for two years now. I really like it. I make banana chips, strawberry chips, and anything else i can think of. The only problem is I would like to make some fruit leather and I'm unable to find the sheets to fit the machine.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Johnathan Garrett
Johnathan GarrettSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Another example of Aldi Cheap as Chips electrical items

published

I thought what could possible go wrong with set of stacking containers sitting on a heating element and a fan...

It was been a couple of years since I last tried using this item and considered that perhaps I had been a lille to premature in my judgment of it and how long it took to produce anything so to be fair I gave it another go, My memory must be failing me because after two complete 17 hour cycles trying bananas, Mangoes and Muscatel grapes I can only conclude that life is too short and electricity is too expensive to experiment any further, so into the dumpster this heap of rubbish goes.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Jasmine1485
Jasmine1485QLD, 4560
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Much used and much loved

published

I have been using this dehydrator for the past two years. It's easy to use, easy to clean and still looks nearly brand new. I've used it for jerky, herbs, fruit, vegetables and just about anything else I could think of. The time and temperature are both adjustable, as is the number of shelves. Not a thing wrong with it!

Date PurchasedDec 2015

Questions & Answers

Chris
Chrisasked

Are there replacement trays available? My trays are stating to disintegrate after I have used it about 7 times!

1 answer
Crystal
Crystal

Ours did the same after the second use
Maybe google the brand and give them a call

MONTY
MONTY asked

01) Do food dehydrator has a safety option if the fan stop working when the machine is on ?
02) What will happen if the uppermost middle air vent is close in order air to travel more air through trays to have a good circulation ?

No answers
MONTY
MONTY asked

I bought a food dehydrator (model no: FD-319) from ALDI and I am fully satisfy with the machine. I have 02 questions to verify please.
01) Do you have any safety measure suppose if the hot air blower FAN stops working while the machine ? what will happen to the element ?
02) I feel hot air just escaping from the middle opening without passing through the trays. Please let me know what will happen if the center opening of the upper tray covered with a metal lid so that more air to pass through the trays ?
Thanks,
MONTY

No answers
See all ALDI Ambiano Food Dehydrator questions

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

CategoryFood Dehydrators
BPA FreeYes
Number of Drying Trays5
Tray Size32cm diameter
Special Buy Dates
  • 23 Nov 2016
  • 25 Nov 2017
  • 19 Dec 2018
  • 18 Dec 2019
  • 19 Dec 2020
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2010
Discontinuation dateDec 2020
  • MPN: 95206, 95459 and KYS336B

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.