1 photo
Amazon Echo Dot
3.9 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Speakers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Amazon? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

3.9
13 reviews
Previous
Next
Jamie
JamieSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Crippled and geo-blocked for high quality music

published

In Australia, you cannot use the assistant with high quality online music sources. Amazon Music HD is geoblocked and only the low quality version is allowed in Australia - other countries have had it for a while now so it's unlikely to ever be released here. Tidal is geoblocked - available in the US only and it's been that way for years. Deezer Hifi is blocked universally while the low quality Deezer version is allowed. I've never seen something so crippled in this way.

It's also nowhere near as good as Google Home. Don't waste your money unless you're happy paying more for less.

Given Amazon's policies, I've discontinued Amazon Music and will be discontinuing Prime as well.

Purchased in October 2020 at Amazon for $34.00.

Incentivised Review No
George
GeorgeSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little device for the house

published

This device has been quite helpful in answering any questions i might have throughout the day. It does everything from weather, time, purchasing products from amazon, connecting to smart devices for a streamlined home. It is neat, discrete and looks great in any room. microphones work quite well, it is able to pick up most commands regardless of volume and even works in noisy environments. Great buy! will consider buying more

Purchased in January 2020 at Amazon.

Incentivised Review No

Other Speakers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ranjan
RanjanCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 9 reviews

Good Quality speaker with amazing assistant features from Alexa

published

Easy to setup with Alexa app, also can connect to mobile using bluetooth and use it as a speaker for playing music, has lot of features and supporting functions/skills which can be used. I normally use it for recurring alarms and listening music while going to sleep. Can control lights, tv and other things if supporting smart devices are setup in your home wifi. I got it in offer so price was ok for me.

Couple of disadvantages are -
1. doesn't support controlling google chomecast
2. should be connected to power in order to use. doesnt have a battery support

Purchased in September 2019 at Amazon for $25.00.

Incentivised Review No
Speakers

Find out how Amazon Echo Dot compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shaun C.
Shaun C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 9 reviews

Cheap and effective

published

Great little unit, sound is also impressive. Alexa Understands you well and you don’t have to be near the unit for it to pick up your voice. A great cheap way to get into the ‘smart home’ market.

Purchased in December 2019 at Amazon for $39.00.

Incentivised Review No
DavidN
DavidNGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 99 reviews
  • 93 likes

Amazon Echo Dot vs Google Home Mini on sound quality

published

Purchased in August 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $49.00.

Incentivised Review No
Honest Reviews
Honest ReviewsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 15 reviews
  • 18 likes

Has transformed our home!

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Amazon for $39.00.

Incentivised Review No
Disie
DisieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 20 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great, apart from the apps

published

I love my Alexa, but you have to download apps to support everything. It has no search apart from Bol Bot which isn't very helpful. You have to tell her what she can do. Getting videos and TV's to work is hard because she only supports the newest models. I have an LG Web Os TV V 3.8 BUT it only supports V 4

Purchased in November 2018 for $29.00.

Athulya Andrews
Athulya Andrewsmelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for music lovers

published

I am so much in love with this device as I can ask Alexa to play the music I want, standing anywhere in the room. But this is only a basic model and can get improved sound performances with upgraded models having higher quality speakers. But for limited spaces, echo dot is just awesome and cute.

Other Speakers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Susan O
Susan ONewcastle
  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great For Facts

published
Speakers

Find out how Amazon Echo Dot compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MrKareem33
MrKareem33Hobart, TAS
  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not that dissimilar tot he Google Home Mini

published

I purchased this to overcome the Alarm limitations of the Google Home Mini, hoping to awake to a specific song as my alarm as stored on a connected device to the Echo Dot... but no joy. I tried all the 'Spotify single song playlist' and similar workarounds suggested online without success.I'm hoping they will release functionality to allow this is a future software upgrade.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Jermad
JermadSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews

Great for home automation but lack of skills in Australia

published
TraFooCo
TraFooCoBrisbane
  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Rival to to Google Home... not as easy to set up but able to do more with Alexa's "Skills"

published
Cardman
CardmanMelbourne
  • 2 reviews

Good for music, but add a Harmony Hub

published

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

Amazon Echo Dot

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.