3 photos
Apple iPad Pro (3rd Generation)
4.5 from 47 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Tablets in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Apple? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Large, responsive screen

  • Apple Pencil-compatible

  • Face ID

Cons

  • Screen not durable

  • No expandable storage option

Reviews

4.5
47 reviews
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (40)
  • Body Durability
    4.5 (43)
  • Battery Life
    4.7 (43)
  • Speaker Quality
    4.6 (43)
  • Display Quality
    4.9 (43)
  • Screen Durability
    4.4 (41)
  • Night Photography Quality
    3.5 (35)
  • Video Quality
    4.4 (38)
  • Rear Camera Quality
    4.3 (38)
  • Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
    4.1 (39)
  • Security
    4.7 (42)
  • Speed
    4.8 (41)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (43)
Previous
Next
Thestorydude
ThestorydudeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Primary use for this device is some mobile games (not the graphics intensive kind) and watching videos with a little bit of productivity from time to time. The operating system that Apple specifically designed for all of its tablets have a ton of functionality and add to the user experience. The power is in the software instead of the hardware. Something to remember when you are dealing with companies like Apple where the hardware doesn't have much to offer from the get go or from the first sight.

Works extremely well with the Apple pencil and other third party styluses designed for iPads of this size.

Purchased in January 2019 at Vodafone for $1,900.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Reviewca
ReviewcaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Good but not Perfect

published

Being a professional Photographer,and following the publicised release of Adobe Photoshop for I bought the ipad pro,only to find Photoshop is not fully functional or developed.Useless for a Professional,and doesn't deserve Pro label.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $1,800.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No

Other Tablets

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Veronika
VeronikaCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 47 reviews
  • 6 likes

Purchased in November 2018 at Apple Physical store for $2,400.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Tablets

Find out how Apple iPad Pro (3rd Generation) compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roman Damello
Roman DamelloDarwin, NT

iPad Pro is very high quality, works great. I did not regret a bit that I got it!

published

A wonderful huge screen, very high-quality color reproduction, large viewing angles, a picture of the level of a glossy magazine or photo, excellent performance - everything flies, there is no touchid button - without it, it is more convenient to use the tablet with gestures, after binding to the appleid, all the advantages of the Apple ecosystem are immediately available (messages, photos, calls, etc.), it is very convenient to use Face-ID (you can set it up for 2 persons and not enter any passwords), the tablet is very light, holds a charge for a long time.

Incentivised Review No
Nic
Nicbrisbane
  • 34 reviews
  • 43 likes

An Outstanding Piece of Gear

published

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hifi Home.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous

Best personal electronic devices in 2020!

ProductReview.com.au has analysed a year's worth of reviews to find the best wireless headphones, mobile phones and tablets in 2020. Compare specific reviewer ratings, ranging from Battery Life and Sound / Camera Quality to Value for Money and Ease of Use to help you choose the best personal tech.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.1 Nov 2019
best-personal-electronic-devices-in-2020
Next
Woody
WoodyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Product is great would highly recommend everything about it is so much better than the competition nothing compares to

published

The camera is great even though I hardly use it the ease and funtionality are great the battery is amazing and the fast charging makes it even better, face recognition is great with the product way bettet than Samsung's or any other company's

Purchased for $1,200.00.

Incentivised Review No
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Aimee C.
Aimee C.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews

I use the iPad pro for my law studies and it really is just the best. I love handwriting my notes so I can say the compatibility and functionality of the iPad pro the the iPencil 2nd gen is great! It makes me want to write more. I also use procreate for my business such as creating logos and designs for my website. The ipad itself is fast even when I have many tabs open.

Purchased in January 2019 at Apple Store Australia.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Ranger
RangerSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

I use this everyday! Loving it!

published

I use my iPad Pro everyday - for work, study, and entertainment. It is just perfect! The size of the screen is just awesome. In term of user experience, I think that it is smoother than the old pad that I previously own. I couldn't be happier using this iPad Pro.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No

Other Tablets

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Kenny
KennySydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews

I use my iPad for entertainment. As far as I could tell, everything is running smoothly. I have not experienced any laggings. The screen is just perfect for me to watch Youtube. The battery is just enough for me to use for a day. The performance of the iPad is awesome. There is nothing bad that I can tell with my iPad.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Tablets

Find out how Apple iPad Pro (3rd Generation) compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Laura
LauraGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews

As a digital artist - one of the best purchases I've made

published

Purchased March 2019 with the sole purpose of using the art app Procreate, after multiple hours of research at the time. Used with the lastest apple pen - it has simply been one of the best artistic purchases I've made. Although limited compared to a traditional drawing tablet when it comes to using 3D software or the Adobe suite (though I believe there are ways to make it function as a PC/MAC tablet), its portability and pen fidelity are great, and personally prefer it over a wacom tablet. No messing around with drivers. Quick and slick (when using procreate atleast). When combined with matted/textured screen protectors - I can't recommend it enough.

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,390.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No

Waste of time and Money

published

I got a new iPad Pro to use while traveling for work. It does not connect to external hardrives, DVD players and does not even have a spot to connect my headphones. I will not be buying anything so useless again.

Purchased in May 2020.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
bkm
bkmMelbourne
  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is the best iPad ever!

published

I use this iPad for design and documenting. It is faster and more efficient than the traditional iPads. All the apps work smoothly on this tablet. Graphic quality is very good.

Purchased in March 2018.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Riyana F.
Riyana F.Central Queensland, QLD

A bad Apple

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
tracey
tracey
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This tablet is great. I have had this for about 5 months and have no issues. Definitely worth buying if this is on sale. Minor differences between 2020 ipad pro and this one so don't waste your money.

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,310.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No

Other Tablets

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Candice
CandiceSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

Great buy for University!

published

Honestly the best purchase for Uni, can do everything on it and yes you can dload Microsoft word, powerpoint etc on it. ITunes university is on it and free and found lots of free courses that complimented my studies for my Masters in ERP. Light weight, large clear screen and amazing sound quality. I also bought the pen and use the tablet for art with procreate. Great value for money.

Purchased in August 2018 at Apple Online store for $1,818.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Tablets

Find out how Apple iPad Pro (3rd Generation) compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Gilly44
Gilly44asked
iPad Pro (3rd Generation) (2018)

Is the 11 inch one big enough for editing photos

2 answers
Greg N.
Greg N.

Sure, it would do the job, but the larger 12.9 iPad Pro is the preferred one to use. But the 11 in would be more than capable.

Gilly44
Gilly44

Thankyou very much

Vien T.
Vien T.asked
iPad Pro (3rd Generation) (2018)

Is it worth spending extra for cellular and 265gb? Or would 64gb wifi only be sufficient for a student or someone who already has a laptop

1 answer
Lee
Lee

Best advice is to get only 64gb WiFi. You don’t need cellular especially if you have a phone and cheaper to rent iCloud if you ever reach capacity.

Get an answer from our members

Apple iPad Pro (3rd Generation) (2018)

Details

The third generation of iPad Pro is a line of tablets by Apple. It features two models with a 12.9 inch or 11-inch screen which were announced in October of 2018.

This generation of iPad Pro was the first iPad compatible with the second-generation Apple Pencil stylus. Like the second generation, a larger size and stylus compatibility was a point of difference from the rest of Apple's available iPads, but the third-generation iPad Pro was also the first iPad to use facial recognition (Face ID) to unlock the device.

Upgrades from the second-generation iPad Pro include the more powerful A12X Bionic processor, storage capacity of up to 1 terabyte and the larger display of the 11-inch model (upgraded from a 10.5-inch model). The third-generation iPad Pro also premiered a new design, with a screen that covers the entire front face and has rounded corners.

What reviewers thought

A large screen with high-quality colour reproduction, dynamic viewing angles and excellent performance, reviewers rate the Apple iPad Pro 3rd gen as having great video quality and ease of use. Users also liked the screen’s responsiveness, the long-lasting battery life and the Face ID feature.

The points of frustration include the camera quality and the RAM which doesn’t allow you to run intensive apps as smoothly. It is not very durable as the screen is prone to scratches and cracks. There is also no option for expandable storage as there is no USB ports or headphone jack.

Compare all 16 Apple iPad Pro (3rd Generation) (2018)
CategoryTabletsTabletsTabletsTablets
Price (RRP) $2,569.00$1,449.00$1,669.00$1,969.00
FeaturesStereo Speakers and Stylus (Optional Extra)Stereo Speakers and Stylus (Optional Extra)Stereo Speakers and Stylus (Optional Extra)Stereo Speakers and Stylus (Optional Extra)
Network Connectivity4G + Wi-Fi4G + Wi-Fi4G + Wi-Fi4G + Wi-Fi
Charging PortUSB-CUSB-CUSB-CUSB-C
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Display
Pixel Density264 ppi264 ppi264 ppi264 ppi
Display TechnologyIPS LCDIPS LCDIPS LCDIPS LCD
Screen Size 11"11"11"11"
Screen Resolution1668 x 2388 pixels1668 x 2388 pixels1668 x 2388 pixels1668 x 2388 pixels
Hardware
Battery Size7,812 mAh7,812 mAh7,812 mAh7,812 mAh
Internal Storage1,024 GB64 GB256 GB512 GB
Memory (RAM)6 GB4 GB4 GB4 GB
Build
Weight468 g468 g468 g468 g
Colour / FinishSilver or Space GreySilver or Space GreySilver or Space GreySilver or Space Grey
Dimensions 247.6 x 178.5 x 5.9 mm247.6 x 178.5 x 5.9 mm247.6 x 178.5 x 5.9 mm247.6 x 178.5 x 5.9 mm
Body MaterialAluminiumAluminiumAluminiumAluminium
Release dateNov 2018Nov 2018Nov 2018Nov 2018
Replaced byApple iPad Pro (4th Gen)Apple iPad Pro (4th Gen)Apple iPad Pro (4th Gen)Apple iPad Pro (4th Gen)
Compare all 16 Apple iPad Pro (3rd Generation) (2018)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.