??!
3 photos
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch

Apple MacBook Air 13-inch

2015 Early, 2017, 2016 Early, etc...
4.0 from 148 reviews

See the Best Laptops in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
73
4 star
42
3 star
7
2 star
9
1 star
17

Did not last a year

published

I . write this with a heavy heart, as I'm a huge Mac fan. Early 2019, I purchased the Macbook Air 2018 model. Within a month, I could hear the fan going into turbo mode - didn't matter whether I was just running safari or Adobe products... Then in the past two months, the keyboard has become faulty - throwing in random fullstops, and sometimes failing altogether.
Dealing with Apple Support was tedious - multiple attempts of contacting them, getting bounced between operators.
Thankfully, as this was purchased through the QANTAS store, they have been awesome, and are refunding us completely. It absolutely makes me hesitant to purchase another one... if I do, I'll definitely be buying Apple Care!

Purchased in January 2019 at Qantas Frequent Flyer for $1,800.00.


Absolute Trash (Not just for me)

published

Purchased in January 2019.

jane

janeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Apple pro laptop rubbish product

published

Apple pro laptop 2015 motherboard ( login board) need replacement.And it is very expensive.You pay a lot of money for this product (over $2000 to $6000) and quality is simply not there. after 4 years you facing expensive login board replacement or To buy a new laptop.Dont buy Apple product the are expensive rubbish quality, you just pay a lot of money for a name but not for good quality products!

Purchased in May 2015.

macropod

macropodPerth, WA

Rav4 2018

published

Very smooth drive and fantastic fuel economy. Power a little less compared to other SUV's but if you push it hard it gets up very nicely. . Seating comfortable and visibility really good. Overall ,very well built and love driving it.

Purchased in February 2018 at Toyota for $31,999.00.


Nathan V.

Nathan V.Sydney, NSW

  • 17 reviews

The Mac that keeps you on top of everything

published

I'm an android user when it comes to my phone [wont go back to apple] but when it comes the computer I'm comfortable in using the Apple MacBook Air 13 inch 2018.

The MacBook Air is one of those laptops that is modern, sleek and cool all in the one. Love the fact that there literally no waiting time when logging into the system, high level of security which makes you feel protected, sound quality is up to perfection, visuals are second to none & connectivity to other systems i.e. sound system connects instantly.

The MacBook Air is pricey but what laptop/computer isn't.

Overall I think the MacBook Air is for all users whether its for business or personal use.

I don't think i'll ever go back to an Android laptop/PC anytime soon :)

Purchased in January 2018 at Apple Store Australia for $2,100.00.


Sam

SamMid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Love it

published

I love my macbook mainly because it links to my other apple devices so it’s super convenient , I’m not very tech savvy though so I find navigating it for applications I don’t use on a regular can be a bit confusing - especially growing up using windows programs , however I feel that the more I use it the easier it becomes . Even though it’s thin it’s durable and battery life is great

Purchased in November 2018 at Radio Rentals.


LouC

LouC

  • 3 reviews

Awesome laptop

published

I love Apple products & this device lives up to all me expectations. I initially went to Officeworks to buy the Macbook Air but they dont have any in stock (order in only) as I live out of town I went to JB HiFi, the fabulous staff price matched for me. I love the ease of the navigation & producing documents. Its a really good size, not heavy or bulky.

Purchased in July 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,294.00.


Jess P.

Jess P.

  • 2 reviews

An upgrade that changed my life!

published

This lightweight and durable laptop is a game changer for myself and my homeschooled children.
Easy to use and reliable. We couldn’t be happier.
I myself can’t fault this laptop. From surfing the web, watching videos to keeping our family photos in order and not to mention our music! And much, much much, more. It’s all at your finger tips with this amazing product!

Purchased in January 2019 at Radio Rentals.

Susan

SusanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Superb

published

This Apple Mac air is a few a great size to take anywhere. Fits in my handbag no problem. Easy and light weight.This was my first Mac so took a bit of getting use to. But wouldn't be without it now.love how the keys are lit up so easy to see when the light is dim

Purchased in May 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,300.00.

Destiny

DestinyAscot Park

  • 7 reviews

Affordable electronic

published

Laptop was a good price on eBay and very happy I purchased it, although it is an older model it still does what I need it to with no issues.
Love the slick look to the laptop.

Purchased in April 2019 at eBay for $320.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


xign123

xign123Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Solid mate

published

This laptop has lasted me three full years of highschool due to its metal frame. I have dropped it multiple times and the worst damage it has received is a small dent in bottom corner next to the charging port. Bit pricy for the performance but worth it if you want a laptop that will last you a while.

Purchased in April 2016.


Eric

EricMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

Love it

published

This is a bit of a god tier laptop, it is light but a bit of a brick sometimes because when watching video it is light but I have iMessage so all good. Fans are quiet and that's good

Purchased in February 2018 at Ebay for $1,100.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Sydney Customer

Sydney CustomerSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

An essential tool suitable for everyday use!

published

I received this product as a gift from a relative, and it has met all my needs. So far every electronic device that I own is Apple. Haven't had a problem with them. The features provided quality educational and entertaining tools. This product has a maximum of 12 hours running time on a full charge. I wasn't sure about the price but it must be definitely worth it! This product certainly passed my standards by far!

Purchased in December 2017.


Andrew K.

Andrew K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Still going strong!

published

I bought a MacBook Air back in early 2012 (Mid 2011 model), and just love it. It has worked tirelessly for the last 7 years. I opted for the upgraded I7 processor and 256 SSD. Have recently replaced the battery as it was bound to eventually die. That was easy and now it feels like a new computer again. Yes its an older computer and isn spec'd to the latest technology, but as a regular computer used for home and occasionally work it does everything I need it to.

Purchased in January 2012 for $1,700.00.

Mary Smith

Mary SmithSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Love it

published

It is so easy to carry around as I am a mum of 4 kids I don’t need to be carring a thick and heavy laptop around when I have to juggle my kids at the same time.. very good apps and amazing quality have not had a problem with it!!

Purchased in July 2018 at Apple Store Australia.

Pretty sweet

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Tye McLeish

Tye McLeishPerth

  • 2 reviews

Great computer, but the keyboard...

published

The MacBook air is great and is a huge upgrade on the previous model. It is fast, compact and crystal clear graphics. The only issue is the keys on the keyboard are continuously getting stuck down and you are forced to remove the key to fix this. Other then this, the computer is great!

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Bec B

Bec BAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it!

published

Love my MacBook Air, it is sleek, light, fast and does the job. I mostly surf the web, stream music and videos so is perfect for my purpose. Battery lasts a very long time and I love being able to use the Bluetooth on my laptop to connect to my Bose speaker. The only downside so far is that there is no standard USB port, you need to buy an adaptor which I didn't realise before I purchased it. It is a bit of an inconvenience but not a deal breaker. My last Macbook Air lasted over 7 years with barely an issue so I'm hoping this one does the same!

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Neil

NeilChristchurch

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Lightweight Laptop

published

Unless you need very high processor speed or a very large screen these laptops are an excellent choice. I've had one or two of these before and I've liked them all. They are slightly prone to screen failures if badly knocked or you just have some random bad luck. But there's nothing better for web-surfing, travel and communication. For some people an iPad might be a more portable choice but if you're tossing up between the two, bear in mind that the Macbook Air has a built-in keyboard (so you don't need to buy one) and it sits upright at a suitable angle for viewing without the need for a stand or cover. It's also got the CF card reader and USB port built in. It charges very fast and the battery keeps it going for hours.

Date PurchasedMar 2015

Awful Camera resolution: Apple

published

I myself have bought this device when it was released and can confirm that the camera is by far the worst resolution in the history of cameras on laptops. I have exchanged it for another device however the quality remains the same. This goes for any Macbook Air 2018 device I have tested in store (on display).

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Ace

Aceasked

Does this device have mini display port?

2 answers
Matt S
Matt S

Yep, mine does (mid 2013 model).

AngryAussie
AngryAussie

Yes the thunder port can also be used as a mini display port.


curiosrose

curiosroseasked

How does the Macbook Air's cope with editing softwares and loads of footage? im a media student and been suggested to get a Macbook air/pro but how convient is this mac towards what is needed of me?As well as the maintance of this product?

2 answers
MrConsumer
MrConsumer

Hi, based on the info provided I would recommend the pro over the air. The air was not designed to handle that kind of application.

SRJSyd
SRJSyd

The Air is powerful enough to run Final Cut Pro X - but it depends on how complex your movie is - the Pro has better graphics and faster processors. I use my Air (1.7Ghx Intel Core i7, Intel HD Graphics 5000, with 8Gb Ram and 500Gb SSD) to do imports and rough edits when I am in the field and transfer to a Mac Pro for the heavy duty work when I get home. Its a LOT cheaper than the Mac Pro...


Howard4680

Howard4680asked

Will it go on the internet with a sim card same as i pad?

2 answers
Tweetybaby
Tweetybaby

You can connect to the Internet through WIFI but cannot do so with a Sim card.

MrConsumer
MrConsumer

No not the same as the ipad, the next best solution is to purchase a 3g hotspot or USB dongle


Get an answer from our members and Apple representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.