2 photos
Apple TV 4K
3.8 from 85 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Networked Media Players in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Apple? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Kylie F
Kylie FSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Android TV Set-up A Hugh Waste of Time

published

I took a look at what's on offer on Apple TV and liked what I saw. Already had the app on my Smart TV so I thought I would give it a try. Setting up is very difficult compared to other streaming services. Had to create Apple ID, so I did. I then had to create a payment method. Then tried to log in and was then advised that I also needed an ITunes account. It's a wonder they didn't want me to buy an Apple Mac as well! Decided to give up and deleted my Apple ID. Then gave Paramount Plus a go. Extremely easy to set up and lots of good movies and shows. AVOID APPLE TV, IT IS AN ABSOLUTE JOKE!

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BargainBoy
BargainBoyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 23 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great Streaming Box. Not a big upgrade on previous version

published

Great for streaming. The remote gas been improved from previous versions. It has a comprehensive app store to install apps from. Very little is free most you pay for. The sound output is true surround. Build quality great. Best suited for iPhone users. I had an older 2nd gen version and this is a big upgrade.

Purchased in December 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $219.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
gnmaier
gnmaier
  • 27 reviews
  • 8 likes

Android based users save yourself some pain...avoid

published

It is not enough to create an AppleID to use the AppleTV app. You need to navigate their two step authentication. A very unfruitful process. Even Apple's phone support were unable to resolve that issue.
So create a new AppleID and try with that. Nope. That's not enough you need an Itunes account as well.
Apple couldn't make it harder for a non-Apple ecosystem user. Not worth the effort. Give AppleTV app a miss.

Purchased in December 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ron
ron
  • 13 reviews
  • 9 likes

buy if cheap

published

hardware is ok - software is apple which means lots of apple ecosystem issues. When it locks up its very poor at correcting itself by apple software design. Product support is poor despite advertised claims. Essentially you will end up fixing it yourself or not because the software is so poorly designed. Shield you unplug and restart when it locks up. Apple may require power cycling, hdmi cycling and network cycling. support don't ring back at agreed times and are not very knowledgeable. Android shield is easier to maintain. For a big company its at best average even when cheap. And remote is very limited and needs minimum sensitivity

Purchased in September 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Networked Media Players

Find out how Apple TV 4K compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sean M.
Sean M.Sydney, NSW

Terrible user experience via Android..Very limited free content

published

Signed up for 7 day trial..FYI, need to cancel on day 6 so sucked in for 1 month, read t and c.

Content: Limited, probably 1 to 2 months worth based on my viewing habits. Some decent tv shows. Will be on my subscribe for 1 month, switch off for 3 as shows seem weekly, then binge at once.

Android: Terrible, no app as far as I am aware or can find on Play...webpage crashes/freezes a lot.. for some reason works fine via Xbox but Android poor, expect better from an company like Apple, probably some crap trying to force you to migrate to their rip off products in my opinion.

Overall: 2, only for content, not sure how quick they update, wait and see.

Purchased in August 2021 at Apple Australia for $7.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeff
JeffGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 23 reviews
  • 19 likes

Works well

published

Upgraded from an early version and this is a step up.
Voice activation works well- just wish their were more apps but overall quite happy with the product.
The iTunes on this version works much better.

Purchased in January 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam
Sam
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I prefer this to any smart TV

published

I bought this to use on an a TV without smart functionality that was cumbersome to use. The Apple TV made it really easy to use and I love the sharp 4k image.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Dan Kost
Dan KostMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

All in one streaming box

published

Although smart tv’s come with most apps preinstalled these days. I still like the idea of them all in one place which was my main reason for purchasing the Apple TV 4K. This box has excellent streaming capabilities and the picture quality is superior to other products in the same category. It also works extremely well with mirroring and airplay from other Apple devices and allows you to link libraries of media from those other devices to the unit, which makes it handy to play music and movies through your TV and any surround system attached to my television set.

Purchased in July 2021 for $279.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
anonymous32
anonymous32Sydney, NSW
  • 40 reviews
  • 8 likes

As you can expect from apple

published

I have used all previous versions of Apple TV starting from 3rd Gen then 4th Gen HD followed by 4K first Gen…This is as good as previous variants…remote is better…apart from that no major changes in user experience…do not recommend upgrade from 4K 1st Gen…

Purchased in June 2021 for $249.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Networked Media Players

Find out how Apple TV 4K compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thestorydude
ThestorydudeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 17 reviews
  • 3 likes

Easy to use and works flawlessly

published

Simple, easy to use interface with a remote that is workable once you get used to it.

Served me well for this long and don't intending on switching anytime soon.

Call me an Apple Sheep, I don't care.

Purchased in September 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for $269.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Don't like new remote

published

Apple tv is great as per previous models but don't like the functionality of the new remote. A few other features not working properly but sure they will come right with updates but mostly issue is with remote.

Purchased in April 2021 for $299.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zed95
Zed95South East Queensland, QLD
  • 22 reviews
  • 9 likes

Simplest, most effective way into Disney+ in Australia

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Apple Store Australia for $249.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Networked Media Players

Find out how Apple TV 4K compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anna
AnnaSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The new Apple 4K TV remote control

published

I have always been a big fan of Apple TV and I recently took the plunge to buy the latest 4K Apple TV. However I am very disappointed with their remote control. The new remote control is just terrible! It’s hard to use, not user friendly at all and just frustrating and I just wish they used the older Apple TV remote control which was so much easier to use. I won’t buy another Apple TV unless they fix their remote control issue.

Purchased in January 2021 at Apple Online store for $200.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
seanudal
seanudalWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 34 reviews
  • 26 likes

Previous models were much better quality

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Officeworks for $264.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
kim f.
kim f.
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lazy cheap technology User UNFRIENDLY!

published

Purchased in March 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $209.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Black Thumb Down
Black Thumb Downasked
TV 4K

I purchased the Apple 4K TV (23/03/20) specifically to get KAYO.
The Apple 4K TV cost me $249.00 & after I set it up, updated the firmware and got into the app store it lists every other app in the known universe but not KAYO. Why would this be happening?

2 answers
Mortishia
Mortishia
Black Thumb Down
Black Thumb Down
Rocky road
Rocky roadasked
TV 4K

do I need to buy a 4k Apple TV for the Apple TV

1 answer
Thestorydude
Thestorydude

You can purchase the New Apple TV remote offered separately, but it comes with one. It's the one with the trackpad - the one that most people on here are aimlessly complaining about.

christine easton
christine eastonasked
TV 4K

do you have to buy all content on the apple tv can you get sports from australia on it

1 answer
anonymous32
anonymous32

If you have heard about kayo...that’s an excellent option to enjoy Australian sports content...Apple TV has Kayo app and it offers the most brilliant sports experience if your internet is good

See all Apple TV 4K questions

Get an answer from our members

Apple TV 4K

Details

Compare both Apple TV 4K
CategoryNetworked Media PlayersNetworked Media Players
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateSept 2017May 2021
Replaced byApple TV 4K 2nd Generation (2021)
Compare both Apple TV 4K
Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 190198463968
  • MPN: MQD22X/A

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.