??!
3 photos
AquaMAX G390SS

AquaMAX G390SS

2.6 from 38 reviews

Had since 1998just stop working never run out of hot water thanks heaps

Come out very hot so use on low setting save heaps of gas all ways had hot water just keep going and going out side unit didn't get much rust and could be happier with it lasted more then the normal 10 years and save me money thanks so much

Date PurchasedJan 1998

We made a good choice with this one!

Our gravity fed unit went to heaven and this was a quick not researched at all purchase, but I think it wasn’t a bad choice! The tank is quite big and only run out if we do 4 consecutive decent time length showers (think 10 mins each, the kids sometimes more?!) we have had it for 6 years now and had to replace the overflow valve twice now which isn’t great at about $150 a time (luckily our plumber is a neighbour and skips the call out fee!) but aside from that it’s been great, a bit of a set and forget, if the overflow valve would just behave then I would’ve given it 5 stars.

Date PurchasedMay 2012

Poor product quality. Poor service. Unable to contact any one responsible other than telephone opera

Gas Water heater model G270SS installed Dec 2016 and has started giving trouble from Feb 2018, just 1 year + 2 months. The flame goes off every 6 days and needed to re-ignite repeatedly. Sent an online request before Easter holidays, but no one responded. It required call from the installer and another call to the manufacturer. Requested to put my call through to the MD but was given the typical reason that he is in a meeting. It looks like I have to pay through my nose to fix. Hoping that the Technician will come 11-April-18 and waiting to see how he handle this. Product has Watermark certification issued by SAI Global but appears they have faulty component. Certified to AS3498 and bearing SAIGlobal mark No-WMKA00200. Previously owned Rheem heater without any problem for 10years. Now a days Quality is down the drain. I am a pensioner and finding it a heavy burden to pay for additional running cost. I will not buy this Brand any more.
Share

Date PurchasedDec 2016

2012

We bought this 11/2012 and was a replacement for a 250L off peak elec. the previous was a good brand but I will never go back.
I don’t know how long they are supposed to last but I will always replace with one of these systems.
We have it set on 2 and that’s more than enough for usZ we have reasonable showers, with the old style ‘use a lot of water’ heads. When it runs out after FULL use on those for about 7 mins full on it takes about three minutes to sort the next long shower. Of course not everyone uses water like we do.
Amazing. Wouldn’t be great for a big fam but then there are bigger systems. And we have. Big house.
I recommend this. Truly, especially if just three people who stagger nice long and hot showers. Best in vestment ever for us.
Will never go back to electric.

Date PurchasedNov 2012

Excellent solid product with good performance

We have the G290SS and haven't had any of the problems documented by others here. It's an excellent solid unit and so much better than the Bosch on-demand system it replaces. The controls are easy to use and while we don't have long showers, it hasn't run out as yet even when the washing machine is running too.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
A year down the track and it's still working perfectly.

I have Installed 1'000s with very HAPPY customers!!

Fantastic system, all these issues with faulty thermostats & thermocouples can happen to any gas storage hot water unit. Having a stainless steel tank this should last over 20 years. People FORGET that these systems should be serviced at minimum once every 2 years to avoid half these issues people keep complaining about.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

After 14 months major failures

Unit warranty not worth a crumpet. Pilot kept going out plumber replaces gas regulator twice and thermocouple at a cost of $350. The unit is only 16 months old. Buyer be ware very poor product quality to fail so quick. I took advice from plumber originally so he discounted the repair price, but should have gone with the Rinnai my original choice.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Totally useless

This hot water service konks out every month. Have to get plumber in to re-light. Should be replaced with a better HWS. Trouble from the first week I bought it. Feel cheated. My gas bill has gone up since I bought it. It is still under warranty but the plumber still says nothing.
Would you please tell me how to change my profile picture, I didn't choose it.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Choose another brand.

Had a couple minor issues over the years now just under 4 years old and gas controller is busted. Will cost $500+ to replace. Will be installing a new heater of a different brand, not worth the hassle or risk of it happening again in a couple of years. 12 month warranty on such critical and expensive parts isn't worth anything.

Date PurchasedMar 2013

Great unit

I am a plumber of 42 years and installed over 500 aquamax 390 . They are the best gas hws on the market ! In that time l have only had problems twice ! These other reviews are complete crap ! I recommend these units a 100 percent ! And buy the way l do not work for this company , but reading these reviews make me mad !

Date PurchasedMay 1999

Don't buy Aquamax !!!!!!!!

I have a Aquamax 250L electric hot water heater, it is a peace of crap! I have had to replace the heating element in it 3 times since buying it not even 3 years ago and now I've just gotten home to no hot water again , Do yourself a favour and stay away from these unreliable pieces of crap !

Date PurchasedNov 2013

This unit sucks! DO NOT BUY! Expect Problems!

installed may-2014. already i'm having issues. pilot goes out every few days. seems the burner is stuffed! customer service is via rheem and they don't want to help at all. they insist that 12mth warranty is suffice and will charge you for parts and labour. seems like they know these things don't last hence the crappy warranty slapped on them.

when I bought the unit, was also told that it was the "rolls Royce" of all hot water units.... if my rolls Royce proke down like this after 2 years i'd want my money back!!!!!!

either way... do not buy this! totally misleading!

Date PurchasedMay 2014

Expect Problems

We installed an Aquamax G390SS in December 2012. We were starting to have problems with our old system and I was working away a lot with a young family. I was recommended this one as it was the Rolls Royce of water heaters that would give us no problems. Anyway it was time for Saturday morning showers , no hot water. Checked the pilot light and it was out. Relit and then it went out again. Called Rheem and they advised that unless it was the cylcinder it would not be covered by the warranty. I organised a local plumber to come and see if it was a gas issue. His first comment was urgh an Aquamax. He ulled the burner out to find that it was full of water which was coming from the tank. Nothing he could do as it should be a warranty claim. After speaking with Rheem again they advised that they would need to organise their agent to look at the system toconfirm it was a warranty claim. They gave me the contact details for their agent whom I made contact with and they advised that they were replacing a lot of these systems after 3-5years as the water in the area was not agreeing with the welds. They also advised that they would strongly recommend an enamel vitrous unit which they could replace this one out under warranty with.

Date PurchasedDec 2012

Aquamax 390ss - very disappointing

We bought an Aquamax 390ss about 18 months ago and it's performance has been very poor. Won't survive a shower from one of my kids (who do spend too long in the shower). But even 2 x shorter showers from adults and it runs cold. We had a Vulcan for 22 years and never once ran out of hot water. From what I was told by so called experts at Tradelink, this was the best on the market. We have paid 3 x separate plumbers to set the temperature on this because we thought we were doing something wrong- but no improvement. I had no success talking to anyone at Aquamax, so I emailed my concerns finally got a call a week later, but from a receptionist I believe, who didn't seem to know too much, but said I could have a serviceman come out and have a look at it for a cost of around $170. Rather than throw more money at this I passed. Having had to endure more cold showers and my wife having no hot water in the kitchen. I think we need to get something else that works properly. I note Aquamax have taken this off the market_- no wonder!

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

unsatisfactory, does not meet expatations

The AquaMAX 390SS supplies hot water to only one outlet simultaneously, the shower goes cold should any other tap is turned on. The manufacturer advised me that the supply line to the unit should 3/4" instead of 1/2" but the plumber disagrees. So we just have to put up with the inconvenience and ensure that do not do any washing whilst the shower is in use. Purchased and installed October 2015.

Date PurchasedOct 2015

Aqua Max Tech was rubbish

Installed an Aqua Max 205 (outside unit) 12 years ago. Needed to call the service technician out 1 week after installation as pilot light would not stay lit. No issues with the unit till 3 weeks ago. Pilot light went out, cold shower. Relighted pilot light. One week later cold water again. Called Aqua Max service. Tech. attended. Adjusted gas pressures and cleaned a few things. That cost me $170.00. Two days latter cold water again. Tech. returns and replaces control valve. $204.00 thank you very much. Four days latter cold water again. Different Tech. attends. I'm not home this time and he says to the wife he can't do anything even though everything has been replaced, but Aqua Max will sell you a new unit for $1,277.00. I return home and I say to wife 'nonsense'. I'll sort out Aqua Max tomorrow. Now come on. Gas hot water units are very basic bits of technology so don't try and tell me that if all the hardware except the main burner, the storage tank, insulation and the external skin has been replaced then it won't work. Rubbish!!!

December 5th 2018 Update: Mad As Hell Part 2

This is an update of what transpired after I contacted Aqua Max service once again and spoke to the service manager.

Installed an Aqua Max 205 (outside unit) 12 years ago. Needed to call the service technician out 1 week after installation as pilot light would not stay lit. No issues with the unit till 3 weeks ago. Pilot light went out, cold shower. Relighted pilot light. One week later cold water again. Called Aqua Max service. Tech. attended. Adjusted gas pressures and cleaned a few things. That cost me $170.00. Two days latter cold water again. Tech. returns and replaces control valve. $204.00 thank you very much. Four days latter cold water again. Different Tech. attends. I'm not home this time and he says to the wife he can't do anything even though everything has been replaced, but Aqua Max will sell you a new unit for $1,277.00. I return home and I say to wife 'nonsense'. I'll sort out Aqua Max tomorrow. Now come on. Gas hot water units are very basic bits of technology so don't try and tell me that if all the hardware except the main burner, the storage tank, insulation and the external skin has been replaced then it won't work. Rubbish!!!

So I spoke to the service manager and I provide all the details to him and added that the service technicians that came out to repair my hot water service had replaced/serviced all the components that are required to heat water. ie control valve and cleaned burners and pilot lights. What they didn't do was replace the thermocouple. Service manager arranged for a technician to replace the thermocouple on my hot water service. It is now December 2018 and touch wood all is working fine.


Do Not Buy Aquamax G390SS

My Aquamax G390SS was installed in Oct 2014.
Since then the pilot light had gone out several times. At first , I was able to re-light the pilot light and get it going for a few months.
Lately the flame had been going out every few days.
Called the local plumber who came and checked gas pressure , etc.
He said my gas pressure is too low and that I have to call the Gas Supplier to change the gas regulator at the gas meter.
Gas Supplier came and changed the gas regulator and lighted my Aquamax. Two days later , no hot water. Flame had gone out again.
Aquamax G390SS is a DUDE!!!
My previous Vulcan lasted for 14 years with no problems.


Cheapest price

My old one use more than 10 years, I look same name hot water system for my family that hope last looger.


AquaMax 135 - Do Not Purchase!!

Today i farewelled my aquamax 135 hot water system.
I shed a tear as i said goodbye as it was with me for only 6 years!!!
I would never recommend this brand to anyone.
When i called aquamax service, the woman spoke over the top of me and when i said "i am the customer", she hung up on me.
After 5 phone calls, i finally got through to the service manager, noel. After explaining the hot water system was only 6 years old and leaking, he so generously offered me a 20% discount on a new hws.
He made a point to say that plumbers would get very angry should they know this discount was offered to me.
One phone call to an independent plumber and he bettered noel's discount - what a joke!!!
Needless to say, the plumber got the job and i no longer have an aquamax!
Steer clear people!!


Follow up service is terrible!

The unit was purchased 18 months ago with no issues and worked well to our expectations. After smelling gas leak late one evening, I was eventually advised by gas authority workers that the hot water service was faulty and had to be disconnected. I contacted Aquamax service department regarding repair and was advised that the item was no longer under warranty as the 10 year warranty was on the 'drum' only. They offered to repair/replace the faulty part for $600 plus labour. I contacted RACV Emergency Home Assist who advised that they could replace the part for around the same price, but that I had a claim under VCAT as this part was faulty, not damaged or affected by 'wear and tear'. I therefore contacted the Aquamax again to advise that I was submitting a claim under VCAT and had a written report from a qualified gas plumber stating the unit was faulty and illegal to use. I had a call back within the hour from the Aquamax stating they were prepared to fix the unit - I had it replaced and working by the end of that day.
Unit worked well to our expectations prior to this incident.
Disgraceful that you have to threaten with VCAT to get reasonable service and/or repairs under their warranty.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Hi, My Aquamax 205 burner stays on heating the water non stop so the relief valve keeps discharge hot water every 1-2hrs. how do i fix this? (relief valve already replaced)
No answers

which pressure relief valve is required for an Aquamax G390SS?
1 answer
I discovered it was 1400Kpa

Pilot lamp goes off often, why this happening?
2 answers
Hi Gerard, It could be one of a few things. Most common is a faulty gas control (thermostat) or a faulty thermocouple. Pretty simple fix.I replaced the thermocouple it's okay now Very easy,plumber ask $385 ,cost me only $20

Details

G390SS
Release dateApr 2007
Visit official website

Similar listings