??!
3 photos
AquaMAX G390SS

AquaMAX G390SS

2.6 from 38 reviews

See the Best Gas Storage in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
20

Had since 1998just stop working never run out of hot water thanks heaps

published

Come out very hot so use on low setting save heaps of gas all ways had hot water just keep going and going out side unit didn't get much rust and could be happier with it lasted more then the normal 10 years and save me money thanks so much

Date PurchasedJan 1998

NikkiBikkie

NikkiBikkieMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

We made a good choice with this one!

published

Our gravity fed unit went to heaven and this was a quick not researched at all purchase, but I think it wasn’t a bad choice! The tank is quite big and only run out if we do 4 consecutive decent time length showers (think 10 mins each, the kids sometimes more?!) we have had it for 6 years now and had to replace the overflow valve twice now which isn’t great at about $150 a time (luckily our plumber is a neighbour and skips the call out fee!) but aside from that it’s been great, a bit of a set and forget, if the overflow valve would just behave then I would’ve given it 5 stars.

Date PurchasedMay 2012

  • Verified purchase

Poor product quality. Poor service. Unable to contact any one responsible other than telephone opera

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
  • Verified purchase

2012

published
Date PurchasedNov 2012

PaulS

PaulSSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 55 reviews
  • 34 likes

Excellent solid product with good performance

published

We have the G290SS and haven't had any of the problems documented by others here. It's an excellent solid unit and so much better than the Bosch on-demand system it replaces. The controls are easy to use and while we don't have long showers, it hasn't run out as yet even when the washing machine is running too.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
PaulS
PaulS

A year down the track and it's still working perfectly.


I have Installed 1'000s with very HAPPY customers!!

published

Fantastic system, all these issues with faulty thermostats & thermocouples can happen to any gas storage hot water unit. Having a stainless steel tank this should last over 20 years. People FORGET that these systems should be serviced at minimum once every 2 years to avoid half these issues people keep complaining about.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

After 14 months major failures

published

Unit warranty not worth a crumpet. Pilot kept going out plumber replaces gas regulator twice and thermocouple at a cost of $350. The unit is only 16 months old. Buyer be ware very poor product quality to fail so quick. I took advice from plumber originally so he discounted the repair price, but should have gone with the Rinnai my original choice.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Floss

Floss

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Totally useless

published

This hot water service konks out every month. Have to get plumber in to re-light. Should be replaced with a better HWS. Trouble from the first week I bought it. Feel cheated. My gas bill has gone up since I bought it. It is still under warranty but the plumber still says nothing.
Would you please tell me how to change my profile picture, I didn't choose it.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Choose another brand.

published

Had a couple minor issues over the years now just under 4 years old and gas controller is busted. Will cost $500+ to replace. Will be installing a new heater of a different brand, not worth the hassle or risk of it happening again in a couple of years. 12 month warranty on such critical and expensive parts isn't worth anything.

Date PurchasedMar 2013
lance

lance

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great unit

published

I am a plumber of 42 years and installed over 500 aquamax 390 . They are the best gas hws on the market ! In that time l have only had problems twice ! These other reviews are complete crap ! I recommend these units a 100 percent ! And buy the way l do not work for this company , but reading these reviews make me mad !

Date PurchasedMay 1999

Don't buy Aquamax !!!!!!!!

published

I have a Aquamax 250L electric hot water heater, it is a peace of crap! I have had to replace the heating element in it 3 times since buying it not even 3 years ago and now I've just gotten home to no hot water again , Do yourself a favour and stay away from these unreliable pieces of crap !

Date PurchasedNov 2013

khuongy

khuongyAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

This unit sucks! DO NOT BUY! Expect Problems!

published

installed may-2014. already i'm having issues. pilot goes out every few days. seems the burner is stuffed! customer service is via rheem and they don't want to help at all. they insist that 12mth warranty is suffice and will charge you for parts and labour. seems like they know these things don't last hence the crappy warranty slapped on them.

when I bought the unit, was also told that it was the "rolls Royce" of all hot water units.... if my rolls Royce proke down like this after 2 years i'd want my money back!!!!!!

either way... do not buy this! totally misleading!

Date PurchasedMay 2014

Oliver82

Oliver82Perth, Western Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Expect Problems

published
Date PurchasedDec 2012

Aquamax 390ss - very disappointing

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

unsatisfactory, does not meet expatations

published

The AquaMAX 390SS supplies hot water to only one outlet simultaneously, the shower goes cold should any other tap is turned on. The manufacturer advised me that the supply line to the unit should 3/4" instead of 1/2" but the plumber disagrees. So we just have to put up with the inconvenience and ensure that do not do any washing whilst the shower is in use. Purchased and installed October 2015.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
Mad As Hell

Mad As HellGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Aqua Max Tech was rubbish

published

Do Not Buy Aquamax G390SS

published

My Aquamax G390SS was installed in Oct 2014.
Since then the pilot light had gone out several times. At first , I was able to re-light the pilot light and get it going for a few months.
Lately the flame had been going out every few days.
Called the local plumber who came and checked gas pressure , etc.
He said my gas pressure is too low and that I have to call the Gas Supplier to change the gas regulator at the gas meter.
Gas Supplier came and changed the gas regulator and lighted my Aquamax. Two days later , no hot water. Flame had gone out again.
Aquamax G390SS is a DUDE!!!
My previous Vulcan lasted for 14 years with no problems.


Cheapest price

published

My old one use more than 10 years, I look same name hot water system for my family that hope last looger.


AquaMax 135 - Do Not Purchase!!

published

LMarr

LMarrVictoria, 3752

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Follow up service is terrible!

published

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Fly M.

Fly M.asked

Hi, My Aquamax 205 burner stays on heating the water non stop so the relief valve keeps discharge hot water every 1-2hrs. how do i fix this? (relief valve already replaced)

No answers

Dom

Domasked

which pressure relief valve is required for an Aquamax G390SS?

1 answer
Dom
Dom

I discovered it was 1400Kpa


Gerard

Gerardasked

Pilot lamp goes off often, why this happening?

2 answers
Nathan
Nathan

Hi Gerard, It could be one of a few things. Most common is a faulty gas control (thermostat) or a faulty thermocouple. Pretty simple fix.

Gerard
Gerard

I replaced the thermocouple it's okay now
Very easy,plumber ask $385 ,cost me only $20


Get an answer from our members and AquaMAX representatives

Details

CategoryGas Storage
Release dateApr 2007

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.