??!
2 photos
AS-Motor AS 940 Sherpa 4WD

AS-Motor AS 940 Sherpa 4WD

MPN: AS940
4.9 from 18 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.9

18 reviews
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (5)
  • Product is used
  • Hill / Slope Performance
    5.0 (5)
  • Safety
    4.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (5)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.6 (5)
  • Turning
    4.4 (5)
Previous
Next
Steve T.

Steve T.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

AS940 Sherpa

published

Had the AS940 for a year and covered 50hrs. Have slopes of 26 degrees in parts and this mower deals with it no problem. About to have its 50hr service with no issues to report. Bought the mower from Valley Pumps in East Gippsland who were extremely helpful. Was able to try one on their land before purchasing which convinced me that it was the right product for me

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

AS Motor Sherpa 940 4WD Is Capable

published

Borrowed and tested neighbors’ Grillo and Razorback 4WD (AWD), finally decided to purchase AS Motor Sherpa 940 4WD, My property is quite hilly, have been using Greenfield MKII with diff lock in the past two decades, struggling on certain areas... this Sherpa 940 is capable to cut blackberries and small tee trees on the hills, and thick/tough grass in muddy areas behind leaking dams... very satisfied with its outstanding manufacturing quality!

Purchased in November 2020 for A$18,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is usedWeekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Russell

RussellSouth East Queensland, QLD

Unbelievable machine

published

I purchased my Sherpa from Steep Terrain Mowing and Slashing and Glen supplied very good and informative service. He came to my property and gave me a demonstration of the Sherpa AS940 XL and after that demo I was sold on how good the machine really is. Just coming up to 40hrs of operation and cant fault the machine. I've got some pretty steep terrain that hadn't been cut for several years and the Sherpa handled it without any issues at all. Would recommend to anyone wanting a 4WD machine.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how AS-Motor AS 940 Sherpa 4WD compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nige

NigeRichmond-Tweed, NSW

2yrs on Good but with issues - Part 2

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Chincogan Mowers and Small Engines Mullumbimby for A$17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers
Ash F

Ash FWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Incredible machine

published

We purchased our Sherpa from Glen at Steep Terrain mowing and slashing, First of Glens customer service is the best I've experienced in a long time. Secondly this machine is almost unstoppable From thick Green grass over one meter tall to lantana bushes twice the size of the mower it eats it all with out hesitation. Our property is very very step and the Sherpa continues to surprise us in its ability's which we are pushing to the limit! We have rolled the machine twice on incredibly steep areas both times with out a scratch on us or the robust machine all we had to do was roll it upright fire it up and away it goes again.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers
Wes R

Wes RSouth East Queensland, QLD

Oh what a feeling

published

My Sherpa AS 940 XL has only done 27 hours but i am amazed at what it will do. I live on a very undulating 40 acre property that has not been slashed in over 2 years and this machine is doing a unbelieveable job, i keep driving it into thicker and thicker growth and wondering what will stop it, have stalled it a couple of times on very large thick clumps of tall grass but that was me just going too fast. I thing it is an awesome machine.
I live at Delaneys Creek QLD and our local Sherpa dealer Glen Stewart Just lives up the road how convenient, i found Glen to be very Honest and Trustworthly

Date PurchasedNov 2018

When the going gets tough - call a Sherpa!

published

Our Sherpa 940 XL has done about 70 hours of work now, in tough conditions. It is a genuine workhorse, which doesn't take a backwards step. All steel construction - no plastic. The Sherpa feels safe and comfortable on our steep terrain (Mt Mee, Qld). We are very happy to recommend the service, reliability and courtesy of local Sherpa dealer Glen Stewart of Delaneys Creek Qld.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Scottiemc

ScottiemcNSW, 2484

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

What a workhorse!

published

I have only had my Sherpa for about 12 hours of mowing time at this point but I am so impressed with it's grunt and ability to handle steep terrain. We have a hilly 5 acre property that my greenfield just wasn't up too. I needed something safer that could handle the extreme contours of the property. I looked at grillo's and razorbacks but feel I have definitely made the right decision with this workhorse. It's a little slower than I expected, rated at 6.2 km/h but feels slower...BUT, I certainly feel very safe heading up a steep slope, not a hiccup in power as it grinds its way forward. It also does a pretty good cutting job on the better couch lawn around the house pad. I can highly recommend this for hilly, steep properties.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Scottiemc
Scottiemc
Andrew R

Andrew RNE TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Too Good to be True

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how AS-Motor AS 940 Sherpa 4WD compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hardyards mowing

Hardyards mowingtewantin

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Hardyards Allterrain Mowing.

published

This mower is the ultimate of mowers goes anywhere never had an issue i mow acerage with it in sunshine coast hinterland. Im a contractor get some difficult uards check my facebook page pics. Fuel usasged is good prompt parts from interstate. Goes into areas that you cant walk inn some cases. The machine carves up saspplings best for small areas upto r4 acres.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
NEdwards

NEdwardsYarra Valley

Safe, reliable and powerful

published
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Climb Every Mountain

published

The Sherpa is versatile and resilient and is still behaving like a beast after two years of hard labour on steep terrain. This machine continues to be an indispensable asset in the maintenance of a property with difficult to access areas. Will go places no tractor would dare. Excellent after sale service provided by Reg from Valley Pumps and Irrigation Systems.

Andrew and Michelle Sinc

Andrew and Michelle SincKin Kin

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

If it's steep you want this

published

Sherpa 940 - 2 years on

published
1 comment
Joe3131
Joe3131

AS is A1!

published

Just had the first 50-hour service from Brad Fox at Fox1 Machinery at Samford in Queensland. Very impressed with the "Sherpa" and so too is my wife who would not let me buy 4WD tractor or any other ride-on we looked at - all of them! While our 12 acre block in western suburbs of Brisbane is no steeper than many others around here, we do have lots of lantana (less now) and some slopes not for the faint hearted. The orange beast, though compact in appearance, makes light work of everything. Brad and Kelly are also fantastic - nothing is too much trouble.
Compact, colour (orange), safety features, operation (ease of use), mulching (even palm fronds), German engineering, great design!

Ride-On Mowers

Find out how AS-Motor AS 940 Sherpa 4WD compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lucas E

Lucas ESouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent on steep terrain and cutting tall grass.

published
1 comment

Made for the job.

published

After mowing my steep 5 acre block with a variety of self propelled walk behind mowers for 28 years, i was stoked to find the AS 940 Sherpa. It climbs, descends and handles long grass with ease, safety and comfort. I couldn't be happier. I almost look forward to the grass growing! It's the machine i was hoping someone would make.
100% suitable for the task.

If you have a steep , rough yard or really long thick grass then this mower is for you!

published
3 comments
Chrissie75
Chrissie75

Are you able to let me know how much you paid and where you purchased this mower from?

fatcatboris57
fatcatboris57

If you click on the official website link at the top of the page you can contact them there

Joe3131
Joe3131

Have owned a Sherpa 940 since Feb 2012 - one of the first 4 into Aust. It's performance on steep slippery ground (Dandenong Ranges) is A1. Excellent design and built like a tank to be non stoppable. Will write a full review soon

Questions & Answers

Michael S.

Michael S.asked

Anyone have any experience with the 2WD (AS920) version of this?
How does it go on slopes? I see it is a lot faster than the AS940, due to being 2WD, and given our larger block of land (part flat, part 20 degree slope) I'm wondering if the 2WD model might handle the slopes, allowing me to cut everything in a shorter period of time.

2 answers
Andrew
Andrew

If the prices are not too much difference, it’s better to get 940 4WD

Nige
Nige

Michael, it probably depends on whether the slopes are all grassed or not. If it's lawn then probably and only when it's dry. You might think you want to go fast to get the job done more quickly but unless your block is smooth with no holes, rocks, tree roots etc then you really can't go that fast anyway otherwise you'll end up just digging the deck into the ground or snagging it on a tree root and potentially bending the deck supports underneath. Our block is hilly with dirt patches, small rocks, tree roots etc and only a 4WD will do and I take it pretty slow.

Sean Sellars

Sean Sellarsasked

Price on model AS940 Sherpa

No answers
Mark M.

Mark M.asked

What are they priced at

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryRide-On Mowers
Price (RRP) A$27,000.00
Zero Turn No
Power SourcePetrol
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width900 mm
Height of Cut50 mm to 105 mm
Transmission TypeHydrostatic
Horsepower22.4 hp
Max Speed6.2 km/hr
Dimensions 1520 x 980 x 1910 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton, 44 Professional Series 8, V-Twin
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement724 cc

Visit official website
  • MPN: AS940

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.