2 photos
Rover Mini Rider
4.0 from 32 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Ride-On Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Rover? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Compact, narrow design

  • Tight turning circle

  • Easy to use

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (14)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (14)
  • Product is used
  • Hill / Slope Performance
    3.3 (12)
  • Safety
    4.7 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (12)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.3 (12)
  • Turning
    4.3 (13)
Previous
Next
Didgee
DidgeeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 15 reviews
  • 15 likes

Over-regulated child's toy.

published

Would be the biggest piece of rubbish I have ever bought. When I go to start it, I have a 50/50 chance of mowing the lawns with it. So many safety features that prevent the job getting done I just throw my hands up and grab the push mower.
Just not worth the frustration and grief.

Purchased in February 2021 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Kingsley P.
Kingsley P.Illawarra, NSW

Very satisfied with mower.

published

I am happy with my Rover 382, I mow my suburban block two or three times with one tank of fuel. I mow in reverse by turning key anti-clockwise and pressing the triangular button.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Ride-On Mowers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
ryan
ryanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

just purchased 30 inch mini ride on happy with it

published

just purchased 30 inch mini ride on happy with it lot of people say they have issues with not running after short time I haven't had that happen but I do know its the fuel solenoid when it gets hot shuts off fuel supply have that replaced and no drama after that and not happy with reverse cutting out when cutter ingaged but I put a cable tie around the switch at the lever solved that problem

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Rover Mini Rider compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sammy C.
Sammy C.Illawarra, NSW

So far very Good

published

Easy to operate
good for tight areas
Can be unstable on sloppy ground and has a tendency to lift a wheel
Can be a bit under powered but i am comparing against my other mowers which cost 10 times what this one cost
in all good value for money

Purchased in August 2020 for $2,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wayne
WayneMurrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love the Canadian makes life easier.

published

Fairly easy to manoeuvre but not so with forward and reverse in hindsight should have got the auto model so the cutter works in reverse and perhaps ease of forward and reverse.
Slightly sloping block of Kikeau grass. The little engine works hard at times.
Have to refill the mower after doing the front and back yards the block is a normal 1/4 acre block
Fairly comfortable for what it is.

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Relief
Relief Northeast, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best little machine ever , size isn’t everything !!

published

The best garden machine I’ve purchased
Easy to drive easy to handle cuts great !
Top machine well done Rover , would have liked to have catcher to make it even more
Effective , but the mulch kit seems to work well . Would recommend for sure .

Purchased in August 2020 for $2,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
willy
willy
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Keeps running erratic after 10 minutes and finally stops wait 10 minutes then OK for 10 minutes and does same again

published

Put another fuel tank up higher and good filter and 8mm fuel hose tank is at the rear and problem solved. And drained fuel bowl All to do with gravity fuel feed

Purchased in August 2019 for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Near new keeps stopping

published

So is mine. 15hrs use and it's now popping, backfiring, surging then stops. Driving me mad. Mows for 2 minutes then stops. Have flushed fuel. Cleaned tank. Check cap vent, changed plugs, changed coil, changed fuel filter....about to trade this piece of crap

Purchased in June 2020 for $2,499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Ride-On Mowers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Nick
NickGippsland, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

I love mowing again

published

Purchased in July 2020 for $2,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Rover Mini Rider compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roger Kinsky
Roger KinskyIllawarra, NSW

Mini ride er reverse

published

Can anyone tell me - will this mower cut in reverse and if so how can I get it to do so. One reviewer said he had to tweak it to get it to cut in reverse - how ??? It's a nuisance to have to disengage the cutter everytime I want to go in reverse.

Purchased in May 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Product is used Occasionally
Lucky
LuckyBrisbane
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Mini Ride on But...

published

I purchased my Rover auto model mini ride on to cut grass around our home about 2 months ago. I live on about 1.5 acres in a rural setting with some moderate slopes. I only have two problems with it and that is you cant wash the mower after mowing and cooled down...it won't start again..and, being suto, you can't push them even using the by-pass lever..I dare you to push it any distance..lol. Anyway, it goes well, cuts well, and mine is fitted with the rear catcher which works surprisingly well, as long as the grass is not wet. Then, it just clogs the shute and you have to manually remove the grass to unclog. But good mower for the price. Hope this helps make your choice..happy hunting..price $3k in Brisbane southside.

Purchased in February 2020 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Neil
Neil
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent cut for a small ride-on but.....

published

Good turning circle, cuts as good as a push mower, ideal for up to an acre but has developed a reluctance to run for more than 15 minutes.
Only 40 hours in 18 months, so not a lot of use, property has a gentle slope and I have replaced the original fuel filter with a clear one. When the engine miss starts starts, I can see the fuel is really low in the filter even when tank is almost full.
Fuel is gravity fed and I have noticed other recent comments along similar lines so am wondering if rover have a fix?

Purchased in July 2018 at Stihl Dealer for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
andrew
andrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for large blocks

published

Purchased in October 2018 at local Rover dealer for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sherree
SherreeDarling Downs, QLD
  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

Great little mower

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Tandem Lawnmowers for $1,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Ride-On Mowers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Rob
RobRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Down on power especially in reverse, otherwise a good product.

published

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Rover Mini Rider compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Nigel
Nigelasked
Mini Rider

Just brought a rover mini rider with a stuffed battery have replaced the battery with a good one but it won't even turn over still.have sat on the seat with my foot on the left pedal still nothing its in neutral .Park.and the blade is disengaged.ive even changed the fuse under the ignition switch the one I took out looked fine .still no luck .nothing when I turn the key .have I missed something .thanks nigel

1 answer
Kingsley P.
Kingsley P.

Check solenoid and starter motor.

BobHatton
BobHattonasked
Mini Rider

Rover Mini Hydro. When reverse now is selected and red light is on, will it still cut going forward? Or is that button JUST for reverse mowing? I suppose what I'm asking is it OK to keep that light on and now forwards AND backwards without touching it again? It doesn't seem to mow very well in reverse.....

3 answers
Kingsley P.
Kingsley P.

Yes, once the button is pressed and the red light is on, the mower cuts in forward and reverse. Mine is not a Hydro. The advantage of reverse mowing is that the motor does not stop when you simply want to reverse out of a situation. Cheers.

BobHatton
BobHatton

Thanks buddy - great to know! Doesn't seem to cut as well in reverse though...

Kingsley P.
Kingsley P.

Probably not, but makes it easier to mow when reversing is necessary.

Josh
Joshasked
Mini Rider

Is there a way to wind up the relief to make reverse not so painfully slow. Also I have a ramp I need to reverse up and it’s steep enough that it blows over relief.
Thanks Josh

No answers
See all Rover Mini Rider questions

Get an answer from our members

Rover Mini Rider

Details

Two models to choose from

The Rover Mini Rider is available in 2 options. The first is the Rover Mini Rider Hydro, which is $3, 199 and powered by a hydrostatic/ automatic transmission. The second option is the Rover Mini Rider Manual, powered by a 6-speed manual transmission. At $2, 699, it’s $500 cheaper than the automatic model.

Features

  • A 30-inch cutting deck makes the Rover Mini Rider suitable for gardens that measure half an acre to 1 acre in size.
  • 4.9-litre fuel tank, which also makes this mower a less favourable option for larger yards, as you’ll have to stop part-way to fill up the petrol tank.
  • The Mini Rider’s compact size makes it ideal for backyards with narrow access, including side access. For a ride-on mower, it also takes up minimal space in a garage.
  • The in-built grass disposal method is side discharge. However, the Mini Rider can be fitted with an optional mulch plug, or grass catcher.

Points of praise

  • Size was of little importance to reviewers when it came to the Rover Mini Rider. In reviewers’ opinions, this compact ride-on mower effectively tackled everything from lawns that were a quarter of an acre, to 1.5 acres large.
  • A tight turning circle allows the Mini Rider to effectively navigate around obstacles with relative ease.
  • The Mini Rider is comfortable and easy to drive.
  • Reviewers who invested in the Hydro version appreciated that they could cut grass while operating the mower in reverse.
  • While some reviewers repoerws that the engine was not as powerful as other larger riding mowers, they also expressed that this mini mower was good value for money, and did its job fairly as promised - for a fraction of the price of a full-sized ride-on.
Compare both Rover Mini Rider
Rover Mini Rider Hydro
  • Award Winner 2021

Rover Mini Rider Hydro

4.1
(8)
Rover Mini Rider Manual
  • Award Winner 2021

Rover Mini Rider Manual

3.9
(9)
CategoryRide-On MowersRide-On Mowers
Price (RRP) $3,199.00$2,699.00
Zero Turn NoNo
Power SourcePetrolPetrol
FeaturesDeck Clean-out Port and Side DischargeDeck Clean-out Port and Side Discharge
Catcher Type NoneNone
Cutting Deck MaterialSteelSteel
Cutting Width760 mm760 mm
Weight155 kg128 kg
Transmission TypeHydrostaticManual
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameRover 382cc Single OHVRover 382cc Single OHV
Engine TypeOHV (Overhead Valve)OHV (Overhead Valve)
Engine Displacement382 cc382 cc
Compare both Rover Mini Rider

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.