?
? !
12 photos
Razorback All Terrain

Razorback All Terrain

CMX1402, CMX227, CMX186, etc...
4.6 from 37 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Powerful, hard-working engine

  • Works well on hills

Cons

  • Not as effective on manicured lawns

Reviews

4.6

37 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (10)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (10)
  • Product is used
  • Hill / Slope Performance
    5.0 (9)
  • Safety
    4.7 (9)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (9)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.6 (9)
  • Turning
    4.4 (9)
Previous
Next

Game changer

published

Unlike any other ride on .. can go over most terrains & steep angles .. has revolutionised my business ..easily operated by my wife & makes the most difficult jobs safer , quicker and more profitable

Purchased in April 2021 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Razorback
SME MowersRazorback

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review Grant, we are pleased to hear the Razorback is working well for you!

Forest Eater

published

Great machine. My property has big slopes and thick lantana which had been untouched for years. The Razor Back ploughed through it without missing a beat. It is also very capable on the steep slopes.
Had a small issue with large thorns puncturing my tyres but with advice from the razor back staff the issue is being sorted so I will now have trouble free mowing.
Highly recommend!

Purchased in February 2021 for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Out of this world amazing. In the lawn cutting business it will make coffee

published

Its hard to explain this amazing machine. What it can do defies logic. It literally can climb a wall while cutting grass. It will go through thick shrub 2 m tall with ease. If you think it to expensive at first you will think its to cheap once you use it and see what it can do. Don't waste it on normal grass and lawn, take it to the bush and the steepest mountain you can find. It is best at home there.

Purchased in February 2021 at Murwillumbah mowers for $26,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Razorback
SME MowersRazorback

Hello Linda,
The Team at Razorback Australia would like to thank you for your support and for taking the time to leave us a review.

Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Razorback All Terrain compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Grant

GrantRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Very capable

published

Purchased in July 2017 at Murwillumbah Mowers and Chainsaws .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Robyn H

Robyn HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for rough terrain and hard work

published

Great mower well worth the price. Mows through bushes, small trees and rough terrain on our 10 acres of hilly, rocky land. Does the job our previous mowers couldn’t cope with. It does what it claims. Not may be the smoothest cut for a pristine lawn but for hard going areas it has proved its worth. Very happy with our Razorback.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Peter T

Peter TSouth-East, TAS

A Mixed Bag

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
3 comments
Razorback
SME MowersRazorback
Peter T
Peter T
Peter T
Peter T
Mark Luatutu

Mark LuatutuSouth East Queensland, QLD

Hard yakka made easier

published

Purchased in March 2020 for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

55 hours old and has died

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Canycom UK for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Razorback
SME MowersRazorback
Verno
Verno

This was meant as a warning to other users over a silly oversight by Subaru, Suggest you pull each machine apart and locktite these M6 bolts. Mine can't be the only one!

Ken

KenHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great mower

published

Great mower goes anywhere on our 10 acre hilly property - rides down the sides of the creek bed as long as I hang onto the side handles - even managers the smaller surface rocks ok - have owned it for several years (I was probably the first in the Kingston Tasmania area to buy one) and only reversed the blades once. Sometimes have to lock the rear diff to get out of the soft ground after heavy rain - once had to pull it out with the winch on the 4wd but that was my fault. If we had purchased this before the Chinese 45HP 4wd tractor with slasher we would not have purchased the tractor - have sold the slasher and never use the tractor for mowing as it could not handle the turns on the sides of the hills. Would be better with larger tyres.

Purchased in November 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Razorback All Terrain compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dgillett290

dgillett290Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A workhorse! But with small faults.

published

This is a machine! Effectively you're riding a slasher in 4wd go-cart form. It goes practically anywhere and not just slashes but mulches. Even small saplings and rocks that you don't intend to run over. Very economical too. Fires fire goes on one tank. Small issues with small parts failing and it collects dust quickly which affects running and needs cleaning but it eats bushes and ground flora and makes small work of a paddock and acreage.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
John

John

  • 2 reviews

I cant believe how this thing climbs

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016

It's been great ...but !!

published

It's been very safe and has been able to mow just about anywhere. I have had it for about 5 years and have used two sets of blades. It cuts the lawn around the house very well despite not having a floating deck. Recently a few problems have reared their ugly head . The chassis has cracked in two places, the blade belt idler pully bracket snapped. It is cutting too low even on the highest setting and is struggling to go up hills at any sort of pace. It has been serviced regularly by the local dealer. Various plastic parts are cracking and showing signs of fatigue.

Date PurchasedSept 2013
2 comments
Razorback
SME MowersRazorback
Terry. S
Terry. S
Jadzia

JadziaGold Coast, Queensland

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

A fantastic AWD mower

published

We’ve just purchased this mower as we own a rural property that has steep and unstable terrain. It mows the lawn like a dream! First day we got it, we were able to mow in the rain and had no issues sliding on the wet grass or mud. It is pretty good on fuel, and very comfortable to ride. It is easy enough to operate, particularly the reverse gear which was always a struggle on our old ride on. The mower has made maintenance of our land safe and easy.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Stephen Bradshaw

Stephen BradshawSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Little Mower for the hills but not he best for manicured lawns

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Razorback
SME MowersRazorback
Darren S

Darren SBrisbane

Perfect for hilly country

published

The build quality and service received has been exceptional. So far, the machine has delivered on the expectations with the ability to mow all areas I previously only considered with a brush cutter and even on steep slopes, feels solid enough to take on the task. For those with steep country and arm pit undergrowth, I think you will be pleased with the outcome with one of these machines.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Razorback All Terrain compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Joel G

Joel Gasked

All Terrain CMX1402

I have a 1402 with 3000ish hours on it. I tried starting today and nothing. There is power but it's like the motor can't turn over. When I go from off to ignition, I hear a solid clunk and that it. I think it's a starter problem or maybe the spark plug but not certain, any clues?

1 answer
Razorback
SME MowersRazorback

Hello Joel
It sounds like some fuel might have slowly leaked into the cylinder and created a fuel lock. To rectify, remove the spark plug & try start the engine (it wont start) for about 2 seconds – this will expel the excess fuel. Replace the spark plug and it should be good to go. To prevent this happening again, turn the fuel tap off when not using the engine for a period of time or if transporting the machine.’
Also for a prompter reply, please call our service department on 02 6923 0000 or e-mail service@smemowers.com.au as this is an external website not routinely monitored by our staff.
Regards - The Team at Razorback Australia

Nigel

Nigelasked

All Terrain

Hi. New Razorback cmx1402(6 hrs old). Nasty clattering noise from transmission, no drive forward, OK in reverse. Hi gear also OK. I'm guessing it's a cable adjustment problem, intermittent ( twice). I'll contact the local dealer, but is there a more comprehensive workshop manual available so I can get my head around this unit? Nigel

1 answer
Razorback
SME MowersRazorback

Hello Nigel,
Thanks for reaching out regarding your Razorback.
We cant provide you with any more information through a workshop manual, however the Dealer should be able to help identify the problem.
If you cant get it sorted please give us a call on 1800 088 567.
Thank you

Wilga

Wilgaasked

All Terrain CMX1808

I have a CMX 1808 and have constant problems reversing up hill which renders the machine useless for my needs as I am on a hilly block. I have repeatedly delivered it back to the dealer in my area at my cost and time and once home and in use again I am still needing to use the winch to get out of trouble. Can’t reverse even with the AWD and Dif/Lock on. I have thought it may have been from the grass being damp but there is no wheel spinning. Is this problem common with the new canycom hydro gear. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated as the way it works now is not the all terrain mower I thought I was buying. It will reverse down hill and mow driving forward up hill in the same places it can’t reverse, however not every situation allows this. I don’t mow in reverse and I lift the cutting blade to 150mm when reversing.

1 answer
Razorback
SME MowersRazorback

Hello Wilga,
Thanks for reaching out regarding your Razorback. It would be best if our Technical Manager could have a chat regarding the issues you are having. Can you please give us a call on 1800 088 567 or reply with your number and ill have Jamie call you. Can you also please confirm where you are located?
Thank you - The Team at Razorback Australia.

See all Razorback All Terrain questions

Get an answer from our members and Razorback representatives

Razorback All Terrain

Details

Features

The Razorback All Terrain riding mowers are available in 4 models. The two entry-level models can be paired together, due to their similar features, just as the two premium mowers in the range can be discussed together.

CM1401H and CMX1402H

Different features

  • The CM1401H is the entry-level ride-on mower from Razorback with a 2-wheel drive, whereas the CMX1402H is the entry-level model in a 4-wheel drive.
  • The CM1410H has a maximum speed of 13.2km/hr, whereas the CMX1402H features a max speed of 14km/hr.

Common features

  • Hydrostatic transmission, and choice to operate hydrostatic drive train by hand or foot.
  • Capable of operating on steep angles up to 25 degrees.
  • Cutting width of 975mm or 38.4 inches.
  • 6.1-litre fuel capacity.
  • Adjustable cutting height up to 150mm.
  • Uses a shaft drive deck, high and low ratio gearbox, and safety system, which includes a drum brake.
  • Comfort features, including ability to move the steering wheel forwards or back, an adjustable steering angle, an adjustable seat position (front and back) and seat-back angle.

CMX1808 and CMX2302

Different features

  • The most premium model in the range, the CMX2302, also has the most horsepower - 23 hp, whereas the CMX1808 has 18.3 hp.

Common features

  • Can choose between 2WD or 4WD.
  • 20L fuel tank.
  • Foot control for forward and reverse movement.

Common features with 2 entry-level models

  • Shaft driven cutter deck train.
  • Can be ridden on a 25 degree angle.
  • Max speed 13.8km/h.

Points of Praise

  • The Razorback All Terrain ride-on mowers are highly effective in cutting thick, overgrown grass and shrubs on sizeable and steep slopes.
  • Operates smoothly and safely on angled land.
  • Extremely effective for heavy-duty jobs, the outstanding performance of these all-terrain mowers made the high price point worth it for reviewers.

Points to consider

  • While these mowers works a treat on hills and bushy areas, they often don’t work as effectively on manicured lawns.
  • Rocks and thorns can puncture tires and break the rotors, which incurs increased maintenance costs.
Compare all 9 Razorback All Terrain
CategoryRide-On MowersRide-On MowersRide-On MowersRide-On Mowers
Price (RRP) $12,490.00$15,490.00$18,990.00$22,990.00
Zero Turn NoNoNo
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesDeck Clean-out Port
Catcher Type NoneNoneNoneNone
Cutting Deck MaterialSteelSteelSteel
Cutting Width957 mm957 mm957 mm957 mm
Height of Cut0 mm to 150 mm0 mm to 150 mm0 mm to 150 mm0 mm to 150 mm
Weight320 kg340 kg360 kg450 kg
Transmission TypeCVTCVTCVTCVT
Horsepower11.7 hp11.7 hp18.3 hp23 hp
Max Speed13.2 km/hr13.2 km/hr13.8 km/hr13.8 km/hr
Dimensions 900 x 1020 x 1980 mm900 x 1020 x 1980 mm885 x 1020 x 1997 mm905 x 1020 x 1997 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GX390Honda GX390 11.7 HP 389cc EngineVanguardVanguard 23 HP V-twin Cyclone 627cc Engine
BrandHondaHondaVanguardVanguard
Engine Displacement389 cc389 cc653 cc627 cc
Release dateFeb 2019Feb 2019Feb 2019
Compare all 9 Razorback All Terrain

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.