??!
12 photos
Razorback All Terrain

Razorback All Terrain

CMX1402, CMX227, CMX186, etc...
4.5 from 34 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.5

34 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (7)
  • Product is used
  • Hill / Slope Performance
    5.0 (6)
  • Safety
    4.5 (6)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (6)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.5 (6)
  • Turning
    4.7 (6)
Previous
Next
Grant

GrantRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Very capable

published

Purchased in July 2017 at Murwillumbah Mowers and Chainsaws .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers
Robyn H

Robyn HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for rough terrain and hard work

published

Great mower well worth the price. Mows through bushes, small trees and rough terrain on our 10 acres of hilly, rocky land. Does the job our previous mowers couldn’t cope with. It does what it claims. Not may be the smoothest cut for a pristine lawn but for hard going areas it has proved its worth. Very happy with our Razorback.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Peter T

Peter TSouth-East, TAS

A Mixed Bag

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers
3 comments
Razorback
Razorback AustraliaRazorback
Peter T
Peter T
Peter T
Peter T
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Razorback All Terrain compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark Luatutu

Mark LuatutuSouth East Queensland, QLD

Hard yakka made easier

published

Purchased in March 2020 for A$16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers

55 hours old and has died

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Canycom UK for A$24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers
2 comments
Razorback
Razorback AustraliaRazorback
Verno
Verno

This was meant as a warning to other users over a silly oversight by Subaru, Suggest you pull each machine apart and locktite these M6 bolts. Mine can't be the only one!

Ken

KenHobart, TAS

Great mower

published

Great mower goes anywhere on our 10 acre hilly property - rides down the sides of the creek bed as long as I hang onto the side handles - even managers the smaller surface rocks ok - have owned it for several years (I was probably the first in the Kingston Tasmania area to buy one) and only reversed the blades once. Sometimes have to lock the rear diff to get out of the soft ground after heavy rain - once had to pull it out with the winch on the 4wd but that was my fault. If we had purchased this before the Chinese 45HP 4wd tractor with slasher we would not have purchased the tractor - have sold the slasher and never use the tractor for mowing as it could not handle the turns on the sides of the hills. Would be better with larger tyres.

Purchased in November 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers
dgillett290

dgillett290Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A workhorse! But with small faults.

published

This is a machine! Effectively you're riding a slasher in 4wd go-cart form. It goes practically anywhere and not just slashes but mulches. Even small saplings and rocks that you don't intend to run over. Very economical too. Fires fire goes on one tank. Small issues with small parts failing and it collects dust quickly which affects running and needs cleaning but it eats bushes and ground flora and makes small work of a paddock and acreage.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
John

John

  • 2 reviews

I cant believe how this thing climbs

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016

It's been great ...but !!

published

It's been very safe and has been able to mow just about anywhere. I have had it for about 5 years and have used two sets of blades. It cuts the lawn around the house very well despite not having a floating deck. Recently a few problems have reared their ugly head . The chassis has cracked in two places, the blade belt idler pully bracket snapped. It is cutting too low even on the highest setting and is struggling to go up hills at any sort of pace. It has been serviced regularly by the local dealer. Various plastic parts are cracking and showing signs of fatigue.

Date PurchasedSep 2013
2 comments
Razorback
Razorback AustraliaRazorback
Terry. S
Terry. S
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Razorback All Terrain compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jadzia

JadziaGold Coast, Queensland

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

A fantastic AWD mower

published

We’ve just purchased this mower as we own a rural property that has steep and unstable terrain. It mows the lawn like a dream! First day we got it, we were able to mow in the rain and had no issues sliding on the wet grass or mud. It is pretty good on fuel, and very comfortable to ride. It is easy enough to operate, particularly the reverse gear which was always a struggle on our old ride on. The mower has made maintenance of our land safe and easy.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Stephen Bradshaw

Stephen BradshawSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Little Mower for the hills but not he best for manicured lawns

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Razorback
Razorback AustraliaRazorback
Darren S

Darren SBrisbane

Perfect for hilly country

published

The build quality and service received has been exceptional. So far, the machine has delivered on the expectations with the ability to mow all areas I previously only considered with a brush cutter and even on steep slopes, feels solid enough to take on the task. For those with steep country and arm pit undergrowth, I think you will be pleased with the outcome with one of these machines.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Paddy11

Paddy11Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome all-terrain mower

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
2 comments
Razorback
Razorback AustraliaRazorback

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with some feedback.
We love hearing about our customers experiences and are very pleased to hear that the machine is performing as expected!

Regards the Team at Razorback Australia.

Paddy11
Paddy11

Being able to tow a small cart behind the Razorback has been as useful on acreage as the slash and go anywhere ability. We love it after a year and a bit of use!!

It's good but..

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Razorback
Razorback AustraliaRazorback
jackship

jackshipSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good and powerful

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Razorback All Terrain compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
acerace

aceraceQld, 4521

  • 20 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great But

published

Purchased in September 2016 for A$15,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers
9 comments
Razorback
Razorback AustraliaRazorback
acerace
acerace

I appreciate your reply.Note Tasmania was our home but actually for the last year Brisbane This is where we bought the mower. Another point I have ordered 3 times service items ??? to no avail.

Razorback
Razorback AustraliaRazorback

Fantastic piece of equipment but it can get bogged and has some soft metal

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Emperor Zurg

Emperor ZurgNsw

  • 4 reviews
  • 14 likes

Incredible machine

published

Absolutely unstoppable . Spent 1 hr on this beast mowing stuff I thought impossible. I mowed 2.5 metre high lantana 70mm thick and it just ate it up . I've spent hours brushcutting the steepest of terrains that this thing effortlessly mows on any angle . On flat stuff in 2wd high it's very quick and mows beautifully . I've got my life back

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great, but some floors

published

Its mechanical engineering is bullet proof, but same can't be said for its cosmetics/panels some of which have broken after 4 weeks.
It goes places I find difficult to walk up and has allowed me to reclaim land I never imagined possible. Definitely not a finishing mower.
It's a big investment, but have not regretted it.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Was concerned about cost initially, but now do not regret the purchase at all.

published

I have slopes and heavy clay soil and needed a 4wd tank to do the job. The CMX186 does this beautifully. I can do about 2 acres of 35 degree slopes with grass over 1m high and this machine smashes through it in much less time than you think it would. It is very stable on the slopes and surprisingly fuel efficient. I also use this machine as a ride on mulcher. As we bought a derelict property and need to cut a lot of tree limbs we ended up with piles of branches which the razorback destroys in minutes. I do not regret the purchase of this machine for one moment. It is a labour saving device that gives you back your time and it is fun smashing mother nature back to the boundary of your property.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Majid S.

Majid S.asked

All Terrain

Hi, How do you check the oil level in front axel ? tx

1 answer
Razorback
Razorback AustraliaRazorback

Hello Majid,
There is no level check plug in the axle. If there are no leaks the oil should not normally need to be checked. If you have any doubts you can change the oil as shown on page 60 & 61 of the user manual. It takes a very long time to drain the oil and to refill it.
Regards the Team at Razorback Australia

Majid S.

Majid S.asked

All Terrain CMX227

Can you let me know is that easy to change transmition oil as changing the engine oil, no hiden trick just draine it and change the filter and refill, also is there only 2 main oil purpose for maintanance one is engine oil and other transmision oil, it look like a few caps around the engine which I could not figure which is which, can you let me know regards

1 answer
Razorback
Razorback AustraliaRazorback

Hello Majid,
Thanks for your question. The owners manual you would have got with your machine should detail the service instructions for you. However for more information or clarification please call our service team on 1800 088 567.
Regards - The Razorback Team.

Majid S.

Majid S.asked

All Terrain

my seat switch not working, as I got the brakes on and coming off the seat still engine turns off, is there any fuse or switch somewhere falty or wiring has to coonect to somewhere which is not connected, Regards

1 answer
Razorback
Razorback AustraliaRazorback

Hello Majid,
Please call our Tech department on 1800 088 567 and they will be able to assist.
Thank you.

Get an answer from our members and Razorback representatives

Details

Compare all 9 Razorback All Terrain
CategoryRide-On MowersRide-On MowersRide-On MowersRide-On Mowers
Price (RRP) A$12,490.00A$15,490.00A$18,990.00A$22,990.00
Zero Turn NoNoNo
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesDeck Clean-out Port
Catcher Type NoneNoneNoneNone
Cutting Deck MaterialSteelSteelSteel
Cutting Width957 mm957 mm957 mm957 mm
Height of Cut0 mm to 150 mm0 mm to 150 mm0 mm to 150 mm0 mm to 150 mm
Weight320 kg340 kg360 kg450 kg
Transmission TypeCVTCVTCVTCVT
Horsepower11.7 hp11.7 hp18.3 hp23 hp
Max Speed13.2 km/hr13.2 km/hr13.8 km/hr13.8 km/hr
Dimensions 900 x 1020 x 1980 mm900 x 1020 x 1980 mm885 x 1020 x 1997 mm905 x 1020 x 1997 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GX390Honda GX390 11.7 HP 389cc EngineVanguardVanguard 23 HP V-twin Cyclone 627cc Engine
BrandHondaHondaVanguardVanguard
Engine Displacement389 cc389 cc653 cc627 cc
Release dateFeb 2019Feb 2019Feb 2019
Compare all 9 Razorback All Terrain

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.