??!
4 photos
Beats BeatsX

Beats BeatsX

MPNs: 3381446, 4311836, BBD00064 and 3 more
3.8 from 59 reviews

Reviews

(27)
(11)
(8)
(7)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (11)
  • Sound Quality
    4.1 (11)
  • Bass
    3.9 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (11)
  • Battery Life
    3.5 (11)
  • Bluetooth
    3.9 (11)
Ian

IanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Ordinary

published

Pretty pathetic for the price, junk to pair and I have a set of JBL headphones that are better sound quality. For the price, you’d expect better, but then that’s apple for you. Once they get your money they dont give a tinkers.

Purchased in February 2020 at Apple Physical store for $139.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Now just useless plastic to go in the landfill.

published

I purchased some Beats x and they paired with my iPhone and iMac and were fine. Then I didn't use them for a while. I charged them last week and turned them on. They would not pair with my devices. I looked the problem up and it was suggested the firmware needed updating. So I downloaded the upgrade. Then when i went to install it I found my software was incompatible and it would not install. My software is up to date. So basically they are now an expensive piece of useless plastic. I am furious and appalled that such a recent purchase is now a throwaway. Shame on you Beats.

OnlineShoppingGuru

OnlineShoppingGuruGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

So Bad I'd Rather Die

published

I have owned these headphones for 2 years. In that time I have replaced them at least 5 times, for they constantly break and are made from cheap materials making them not very durable. If you are looking for some high quality daily-use headphones, I would not suggest these. You are definitely paying for the brand not the actual headphones.

Purchased in July 2019 at Apple Physical store for $150.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Beats BeatsX compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ravi

RaviGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Worth every penny

published

If you are into trance and electronic music and if you enjoy flat bass, this is it. Don't look elsewhere. These are absolutely phenomenal. The only little issue is that battery life is not that great. But the sound quality makes that issue rather pity.

Purchased at Costco for $120.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Jason

JasonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Ok but not great

published

These headphones are ok if you aren't doing any physical activity (walking/running). I've found that the buds just continuously fall out no matter what buds I use which is a shame but is also a person thing.

The two things I do like is how quick they sync with my iPhone and the quick charge feature (15 minute charge provides roughly an hour of listening). I don't expect full rich sound like 5.1 surround sound but these do the job.

Would I recommend them? Hard to say I would, you defiantly need to try them on before purchasing which would be difficult!

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $169.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Andrew57

Andrew57Illawarra, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Ok sound, good battery life, comfortable but lacking feature for price and poor value for money

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Apple Store Australia.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Michael

MichaelNorth Western Region, NSW

Like the product, just didn’t last

published

I like my beats x very much. Very clear Bluetooth Calls / music in my car. Stopped charging at 15 mths, just out of warranty. But I will buy another pair.

Purchased in November 2018 at eBay for $140.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Great sound, poor build

published

Sound: 4. Call quality: 4. Build 2. Broke after 9 months - simply do not turn on. Apple replaced them, but it's only a matter of time I think until they break again. However features wise it's a great set of headphones. Calls are great, the magnets work well and sound is clear. I only wish it would also power off or pause when the magnets are activated too.

Purchased in September 2018 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Krit S.

Krit S.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for everyday uses

published

I’ve been using Beats X for listening to music and phone calling while on the bus and walk. The sound quality is extremely good for average man like me. Suitable for everyday uses., and you can use it for exercise activities since it will stay on your ear and not falls off easily. It also have fast charge capability as well.

I’m very satisfied with this product

Purchased in March 2018 at eBay for $122.50.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Beats BeatsX compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AmyB

AmyBSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great sound, pity about the longevity

published

Purchased in July 2018 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Damster

DamsterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Amazing until they die just of warranty

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Tech2go for $199.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Karrissa

Karrissa

  • 7 reviews

Great product

published

We use our headphones through our phones and it’s perfect. Easy to operate and once finding the perfect ear piece they don’t fall out while running! We love these head phones and the sound is great.

Purchased in September 2018 for $209.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Anna

AnnaFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love it!

published

This headphones is easy to setup and use. The quality of sound is amazing. Good value for your money. I love the way it connects to my Apple devices. My only complain is there's no sound when you turn it on, or turn it off. I had to see the light to verify if its already on or off. Call quality is good as well. Surprisingly because normally, wireless headphones are not good for call use. This one is just fine. Aside from that, I am very satisfied with my purchase.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Stephanie

StephanieKiama

  • 2 reviews

Best headphones

published

These are brilliant! Since buying them I literally have never gone anywhere without them. The noise cancelling quality is excellent, blocking out noise which is great when walking outside or when at the gym. The quality of the sound they produce is superb.
Very easy to set up on your phone and they automatically connect every time you turn them on. I won’t ever use any other headphones again.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
PiperSp

PiperSpCortlinye

  • 4 reviews

Great headphones

published

Excellent sound quality. good microphone. I quickly got used to just wearing them as a necklace when not using - the magnetic connection between earbuds is handy this way. (and nice that the neckband is flexible so they can be coiled up in a pocket.) Quick connection and on/off with iPhone due to W2 chip. On/off switch design is funky though. There is a 5-second delay from pushing the button to when you hear the chime saying it is on. And if you hold the on button longer than 1 second, it goes into pairing mode.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Beats BeatsX compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Austin Darke

Austin DarkeLawitta

  • 4 reviews

Love at first sight.

published

Out of the box, these seemed great. My iPhone popped up as soon as these were powered on, and all I needed to do was hit "continue". Once they were paired with my phone, they were also paired with my watch without needing to do anything. Pretty fancy.
The included eartips fit perfectly, which was a real shocker. I almost always need to go to a size up, or end up getting Comply foam inserts, but these were excellent without changing anything. Sound quality was... well... these aren't reference IEM's, and being made by Beats, I wasn't at all surprised that they were so bass-forward. But for the price, they're quite good.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Robin

RobinRICHMOND

  • 4 reviews

A trend in the headset industry,

published

Bluetooth wireless headset Does solve the problem,The headset's overall design can be said to be very traditional, like the traditional Neckband bluetooth headset. But the advantage is that the overall texture of the headset is very good, silicone non-stick, and the skin's feel is very refreshing, and the material of the neck belt is relatively soft, in the premise of maintaining plastic fit neck, will not let people feel that there is obvious hard material brought about by the foreign body feeling.Within the scope of use, and the functionality is strong enough.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Henry Burge

Henry BurgeWilburville

  • 4 reviews

Surprisingly excellent! Great sound quality if you take the time to get a proper fit.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Alex	Beirne

Alex BeirneMatong

  • 4 reviews

Wear reverse while working out

published

I love these earbuds...i workout, run, bike with these...for everyone having issues with these while working out (flat bench press) falling out, I've found that wearing them reverse and crossing them eliminates this issue. They are excellent at noise reduction, 5 minutes charge is amazing, super comfortable, only down fall is I don't think they get loud enough to blow my ear drums but I can live with that

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Bec

Bec

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Easily one of my most favourite purchases ever. The quality is unbeatable!

published

There's no substitute for crappy quality. These BeatsX are the best wireless headphones I've ever used. Super fast to charge, last for so long! Really simple to use. The range is quite large too if you are away from your phone. You can even use with apple watch which I love!

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Bear

Bearasked

Is it with bass? I bought one and returned because I could not feel the bass at all or my one is faulty?

1 answer
Henry15
Henry15

I have the same problem. Beats have a reputation for going overboard with the bass, these seem to be the opposite! Very bright and incredibly fatiguing.

Running through the spectrum there is artificial boosting evident around 700-1400Hz, 5000-8000Hz, and 11,000-12,000Hz. The part I don't understand is response tapers off under 400Hz with almost nothing below 80Hz.

Weird. In summary cheap sound with some boosting to give it the impression of sounding crisp and clear.

I will be returning and buying the Bose Soundsport.

ChaliMG

ChaliMGasked

Is this product good for gym workouts ?

2 answers
retireland
retireland

I haven't used it in the gym but I imagine it would be fine.

Bear
Bear

Good on gym, but the bass is flat. Do you feel the bass? Or I got a faulty one.

Get an answer from our members and Beats by Dr. Dre representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.