??!
4 photos
Beats BeatsX

Beats BeatsX

MPNs: 3381446, 4311836, BBD00064 and 3 more
3.5 from 69 reviews

Reviews

3.5

69 reviews
5
(28)
4
(13)
3
(8)
2
(8)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    3.1 (21)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (21)
  • Sound Quality
    3.7 (21)
  • Bass
    3.4 (21)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (21)
  • Battery Life
    2.8 (21)
  • Bluetooth
    3.7 (21)
Previous
Next

Don’t buy them

published

I purchased the Beats and after 5 months they wouldn’t charge. I received an replacement and they worked for 8 months. They wouldn’t power once again and I called customer service. They told me they wouldn’t fix the them or replace them because the warranty expired. The warranty starts is from the first pair you buy And not the replacement. I will never purchase a Beat product again.

Purchased in January 2020 at Amazon.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

BeatsX die after a year-warranty gone

published

Sound was thin without base, aggravating my tinnitus. Music sounded terrible. After 14 months after the battery no longer held a charge. That over $7 a month. Don't by them.

Purchased in May 2019 at Apple Physical store for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
May

MaySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Nice wireless earphone

published

I use my BeatsX to listen to music. Overall, the sound volume and sound quality is above average. But there is no noise cancellation. So I can still hear background noise which is annoying. This earphone is perfect for physical activities too. Both earbuds are connected, so it can be easily found whenever I need them. Unfortunately, it has short battery life. I will need to charge it after approximately 4-5 hours of continuous usage.

Purchased in October 2019 at Vodafone for A$139.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Beats BeatsX compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ricky

RickySydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good little cute earphone

published

I use it with my computer to listen to music and YouTube. I like the design of BeatsX where both earbuds are connected with the rubberised flex-form cable, making it suitable for physical activities like running because it will not drop easily. It is interesting to find out that the earbud housings are magnetised, keeping them tangle-free. Overall, I like the sound volume and wireless range. I can easily turn the volume up or down using the control on BeatsX. Once I turn it on, it automatically connected to my computer, fast and easy. I would recommend this product.

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$139.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Unable to charge the headphone

published

This product has a short shelf life . It is overrated . It fails to charge and can’t use for more than year . If you get it replaced within warranty period, then good for you . Else don’t bother to send for Apple repair . Repair cost is almost the same as buying a new one .
Do not buy this product strongly not recommended . Over price and non durable .

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Sound quality and battery not great

published

Recently bought a pair because I wanted some wireless headphones with a long battery lift and they’re advertised as having up to 9 hours. Finding they are running out after 4-5 hours and the sound quality isn’t great, finding myself re-using my $20 headphones with better sound quality and a similar battery life. They’re also not great for working out, the loop tends to fall off when doing bench.

Purchased in May 2020 at Apple Online store for A$130.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Jassi M.

Jassi M.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

I don't know where to start from on this.

published

First I can't wear it while even walking around as it will fall off.
Lame bass and no low bass.
Not fast connection.
Volume is decent but bass literally disappear at high volume.
My suggestion will be to buy something else instead of this.

Purchased in May 2020 at Costco for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Reet K Kaur

Reet K Kaur

  • 8 reviews

well its just WOW

published

Got them 2 months ago as my earlier sony ones died. Its easy to connect plus noise cancelling and wireless. sp overall very happy. battery life is quite good as a charge lasts me whole day. best part is it reaches 97% in under 10 mins charge.

Purchased in February 2020 at Myer for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

crap quality

published

I bought this earphone 1 year ago and the product performance is quite unstable, after use for 6 months then it cannot be function anymore I send it to the machines yet still the same thing happened

Purchased in October 2018 at Apple Online store for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Beats BeatsX compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sumit S.

Sumit S.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

I would not buy it for that price

published

These headsets had great sound but other that that its just useless. I paid around $150 for these and it was a waste of money. The batteries did not last for more than 3-4 hours specially when making calls and the mic wasn't good without bringing it next to your mouth. So I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Purchased in June 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Ian

IanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Ordinary

published

Pretty pathetic for the price, junk to pair and I have a set of JBL headphones that are better sound quality. For the price, you’d expect better, but then that’s apple for you. Once they get your money they dont give a tinkers.

Purchased in February 2020 at Apple Physical store for A$139.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Now just useless plastic to go in the landfill.

published

I purchased some Beats x and they paired with my iPhone and iMac and were fine. Then I didn't use them for a while. I charged them last week and turned them on. They would not pair with my devices. I looked the problem up and it was suggested the firmware needed updating. So I downloaded the upgrade. Then when i went to install it I found my software was incompatible and it would not install. My software is up to date. So basically they are now an expensive piece of useless plastic. I am furious and appalled that such a recent purchase is now a throwaway. Shame on you Beats.

OnlineShoppingGuru

OnlineShoppingGuruGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

So Bad I'd Rather Die

published

I have owned these headphones for 2 years. In that time I have replaced them at least 5 times, for they constantly break and are made from cheap materials making them not very durable. If you are looking for some high quality daily-use headphones, I would not suggest these. You are definitely paying for the brand not the actual headphones.

Purchased in July 2019 at Apple Physical store for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Ravi

RaviGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews

Worth every penny

published

If you are into trance and electronic music and if you enjoy flat bass, this is it. Don't look elsewhere. These are absolutely phenomenal. The only little issue is that battery life is not that great. But the sound quality makes that issue rather pity.

Purchased at Costco for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Jason

JasonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Ok but not great

published

These headphones are ok if you aren't doing any physical activity (walking/running). I've found that the buds just continuously fall out no matter what buds I use which is a shame but is also a person thing.

The two things I do like is how quick they sync with my iPhone and the quick charge feature (15 minute charge provides roughly an hour of listening). I don't expect full rich sound like 5.1 surround sound but these do the job.

Would I recommend them? Hard to say I would, you defiantly need to try them on before purchasing which would be difficult!

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Beats BeatsX compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew57

Andrew57Illawarra, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes

Ok sound, good battery life, comfortable but lacking feature for price and poor value for money

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Apple Store Australia.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Michael

MichaelNorth Western Region, NSW

Like the product, just didn’t last

published

I like my beats x very much. Very clear Bluetooth Calls / music in my car. Stopped charging at 15 mths, just out of warranty. But I will buy another pair.

Purchased in November 2018 at eBay for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Great sound, poor build

published

Sound: 4. Call quality: 4. Build 2. Broke after 9 months - simply do not turn on. Apple replaced them, but it's only a matter of time I think until they break again. However features wise it's a great set of headphones. Calls are great, the magnets work well and sound is clear. I only wish it would also power off or pause when the magnets are activated too.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Krit S.

Krit S.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for everyday uses

published

I’ve been using Beats X for listening to music and phone calling while on the bus and walk. The sound quality is extremely good for average man like me. Suitable for everyday uses., and you can use it for exercise activities since it will stay on your ear and not falls off easily. It also have fast charge capability as well.

I’m very satisfied with this product

Purchased in March 2018 at eBay for A$122.50.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
AmyB

AmyBSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great sound, pity about the longevity

published

Purchased in July 2018 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Bear

Bearasked

Is it with bass? I bought one and returned because I could not feel the bass at all or my one is faulty?

1 answer
Henry15
Henry15

I have the same problem. Beats have a reputation for going overboard with the bass, these seem to be the opposite! Very bright and incredibly fatiguing.

Running through the spectrum there is artificial boosting evident around 700-1400Hz, 5000-8000Hz, and 11,000-12,000Hz. The part I don't understand is response tapers off under 400Hz with almost nothing below 80Hz.

Weird. In summary cheap sound with some boosting to give it the impression of sounding crisp and clear.

I will be returning and buying the Bose Soundsport.

ChaliMG

ChaliMGasked

Is this product good for gym workouts ?

2 answers
retireland
retireland

I haven't used it in the gym but I imagine it would be fine.

Bear
Bear

Good on gym, but the bass is flat. Do you feel the bass? Or I got a faulty one.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.