??!
6 photos
Apple AirPods

Apple AirPods

1st Gen, 2nd Gen
4.4 from 351 reviews

Reviews

(207)
(110)
(10)
(12)
(12)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (80)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (79)
  • Sound Quality
    4.4 (76)
  • Bass
    4.1 (73)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (77)
  • Battery Life
    4.4 (79)
  • Bluetooth
    4.4 (79)
Edison N

Edison NGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 11 reviews

Sound quality is outstanding with long enough battery life

published

If you're after base this could be the one since the mid notes are clearer than the first generation. I personally find the battery long enough to get me through a day of on and off use. Portable and beautiful.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Dies after a year just out of warranty. Terrible

published

Not suitable for any physical activity as it’s not sweat resistant. Sound quality and volume was good until left AirPod stopped producing the same sound and was quieter (same with my brothers pair). Wireless range is not good, beats headphones are better

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer for $239.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Baffled at the good reviews here

published

I used my Airpods for a range of activities - gym, conference calls, watching movies on phone etc. They are not at all suitable for exercise, they felt so loose I could hardly tell whether they were in half the time. I have brushed past my hair and caused them to fall out.
Sound was ridiculously quiet and would randomly change itself in the middle of a movie or song to become quieter? Sometimes if watching a movie if I took out or replaced an ear it would assume that my music would be to start playing - very frustrating
I will say good wireless range and battery life also lasts.

Purchased in January 2020 at Apple Physical store for $200.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Apple AirPods compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
H Marsh

H MarshPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Goodo

published

I mainly use my pods to make calls, I did initially purchase to use at the gym but they weren’t suitable for active wear. They do have good sound and they stay connected to my phone well, although my phone isn’t generally too far from me. Overall they’re a good accessory to your apple products.

Purchased in September 2019 at Officeworks for $250.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Rustproofhydra

RustproofhydraPerth, WA

  • 15 reviews

This is perfect, cannot live without it

published

Purchased from jb when it was on special price. In a nutshell worth it. Very easy to connect, operate ( user friendly), sound battery life, connect to apple iphone like a magic.

Loving the product

Purchased in November 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $245.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Gloria

GloriaAU

  • 15 reviews

Fantastic product

published

These were bought for my son and were a bit unsure whether to buy this or the pro model but given the price we decided to go with them and upgrade depending on the experience. They have been fantastic so far, they charge very quicky and last for a long time. Sound is really good as well. We are now deciding whether it is worth to buy the pro model given that these are so good. Only comment is, i would buy the wireless charge next time.

Purchased in January 2020 at Costco for $219.99.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Mischka

Mischka

  • 4 reviews

Survived the washing machine 4 times

published

My partner forgets them in his gym shorts and they’ve been through the washing 4 times. All he had to do was leave them so they dried out completely and they work fine! They’re not advertised as being waterproof so we thought for sure after the forth time they’d be ruined. But no!

Purchased in June 2019 at Apple Physical store.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Anges Aggie

Anges AggieIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Love these

published

These are the best headphones I’ve ever used. Make life so much more easier and I never get the cord snagged on anything anymore!! It’s alittle annoying having to charge my headphones up now but still. No cords, no problems

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Lench

LenchGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Wireless is fantastic

published

First time I’ve had wireless and it’s fantastic. I can move around without having to worry about the cords. They sit comfortably in my ears and the sound is amazing. I use them a lot more than the ones with cords

Purchased in January 2020 at Dick Smith for $150.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Apple AirPods compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jase

JaseSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Brilliant

published

Have had these for a few months now and they are awesome.
Perfect for the gym, plane or making phone calls. So comfy and now without a chord. Easy to charge and great battery life.
A must!

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Chutima L.

Chutima L.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

My everyday music assistant

published

Love it so much. I had dr Dre over ear headphones before but I do yoga and lot of head stand and the headband is alway interfere. This one solved all problem it doesn’t hurt my ear and it’s not interrupt my yoga practice.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bing Lee for $300.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Moni f

Moni f

  • 7 reviews

Great product

published

Use these airpods daily to listen to music. They fit my ears perfectly and dont fall out plus the charge lasts a long time. Sound quality is high and it is easy to connect to iphone.

Moni f

Moni f

  • 7 reviews

Great product

published

I was skeptical to purchase these due to the price tag. So far I am enjoying them, very comfortable to wear and decent sound quality. They charge very quickly too!

Purchased in June 2019 for $197.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Marry_Berry

Marry_BerrySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

fantastic pair of earphones

published

these are so comfortable to wear I sometimes forget I am wearing them. The battery lasts all day and they stay in my ear very snuggly even when I am running at the gym. the blue tooth works pretty well too so even if you need to go away from your phone the connection still works well.

Purchased in December 2019 at Apple Physical store for $140.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Amber

AmberGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Good product with small problems

published

Nice product design, luckily didn't lose one of them as my friends did, connection sometimes be poor that's when you miss a normal cable headphone. usually, last half-day more if you constantly listen to the music.

Purchased in December 2018 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Apple AirPods compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Do not recommend

published

Just after using for 3 months, right side of airpods no longer works. Apple orchard service staff troubleshooted for TWO HOURS, changed the earphones and casing but still unsuccessful. Even the replacement set does not pair with the staff’s ipad. In the end, I have to make do with refund of gift card (Money refund not allowed)

Purchased in August 2019.

Nicole Lim

Nicole LimSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Can't go back to the wired kind anymore!

published

This is just amazing and I'll say it's a good investment too. No more tangled wires and trying to sort them out neatly. Synchronising it to iphone and Macbook was so easy! My only regret is not getting it directly from Apple as it comes with free engraving! (Got it at JB Hi-Fi).. also, there are times I accidentally dropped them on the ground when I had to adjust it in my ears, so just make sure you take care of these gems when you are out!

Purchased in September 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $319.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
John B.

John B.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Best companion for your Iphone!

published

Was really skeptical about this product but when I tried it, the connectivity is unbreakable and the ease of connection is just so convenient. When I pop the case open it’s already connected!!

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $249.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
safal r.

safal r.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Value for money

published

I got these for $320 and i instantly thought what on earth i was thinking. However, i soon realised that what i paid for was worth it. It has nice amount of bass and the sound it smooth and the fit is pretty good, especially without a rubber tip. The only thing i was disappointed with was the amount of times the music cut.

Purchased in March 2019 at Apple Physical store for $320.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Amy

Amy

  • 2 reviews

How did I live without them!

published

These airpods are truly amazing. they allow me to go about my mundane day to day activities without being restricted through cords. I use them to listen to music, podcasts, movies etc. You can even communicate to Siri and answer phone calls. Apple could not have made these earphones any easier to use!

Purchased in September 2019 at Apple Physical store for $249.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Page 1 of 18

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Apple AirPods

What is the difference between the normal Charging Case and the Wireless Charging Case?

While both cases can be carried around in your pocket and will recharge your Airpods on-the-go, there are two different ways to recharge the case itself. The normal case charges by plugging a cable into the wall, the same way many devices are charged. The Wireless Case can also be recharged using a wireless charging pad (with the normal cable charge also being a back-up option). So if you don't have (or don't want to buy) a wireless charging pad, there's no need to pay extra for the Wireless Charging Case.

Latest Consumer Questions

King Bob Minion

King Bob Minionasked

Airpods 1st Gen

Why are they so expensive for 1st gen? Looks great. Reckon you could get with them with $170. Just asking pleeeeeeeeeease my son really wants them but everywhere is to expensive. Thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Apple representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.