2 photos
Black & Decker 18V Smart Tech FEJ520JFS

Black & Decker 18V Smart Tech FEJ520JFS

FEJ520JFSX, FEJ520JFS
3.9 from 20 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (4)
  • Pet OwnerYes (3) · No (1)
  • Battery Life
    3.8 (4)
Previous
Next

Shocking design fault

published

We bought this specifically because it was pet hair compatible and to replace an aging Dyson. Worked fine for a couple of days then the filter clogged light came on. Except every time we emptied the vacuum there was very little dirt. We discovered the main tube was completely blocked from the power head all the way up the main tube. After removing with a long rod we tried again and it clogged after about 10 minutes. This vacuum is definitely NOT pet hair compatible. The tubes are too narrow to allow free suction and the dirt container is way too small. Only redeeming feature is when completely empty it worked better than our Dyson, BUT clogs easily and quickly. May return for a refund.

Purchased in September 2020 at Big W for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tl S.
Tl S.South East Queensland, QLD

Returning it after 1hr of owing it

published

I brought this today and every 10 seconds the filter blows off throwing all the dirt back over the floor again. I have checked and removed several times but I can’t even use it! What a waste of money, do not buy!!!

Purchased in May 2020 at Big W for $189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Michelle
MichelleSydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

What a bargain

published

Had been looking for a stick vacuum to clean the floor as well as the car. Saw this when bigw had a sale and I bought this for less than $140. I bought a Dyson v6 for my mum before and my sibling has a v7 so I have used the Dyson vacuums. This Black & Decker is such a gem! It is highly efficient and does the job as great as the Dyson ones. It has a floor sensor which changes the suction power accordingly. The only downside is the emptying bin bit, the Dyson one is easier with the one button feature.
This Black & Decker vacuum is a fantastic product if you're looking for something simple and efficient. It's not as stylish and fancy like the Dyson ones but for the amount of money I spent, I'm more than happy to keep it!

Purchased in February 2020 at Big W Online Store for $135.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Black & Decker 18V Smart Tech FEJ520JFS compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mumoftwins
mumoftwinsGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Better than a Dyson

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sarah
SarahMelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor battery life & ridiculously long charge time

published

Purchased this vacuum to use on my tiled floors. Suction is great & the pivoting head makes it easy to get into the area under my table and chairs. The let down of this vacuum is the short battery life and extremely long recharge time; I could excuse one or the other but not both. One other thing is that the head of the vacuum no longer spins so it's becoming more difficult to maneuver around. I've taken it all apart but no dice.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next

Great vacuum-shame about the smell

published

Great vacuum ! shame about the appalling perfumed filter. Its truly horrible and we cant find a replacement filter that doesn't fill the room with the smell of cheap toilet cleaner.
That said the suction, weight and manouverability of this dust buster come vacuum cleaner are fantastic for the price.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Uthpala Lakmalee
Uthpala LakmaleeBayswater
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent suction

published

This is my first Stick vacuum, I was a bit sceptical buying it. Love how light weight this is and how the swirl head mauvers corners. Charges very fast and food for apartments for storing away. Come apart easily and putting together is not a hassle. Best product for the money paid.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Julez
JulezWeston 2611, ACT
  • 3 reviews

Absolutely awesome

published

Strong pick up, swivel foot head for easy movement around furniture, automatic sensor for different flooring, very compact and light weight.
Great for your back...
Also becomes a duster buster for hard to reach places..
Super fast charging and no messy cords.
Wouldn't live with out it now i own one.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Denis
DenisMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

The perfect companion

published

This is a great vacuum cleaner for small and medium-size jobs. It has an automatic turbo function that boosts suction to the next level when moving from hard floors to carpets. The multiple accessories it comes with (we got the extra brush which is smaller in size) make this the perfect companion.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Black & Decker 18V Smart Tech FEJ520JFS compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Quill
QuillVictoria

I love it!

published

I was hesitant to spend that kind of money on what is essentially just a dustbuster, when what I really need is a good vacuum. I was skeptical but now I am convinced... It's both.

I named mine Buzz Lightyear because it looks and feels like a toy but doesn't realise it.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Bill
BillMelbourne
  • 5 reviews

Not bad

published

I have been advised to purchase it from a friend. I have a big carpet and this machine did the job very well . It is very light and not noisy at all easy to maneuvre so cheap in comparison to dyson one thing that i didnt like is her running battery is only 20 mins otherwise everything is good

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Ozyscott
OzyscottSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews

Great stick vacuum

published

This 2 in one pet friendly stick vacuum has been a terrific addition to my home, it is very lightweight and easy to use, the filter can get a little dirty though even after one clean, it is very deceptive for a battery operated unit that has as much power as an ordinary vacuum cleaner, very happy with purchase.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Vick
VickRockhampton
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Unit

published

For a little machine this vaccuum is awesome. The sucking ability is great and has exceeded our expectations. It is easy to maneuver around the floor and furniture making cleaning a breeze. Its works on both our tiles and carpet. The only downside to the unit is it only has a 20 min battery life

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Lightness
LightnessCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 17 reviews
  • 11 likes

Brilliant

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

This product is perfect. Great suction and i have been using it everyday.

published

Yes, I am happy with the product performance and the suction.
It is easy to use and can be easily maneuver.
I am using it for spot cleaning in the kitchen and living on floor tiles and carpet in the rooms.
It has intelligent sensor which changes the mode to turbo when used on the carpet.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Black & Decker 18V Smart Tech FEJ520JFS compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

thaimum
thaimumasked
18V Smart Tech FEJ520JFS

Any ideas on why this vacuum blows the dust instead of actually vacuuming? Brand new. Thanks

No answers
Denise
Deniseasked
FEJ520JFSX

The brushes no longer spin. The head makes an electronic ping sound when first turned on.

No answers
Vana T.
Vana T.asked
18V Smart Tech FEJ520JFS

Why does the battery light blink on and off after charging for so long? It won’t turn on at all and the blinking has stoppped.

No answers
See all Black & Decker 18V Smart Tech FEJ520JFS questions

Get an answer from our members and Black & Decker representatives

Black & Decker 18V Smart Tech FEJ520JFS

Details

Compare both Black & Decker 18V Smart Tech FEJ520JFS
Black & Decker FEJ520JFS
  • Discontinued

Black & Decker FEJ520JFS

3.5
(2)
CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $179.00
Bin Capacity0.5 L
Weight2.5 kg
Charging Time5 hours
Running Time 16 min
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Compare both Black & Decker 18V Smart Tech FEJ520JFS
  • MPN: 36508805

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.