?
? !
11 photos
Dyson V8
4.3 from 1,353 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • Lightweight build

  • Easy to use

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (282)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (282)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (282)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (283)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (276)
  • Pet OwnerYes (165) · No (111)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (280)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
CountryLass

CountryLassSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 22 likes

DO NOT buy this Dyson stick vacuum!

published

I bought the Dyson V8 Absolute + in late 2017 and have just had to order my third battery. The quality is terrible and for a battery to last so little time is shocking. Dyson service is absolutely no help whatsoever. I will never buy another Dyson product again.

Purchased in October 2017 at The Good Guys for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Was good but now battery only lasts less then 8 minutes and soft head faulty

published

This has started to die after only 8 minutes of use and soft roller head stopped working so I need to use the direct drive head on my wooden floors for $900 I expected a bit more..
Very unimpressed!!

Purchased in January 2020 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Beema41

Beema41South-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 17 likes

Cracked body. Weak construction.

published

The body of this vacuum is weak and will crack over time. No help from Dyson. $120 for a new part. It is a shame as the machine works well, just unsafe with this crack.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Val.Emma

Val.EmmaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very Disappointed....

published

Purchased at David Jones Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
elleblitz

elleblitzAU

  • 5 reviews

Wish the battery was a longer lasting

published

Wish the battery was a little longer lasting. The suction is fantastic though and it is a very convenient design to have it hanging on a wall in my kitchen

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Works well until the battery started to die after a year

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Bing Lee Online store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chappo

ChappoSydney, NSW

Battery Life? 2 years and 4 months

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Myer for $597.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeff C - Australia

Jeff C - AustraliaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 20 reviews
  • 27 likes

Battery life very poor and a "very dumb" battery charger

published

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sev

SevBrisbane

  • 37 reviews
  • 59 likes

Very bad design fault, Dyson Australia refused to help

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for $698.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JAMES P

JAMES PGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Battery life shocking from new told to run on low speed - not acceptable

published

Battery life is not acceptable at all, when speaking to customer service when unit was new I was advised not to use it on High as this will drain the battery faster, however on slow speed it does not clean as well especially on carpet with dog hairs this means it is not fit for purpose.
Unit is just out of warranty and battery lasts a total of 1.5 minutes and Dyson will not consider a warranty or goodwill on battery even though I had issues from the start and especially when family members purchased same units same day and they have experienced same issues, however Dyson replaced their batteries.
Would never buy a Dyson battery operated device again never had an issue with Electrolux in the past and their customer service.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

If there was zero stars....

published

The product arrived and the container was dirty, as if it was already used by someone.
I called dyson immediately and received an apology. I returned this product and five months later I am still waiting for my money!!!
Five months of waiting, checking my account, and speaking with Dyson customer service who aparently can't do anything but pass on a message!!!!
To say this has been a disappointing and frustrating experience would be an understatement!!!!

Purchased in October 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jean

JeanSydney, NSW

The best investment ever

published

Having children and pets this Dyson is easily my favourite home appliance. My floors are mostly hardwood with some carpet areas. Cordless and super powered, it's a dream to use! Dyson for life.

Purchased at Myer.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Manaaki H.

Manaaki H.South East Queensland, QLD

Very efficient without cord but battery is a major let down over time

published

Purchased in January 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AMAN

AMANSydney

  • 6 reviews

Use it just about everyday

published

I use everyday to do a quick vacuum on tiles and loop carpet but wouldn't recommend as my only vacuum, as getting in to small areas such as window sills is quicker with my miele vacuum and battery doesn't last long enough to vacuum the whole house properly, but great for a quick tidy up.
Marked down 1 star cause you have to hold the the power button on continuously and at times get a blister on my finger from it.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Poor battery life

published

We have had our Dyson for 18 months. The battery now dies while vacuuming after about five minutes, this is on wooden floors.
I have been meticulous in cleaning the filters, and also charging the battery.
We will not be purchasing another Dyson.

Purchased in October 2019 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dan

DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Best product with best service from Dyson

published

This cleaner is a perfect product. Most importantly, Dyson's service team are very great and friendly. I high recommend this product to every one. Great quality with percent post-purchasing service.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lanam N.

Lanam N.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Misleading advertising regarding their vacuums

published

5 months after I brought my V8 vacuum it started turning off after only using it for 5 minutes despite it being completely charged. The Kmart vacuum my room mate brought is more powerful than my Dyson vacuum. I did not end up
Returning it because I lost my receipt and warranty form and decided to just use my room mate vacuum. This brand is not worth the price.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Poor battery life and one year battery warranty

published

Works well however battery stopped charging after 2yrs10 months. Dyson said I hadn’t ‘looked after’ the battery properly..all I have done is vacuum. New battery only has 1 year warranty. Should be better for $800

Purchased for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sarahss

sarahss

  • 3 reviews

Cannot live without it!

published

Its amazing, so easy to use and remove all the dirt at the end of the vacuum. Vacuums up everything on my timber floors as well as carpet. I cannot live without it. Worth every penny.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Faulty

published

My Dyson only 5 months old and it’s faulty with not being able to open dust bin to empty it. Sent emails with no help then rang to be told I must send back and will be weeks to get it back

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 68

Questions & Answers

Pam

Pam asked

V8 Absolute

I have a Dyson v8 Motörhead in my winter home. I’m leaving for 6 months. Should I leave it plugged in or not?

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

To maximise battery health, We would encourage fully charging the machine and unplugging it while not in use. Upon your return, charge your machine fully prior to first use.

If we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are happy to help. Please don't hesitate to get in touch. Our contact details can be found here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

Pauline N.

Pauline N.asked

V8

Why does my v8 dyson hoover battery die when on max power

2 answers
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Why avoid contacting them directly as per your manual?

Dyson
DysonDyson

So we can best assist, we would encourage running through the troubleshooting outlined here: https://support.dyson.com.au/supportHome.aspx/Vacuums/Cordless/Dyson-V8-/164527-01/troubleshooting-176414/machine-cutting-out

This should help, however if we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are available via phone, Facebook Messenger and live chat to help. You can find our contact details here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

Trevor

Trevorasked

V8 Absolute

I have a second battery available. Is there a way to charge it so I can use it immediately when the first battery runs out

3 answers
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Have it fully charged

Trevor
Trevor

wow. took 2 weeks to NOT answer the question

Dyson
DysonDyson

Apologies for the delay, unfortunately, we aren't notified for every query on this site. For assistance, our Dyson Experts are available directly via live chat, Facebook Messenger or phone with our contact details available here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

In regards to your query, if you have a second battery, this will be able to be charged directly from a second charging cord, while not connected to the machine. That being said, as the V8 range of machines have screw fitted batteries, we don't recommend swapping these unless the battery has reached the end of its useful life.

If we can assist further, please just get in touch with our Dyson Experts, we are happy to help.

See all Dyson V8 questions

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Dyson V8

Details

As of December 2020, the Dyson V8 is the highest-rated cordless and stick vacuum cleaner on ProductReview. As well as being the highest rated, the V8 is also more afordable than other Dyson cordless and stick vacuum cleaners - such as the V11, which is around $300 more expensive.

Features:

  • The V8 series includes 4 different vacuum cleaners, with a $100 difference in price
  • Two power options: Max Mode for extra power, which is good for tough clumps of dirt or pet hair; and Powerful Mode, which allows for longer usage, but may provide a slighlty weaker suction
  • A 5-hour charge provides up to 40 minutes of use

Points of praise:

  • Some reviewers purchased the Dyson V8 after owning the V6 and reported noticing an improvement. Although they didn’t claim to be unhappy with the V6, many said that the V8 was more powerful and picked up a larger quantity of dirt and dust.
  • The highest power setting (Max Mode) latest longer than expected. One reviewer was pleased that they could vacuum their whole apartment while still having plenty of battery life left.
  • The vacuum was lightweight and easy to manoeuvre, meaning that people could clean hard-to-reach crevices and corners of the house.
  • Three large, shedding dogs proved to be no match for this vacuum cleaner. A happy reviewer mentioned that they could finally remove the mess their dogs had left behind.
Compare all 4 Dyson V8
Dyson V8 Absolute Plus
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Dyson V8 Absolute Plus

4.3
(238)
Dyson V8 Absolute
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Dyson V8 Absolute

4.4
(729)
Dyson V8 Animal
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Dyson V8 Animal

4.2
(365)
CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $799.00$699.00$799.00$749.00
Bin Capacity0.54 L0.54 L0.54 L0.54 L
HEPA FilterYesYesYesYes
Weight2.6 kg2.6 kg2.6 kg2.6 kg
Attachments Direct drive cleaner head, Combination tool
TypeCordlessCordlessCordlessCordless
Charging Time5 hours5 hours5 hours5 hours
Running Time 40 min40 min40 min40 min
Suction (Air Watts)115 AW115 AW115 AW115 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateAug 2016Aug 2016Aug 2016Aug 2016
Compare all 4 Dyson V8

  • MPN: 271642-01

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.