??!
11 photos
Dyson V8
4.3 from 1,328 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (262)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (262)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (262)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (263)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (258)
  • Pet OwnerYes (153) · No (104)
  • Battery Life
    3.1 (261)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Wendy D

Wendy D

  • 2 reviews

Big Improvement on the V6

published

Bought this as an upgrade to the V6 Absolute. Got it $250 off RRP from Dyson in the Black Friday sale. Canister release is far easier, hard floor brush handles leaves and larger dirt more easily. Very happy with my purchase. :) Only downside is that the wall mounted V6 dock has to be changed out for a new dock (provided).

Purchased in November 2020 at Dyson.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
See all answers
Marina

MarinaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Not Happy

published

I bought a very well recommended product and after 3 and half years of use, the battery does not last more than 5 mins on max mode, the small motorised head has fallen apart and I can't use it and the carpet floor cleaner has bits of plastic breaking off. I have a small house at 14 sqaures and most of it is tiles and floor boards. At $800 I was expecting this to last a bit longer. I have had other brands of cleaners and have never had issues like this. I originally bought this to make vacuuming easier with a cordless product. Not sure if I will buy another one if I can get cheaper cleaners out there with same specifications.

Purchased in September 2016 at JB Hi-Fi for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Charlie

Charlie

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Died only 6 months in and Dyson have been horrible to deal with

published

We used this stick vac as a secondary vacuum for our house. Died only 6 months in- doesn't seem to hold a charge. Dyson make it incredibly difficult to deal with any warranty claim and the retailer are reluctant to take the product back as Dyson insist consumers go through them for warranty. Horrible experience and wouldn't do a Dyson again. All marketing spin.

Purchased in May 2020 at The Good Guys for A$1,099.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson

We are sorry to hear this is the experience you have had, it certainly isn't our aim and we are keen to find out what went wrong and get this sorted.

If you could please forward your review and details to auaskdyson@dyson.com we are keen to help.

Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael M.

Michael M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

On my 4th battery in 4 years

published

We have the vacuum cleaner for 4 years and we are about to get our 4th battery, roughly a battery per year. And looking at the Dyson web site the battery price has jumped from $79 to $109 since last year.

Purchased in August 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers
3 comments
Dyson
DysonDyson
Michael M.
Michael M.

Cool, so I will get my most recent battery purchase replaced? will do that now.

Dyson
DysonDyson

Apologies, however we can't comment on individual circumstances here, however please do get in touch with our Dyson Experts as everything is assessed case by case.

roses

rosesSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible battery life

published

Vaccuum only runs for 7 minutes on max after being fully charged overnight. Terrible value for money. Only would recommend if you have money to waste or if it’s on 90% off.

Purchased in June 2020 at eBay for A$549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeWood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Eve

Eve

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Battery lasts less than a year

published

The battery doesn't last. I had 2 replacement batteries in the last 2 years and it would work well for a few months and the same thing will occur again. I would be lucky if it last 3 mins on max power. With the low power, it will go on for up to 15 mins but it is basically blowing all the dust/dirt around and not sucking. It is a let down for the amount of money spent on this product and the time wasted getting a replacement battery each time.

Purchased in July 2017 for A$782.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Floor TypeWood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible on hard floors - Scratched!

published

Purchased for both carpet and hardwood floors. Parents have V7 which stuck to the carpet and was quiet on the hardwood floors. I'm thought I'd go the better battery life of the V8. Terrible idea, it's ridiculously loud and rough leaving scratches on 2 week old timber floors. Contacted dyson and they were absolutely hopeless with a we don't care attitude. Disappointed and will be returning.

Purchased in November 2020 at The Good Guys for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Geof

GeofVictoria

  • 7 reviews
  • 13 likes

Batteries don't last

published

This Dyson is our second stick Dyson. With the first one the battery died and it was replaced under warranty. The second one didn't last long either. The vacuum was very good so we bought an absolute V8 but the battery lasted about a year again. A new one was supplied under warranty and it has lasted about 18 months - it is now dying (lucky to get 6 minutes ). The vacuum cleaner is very good but the battery problem seems unique to Dyson. Time to try another make!

Purchased in May 2017 for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Beaky

BeakyMaudsland

  • 16 reviews
  • 4 likes

"Absolute"-ly Unbeatable Product

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stewart J.

Stewart J.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Dyson - Very disappointed in what I was promised & sold

published

very disappointed promised a 20 minute high speed vacuum time I get 8 minutes
cannot exchange battery, on a new high grade Dyson
New vacuum stopped working after short period of time, dust, dirt & usage had created the problem which I thought a vacuum would be designed to handle!!!!
Very expensive - does not deliver the cost
Go for a cheaper option - LG has a good product available which I would choose next time

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Lawry Bugeja

Lawry BugejaSouthwest, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

Better value to buy a cheap stick vac every 2 years. Triple the life for half the price.

published

We bought the vac to use as a spot cleaner. We estimated it would get about 20 mins use per day. The first 12 months was fine, however over the last 8-10 months we can only use the vac on low power on limited time. Maximum power lasts less than 1 minute. Our $60 Kogan does a far better job.

Purchased in January 2019 at Westpac Altitude for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
parade6010

parade6010Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 5 likes

Powerful Vacuum

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Dyson for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Linoleum
See all answers
Deb

DebGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Don't waste your money

published

Bought new V8 animal for our small apartment with laminate flooring and 1 rug. Didn't work so they sent me a new battery. 12 months later the housing cracked which was replaced. 2 years later I can only vacuum 5mins before the battery needs charging again. Would never buy another one.

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeLinoleum
See all answers
yeohkt

yeohktMelbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing product, worked without issue for 2 years. Great customer support

published

Hi the unit for just 2 years. work perfect . The bin had some quality issue - cover was dropping off.
Contacted customer service via phone call and was sent replacement quickly.

Part price are reasonable. Cleaning is easy .

Purchased in November 2018 at Dyson for A$479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Regarding the comment: Great Product but for one thing

published

I too love my Dyson cordless, I also have an older Stowaway Dyson, Love them both. Cordess is so easy to use and very effective. I use on Carpet and wood floors, and have a small Tenterfield Terrior dog indoors. I was intrigued to read that someone else is getting a sore thumb when using the machine, I was getting a blister each time so now protect the area with some elastopast tape. I do not think it is the machine itself, but how I hold it that causes the rubbing.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Joto

Joto

  • 2 reviews

Suction is excellent on carpet. Hard floor works perfectly on low mode

published

Live beachside and first machine I've used that actually lifts sand with no problem. Very tidy wall mount system so it is always recharged when you need it. Very easy to empty and don't have to worry about bags.

Purchased in May 2020 at Dyson for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers
Jackie De abreu

Jackie De abreuDoonside

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great running battery

published

Have timber flooring and good quality cleaning
Long-running battery life and gets into all the nooks and crannies of a room
Highly recommend this product - but I don't have pets
I also used it on the carpet - but moreso tiles

Purchased in November 2017 at The Good Guys for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Bwil

Bwil

  • 11 reviews
  • 18 likes

Great device

published

I liked this vacuum. I primarily used the soft floor head on floorboards, and the beater head on the carpet. It worked quite well on both. The fluffy head is useful at picking up larger bits and bobs off a hardfloor.

Purchased for A$699.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Lee

LeeCanberra 2600, ACT

Wait until the warranty runs out

published

Initially this was the best vacuum we have ever had. It has powerful suction and is easy to charge on the wall and swap out the attachments. After 13 months it started pulsating with the Direct Drive cleaner head and the Mini motorised head. It worked fine with the static attachments. I figured out it was because both these heads have metal pins that are meant to connect to the motor however this connection no longer works. We now have paid $600 for a years worth of vacuuming. Very disappointing, probably not a good investment.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bing Lee Online store for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers
3 comments
Dyson
DysonDyson
Lee
Lee
Dyson
DysonDyson
purplethings

purplethingsGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 31 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great vacuum for the whole house!

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Dyson for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Page 1 of 67

Questions & Answers

Cynthia K

Cynthia Kasked

V8

What is the total running time of a fully charged Dyson cordless vacuum?

No answers
Ali

Aliasked

V8

Hi i have a v8 absolute over 2 years old. Was working perfect then all of a sudden only works for 1 minute or so on max. Put it back on charger for 30 seconds works for another minute or so. Shows that its charging. No red lights. Can the battery be reset or where is the fault.?

No answers
Samantha F.

Samantha F.asked

V8

Hi there. I have a v8 cordless dyson stick vacuum which will not charge. I have had for approx 2 years and when I plug in to charge, the LED light flashes with 4 red lights. Is this a fault or do I need a new battery?
Thanks
Sam

3 answers
Lawry Bugeja
Lawry Bugeja

I'm no expert on these things however I can say that I've never seen a red light on ours. On that basis I would guess it indicates a fault. Dyson monitors this website so hopefully they see your question and offer to assist.

Dyson
DysonDyson

This does indicate something untoward is happening within your machine. So we can help with diagnosis and a resolution, we would kindly encourage getting in touch with our Dyson Experts. You can find our helpline details and link to Messenger here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting.

Beaky
Beaky

Hi Samantha F. I have only had my V8 for about a year but I would assume that you have a faulty battery as the lights should all be blue if the battery was working correctly. Please ring the Dyson Customer Care people and ask them how long the Warranty is for the Battery as I also have a Dyson V6 which after 4 years the battery died and I contacted them and purchased a new Battery for $78 which was delivered within 4 days. I could have purchased a 'generic' Battery from the Company I purchased the machine from originally, but the Dyson Battery comes with a 2 year warranty. Gael

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Dyson V8
Dyson V8 Absolute Plus
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Dyson V8 Absolute Plus

4.3
(235)
Dyson V8 Absolute
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Dyson V8 Absolute

4.4
(721)
Dyson V8 Animal
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Dyson V8 Animal

4.2
(355)
CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) A$799.00A$699.00A$799.00A$749.00
Bin Capacity0.54 L0.54 L0.54 L0.54 L
HEPA FilterYesYesYesYes
Weight2.6 kg2.6 kg2.6 kg2.6 kg
Attachments Direct drive cleaner head, Combination tool
TypeCordlessCordlessCordlessCordless
Charging Time5 hours5 hours5 hours5 hours
Running Time 40 min40 min40 min40 min
Suction (Air Watts)115 AW115 AW115 AW115 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateAug 2016Aug 2016Aug 2016Aug 2016
Compare all 4 Dyson V8

  • MPN: 271642-01

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.