??!
6 photos
Dyson V7

Dyson V7

V7 Animal, V7 Cord-Free, V7 Origin, etc...
4.2 from 401 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.2

401 reviews
5
(220)
4
(118)
3
(25)
2
(15)
1
(23)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (203)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (204)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (208)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (205)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (203)
  • Pet OwnerYes (110) · No (98)
  • Battery Life
    3.5 (204)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
kate

kateWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

V7 cordless

published

I used the V7 cordless today an it is brilliant. Bought from Big W . Highly recommended. I have had Dyson's over the last 20 yrs, an you can not fault them . I use it on vinyl an carpet.

Purchased in July 2020 at Big W Retail Stores for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers
Sharen

SharenSydney, NSW

Cant live without it. Best vacuum.

published

Recently purchased this vacuum and i am very impressed. I am thinking about purchasing another and storing it until this one fails because ive been through a hell of a lot of vacuums in my years and they just don't cut it like the v7. 10/10.

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for A$507.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
HollyWaffle

HollyWaffleHobart, TAS

  • 9 reviews

Excellent vacuum

published

Excellent vacuum, great suction, long lasting battery, pick up animal hair no problem. Works on either carpet, tiles lino or floorboards with needing to change heads. Easy to use with push button trigger. Plenty of attachments for vacuuming various items.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Katherine

KatherineSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Best Vacuum Cleaner so far!

published

This is by far my best vacuum cleaner. I use if for carpet and wooden floor and it works perfectly in both types of floorings. Nevertheless, the MAX option only lasts for 10 minutes. So I will normally use the normal mode for vacuuming which is already sufficient for me to clean my house.

Purchased in September 2019 at David Jones for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Michaela

Michaela

  • 6 reviews

Love this cordless vacuum

published

I bought this as I have a terrace house and was struggling with dragging around a big vacuum. This does a good job on both carpet and tiles and charger lasts long enough to do the whole house.

Purchased in January 2020 at David Jones Online Store.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
bestinstock

bestinstockPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Very convenient

published

One of the best vacuum cleaners I’ve had till date. Battery power lasts a reasonable amount of time. Very convenient without a cord. Very effective in cleaning objects and particles on rugs and tiles.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Gerri I

Gerri INorth Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

lite and easy to use

published

we. use it a few times a day, we have too many cats and a couple of dogs and live on sand, so the floor is always messy. love that we can grab the stick vac and clean up quick

Purchased in January 2020 for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers

So handy

published

We have a larger (not cordless) dyson and we've found it pretty good. But we wanted something smaller and light for the office. This was a great little solution. I don't think the suction is quite as strong, and it doesn't take long for the charge to run out. But for what we needed it does the job well well enough.

Purchased in September 2019 for A$460.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Macca

MaccaTasmania

  • 7 reviews

What a surprise

published

I must admit that I was sceptical the battery would last long enough to do a e bedroom house but it does it with ease on the normal setting. You get at best 20mins on the max setting. But have found it still woks fantastic on tbe normal setting even with pets so a massive thumbs up from me.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lena

LenaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

I really love this product. No regrets!

published

I use it to vacuum all the carpets as well as tile and my wooden floor. It is efficient and the battery never fails.
It cleans well and able to pick up small stuffs.

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$579.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Ricky

RickySydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great Performace

published

Very happy with this vacuum cleaner! I use it to clean wooden floor and carpet. Both works fine. It has two power modes. I use MAX mode to clean carpet for stronger suctions. (MAX mode only works for around 6 minutes until the battery dies). It just works perfectly. It is also easy to clear the dusts/rubbish in the vacuum cleaner. I would definitely recommend this product!

Purchased in August 2019 at Bing Lee for A$449.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Amy L.

Amy L.Sydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews

Lightweight and powerful

published

It’s so light compared to the v6 slim. the suction works well on my laminate floors and carpet (on max suction) battery is good enough for my 3 bedroom apartment.

Mel K.

Mel K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Happy customer

published

I brought the Dyson V7 for $391 which was a good price .
I use it on carpet with high voltage and normal voltage on tiles this saves the battery .
I’m happy with my V7 it has good power and gets the job done .

Purchased in June 2020 at The Good Guys for A$391.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
PoshBlondie

PoshBlondieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews

Disappointing for such a big brand name

published

I bought this hoping it would do an amazing job (like everyone says) but I must say I am very disappointed. I have a corded Miele vacuum cleaner that I use for my big clean up so my Dyson is just for quick vacuuming of kitty fur and other bits and pieces. It doesn’t suck up like my Miele, nowhere near as good AND my hand hurts after having to hold the ‘on’ trigger. You can only get a few minutes of use too which is pretty disappointing for a $400 vacuum.
I’ll be sticking to Miele - sorry Dyson, I don’t understand the hype.

Purchased in March 2019 at Myer for A$357.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Gaoyang W.

Gaoyang W.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Happy customer

published

I have a Dyson core vacuum already. This is an extra for easy handling. I suggest this won’t be big enough for a big area carpet vacuum job as you will need to empty the bin each time after cleaning. In terms of the performance, it’s as good as all other Dyson products I am using.

Purchased in June 2020 at Catch for A$540.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dean H.

Dean H.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Amazing Product, Fast and Convenient.

published

The only head that comes with this works both on Hard Floors and Carpeted areas with a flick of a switch.
Amazing design, ease of use compared to a corded vacuum is amazing.
Charge time is decent, but could always be longer (as is the case with everything with a battery though).
Will be a returning customer to Dyson in the future :)

Purchased in May 2020 at Dyson for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

STILL IN LOVE.

published

Thanks Mr DYSON for my second Dyson in 12 years. Loved my original barrel vacuum and it gave us 12 years of faithful service, but now we have had to replace it and just bought the new Animal cordless 7. What a delight it is to have this machine. We have dogs and I have tried other Vacuums. NO comparison for suction and performance. JUST LOVE IT.

Purchased in June 2020 at Betta Home Living for A$470.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Bobbi

BobbiPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Does the job and quiet too!

published

Love this vacuum to clean crumbs in draws and hair from bathroom draws. Easy to use in car also! Happy to use at night also as it’s nice and quiet

Purchased in June 2020 at Myer for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Sarah K

Sarah KPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Gam changer - wish I’d bought one sooner

published

I probably use this everyday as it’s so easy to just grab and go with no cord to consider. Perfect for getting up the crumbs from 2 small children. We have a mix of hardwood and carpets and can’t believe how much it picks up every time we use it. One charge will do the whole house (3 beds - 2 floors) but unit can feel heavy by the end of doing the whole house.

Purchased in May 2020 at Target Australia for A$399.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Half Happy

Half HappyHobart

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Pretty Good

published

It's light and easy to move around. The battery life is not huge but that was well explained at time of purchase. On hard floors, it's fine. On carpets, it's ok on high power. It's size makes it easy to use to vacuum the car, although I think that however it is used, you really need to use a 'real' vacuum cleaner every so often to do the job properly, as it's not as a good as a corded vacuum.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$395.00.

Ease of Use
Noise Level
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Wood
See all answers
Page 1 of 21

Questions & Answers

Rami

Ramiasked

V7 Animal

Hi, my Dyson V7 Animal is not working on ‘Max suction’ mode. It is working properly on the normal suction mode. Note that the filter is cleaned already. Kindly support to solve this issue .

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

If your Dyson V7 is working well otherwise (i.e. picking up dust and debris) when not in Max mode, and the lights on the machine turn on when the machine is plugged in, it would indicate the battery on the machine would need to be replaced. While currently out of stock, when back in stock you can purchase a replacement battery for the Dyson V8 here: https://www.dyson.com.au/dyson-v7-replacement-battery-968670-02. We would always encourage use of a genuine Dyson battery to ensure your machine works as intended and designed.

If this isn't the case, the machine is under two years old, or you have any further queries, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com and we will be happy to help.

Micky B.

Micky B.asked

V7 Animal

Can you use it on the patio to pick up bird seed?

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Dyson don't recommend the use of our machines outdoors or in any areas that could be wet. Some outdoor surfaces can also be rougher than the indoor surfaces which contribute to more wear and tear on your machine as it is designed for use in the home.

We hope this helps, however if we can assist with any further queries, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com and happy to help. If you are not in Australia, please visit www.dyson.com and press "Contact Us" for the local contact information of the Dyson helpline in your area.

Benny H.

Benny H.asked

V7 Animal

I purchased one of these 3 weeks ago. I live alone so do not need to use very often. I dont currently have it on wall mount, and have been placing in a cupboard after use. Each time I have gone to use the dyson again I have had to charge it 1st. To vacuum my entire house only takes approximately 5 minutes so I dont believe that is draining the battery. Am I supposed to be turning it off after use as I cant find a way of doing this?

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

All Dyson V7 machines have smart electronics within the machine, battery and charger to ensure they won't overcharge.

It is recommended you leave the machine on charge when not in use, even if you haven't fully used the battery. This will ensure it is always ready for your next cleaning session. The electronics in the machine will ensure the battery charges to 100%, but not over.

If your machine is left off the charger, it is in a "standby" mode, and the battery will slowly be used. Putting your machine on charge stops this.

We hope this helps, however if you have any further queries, please feel free to reach out to our Dyson Experts via auaskdyson@dyson.com.

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.