??!
6 photos
Dyson V7

Dyson V7

V7 Animal, V7 Cord-Free, V7 Origin, etc...
4.2 from 336 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(184)
(94)
(24)
(13)
(21)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (146)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (147)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (148)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (146)
  • Product is used
    • Daily (60)
    • Several times a week (55)
    • Weekly (31)
    • Rarely (2)
    • Monthly (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (144)
  • Pet OwnerYes (84) · No (64)
  • Battery Life
    3.4 (146)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Anu

AnuVictoria

This is very good product

published

This vacuum is good to clean every thing .i buy just last month it’ is very easy to use and battery back up is good . It is clean every Thing .

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for $400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

Always gets clogged up and stops working

published

Gets clogged up literally all the time and stops working. Incredibly frustrating. Also, the battery doesn't last long enough. Also, the attachments are clumsy and overall just badly designed. Can't understand why people think this is a good product.

Purchased in April 2019 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Steve F.

Steve F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

dyson v7 flexible

published

this vacuum very serviceable , recharge works well, easy to empty , cleaning head bristles need to be upgraded or replace every 1 to 2 years but part expensive , does a good job as vacuum that can be used daily or several times a week

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Al fern

Al fernGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews

Nothing cleans better

published

Portable- use it on the timber floors, carpets & car - vacuums all the dust, fur & debris very efficiently & it’s power too
Occasionally, I use it to remove cobwebs at ceiling corners or dust on window ledges

Purchased in July 2019 at COSCO for $399.99.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Adnan M.

Adnan M.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Good machine

published

Mostly used on tiled floors and carpet. Found this machine quite handy and useful. Really helped alot in day today cleaning. Will recommend the Dyson to the people looking after a quality cleanup

Purchased in January 2020 at 99 Bike NSW, Lidcombe for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Zearah McCracken

Zearah McCrackenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Easy to use and picks up everything!

published

Dyson V7 is incredibly lightweight, quiet and effective on cleaning floors. With a child and 3 pets, it picks up any mess or pet hair on the floor and in hard to reach places. Comes with a great amount of accessories, too and has great battery life.

Purchased in March 2017 at Big W for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Jack D.

Jack D.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Love it but battery life is to short.

published

I enjoy using the Dyson V7 and the cleaning power is great. The only real problem I have with the product is the battery life. I live in a 2 bed unit and it doesn’t have enough juice to clean the whole apartment. To charge it takes time and you can’t just charge for 2 mins then vac again you have to wait longer.

Purchased in April 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
K Hutch

K HutchMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Loving Vacuuming Again !!

published

This light and powerful handheld unit is just brilliant, Dyson is the only way to go. Works amazing on all surfaces tiles and carpet. Has great rotation for difficult places

Purchased in February 2020 at Dyson for $297.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
belp78

belp78Sydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Great product

published

I got this to make it easier for little spills and for my staircase.
Easy to use and great suction. I’ve had an upright dyson for over 11 years never had any issues. Was a no brained to buy the handheld for the stairs.

Purchased in January 2020 at Big W Online Store for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ten h

Ten hCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 7 reviews

Happy with it so easy to use wish I brought it earlier

published

Used on tiles and carpet only wish it had 10 more minutes of charge in the battery as I would be able to do a quick clean right through out the house. It’s fantastic with little kids and cats on the house! Cleans up
There mess in time. Performance is fantastic wouldn’t use anything else.

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Jeannette

JeannettePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

It is perfect that i can easy to do housework

published

Bought this becos i wanna vaccuum my bed too!
got another attachment from jbhifi
It said can also suct the dusts and thing from the bed and i use.
saw so many dead skin, dirt from my bed. so satify

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Debbie Gee

Debbie GeeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Best vacuum I’ve ever used!!

published

Purchased in December 2019 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Gabriel

GabrielGold Coast

  • 9 reviews

Ergonomically flawed, but very very good product

published

The Good:
Excellent suction and power, good enough to replace a corded vacuum in a small home.
The Bad:
The ergonomic design is terrible, the trigger function that has to be held down makes the machine tiring to use and the trigger guard rubbed my finger raw on first use.

It's my first Dyson and I was very exited about using it out of the box, but I would definitely not recommend this machine, its uncomfortable and awkward to use. I am returning mine after first use.

Update: I have decided to hang onto this machine and am very glad I did. It is still annoying ergonomically but it is so much better than anything else on the market that I will live with the flaws. Updated my review to 4 stars

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $394.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Ruined by lack of On/ Off switch

published

The vacuum performs well in all respects but one. The lack of an on / off switch. As pressure needs to be on the trigger when operating the vacuum I found using it tiring and uncomfortable. The need to maintain my hand in one position constantly soon made the vacuum feel heavy and awkward. I previously had an electrolux cordless vacuum. I would say the Dysons cleaning ability is better however I would opt for the electrolux next time based upon comfort whilst using it. I used to whizz around daily with the electrolux now I find myself putting off the task because of this design feature.

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for $405.00.

Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
Pop-up

Pop-upBrisbane

  • 34 reviews

4 1/2 stars!

published

I bought the Origin V7 Dyson from Big W. I've had it for about 4 months. So far, I love it.

There are parts that could be better designed, like a cleaner way to dispense with the dust and some of the parts feel a bit plasticky, but overall, this is a quality vacuum cleaner that gets in those hard to reach spots. You can get all those little corners with this. Plus, the battery lasts ages. I can go over the whole house on the regular setting, then use Max setting on my living room rug, son's carpet etc and it's still got heaps of power.

The roller head is very easy to take out and clean and there's always hair wrapped around it after every vacuum. I clean the vacuum every time after using it.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jess

JessMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews

Impressive

published

I use this on carpet and hard flooring, and found it more powerful then my corded vacuum. My only regret is not getting it sooner.
Pros
Easy and light weigh
Powerful
Easy and mess free to empty
Cons
Takes a while to charge.

Purchased in February 2020 at Big W for $369.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Super human

Super human

  • 5 reviews

Easy to use

published

Very easy and smooth to use. The vacuum lasts about 20 to 25 mins on normal speed and about 7 minutes on max power. The dust bin is very easy to use,just press the button to release the dust into the bin. Easy to charge, it came with a docking station.

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W Online Store for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Ocean

OceanMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great for getting the kids to help clean

published

Light weight, easy to hang on wall so its handy to vacuum the kitchen each night to keep the house clean. The kids like to use the vacuum so its a great purchase as they help now.

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
KylieC

KylieCSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Can’t live without it

published

Works great around the house, not suitable for cars, though.
Great for homes with/without pets. Had ours for many years, no problem. If you have any trouble, google how to fix it. There’s a heap of YouTube videos that show you what part needs cleaning (depending on the problem).

Purchased in April 2016 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers
Olga Moore

Olga MooreGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Excellent vacuum cleaner

published

Amazing design and top quality sucks dirt and dust with such power
I bought it 60 months interest free from Harvey Norman
Just $24 per month for $1000 purchase together with Dyson hairdryer

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 17

Questions & Answers

Jill

Jillasked

V7 Cord-Free

Hello

I just wanted to check that like the V7 Animal, the V7 Cord-Free can be left in the charging station all the time without damaging the battery?

Thanks!
Jill

2 answers
Steve F.
Steve F.

yep , i do it 24/ 7

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

All Dyson V7 machines have smart electronics within the machine, battery and charger to ensure they won't overcharge.

It is recommended you leave the machine on charge when not in use, even if you haven't fully used the battery. This will ensure it is always ready for your next cleaning session. The electronics in the machine will ensure the battery charges to 100%, but not over.

We hope this helps, however if you have any further queries, please feel free to reach out to our Dyson Experts via auaskdyson@dyson.com.

Frank B.

Frank B.asked

V7 Animal

I have Dyson V7 Animal the battery went and would not charge. It about 1.5 year old . I bought battery and replaced . Now it run for 2 to 3 min on low and 30 seconds on high. The yellow light is flashing on battery . Any ideal what going on?

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

So we can best assist and get this sorted, we would kindly encourage reaching out to our helpline on 1800 239 766.

Our Dyson Experts are available Monday - Friday 8am - 8pm and Saturday - Sunday 8:30am - 4pm AEST. Please just have your machine handy when you call.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting.

Jessica G.

Jessica G.asked

V7 Motorhead

Dont seem to keep a charge. Any help?

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi Jessica,

Thank you for your question.

If the machine is no longer holding charge there could be a few things causing this.

The machine could be overheating and cutting itself off so the machine is not damaged, we'd recommend washing the filter for your machine per the instructions on https://www.dyson.com.au/SupportHome/Vacuums/Cordless/Dyson-V7/271629-01/maintaining-your-dyson-machine/washing-the-filters.

If this does not resolve the issue the battery could be losing its charge as it is a consumable item which will sometimes need to be replaced during the lifetime of the machine.

We would recommend to contact or helpline on 1800 239 766 with your machine handy or send an email with the serial number through to auaskdyson@dyson.com.

Our helpline is open Mon-Fri 8am-8pm and on the weekend 8.30am-4pm.

Best wishes,

Sam
Dyson Customer Care

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.