?
? !
34 photos
Dyson V11
4.2 from 356 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • An improvement from previous versions

  • Effective at picking up pet hair

Cons

  • A little pricey

Dyson V11 In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (344)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (340)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (342)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (339)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (339)
  • Pet OwnerYes (194) · No (141)
  • Battery Life
    4.3 (340)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Carmen Ricca

Carmen RiccaNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Sending Back to Dyson for the 3rd time!!!

published

I am so disappointed with my V11 Absolute. I am sending it back to Dyson for the 3rd time for trigger failure. The first time they replaced the battery, the trigger still didn’t work, sent it back again and it has worked for 3 months and it’s broken again! It’s out of warranty in July. I do not want it repaired. I have asked for a store credit. My Old Dyson barrel vacuum lasted 13 years. I don’t think I will get another. It’s so frustrating sending it back and being without a vacuum especially when I spent $1200.

Purchased in July 2019 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kelley R

Kelley RPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Amazing! But not without faults

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Dyson for $999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sloy

sloySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Shouldn't Dyson recall its product to fix the trigger issue?

published

Purchased in February 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $1,050.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V11 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Horrible performance - regret buying

published

Yes, the cordless feature is convenient but when you have to go over the same spot multiple times to pick up any spec of dust or dirt, terribly inefficient. With dark hardwood floors, this is very obvious. Vacuum is only 1 year old and the trigger has just failed and has to be brought in to service - given no time frame on how long it will take to be repaired so we are without a vacuum for who knows how long. Our Miele vacuum lasted 10+ years with no problems and regret giving it away.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Elle

ElleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

So disappointed

published

Vacuum is heavy.
Only does a half decent job on the “boost” setting which then runs the battery out very quickly.
The stick attachment slowly became loose and was replaced by Dyson 4 months ago. Went to use the vacuum tonight and the new one has completely come off from where is attaches. Will have to call in the morning to see if they will replace again.
Blocks all the time in multiple areas of the machine.
Really regret getting rid of my Miele vacuum which was less than half the price of this absolutely poor excuse of a vacuum.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2021 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dale perry

Dale perryHunter Region, NSW

Excellent vacuum. Powerful. Easy to use

published

Use this vacuum on all floor surfaces timber, vinyl, carpet as well as soft furniture and performs well on all would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is interested in a quality easy to use powerful vacuum

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
UnhappyJan

UnhappyJan

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Terrible; waste of money!

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Dyson for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shell

ShellBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

WOW!!

published

Omg! What can I say, I am in love. No longer do I struggle with power cords, I just have to start vaccuming. Suction is great, filter cleaning a cinch and drum emptying a breeze. Best vac ever!

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Victoria

VictoriaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Makes Cleaning Easier

published

I love my updated Dyson Stick Vac. With more options for cleaning different surfaces I can't fault it. And a bigger drum to catch the dust means you don't have to empty it as often.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V11 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Regretful Customer

Regretful CustomerPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Failed in under a year

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 81 reviews
  • 37 likes

A family all rounder

published

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,197.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
aspireme1680

aspireme1680Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Battery problems after 6 weeks left it on charge all night and still showing only 70% & no power to my Pro & a friends !

published

Carpet & hard floor use .
It works great when it works but my concern is 6 weeks for a problem to occur like this is absolutely ridiculous and such a inconvenience.

Purchased in January 2021 at Dyson for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nick

Nick

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

V11 trigger works when it wants too

published

The v11 has been nothing but trouble , it’s pretty bad when you spend $1000 on a vacuum, you would think it would last !!!
1 st problem was that it just stopped working altogether and luckily it was under warranty so was sent out a new body, awesome!!
But now the trigger works when it wants too !! So now what ??
Luckily I still have warranty so another body ??
Come on dyson seriously get with it ..

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeff Henda

Jeff HendaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not bad but pricey

published

Does a good job overall but you can’t pick up certain debris when pulling backwards. Once the head stop spinning the vacuum is not very strong. Had it for 3months still works well, the price it definitely a bit rich for vacuum.

Purchased in November 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,195.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kim

KimSouthwest, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Cleaning made enjoyable

published

Had my Dyson V11 Absolute Pro for 3 months now and made cleaning much, much easier and actually enjoyable. I have 2 long haired cats and this vacuum picks up all their fur from everywhere. A tad heavy for one arm use and have developed some biceps pain initially but have since gotten used to it.

Purchased in November 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $1,179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V11 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phyllis

PhyllisSydney, NSW

Never again

published

We use this on timber and carpet, since purchase all we have had are problems. It keeps breaking down. We have sent it back to Dyson 3 times. I'm over it now will never buy another Dyson product.

Purchased in December 2019 for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Robyn

RobynGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great vacuum cleaner

published

This vacuum cleaner has made life very easy for us. It is easy to handle, quickly picking up things. The floors have never been cleaner.

I would love to just have an extra battery or if they could make the battery life longer. Need to keep recharging.

Purchased in November 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
April

AprilCentral Queensland, QLD

Waste of money

published

Suction is so bad the boost function needs to be used to be able to do a decent vacuum so you don't have to go back over & pick up what has been left on the floor. But using the boost function, the battery only lasts about 10 minutes, no good for a bigger size house. Wood floors could be vacuumed on the mod function but certainly need the boost function for carpets. The convenience of no cord is good, that's the only good thing about this vacuum cleaner!!

Purchased in October 2020 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Julia

JuliaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Hate it

published

Garbage, waste of money. Constantly gets blocked and switches off. Would never buy a dyson again. Used on wooden floors. 1 pet. Works on on rugs but again, constantly thinks it's blocked, even when it's not. Stops and starts. Terrible.

Purchased for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sue

Sue

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Faulty with multiple send backs and very poor customer support from Dyson!

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 18

Questions & Answers

Aiza2298

Aiza2298asked

V11

I have my vacuum v11 fluffy for about 2 years and now it stopped working. Whenever I press the trigger a short 1 second sound comes and then that's it nothing happen.

No answers
Cherng shu Y.

Cherng shu Y.asked

V11

Hi I was vacuuming today when suddenly it's just stopped turning on, the display works fine and the chamber is completely empty, took it out to clear the dust and all, but when I click the trigger a short 1 second sound comes on but the motor doest start at all

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

We are sorry to hear about this and are only happy to help.

Please get in touch with our Dyson Experts via phone, live chat or Facebook Messenger. You can find our contact details here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us.

If you are not in Australia, please visit www.dyson.com and press "Contact Us" for the local contact information of the Dyson helpline in your area.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting.

Nick S.

Nick S.asked

V11

Why does the V11 pulse in Eco and normal but works fine in boost mode

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

We are sorry to hear you are experiencing a difficulty with your Dyson V11 machine.

If your machine is making a pulsing sound, we would encourage reviewing this video to check for any obstructions: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPhUdUOEj2E

If this difficulty continues or we can assist further, please get in touch with our Dyson Experts. You can find ways to get in touch here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

See all Dyson V11 questions

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Dyson V11

Details

This latest Dyson cordless and handheld vacuum cleaner shares many of the same features with previous versions, yet offers improved functionality and battery life.

Features:

  • Boasts a 6-layer filtration, including a HEPA filter, to remove as many pollutants and particles as possible
  • Offers three modes of operation: Auto adjusts suction to optimise battery life, Eco extends battery life, and Boost Mode provides an extra powerful suction
  • Includes a automatically adjusting vacuum head that adapts to different floor types, which means no stopping to swap attachments
  • 60-min running time, which is 20 mins longer lasting than the V8

Points of praise:

  • Like other Dyson handheld and cordless vacuum cleaners, the V11 was exceptionally effective at picking up the pesky pieces of pet hair that clung to the floor.
  • Reviewers bought the V11 as a replacement for other Dyson vacuum cleaners they had owned and were not disappointed. The most notable improvement appeared to be the vacuum’s suction capacities.
  • For some, this was their first time using a cordless vacuum cleaner. Fears of the vacuum’s battery running out fast were put to rest when reviewers saw how durable and long-lasting the vacuum was.
  • From cleaning tiles to vacuuming couches, the variety of attachments made transitioning from surface-to-surface easy.

Points to consider:

  • Although most reviewers were pleased with the performance of this V11, some mentioned that they thought the price tag was a little high.
Compare all 6 Dyson V11
Dyson V11 Torque Drive
  • Award Winner 2020

Dyson V11 Torque Drive

4.2
(60)
Dyson V11 Absolute
  • Award Winner 2020

Dyson V11 Absolute

4.3
(165)
Dyson V11 Absolute Pro
  • Award Winner 2020

Dyson V11 Absolute Pro

4.1
(61)
CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $1,099.00$1,199.00$1,249.00$1,199.00
Bin Capacity0.76 L0.76 L0.76 L0.76 L
HEPA FilterYesYesYesYes
Weight3.05 kg2.92 kg3.09 kg3.09 kg
Attachments 5 standard tools5 standard tools, plus the Fluffy head5 standard tools, plus the Fluffy head, extension hose, mattress tool, and flexi-crevice toolIncludes a replaceable battery, 2 cleaner heads and 5 tools
TypeCordlessCordlessCordlessCordless
Running Time 60 min60 min60 min60 min
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2020
Compare all 6 Dyson V11

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.