26 photos
Dyson V11
4.1 from 448 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Dyson
Dyson V11 In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Pros

An improvement from previous versions
Effective at picking up pet hair

Cons

A little pricey

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (431)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (425)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (428)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (423)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (419)
  • Pet OwnerYes (243) · No (177)
  • Battery Life
    4.3 (423)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Tess P.
Tess P.Northeast, VIC

If anything goes wrong outside of warranty getting a simple repair is not possible.

published

The trigger on our machine broke outside of the warranty. You cant simple get the trigger repaired, the entire body needs to be replaced which is very expensive and quite frankly extremely wasteful.
We cant afford to replace the entire body and now have a very expensive vacuum sitting in the cupboard. We will never buy Dyson again because of this.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bing Lee for $1,200.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GPCAV
GPCAVSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Worst Dyson I've Ever Owned

published

Just doesn't have enough suction. Constantly stripping it down (it never has a blockage), and we follow all the cleaning instructions. Tried to talk to Dyson about it while it was under warranty - they were only interested in telling me how to break it down to clean the machine, again....... Have brought the brand for over 15 years, but no more, based on this model. Really, really expensive and pretty much useless, but now stuck with it until I can afford to replace it! Very disappointing experience.

Purchased in October 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,200.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alysha
AlyshaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Great suction on floors

published

Suction is great on floors. LCD showing battery life is helpful as well.

A couple of negatives, however.
Tools included to do window sills just pick up thicker dust and push fine particles around - even on Boost mode.

The black bristles on the spinning heads come off partially as well. They should be stronger if we’re paying through the roof for a Dyson. Apparently, the previous owners only had it for 6 months. Filters get full too quick as well.
The last thing we want to do after such a big expense is to replace roller brushes & filters.

Purchased in April 2022 at Gumtree for $500.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Annabelle
AnnabelleSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute failure in design

published

Purchased in Jan 2021. Battery completely died 6 months later. Returned it and had a new barrel and battery replaced. Still the machine is woeful. Suction is weak, when it actually works. The internal chamber is constantly getting blocked. Cleaning filter after the smallest of vacuums. It's purely designed to fail or make you go crazy with the time spent trying to get it to work! Do yourself a favour and DO NOT BUY THE DYSON V11 unless you're a glutton for punishment. I've always been a Dyson advocate but this machine is just wasting my time and money. So disappointed :(

Purchased in January 2021 at Bing Lee for $1,179.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V11 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gerry
GerryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 26 reviews
  • 25 likes

Great product - you wont need a plug in vac

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,100.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jason P.
Jason P.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Awesome vacuum

published

We have been using this vacuum for a year now. It performs reasonably well and have great suction power, easy to maintain and use. Would recommend this to anyone thank you.

Build Quality
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jane
JaneSouth West, WA
  • 3 reviews

Like a high maintenance trophy wife

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Dyson for $999.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2022!

Whether you love or loathe being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of over 9,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Avleen M.
Avleen M.14 Dec 2021
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2022
Next
Josif B.
Josif B.Darling Downs, QLD

Designed to fail

published

Purchased in March 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,300.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephmates
StephmatesPeel, WA
  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes

The one I’ve been looking for, the one I’m now using more!

published

Purchased in January 2022 at The Good Guys for $799.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V11 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robyn B.
Robyn B.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Disappointed

published

Purchased my Dyson V11 Absolute Pro for $1249. I have a toy poodle so it does not shed any fur. I have looked after it and cleaned it regularly,it has worked well for two and a half years, last week the motor suddenly stopped working. Dyson charge so much for their products they should last longer 2 1/2 years very disappointed and disgusted, will not purchase another Dyson.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message

We are sorry to hear of this. Please get in touch with our Dyson Experts via Facebook Messenger, Live Chat or phone and we will only be happy to help. You can find our contact details here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Extremely Happy!

published

Vacuum is great. Usually I don’t write reviews on products but Dyson after sales service is extremely good.
In two years time they replaced the faulty and broken parts without any hassle.

Purchased at The Good Guys for $1,199.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steve8426
Steve8426Hobart
  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my V11, but....

published

Purchased for $1,200.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V11 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Christina
ChristinaPerth, WA

Dyson Cordless V11

published

The cordless Dyson V11 “on” switch button does not last! If consumers are to expect to pay for a highly priced product, the MOST important component on the machine should be assessed and last beyond 12 months of purchase date!! And especially not happy that there is only one service company in all of WA. How ridiculous is that!!

I will NEVER consider purchasing another Dyson cordless vacuum that does not have a secured “on/off” switch. And will be sharing my experience with ALL my family and friends .

Incentivised Review No
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dee
DeeBRISBANE
  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great reliable machine

published

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Msh
Msh
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Broken trigger 6 months out of warranty

published

The vacuum works well. Attachments all ok.
Problem was the trigger broke 6 months out of warranty. Bought a replacement part on eBay. Plenty of videos showing how to pull apart and fit a replacement so obviously I am not an outlier case.
Dyson pride themselves on design but they clearly have missed the target with the trigger part. Classic fatigue failure of an under engineered part.

Purchased in July 2019 at Dyson for $1,200.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Kamarlee C.
Kamarlee C.asked
V11 Animal

Ok I’m on the hunt for a cordless vac that can successfully pick up husky hair.. I’m going insane and my back is on its way out. Is the V11 Animal going to do the job?

No answers
David C.
David C.asked
V11

My torque head is dirty but I can't get the the roller out to clean it. I use a 20 cent coin but it appears to be jammed and won't turn at all. Turning it clockwise it clicks but won't turn counter clockwise.

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message

We are sorry to hear of this. Please get in touch with our Dyson Experts via Facebook Messenger, Live Chat or phone and we will only be happy to help. You can find our contact details here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

Ken M.
Ken M.asked
V11

We have a 15 mth old v 11, paid $1500 for full kit, the Name Dyson is supposed to be good quality, but I'm now wondering about this ? our machine which gets little use on vinyl floors at home keeps showing blocked filter.. we keep our machine very clean & wash the filter regular so were surprised when this appeared. we washed the filter again & let it dry in the sun for 24 hrs, refitted it & same message came up...so cleaned inside the machine which was not very dusty / dirty, but still getting same message & machine still not working, not very happy with this, our other stick vacuum (Hoover) which is 3 years old is still working fine & only cost $300..

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDysonSend a private message

We are sorry to hear about this and happy to help.

For real time assistance, we would kindly encourage contacting our Dyson Experts via phone or live chat. You can find our details and chat links here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us.

See all Dyson V11 questions

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Dyson V11

Details

This latest Dyson cordless and handheld vacuum cleaner shares many of the same features with previous versions, yet offers improved functionality and battery life.

Features:

  • Boasts a 6-layer filtration, including a HEPA filter, to remove as many pollutants and particles as possible
  • Offers three modes of operation: Auto adjusts suction to optimise battery life, Eco extends battery life, and Boost Mode provides an extra powerful suction
  • Includes a automatically adjusting vacuum head that adapts to different floor types, which means no stopping to swap attachments
  • 60-min running time, which is 20 mins longer lasting than the V8

Points of praise:

  • Like other Dyson handheld and cordless vacuum cleaners, the V11 was exceptionally effective at picking up the pesky pieces of pet hair that clung to the floor.
  • Reviewers bought the V11 as a replacement for other Dyson vacuum cleaners they had owned and were not disappointed. The most notable improvement appeared to be the vacuum’s suction capacities.
  • For some, this was their first time using a cordless vacuum cleaner. Fears of the vacuum’s battery running out fast were put to rest when reviewers saw how durable and long-lasting the vacuum was.
  • From cleaning tiles to vacuuming couches, the variety of attachments made transitioning from surface-to-surface easy.

Points to consider:

  • Although most reviewers were pleased with the performance of this V11, some mentioned that they thought the price tag was a little high.
Compare all 6 Dyson V11
Dyson V11 Torque Drive
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2020

Dyson V11 Torque Drive

4.1
(63)
Dyson V11 Absolute
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2020

Dyson V11 Absolute

4.2
(194)
Dyson V11 Absolute Pro
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2020

Dyson V11 Absolute Pro

4.0
(79)
CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $1,099.00$1,199.00$1,249.00
Bin Capacity0.76 L0.76 L0.76 L
HEPA FilterYesYesYesYes
Weight3.05 kg2.92 kg3.09 kg
Attachments 5 standard tools5 standard tools, plus the Fluffy head5 standard tools, plus the Fluffy head, extension hose, mattress tool, and flexi-crevice tool
TypeCordlessCordlessCordlessCordless
Running Time 60 min60 min60 min
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019
Compare all 6 Dyson V11

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.