??!
4 photos
BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S
4.2 from 164 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    2.9 (10)
  • Readable Number PlatesYes (4) · No (4)
  • Video Quality
    3.6 (8)
  • Battery Life
    3.2 (6)
  • Audio Quality
    3.8 (6)
  • Night-Time Video Quality
    3.4 (7)
Previous
Next
PhilR123

PhilR123AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Avoid BlackVue products

published

Have had this for 3 years. In all this time it has been broken more then it has worked
Much have purchased 3 or 4 SD cards in this time, reformat them every 4 weeks as required but even so they only last a couple of months. A major design flaw with this product. What makes it even more annoying is that you have to buy BlackVue branded SD cards at a massive markup!!!! In the market for a new dash cam. Oh and to top it off the rear camera picture quality is terrible

Purchased in June 2017 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Readable Number PlatesNo
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Battery Life
Audio Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
See all answers
David C.

David C.Queensland

  • 5 reviews

BlackVue quickly resolved my issue....

published

I posted an issue I had with my BlackVue dash cam and this company worked very quickly to resolve it, you can’t ask for anything more than that!

It’s great to see some companies making the effort to show their customers they are valued and eager to resolve issues, for this reason I highly recommend purchasing products from this company BlackVue.

Thank you very much Chaim and staff for making this customer have faith again it is really appreciated.

Thanks again!

Purchased in May 2017 for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Readable Number PlatesYes
Car ModelToyota Aurion GSV50R AT-X
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Battery Life
Audio Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
See all answers
3 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
David C.
David C.
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
SergiiS

SergiiSSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Great camera, slick design

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Automotive Superstore for A$853.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Readable Number PlatesYes
Car ModelSuzuki Swift AZ GL+
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Battery Life
Audio Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
See all answers
Dash Cams

Find out how BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
arauch

arauchPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

The product doesn't last long

published

I bought 03 Blackvues, two as a gift and another for my daily use. One as a gift has not worked since new, however, the manufacturer replaced it for a new one and it is working. I was not so lucky with mine Blackvue DR650GW-2CH, that after 3 years stopped working. I replaced it with a cheap and more reliable brand. I will never buy anything from Blackvue again since 66% of failure for a brand new and expensive dashcam is totally unacceptable. The image quality of my current affordable camera is far better too.

Purchased in August 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Readable Number PlatesNo
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Audio Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Paul

PaulMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Didn't last a year...

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
O.O

O.OGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Second time it's faulty!

published

This is the second time this camera is playing up. First time only GPS light was lighting up so it was fixed free of charge and chip replaced. Now the camera runs for a while then the GPS light stay alight and red recording light turns off. Also camera makes a funny noise. Unplug it and restart camera and same thing happens all over again. Not happy!

Purchased in March 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
mrdantheman

mrdanthemanIllawarra, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Did not last long

published

I have owned this dashcam for just over 2 years now and about 6 months ago the internal battery failed. Every time it shuts down the time and date are wrong. Recently I witnessed a hit and run accident, I was hopefull to assist with my dashcam. When I viewed the footage it was all pink! I have tried everything to get it to work again. I am now in the market for a new dashcam. I will not be getting a blackvue as they just don't last.

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Problems Galore

published

Purchased in September 2016 at Daschcams Australia for A$549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Readable Number PlatesYes
Car Modelcx5
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Unlucky

UnluckySouth East Queensland, QLD

Great when it worked

published

My dash cam was purchased and installed by a reputable dealer just over two years ago. It has been replaced because it kept restarting and the replacement unit was repaired under warranty because the internal power in the front camera was faulty. The dealer has sent it off again today because the front camera won't power up. I'm very disappointed- I was assured this was a very good brand and I seem to have had nothing but trouble with it. I drive approximately 1000 kms a week and need a good, reliable unit for peace of mind on the road.

Purchased in June 2017 at Sound in Motion for A$880.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Readable Number PlatesNo
Car ModelMazda CX-3 DK Akari AWD, 1.8L Diesel, Automatic
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Dash Cams

Find out how BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Blackvue 650S 2ch LEMON

Blackvue 650S 2ch LEMONSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst Camera Ever

published

Purchased in August 2017 at No Limit Audio Melbourne for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Readable Number PlatesYes
Car ModelToyota Hilux
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Battery Life
Audio Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
See all answers
4 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
ANGRY MUCH

ANGRY MUCH

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

SLOW CUSTOMER SERVICE

published

Purchased in May 2018 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Readable Number PlatesNo
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Battery Life
Audio Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
See all answers
6 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
ANGRY MUCH
ANGRY MUCH
Jarkko

JarkkoAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Paid premium but it failed to deliver

published

Purchased one about three years ago, and the sound recording failed after three weeks. I had the unit replaced as I refused to wait three weeks for it to be repaired. After 18 months of usage, the sound recording failed again. We got better value from a unit in my wife's car that was one third the price. Because of the cost and poor reliability, I can only give it two stars.

3 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Jarkko
Jarkko
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Hi Jarkko, no worries, look forward to hearing from you soon.
Thanks,
Tom.
Auto BlackBox Pty Ltd.

Upset Aussie

Upset AussieChisholm NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Only Dash cam to Have

published

Needed to be hard wired but well worth the effort. So impressed will keep it for whatever car i drive even though costly to have hardwired. Havent needed to update software after 2 years of wear. Costly to buy but so much better than cheaper dash cams. Before buying a dashcam its worthwhile doing the research. This product is worth the money.....

2 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Thanks very much for your review :) If you ever considering upgrading your system, then please get in touch with us so we can help you out.
Thanks again,
Tom.
Auto BlackBox Pty Ltd

Upset Aussie
Upset Aussie

Its working fine thanks

Tassie Devil

Tassie DevilHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic After Sales Service

published
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Mish

MishGerringong

Rubbish-didn’t even last 2 years.

published

Considering this camera wasn’t cheap it is very disappointing that it lasted 1 year and 10 months! And the salt in the wounds is that 6 months after I bought it the warranty went from 1 year to two years. My local electronics shop now refuses to stock them because of the failure rate and how painful BlackVue Australia are to deal with. Will never buy another BlackVue.

3 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Hi Mish, just following up and checking if you have had a chance to read our reply and private messages? Thank you,

Mish
Mish

Hi-would be interested to see if it can be fixed. How do I go about this? I would rather have a working BlackVue than to have to rip all the hardwired power cable setup out of my car and get another brand.

Dash Cams

Find out how BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Luko

LukoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Very poor app

published

The app is not user friendly. Compared to much less expensive cameras this is not a good one. Camera quality is good, but if you need info from the app ie how to change passwords etc, forget about it. Mine is sitting in a draw, and I went and bought another cheaper one. much easier to use. Overall very disappointed in this camera.

2 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Brendon

Brendon

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Avoid

published
4 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Hi Brendon,
Just touching base to see if you have had any joy resolving the problems you were experiencing? Our support team haven't heard from you, feel free to get in touch if you would like any help.
Best Regards,
James

Brendon
Brendon
Andrew

AndrewCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 105 reviews
  • 30 likes

An excellent quality basic dash cam

published
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Beachman

BeachmanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

Avoid this unit.

published

The dash cam worked very well for a while then stopped working without any warning. Changing the SD card, rebooting, downloading and installing firmware are all complicated and time consuming. Theres a constant “invalid settings” warning. I’ll be looking to get my money back and get a more reliable dash cam.

1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Vincent23

Vincent23Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Expensive Popular Camera and Pretty Reliable

published
4 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Vincent23
Vincent23
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Cyberstalker

Cyberstalker asked

Dual Camera DR650GW-2CH

Recently purchased a car with this camera,I removed the Blackvue sd card and the camera hasn't recorded anything since 2018!
The front white light is on and the blue and red lights are also on,when I try and press the button to turn the Wifi on/off nothing happens as well.
So in other words the power is on but there's no one home,help please?!

1 answer
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Hi Cyberstalker,

Thanks for reaching out to us.

If the system is showing lights but they are solid then it does confirm power is coming in but the camera is freezing on startup.
This could be caused by the cameras SD Card or the camera itself.

We would advise powering the camera with no SD Card inserted to try and isolate which component is the cause of the issue.
If the camera boots and says "No SD Card" then it would indicate that the SD Card was the cause and we would advise getting a new SD card.
If the same issue persists then it would indicate that the camera is the cause.
If it is the camera please let us know so that we can assist further to resolve the issue.

If assistance is required with performing these steps please reach out to us on the number below.

Best regards,
Chaim
BlackVue Australia
08 6267 5167

Harman A.

Harman A.asked

DR650GW / DR650S

Hi team I got dr650 ms and dr 950s 4K camera what is biggest sd card I can use is it compatible for 256 gb for longer storage ?? please Advice

1 answer
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Hi Harman,

The DR650 is only rated to a 128GB SD card, while the DR900S can handle up to a 256GB SD card.

Best regards,
Chaim
BlackVue Australia
08 6267 5167

Harman A.

Harman A.asked

DR650GW / DR650S

I can’t find the password for my 650 series BlackVue please Advice

2 answers
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Hi Harman,

The default password for the DR650S is 'blackvue' if this shows up as incorrect you will need to reset the units password via a computer using the BlackVue Viewer.

https://helpcenter.blackvue.com/hc/en-us/articles/222403147-How-to-change-reset-the-dashcam-s-Wi-Fi-SSID-and-or-password-

Best regards,
Chaim
BlackVue Australia
08 6267 5167

Harman A.
Harman A.

Thanks for your help team

Get an answer from our members and BlackVue representatives

Details

The DR650S offers a number of features that overlap with the similarly high rated BlackVue DR705S, which sits in a price tier above it. These include:

  • Compatibility with a 128GB memory card. which can record about 40 hours of footage, according to BlackVue)
  • Impact detection mode, known as ‘Event Recording’
  • Parking Mode, which uses impact and motion detection to record footage if something, or someone, collides with your car
  • Voice recording is also turned on by default. This feature records audio as well – for example, if someone keys your car, it will record the sound of it happening as evidence
  • A built-in GPS and WiFi allow your dash cam to add details about geolocation and speed to your videos, and allows you to connect to your smart device for playback.

The DR650S differs from the DR750S in only a few minor ways. It lacks the advanced Sports Mode and Extreme Modes offered, which record 60 frames per second. The highest number of fps you’ll get with the DR650S is 30 fps using the Full HD (1920x1080) resolution. A higher frame rate allows for a crisper image, and reduces motion blur.

This model also features a slightly smaller viewing angle – 129 degrees, compared to 139 degrees with the DR750S.

Compare all 5 BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S
BlackVue Dual Camera DR650S-2CH
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

BlackVue Dual Camera DR650S-2CH

3.6
(36)
BlackVue Single Camera DR650S-1CH
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

BlackVue Single Camera DR650S-1CH

4.3
(16)
BlackVue Dual Camera DR650GW-2CH
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

BlackVue Dual Camera DR650GW-2CH

4.2
(78)
BlackVue Dual Truck Camera D650S-TR-IR-16
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

BlackVue Dual Truck Camera D650S-TR-IR-16

4.0
(1)
CategoryDash CamsDash CamsDash CamsDash Cams
Price (RRP) A$549.00A$399.00
Viewing Angle 129°129°
Camera Resolution1080p (Full HD)1080p (Full HD)
Megapixels 2.1 MP2.1 MP
Channels 21
FeaturesAutomatic Incident Detection (G-sensor), GPS, Microphone/Audio Recording, Motion Detection, No Screen (Camera Only), Smartphone App and Wi-FiAutomatic Incident Detection (G-sensor), GPS, Microphone/Audio Recording, Motion Detection, No Screen (Camera Only) and Wi-Fi
Memory TypeMicroSD cardMicroSD card
Weight124 g96 g
Dimensions Front: 36 x 118.5, Rear: 25 x 67.4 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Replaced byBlackVue Dual Camera DR650S-2CH
ManualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 5 BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.