??!
2 photos
Bosch HydroPower

Bosch HydroPower

10H, 13H and 16H
1.7 from 265 reviews

See the Best Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
19
3 star
14
2 star
26
1 star
187

Bobby N.

Bobby N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

WARNING! STAY CLEAR !

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

angry47

angry47adelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is the perfect unit for someone who likes cold showers

published

I need more than 30 words . Unit has a mind of its own . You waste a lot of water before it heats up then it fluctuates and doesnt hold heat , dont you dare use any other tap around the house for hot water it just isn't going to happen . Bosch makes other products that are beyond amazing but i think they should stay away from continous water systems . yes unit has been looked at and has been replaced . The only thing that I can say is that it is sitting outside my bin enjoying the sun and rust not much to say but shame on the person who designed this and went home and said what a machine i designed .this person is the devils cousin what a heap of rubbish stay clear you have been warned

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
angry47
angry47

No need using different brand


Will

WillPerth, WA

Why is hydropower 10h making noise when not in use

published

Hydropower 10H is making noise when
Not in use, sounds like a fan I’d running. Is this a concern, or is it dangerous? It’s quite loud and can be heard In the back bedroom

1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
David

DavidGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Mistake

published

Mistake I agree with Lucei, We purchased the 16H in 9/2015 and it has been intermittent with not lighting up consistantly since installation & has now not started after many tries. I checked & the ignition was sparking, but the gas not lighting. I rang the local dealer we purchased the unit from, who told me it was out of warranty and they are busy so I should ring a plumber! This I did and when they arrived and this time the unit started first time. We will be going elsewhere in the future.

Purchased in September 2015 for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Fixing ignition issue

published

Purchased in February 2017 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Lucei

LuceiSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Should be a class action, a piece of JUNK!!!

published

A big mistake choosing this hot water heater. It has never delivered really hot water, had the plumber out several times. Have contacted Bosch, always unhelpful. Today I had the Plumber ring Bosch and do trouble shooting with Bosch service team. Answer, nothing else can be done to improve the temperature of the water. Will have to continue having baths without needing any cold water, temp about 45 degrees, hopeless!! Also waste so much water, don't have mains water,only rain water from tanks, sometimes have to wait 5 minutes . Not good enough Bosch. DON"T BUY THIS PRODUCT.

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Te Manihera

Te ManiheraPerth, WA

Not Hot anymore but all is working. Bout month it has been like this

published

The unit is firing and gas is heating. But suddenly the past month my water is not Hot. I have just gone out and checked again ignition works fine gas is burning. By the time it gets to my taps I can hold my hand under it. I’ve turned everything up. But still warm to touch after running water (hot) for 4mins. Any one else have this.

Purchased in April 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Te Manihera
Te Manihera

Oops you’re probably right I will look into that ASAP thanks heaps


Billy

BillyPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst hot water system ever

published

Unit is a couple years old, consistently won’t light. Have to then wait for stupid lock out or have cold shower. Can’t wait to throw it in the tip and get something that works

Purchased in September 2016.

1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Peter J

Peter JMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Water temperature fluctuates wildly, too hot one minute, not heating water the next.

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Len

LenAdelaide

Terrible, terrible, terrible

published

Purchased this unit in august 2018 as a replacement for our old bosch unit. We were advised by the installer that this was the one to get. We had the installation techs out four times in the first few days because it would cease to work. Despite my requests for a different unit it was inferred that the problem was user error !!!! SIx months later the unit takes ages to heat ,goes boiling hot then cold and has to be restarted several times just to get a lukewarm shower. This product has a major design fault and is clearly not fit for sale. Will be replacing as soon as finances allow. Avoid this terrible product.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Sammy

Sammyleongatha

Trouble from the beginning.

published

Unrealibile ignition of both pilot and main burner. Works today but not tomorrow or even now but not in 1 hour. Very sensitive to water pressure. Inserted inline water filter which helped in blocking the filter in the unit. Fortunately we are not entirely reliant on this heater. Reading the other reviews would incline me to replace it rather than get it serviced.

Date PurchasedMar 2000
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Water waster, hot then cold

published

We recently moved into a rental home and cannot believe the performance of the hot water system. Although the unit is directly below the shower it may take up to 4 attempts and many litres of water for the very hot water to flow. The minute the very hot water comes through any attempt to adjust causes the shower to become cold.

The Bosch unit 16H needs to be avoided.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

A Bee

A BeeAdelaide

Worst decision ever!

published

Had to replace my old unit which didn't even last 10 years, stupidly settled on this model. Worst decision ever!! We've nicknamed the unit Katy Perry because it's hot then it's cold. This shower either inflicts 3rd degree burns or induces hypothermia, along the way it wastes a tonne of water. How can a gas hot water system run cold when only the hot water tap is on. Will replace as soon as I can afford to.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
2 comments
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
A Bee
A Bee

shocking, unreliable, waste's heaps of water

published

replaced old bosch that was not too bad but only lasted 10 years, new unit has been a nightmare, was told by their own techs, (no one can fix it ! that's just how they are ) I'm sick of waiting 10 minutes for it to settle down at 4.00 am every day ! will have to bite the bullet and get another brand that will do what they say it will do , will NOT buy anything that's made in China again. NO quality control !

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Charlie, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Please be advised that if your unit is within warranty, we will be able to arrange a service call for you. Our team is available from 8am to 6pm (AEDT) during the weekday at 1300 30 70 37.


Very unreliable water heater like most modern bosch products.

published

Main problems are the diaphragm and the hydro generator unit. The diaphragm will need regular replacement. Probably every 3 years For those who OFTEN have no hot water suspect diaphragm has a VERY small hole in it. If no hot water suspect the hydro generator unit. They are both easy to test and replace. Sure if both need replacement and you need a gas engineer to install bite the bullet and install a new not bosch unit. If repaired and setup correctly you will get constant temp hot water every time. I don't think most engineers have a clue about these heaters.

Date PurchasedJan 2010
Disappointed

DisappointedMelbourne

Useless

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Lucei

LuceiSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Piece of Rubbish from day One!!!

published

Water has never been really hot,when having a bath no cold water is ever needed,have been putting up with this for two years. I have contacted Bosch on several occasions but treated rudely each time. Was told that if someone came out and something not under Warranty they would charge costs for travelling time etc.I !! Not good enough Bosch,have been told that it is not a problem of incorrect pump from the water tank. I was told by Bosch that was probably the problem.Will never buy a Bosch appliance again.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Nigel

NigelCowra

Installation was wrong and minimal support from Bosch when contacted with issue

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Jon

JonHastings

H16 junk

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

rupertbacher

rupertbacherMOUNT GAMBIER

Stay away from this

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Wayne

Wayneasked

HydroPower 13H

Purchased 08/2012, have already replaced the diaphragm twice. (Part # 1318116)
Now the unit will start, heat and operated for only a few minutes, Max 5, before the gas shuts down and flames out. Will restart but goes out after 10 -15 seconds. What is my next [art to replace. Wayne

No answers

Arthur JACOBS

Arthur JACOBSasked

HydroPower 16H

How do I light it

6 answers
Arthur JACOBS
Arthur JACOBS

Hello

David
David

The unit should light when you start water flow through the hot tap. When you open a hot water tap the flow starts & the igniter starts sparking which you would hear if you listen at the heater. We have found that the ignition sparks but the unit is spasmodic at starting and we now turn on one or more taps to get maximum water flow and it mostly starts after about 5 to 20 times. We are almost at the point of replacing with another make of unit and dread the arrival of our next water bill.

Arthur JACOBS
Arthur JACOBS

Thanks for answering I will try and see how I go


Richie G

Richie Gasked

HydroPower 13H

how do you turn hot water temperature up

3 answers
Lucei
Lucei

Sorry but the unit is rubbish, I have had three plumbers in to try and get hot water but all say there is nothing they can do. They have contacted the Bosch technical team and spoken to them while they were here and the answer by the technical side was there was nothing more that could be done. The unit is useless.

David
David

We cannot turn the temperature up more than maximum on the unit, I have a shower on full heat! We have to turn the tap on a number of times to get the heater to work. I will never buy another Bosch product.

Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Richie, thanks for your question. Please be informed that a few alterations can be made to increase the hot water temperature.

Inside the unit there are 2 temperature adjustments that can be made: a slide control that controls the gas burner and a round dial on the water valve. Slide the control to the right to increase the burner and temperature, you can also turn the round dial clockwise to increase the temperature.

If these are already set to the maximum settings, then a service is required. Services are recommended every 2 years. If you need assistance with getting in touch with an approved service agent, please call us at 1300 30 70 37 any time between 7:30AM and 6PM (AEST) on a weekday.


Get an answer from our members and Bosch Hot Water & Heating representatives

Details

Bosch Hot Water & Heating HydroPower 10H

Bosch Hot Water & Heating HydroPower 10H

50 reviews
Bosch Hot Water & Heating HydroPower 13H

Bosch Hot Water & Heating HydroPower 13H

21 reviews
Bosch Hot Water & Heating HydroPower 16H

Bosch Hot Water & Heating HydroPower 16H

86 reviews
CategoryGas Continuous Hot Water SystemsGas Continuous Hot Water SystemsGas Continuous Hot Water Systems
Price (RRP)850905920
Release dateApr 2007Apr 2007Apr 2007

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.