2 photos
Bosch HydroPower

Bosch HydroPower

16H, 10H, 13H
1.7 from 282 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.3 (20)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.2 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (15)
  • Smells of GasYes (1) · No (18)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.3 (21)
  • Heating Speed
    2.3 (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
daveq
daveqWairoa
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Reported to energy safe N. Z. ! Caught fire causing injuries. Only 7 months old.

published

I had the hot water tap running in shower.the water was not hot. I went outside to check the heater and found the interior completly engulfed in flames. Burning the side of my house and burned my hands removing the housing cover. Bosch wont cover under warranty claiming an insect caused the fire. Nothing but problems dealing with bosch.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Julie
JuliePerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Terrible!! Avoid at all costs

published

I’ve had two accidentally. The second one which I asked not to have the same system was exactly the same. Irregular temperatures. Takes ages to heat up at times. My first one broke down after only 3 months & I had to pay for repairs for a ‘consumable item!’ Continued to break down until it got replaced at 3 years old. It looked like it had caught on fire. Black soot over the top of the unit as well as a large metre wide black patch under my eaves.
Second unit broke down after about 8 months & fixed under warranty. It just broke down again, luckily just in warranty.
Definitely do not recommend this unit

Purchased in June 2019 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Imran Ali
Imran AliMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Bosh Hot water system

published

Hi, I have Bosch 16H Hydropower system. Initially it was working fine but now it works only in laundry and does not work in kitchen and bathroom as when I turn on the taps the burner does not get flame. The water flow for all taps are the same. Any help would be highly appreciated. TIA

Incentivised Review No
Functionality
1/5
Temperature Consistency
1/5
Heating Speed
Kevin
KevinGippsland, VIC

Chunk of crap, avoid at all costs

published

The older 16H systems were good, years of trouble free hot water, then they changed the design of the hydro generator (spark igniter). Now they only last 2-3 years and then you have to pay another $200 odd for another one, only good part is you can get a battery holder from jaycar electronics, a couple of AA batteries and a toggle switch and bypass the broken hydro generator until your new one arrives about a week later. They tend to die on a friday night when you can't order a new one and have a houseful of dirty sweaty people all needing a shower and nowhere else to have one. Apart from the crappy hydro generator nothing else seems to ever die on them

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Kevin
Kevin
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch HydroPower compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt
MattMid North Coast, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 18 likes

Works fine, don’t know why some are complaining

published

Needs to be set up correctly.. good for small family... not for large households..
Slow the water flow right down and full heat..on settings...Make sure whoever set it up , have the Lpg regulator Flow set right.. my gas fitter Had to adjust mine..
water is frigging hot and only takes a few minutes for it to g to the other Side of house.

Purchased in July 2020 at Tradelink for $800.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Dave Wilson
Dave WilsonSouth East Queensland, QLD

No Hot Water Easily Fixed

published

Purchased in March 2008 at Already Installed.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Good run
Good runWheatbelt, WA

Top unit this lpg 10h

published

Great unit! I had my 10h lpg installed by a licenced plumber nearly 11yrs ago.... never been serviced until yesterday (09/07/2020) and even then i was able to do it myself,.. needed 2 Orings on water pressure tap spindle and a fibre washer on the water inlet...leaks stopped... very reliable and lights 1st time and living in regional WA the water pressure is all over the place... Will install another 10h or 13h sometime in the next year.

Purchased in June 2009.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Rachel
RachelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Rubbish

published

5 minutes to set shower temp because the water pressure is so bad then it just cuts out, children screaming because water just gone cold. Had a 20 year old Bosch system previously in same spot that had amazing water pressure. If I have to take it down myself its a going right back where it came from. Stop making them BOSCH

Purchased at Tradelink for $900.00.

Incentivised Review No
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Peter
PeterSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

back to town again.

published

This product is poorly designed, overly complicated, and has no manual over-rides. So when one of the many components that have been specifically designed to fail, and need replacing, fails and needs replacing, the first thing that means is there is nothing you can do personally to rectify the problem, and you now must take the thing into a town immediately if you intend to shower again anytime in the next week, The shop will return it just in time for something else to go wrong with it. Whats that? The gas isn't flowing when it should? Why don't you just manually turn it on then? You can't! Why not? Because your a sucker? Take it back to the shop then! sucker!

Purchased for $800.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch HydroPower compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

and i was going to buy another 1

published

judging by the comments i have to agree with all of the complaints because mine has the same issues as everyone else takes ages to warm up ,never gets warm ,sometime get warm , then get cold warms up cant control the temp then gets hot turn on cold then no hot water very frustrating call a plumber says its the spider trap ok works for a while then same thing happens only in the morning and at night so call plumber tells me buy another brand bosch are terrible

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
James B.
James B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Useless for hot showers

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
mrammelt
mrammeltPerth, WA

In reply to Julia.

published
Incentivised Review No
Smells of GasNo
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch HydroPower compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Gas leak

published

There is a constant yellow flame burning inside the unit. My understanding is there is no pilot light so this is obviously leaking and very dangerous. Have disconnected until plumber can attend for the second time

  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

No real issues

published

We have had this system for about 6 years. We previously had a storage water heater with pilot light. The bosch 16h uses much less gas.
It failed once with a water filter disintegration. That was because I failed to service the unit at the recommended 2 year intervals. We have no issues with it now. We have correct gas pressure, water pressure and water flow from the taps to ensure correct operation of the unit.
Also, our service technician really knows his stuff.

Purchased for $800.00.

Incentivised Review No
Household Size 2 person(s)
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Happy, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate your feedback. We do strongly recommend that our units are serviced every two years to prevent any issues. We wish you many years of trouble-free hot water.

Gavin D.
Gavin D.Gippsland, VIC

Issues With the HydroPower 16H

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Gavin, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Could you kindly get in touch with us at 1300 30 70 37 any time between 7:30AM to 6PM (AEDT) on a weekday so that we can assist you with this issue.

Questions & Answers

Katrina M.
Katrina M.asked
HydroPower 16H

Does the 16H Hydro power bosh hot water system have a cleanable filter?

No answers
Michael
Michaelasked
HydroPower 16H

Hi guys I have a Bosch hydropower that had a problem when the hotwater tapis turned on the pilot light lights but the burners don't kick in any ideas thanks Michael

No answers
Trevor B.
Trevor B.asked
HydroPower 16H

Hi
My water heater starts up fine .However the water flow reduces to a trickle after 30 - 60 seconds.
The ‘green’ light has also stopped lighting up (Does not come on at all,even when the unit is running - as above)
The water flow/pressure at the inlet is fine,as is the gas flow.
This problem may have started a month ago,with some reduced water flow .
Not sure where to look next.
Thanks

1 answer
daveq
daveq

Hey, Trevor. Sorry I have nothing to offer. I just had a bad experience with my 16H catching fire at just 7 months old. I spoke with Bosch covering the unit under warranty and they said it was not covered due to an insect blocking an orifice. They said I should have checked the flame color making sure it was blue not yellow. The initial customer service with bosch was terrible VERY rude, no common sense. I did report the incident to Energy Safe in N. Z..I was without hot water for 3 weeks. Bosch did eventually, reluctantly replace the unit minus installation. Total nightmare.

See all Bosch HydroPower questions

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Hot Water & Heating representatives

Bosch HydroPower

Details

Compare all 3 Bosch HydroPower
CategoryGas Continuous Hot Water SystemsGas Continuous Hot Water SystemsGas Continuous Hot Water Systems
Price (RRP)850905920
Release dateApr 2007Apr 2007Apr 2007
Compare all 3 Bosch HydroPower
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.