??!
2 photos
Bosch HydroPower

Bosch HydroPower

16H, 10H, 13H
1.7 from 277 reviews

Reviews

1.7

277 reviews
5
(19)
4
(24)
3
(14)
2
(27)
1
(193)
  • Build Quality
    2.4 (16)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.2 (12)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (12)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.4 (17)
  • Heating Speed
    2.4 (17)
  • Smells of GasYes (1) · No (15)
Previous
Next
Dave Wilson

Dave WilsonSouth East Queensland, QLD

No Hot Water Easily Fixed

published

Purchased in March 2008 at Already Installed.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Good run

Good runWheatbelt, WA

Top unit this lpg 10h

published

Great unit! I had my 10h lpg installed by a licenced plumber nearly 11yrs ago.... never been serviced until yesterday (09/07/2020) and even then i was able to do it myself,.. needed 2 Orings on water pressure tap spindle and a fibre washer on the water inlet...leaks stopped... very reliable and lights 1st time and living in regional WA the water pressure is all over the place... Will install another 10h or 13h sometime in the next year.

Purchased in June 2009.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Rachel

RachelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Rubbish

published

5 minutes to set shower temp because the water pressure is so bad then it just cuts out, children screaming because water just gone cold. Had a 20 year old Bosch system previously in same spot that had amazing water pressure. If I have to take it down myself its a going right back where it came from. Stop making them BOSCH

Purchased at Tradelink for A$900.00.

Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch HydroPower compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter

PeterSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

back to town again.

published

This product is poorly designed, overly complicated, and has no manual over-rides. So when one of the many components that have been specifically designed to fail, and need replacing, fails and needs replacing, the first thing that means is there is nothing you can do personally to rectify the problem, and you now must take the thing into a town immediately if you intend to shower again anytime in the next week, The shop will return it just in time for something else to go wrong with it. Whats that? The gas isn't flowing when it should? Why don't you just manually turn it on then? You can't! Why not? Because your a sucker? Take it back to the shop then! sucker!

Purchased for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

and i was going to buy another 1

published

judging by the comments i have to agree with all of the complaints because mine has the same issues as everyone else takes ages to warm up ,never gets warm ,sometime get warm , then get cold warms up cant control the temp then gets hot turn on cold then no hot water very frustrating call a plumber says its the spider trap ok works for a while then same thing happens only in the morning and at night so call plumber tells me buy another brand bosch are terrible

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
James B.

James B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Useless for hot showers

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
mrammelt

mrammeltPerth, WA

In reply to Julia.

published
Smells of GasNo

Gas leak

published

There is a constant yellow flame burning inside the unit. My understanding is there is no pilot light so this is obviously leaking and very dangerous. Have disconnected until plumber can attend for the second time

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

No real issues

published

We have had this system for about 6 years. We previously had a storage water heater with pilot light. The bosch 16h uses much less gas.
It failed once with a water filter disintegration. That was because I failed to service the unit at the recommended 2 year intervals. We have no issues with it now. We have correct gas pressure, water pressure and water flow from the taps to ensure correct operation of the unit.
Also, our service technician really knows his stuff.

Purchased for A$800.00.

Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Happy, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate your feedback. We do strongly recommend that our units are serviced every two years to prevent any issues. We wish you many years of trouble-free hot water.

Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch HydroPower compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gavin D.

Gavin D.Gippsland, VIC

Issues With the HydroPower 16H

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Gavin, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Could you kindly get in touch with us at 1300 30 70 37 any time between 7:30AM to 6PM (AEDT) on a weekday so that we can assist you with this issue.

Don't buy one of these!

published

Purchased in June 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
2 comments
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
James H.
James H.

Too late. I rectified it permanently by removing the Bosch and replacing it with a Rinnai Infinity 26, which, according to my plumber is far more reliable and has a better capacity.

madeline

madelineGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

unreliable and not recommended

published

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Bobby N.

Bobby N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

WARNING! STAY CLEAR !

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
angry47

angry47adelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is the perfect unit for someone who likes cold showers

published

Unit has a mind of its own . You waste a lot of water before it heats up then it fluctuates and doesnt hold heat , dont you dare use any other tap around the house for hot water it just isn't going to happen . Bosch makes other products that are beyond amazing but i think they should stay away from continous water systems . yes unit has been looked at and has been replaced . The only thing that I can say is that it is sitting outside my bin enjoying the sun and rust not much to say but shame on the person who designed this and went home and said what a machine i designed .this person is the devils cousin what a heap of rubbish stay clear you have been warned

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
angry47
angry47

No need using different brand

Will

WillPerth, WA

Why is hydropower 10h making noise when not in use

published

Hydropower 10H is making noise when
Not in use, sounds like a fan I’d running. Is this a concern, or is it dangerous? It’s quite loud and can be heard In the back bedroom

1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch HydroPower compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David

DavidGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Mistake

published

Mistake I agree with Lucei, We purchased the 16H in 9/2015 and it has been intermittent with not lighting up consistantly since installation & has now not started after many tries. I checked & the ignition was sparking, but the gas not lighting. I rang the local dealer we purchased the unit from, who told me it was out of warranty and they are busy so I should ring a plumber! This I did and when they arrived and this time the unit started first time. We will be going elsewhere in the future.

Purchased in September 2015 for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Fixing ignition issue

published

Purchased in February 2017 for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lucei

LuceiSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Should be a class action, a piece of JUNK!!!

published

A big mistake choosing this hot water heater. It has never delivered really hot water, had the plumber out several times. Have contacted Bosch, always unhelpful. Today I had the Plumber ring Bosch and do trouble shooting with Bosch service team. Answer, nothing else can be done to improve the temperature of the water. Will have to continue having baths without needing any cold water, temp about 45 degrees, hopeless!! Also waste so much water, don't have mains water,only rain water from tanks, sometimes have to wait 5 minutes . Not good enough Bosch. DON"T BUY THIS PRODUCT.

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Te Manihera

Te ManiheraPerth, WA

Not Hot anymore but all is working. Bout month it has been like this

published

The unit is firing and gas is heating. But suddenly the past month my water is not Hot. I have just gone out and checked again ignition works fine gas is burning. By the time it gets to my taps I can hold my hand under it. I’ve turned everything up. But still warm to touch after running water (hot) for 4mins. Any one else have this.

Purchased in April 2010.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Te Manihera
Te Manihera

Oops you’re probably right I will look into that ASAP thanks heaps

Billy

BillyPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst hot water system ever

published

Unit is a couple years old, consistently won’t light. Have to then wait for stupid lock out or have cold shower. Can’t wait to throw it in the tip and get something that works

Purchased in September 2016.

1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Paul C.

Paul C.asked

HydroPower 13H

I have a Bosch WR 325-1 If I reduce the water pressure to increase heat the flame burners go out. Can't get any hot water. Please help anyone.

1 answer
Good run
Good run

Call a plumber... it sounds like a gas fitter job.

Dorian T.

Dorian T.asked

HydroPower 16H

My bosh 16h hot water system seems to not heat the water up as it used to I have slowed the water flow down but it's only warm not hot can you help me please

No answers
Karma  F.

Karma F.asked

HydroPower 16H

Hi my 16h won't ignite. Replaced the battery pack @$260 (this was the problem last time) but it won't even spark now and no clicking sound when turn tap on.

It's winter here and I have two small children, any ideas what I can do to fault find or solve the problem. Please help

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Hot Water & Heating representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.