1 photo
Bosch Pilot Ignition

Bosch Pilot Ignition

10P, 16P
2.4 from 16 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Reviews

2.4
16 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (3)
  • Smells of GasYes (0) · No (3)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.0 (3)
  • Heating Speed
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Yannick D.
Yannick D.
  • 2 reviews

Garbage Pilot

published

-Decent output: can cope with two long showers in a row
-Temperature fluctuates often, meaning constant adjustment are required
-Pilot light goes out at the faintest suggestion of a storm (in Perth, where storms are very minor)
-Re-lighting the pilot takes many attempts, as the gas output on pilot seems to be very weak

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Cam
CamSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Thermocouple keeps dying

published

The thermocouple for this appliance dies every 12 months or so forcing you to replace it at a cost of around $100, and which isn't always the easiest to find

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Julie H
Julie HPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Value for Money!

published

We had this hot water system installed by Ember Plumbing yesterday replacing an existing Bosch 10p which was over 14 years old. Cant complain with the old Bosch system lasting over 14 years. Value for money in mine and my hubbies option and fingers crossed we get another 14 years.

Purchased in March 2019 at Ember Plumbing and Gas.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Steve
StevePerth

Worst hot water system on the market

published

Every time we turn a tap on, no matter how close to the system, about 2 minutes of water goes down the drain before it is hot. After continuous issues with the pilot light going out, the ignitor button eventually stopped working completely, we enquired to get it fixed and were told it would be almost cheaper to replace the unit than have 1 button repaired. So i manually lit it for the next 15-20 times before all the buttons stopped working. Now i can manually light the pilot light but the gas-on button wont stay on. If someone recommends this product, dont listen to them, do not buy this product.

Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch Pilot Ignition compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Giles
GilesAdelaide,South Australia

Should be called Tepid Water Unit.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Buyer be aware all made in China

published

Yet to find out how these hot water heaters measure up... thought they were made in Australia as before under licence. Australian made lasted twenty years plus...and very reliable... the outside packaging very misleading mentioning Germany and Gb Technologies... nowhere on the outside packaging does it say made in China... you have to look on the inside compliance plate to find this out. Not even on the Bosch website does it mention where they are made... Buyer be aware you are not buying a German product even the insides look very different than past models...

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Ivy M.
Ivy M.Perth

Very Disappointed Mr Bosch!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2012

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Don't buy one

published

This is the first time I have felt strongly enough to write a review to help others. After another visit by the after hours plumber -

This is my second bosch of this type. Both have had the same issues starting in the first 12 months. Regularly not having hotwater is not nice. The parts don't last long, the pilot light goes out, the buttons get stuck so you cannot operate the unit, hotwater takes a long time to come through and the water cycles through hot and cold - even with the water saver removed in the shower head (they say it causes the hot cold cycling), wd40 to get the off button to unstick. The plumber had to really talk me into the replacing the last bosch with the current 10P and I hate to think what it has cost me.

Good product, cheap and reliable

published

we have two models the 10P and the 16P they lasted about 12 years each and we have replaced them with the same products. The heaters are located directly outside where they are need and the hot water flows almost instantaneously. no power connection required, so you have hot water when there is a power cut. my only criticism is that they quite deep and stick out from the wall - could be wider and less protruding. effective reliable and good value.

Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch Pilot Ignition compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible Hot Water System

published

This hot water system is simply terrible. It always takes an eternity for the hot water to come through the taps. In my shower it is difficult to mix the hot and the cold reliably, the basin tap won't mix hot and cold at all and the same with my kitchen taps. It provides really hot water when the hot water does come through, however it is almost impossible to mix the hot and cold to get a warm temperature, when you add the cold the temperature of the water becomes cold and there is no warmth in the water. I don't know what to do about this problem. Gone are the days where I could just enjoy a shower.

Poor product

published

The idea of hot water on demand is a good one, if that is what you get. You're not going to get a great flow from this product but it is adequate when it works. The main issue with the Bosch 10p is the pilot light keeps going out and won't stay lit. The initial signs are 1) it goes out 2) you have to hold the pilot light button down for several minutes, not 10 seconds to reignite it 3) then it won't be too far down the track that you can expect the pilot light to just not stay on at all no matter how long you hold down the button. We have found out it is the thermocouple, it has a very short life, we seem to be replacing ours 1 to 2 times a year, very annoying.

Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
cold
coldperth
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

ooops

published

It's with heavy heart that I admit that I was wrong after calling the Bosch recommended number I was told that the cost of a service/diaphram replacement would only cost $190 after being quoted $300/$400 by local plumbers who seemed more interested in trying to sell me a new one ,so thanks Bosch ,so I would say google your local Bosch service centre ,you will probably find it is actually cheaper believe it or not ,the tech also recommended having this done about every 2/4 years and the system will prove to be a good buy .

Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch Pilot Ignition compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jan
JanPerth WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Bosch 10 P water heater

published
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Kelvin13
Kelvin13

Hi Jan,

We are on a farm and have a two bottle (1 in use and other spare) system. Never a problem with hot water not working while gas stove works. Would you please post what happens next.

Jan
JanPerth WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad buy

published
Gorbigobbles
GorbigobblesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

Trust Bosch???

published
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Questions & Answers

badpuppy1990
badpuppy1990asked
Pilot Ignition 10P

We had a Water Wizard10P unit installed six weeks ago. Water temperature fluctuates from hot to cold. When hot water turned on the pilot runs brightly but gradually reduces and water runs cool to cold. Expected better as our previous Bosc unit gave us 14 years of service.

No answers
JackieK
JackieKasked
Pilot Ignition 10P

Just moved few days ago cannot get 'stop' button to come out to normal position.
Did the WD40 silicone trick as shown on YouTube. So cannot light pilot at all!
Cold showers.

No answers
Susan S.
Susan S.asked
Bosch Pilot Ignition

16p Bosch hot water wizard no pilot light how do I get it back on

2 answers
Cam
Cam

4 buttons, lets just call them left to right 1 2 3 4.
Push the 3rd button (turns it all off), Then push in and hold in the first button (for pilot light) whilst pushing the 4th button several times (the spark for ignition), keep the first button pushed in for about 30 seconds. Then release the first button and push in the second button (for constant pilot flame).
You may have to do this a few times.
If it doesn't work then you probably need a new thermocouple.

Cam
Cam

also make sure to get the right thermocouple, it has three leads

See all Bosch Pilot Ignition questions

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Hot Water & Heating representatives

Bosch Pilot Ignition

Details

Compare both Bosch Pilot Ignition
CategoryGas Continuous Hot Water SystemsGas Continuous Hot Water Systems
Price (RRP)755905
Energy Rating4.34.3
Release dateApr 2011Apr 2011
Compare both Bosch Pilot Ignition
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.