??!
3 photos
Bosch Serie 2 SMS40E08AU

Bosch Serie 2 SMS40E08AU

MPN: SMS40E08AU
4.1 from 88 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
44
4 star
27
3 star
6
2 star
6
1 star
5

ChrisN

ChrisNSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Cleans my dishes

published

Good dishwasher that cleans my dishes. First time owner of dishwasher, so unable to comment on how this compares. Seems to clean my dishes well, easy to use and have not had any issues with the dishwasher for over 8 months of use. No need to scrape clean dishes before cleaning, But I find that I can save time with basic cycle if I do rinse first. Stacking dishes seems pretty simple as well. No smell if follow instructions of manual.

Purchased in November 2018 at The Good Guys for $849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Paula P.

Paula P.

  • 2 reviews

Love my dishwasher it’s amazingly very quiet

published

The perfect quiet and throughly quick or slow hot or warm water for that extra shine or sparkle of the dishes. This dishwasher is really easy to clean but rarely needs it done . If it needs any fixing or adjusting anywhere that is also incredible easy.

Purchased in November 2013 at Harvey Norman for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
Ruby

RubySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

It’s perfect as it’s our first dishwasher at home

published

As a first user I am very satisfied of the product and I put the dishes after I scrape them.and the dishwasher is still same as when when we first uses it..so I am very please to recommend it because it really helps me keep me saving my time up washing the dishes..

Purchased in November 2017 at The Good Guys for $644.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
JENNYALICE

JENNYALICENorth Queensland, QLD

Do not buy

published

I bought this dishwasher just over 2 years ago. After about a year the tablets stopped dissolving and glasses all had to be hand washed afterwards. I rang Bosch and they told me to clean the arms, but it has made no difference. No it isn’t cleaning at all and just runs the water through. Very disappointing

Purchased in December 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Joe A.

Joe A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Plastic base cracked through

published

It's a very average dishwasher, washes are ok when used on the intensive wash, the others are useless, I have had issue with tablets not dissolving and have had to use powder most of the time. The design is so poor that I couldn't fit large plates inside, and the basket cannot be adjusted.

Worst part is a knife dropped though and it cracked the base so me almost new dishwasher is now siliconed together while I buy a new one.

Purchased in March 2019 at Powerland for $669.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers

Robin

RobinDarling Downs, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great Dishwasher

published

This dishwasher was simple to set up and is easy to use. The programs are easy to understand and I have been happy with the cleaning results. I do a mixture if rinsing beforehand and not rinsing. It has never been clogged.

Purchased in December 2013.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Need to re-wash my glasses after each load

published

When my Bosch diswasher gave up (after only 4 years), I replaced it with the same one as I was so happy with it. Unfortunately, when it arrived, I was disappointed to find that the 'time remaining' feature had been removed from this model and the glass spikes removed from the top shelf. This means that glasses fall over during the wash cycle and I have to rewash them as they are filled with dirty water. Very disappointed. It annoys me to no end to have to hand wash after every load.

Purchased in January 2019 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Jane O,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having to re wash your glasses. if we can be of any help to you feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia


John Paddington

John PaddingtonPaddington

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Same problem e09

published

Our second Bosch dishwasher both lasted 4 years and then it's either an expensive repair or a new one. I think an expensive dishwasher should last longer than 4 years. Most of the good reviews are only after 2 years or less. While it was working it was ok but we rinse everything and look after it well so we should get a lot more than 4 years use.

Date PurchasedMar 2014
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi John Paddington,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch SMS40E08AU dishwasher.
Please contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia

On the scrap heap after 18 months.

published

What can I say .... After paying well over $1'ooo for our Bosch dishwasher around 18 months ago ..... It may as well go on the scrap heap . It worked really well for the past 18 months and then all of a sudden E09 continued to haunt us. Super Silent 44bd series 6 .

Date PurchasedJun 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your dishwasher.
We'd like to help, if you contact us on 1300 369 744 we’ll investigate for you. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

totallyrecked

totallyreckedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

The best dishwasher I have ever owned

published

This has to be the best dishwasher I have ever owned, and I have owned quite a few. For the last 10 months, I dont rinse any of the dishes before i put them (well I do scrap any food thats on them off first before putting them in). The cutlery holder is a good size. The dishwasher is able to fit in normal size dinner plates with ease. It is the quietest dishwasher I have ever owed and the water and power consumption is really good too. Highly recommend

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Jazzmyn H

Jazzmyn HAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy and efficient

published

The settings and layout are soo simple, I have options to save water and power although it already has a pretty good rating I can modify it anyway. I’ve been using it for about a month and I haven't had to clean it at all yet. My favourite thing is the capsule for the tablet actually stays shut.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Andrew

AndrewPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Best ever

published

Had this for coming up to a year. Had another well know 2 draw dishwasher prior to this. That was useless. This is in a different league. Adequate for a family of four. Great loading space. Great washing of dishes too. Also drys very well too. Went for the bosch for the german engineering side of things. So far so good. Trouble free. 10 out of 10 from me.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

billy

billySydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

My second machine in 5 years,

published

bought this dishwasher because my previous one is sounding so noisy and grumpy,it's in perfect condition other wise,clean and cared for,being a mechanic and engineer,I know when machinery is about to die,bought a replacement,only for the price and my mate has a van and picked it up for me,,,,hope my clothes washing machine doesn't go this way too,bosch,,not too sure ,made in turkey?

Date PurchasedSep 2018
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Billy,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your dishwasher.
If we can be of any assistance to you, please feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

billy
billy

Hi,so many thank's,the machine is now on my driveway awaiting the scrap iron guy,guess everything is throw away,no problems at all ,thank you for your interest,END of subject.


Jamie

JamieMelbourne, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Works Perfectly

published

This is a great dishwasher, it might not be the highest in the range but it's very effective and quiet too. It allows for larger plates to fit in the bottom shelf and the top shelf has good size proportion, the results are excellent every time and especially like the VarioSpeed function. I personally just use the auto setting on most cycles as this seems to do the job well. Not sure why the dishwasher is advertised as 'anti-fingerprint stainless steel finish' as it always accumulates fingerprints, anyway not a big deal. Would recommend this dishwasher.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Kampua

Kampua

  • 12 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified purchase

Brand new with mould growth inside

published

Bought a brand new SMS40E08AU but delivered with mould growth inside the dishwasher. BOSCH says they tested every unit at their factory. But not a good excuse to let it be wet inside and let mould growing inside. Hard to get rid of the mould once they are inside. Can spread to seal etc. It's also a health concern.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Otis Kahibah

Otis KahibahSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Last Bosch appliance I will buy

published

Like other reviewers I have found this Bosch dishwasher works really well...for about 2 years. After this the dishwasher is now constantly flooding and the drain pump doesn't empty the dishwasher. There is a simple hack involving removing the water,cleaning the filter, taking the dishwasher out from its built it position and tilting it to reset the drain. About an hour or so to do. Saves on service calls but to be honest I have had two Fisher and Paykel and one AEG dishwashers before that NEVER flooded. There are better machines than this out there.

Date PurchasedSep 2014
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

simon4222

simon4222South East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 9 likes

Bosch SMS40E08AU Dishwasher

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Simon4222,
Thanks for your review. We appreciate the feedback about your dishwasher.
If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.


Jodie V.

Jodie V.

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Quiet

published

Very happy with this dishwasher. Cleans well and is quiet. Took a while to get used to as we had our last dishwasher for 16 years but it is easy to use and everything comes out sparkling. We mostly use the quick wash cycle but it's also great on pots and pans.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

kaikai

kaikaiMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great value for money

published

Very happy with this dishwasher. Purchased through appliances online. It does everything it claims too. It doesn’t have a digital dial, but I don’t think that effects it’s functionality. Dishes always come out clean and dry. Good value for money, definitely recommend if you don’t want to fork out a fortune.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Jason

Jason

  • 2 reviews

Does a great job

published

Best dishwasher I have owned. Super effective every time. Not fancy, but definitely gets the dishes clean and does a great job on greasy pots and pans. Can be a bit noisy, and does not show how long remaining on the cycle, but if you don't need those functions then this one is awesome.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Bones

Bonesasked

Need to remove lid on dishwasher but it exposes insulation,is it safe to use like this?

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Bones,
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch dishwasher.
Please make sure to follow the installation instructions for the dishwasher. Exposing the insulation is not a problem as long as it is installed under a bench top as shown there. If it is not, the top of the appliance should stay on.
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia


Laurie

Laurieasked

Do Bosch have a PDF user manual for a Bosch sms40E08A that is accurate for this model only and not a combination of other various models?

2 answers
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Laurie, thanks for your question. All of our manuals are applicable to multiple models. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Andrew
Andrew

No idea. Sorry.


John

Johnasked

Is Bosch sms40E08AU equivalent in function ie a good replacement for the Bosch SGS53E02AU/30?

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi John, thanks for your question. There is no direct replacement for this model. The current most similar model would be the SMS40E08AU although it's stainless steel and not white. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.


Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Details

CategoryFreestanding Dishwashers
Price (RRP) $1,049
FeaturesChild Lock, Eco Mode/Wash, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack and Self Cleaning
Number of Place Settings 13
Water Rating3.5 star(s)
Water Consumption13.5 L/wash
Energy Rating3 star(s)
Energy Consumption368 kWh per year
Control Panel Position Front
Maximum Noise Level50 db
Number of Programs4
Colour / Finish Stainless Steel
Dimensions 845 x 600 x 600 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 4242002816739
  • MPN: SMS40E08AU

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.