??!
6 photos
Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox)

Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox)

MPN: SMS88TI01A
4.3 from 213 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (27)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (28)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (26)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (27)
  • Internal Layout
    3.8 (23)
Previous
Next
Brett

BrettSydney Surrounds, NSW

Faults after 2.5years, out of warranty.

published

2.5years old, German made dishwasher was working really well, until it fried the mother board. I’m surprised that a machine costing $1800 has stopped working in such a short period of time. $300 for the replacement board and $165 for labour for a 2.5year old machine. Paint has also started to peel around the places where the metal and plastic meet. I won’t be buying Bosch again. Not recommended.

Purchased in July 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Brett
Brett

How many weeks do I need to wait until a representative contacts me ? I’ve emailed and given you my mobile. It’s been well over a week. Typical lip service from a large company.

Steve

SteveSydney, NSW

Wouldn't recommend.

published

Touch pad feels cheap, turns on when it wants to, 3 months out of warranty it won't even start anymore screen keeps switching off even after reset and hard reset.

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Wayne M

Wayne MHunter Region, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good performance, but lacks some features

published

new this week, and is noticeably quieter than our previous DW. We do not rinse the dishes, and all have come out clean, as do wine glasses and baking dishes. the upper cutlery tray is good and the baskets easy to adjust, however, given the price and the brand, it is disappointing that you have to order small items holders, which would be useful for various items. As a high cost brand and model, there shouldn’t be any extra cost options, which I note are standard in less costly brands, with good reviews. The manual is full of “depending on the features of your dishwasher”.. This is not a basic model or low end cost. Bosch you could have done better.

Purchased in November 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,594.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Wayne M,
Thanks for sharing your review.
We really appreciate the feedback about your Bosch , If we can be of any help regarding the features of your dishwasher feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Freestanding Dishwashers

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox) compares to other Freestanding Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GRV

GRVSydney, NSW

Disappointed!

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bing Lee for $1,228.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Prim2012

Prim2012Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

How Disappointing

published

After only 2 days of ownership and four wash cycles I am experiencing a E24 error. On calling customer service I was advised if its a blockage it will not be covered under the warranty. What a Joke Bosch just not good enough. Considering this is my 3rd Bosch dishwasher and the other two were just middle of the range and very reliable. Very disappointed that spending top dollar doesn't mean you get what you pay for.

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Prim2012,
We'd like to help, if you email us at socialmedia.au@bshg.com, quoting BSH10649 in the subject line with your contact number. we’ll investigate for you.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Mish

MishSouth East Queensland, QLD

I Agree! Don't waste your money on Bosch!

published

Don't touch a Bosch dishwasher. I have the same issues.
Won't clean leaves food on plates. I actually have to space my dinner plates out to get them clean. After a couple of years the door needs to be slammed shut. Plus the added bonus of a rusted top tray rack. That Bosch won't replace the rusted part as it's out of warranty..... a dishwasher that rusts inside.... great product!
1st Bosch product and the last we will ever purchase!

Purchased in June 2012 at The Good Guys for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Mish,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Dishwasher. If we can be of any help to you feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Kind Regards, Bosch Home Australia

Mish
Mish

I have already contacted you! Feel free to contact me

Sofia19

Sofia19Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 19 likes

It’s ok, but my Asko was better

published

I bought this after reading how amazing it is- but have to say, not very impressed. Consistently leaves items unwashed- even when there is only half a load. Really disappointed as it cost a lot. I should just kept my old Asko. The other problem is everything is constantly wet when the cycle is finished.
One good thing, it is quiet. I am going to contact Bosch separately.

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,560.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Cathy S.

Cathy S.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

My favourite appliance....Love my Bosch series 8 dishwasher

published

Don't know why I took so long to get a dishwasher! After lots of research. We purchased a Bosch series 8 dishwasher SMS88T101A/51 made in Germany. Ive had it for the last 6 months now and still very impressed. Love how quiet it is and how clean my dishes come out. I use it once or twice a day. Love my three pull out trays with cutlery tray or optional basket. I love how i can adjust all the trays, positions to fit all my different size plates, pots, pans, glasses. Highly recommend.

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Cathy S.
Cathy S.

I need a new washing machine soon. Might look at a Bosch soon if you can help.

Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
David

DavidSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 31 reviews
  • 34 likes

Expensive, and somewhat disappointing.

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,205.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Freestanding Dishwashers

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox) compares to other Freestanding Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Daniel R.

Daniel R.Perth, WA

Poor at Everything

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
PhilB

PhilBNew South Wales

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Proud owner of 2 of these, this is how we do it!

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Phil,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. This has come through an Australian website and you would have to contact customer service in New Zealand to discuss options.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

PhilB
PhilB

Cheers for that....problem will be global however....and needs to be fixed at the factory....not the reseller. You should be directing the query UP not SIDEWAYS

Gary C.

Gary C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good dish washer

published

Purchased to replace a Maytag disher that lasted about 20 years and was still going strong. Very happy with it and it cleans well and is very quiet. Wash time is about 3 hours which is a lot longer than old one but is more economical.

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Just out of warranty .. power supply

published

We purchased this dishwasher two years ago when our previous Bosch dishwasher (white with a dial and much cheaper) ceased working after 20+ years without incident. This new dishwasher just exceeded its 2 year warranty and the power supply died. Having spent $1400 on this machine we expected it, too, to last at least a few years (estimated 5 or 6) without incident, but to our dismay we were wrong. The service person arrived last week and fixed it at a cost of $450 which is the price of some new dishwashers (different brand and poorer water consumption). However, we will certainly not be fixing this dishwasher again should it have another fault.

Purchased in September 2017 at RetraVision for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Steve,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your dishwasher. If we can be of any help to you feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

bms

bmsPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great dishwasher but could be better

published

I do really like our Bosch Serie 8 dishwasher, had it for almost 3 years now and 99.5% of the time, dishes are sparkling clean. It's ultra quiet and dries the dishes really well too. Only flaws are despite being mindful of how we stack the bottom basket, we still see rub marks on some of our plates from where the rotating arm hits them. This is even after ensuring there is ample gap. Some of the basket parts are also starting to split and rub off the plastic covering and rust on the hinge points although to be fair we use it everyday at least, so this is after 1000+ cycles. Besides that, it's a solid dishwasher and our 2nd Bosch, the quality in general is very good.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Thommo

ThommoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not the best

published

Constant E24 errors. Keep cleaning no good for a machine that is 2.5 years old. Will be placing on ebay and buying something else. Used to be quiet, now quite noisy

Purchased in December 2016 at The Good Guys for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Freestanding Dishwashers

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox) compares to other Freestanding Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TinToy

TinToyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 17 likes

Not up to the job!

published

When I was choosing a new dishwasher two years ago I thought that paying a premium for a product that was both designed and made in Germany would be a guarantee of trouble free performance. How wrong I was. My pots, pans, plates, cups, knives and forks, or any of the other kitchen ware that typically goes into a dishwasher rarely come out properly clean. After two years it is getting worse. Having a variety of settings is useless when even keeping it on the super wash option is not effective. There are times when I have had to repeat the whole cycle twice. Even though I use the recommended dish cleaning capsules they frequently remain undissolved at the end of a full cycle. In my experience this Bosch model is not fit for purpose.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Aly_S

Aly_SSydney

  • 22 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quiet and cleans well. Large compartments for big pots and pans. Wish it dried better

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
craigwreid1

craigwreid1Sydney, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 14 likes

Dishes Smell. Eco Mode Unusable.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Appliances Online for $1,336.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
cavara40

cavara40South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst dishwasher ever made.

published

Bought this dishwasher for $1400 November 18 took 6 months for it to fully stop functioning. Had to get both main boards replaced. After 5 weeks the machine wont turn on again. Worst $1400 ever spent. Should of stuck to a $300 Dishlex at least they turn on and function when you need them. How do i make it 0/5 stars?

Purchased in November 2018 at The Good Guys for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Tim L.

Tim L.South East Queensland, QLD

Died.

published

Bought 13 June 2015, expecting to get many years from it. It died two days ago. No lights, no one at home. For a premium product, this isn't what I expect.

Purchased in June 2015 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Page 1 of 11
See all Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers reviews

Questions & Answers

P J.

P J.asked

Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox)

Hi
Just bought a Bosch SMS88TI10A dishwasher for a rental property.
noticed when taking away the old dishwasher that there is only one supply hose available (not sure if it is hot or cold - but presume hot hose). However, I noticed that there are 2 hose connections on the back of the new Bosch dishwasher.

Is it OK to connect and use one hose ( -the one I already have), or do I need to connect 2 water supply hoses for the dishwasher to function correctly.

Thanks
Phil
\

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi PJ,
Thanks for your question regarding the Bosch SMS88TI01A.
There is only one inlet hose for the appliance and as per your installation instructions it should be connected to water that is no more than 60 degrees. Cold is better though for the initial rinse to not "cook" any food remnants onto the dishes. The appliance has an internal heater. The other hose is for the drainage.
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

Mark

Markasked

Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox)

I've just bought one of these dishwashers and have run a Quick 45C and a normal 45C wash. Both left the dishes inside very wet both on plastics and crockery. Any suggestions on which cycles are better at drying or which set up settings are best to maximise the drying at the end of a cycle??

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Mark,
Thanks for your question regarding the Bosch SMS88TI01A.
There are a number of tips on page 37 of your user manual.
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

Adi59

Adi59asked

Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox)

Just bought the above model.
After installation I discovered that I can not remove the panel, so I will put the skirt on ? ANY Suggestions ? Help ! please

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Adi59
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your dishwasher.
We'd like to help, if you contact us on 1300 369 744 we’ll investigate for you.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Details

Compare both Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers
CategoryFreestanding Dishwashers
Price (RRP) $2,249.00
FeaturesChild Lock, Cutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option and Height-Adjustable Upper Rack
Number of Place Settings 15
Water Rating5 star(s)
Water Consumption12 L/wash
Energy Rating4 star(s)
Energy Consumption235 kWh per year
Control Panel Position Top
Maximum Noise Level42 db
Number of Programs8
Colour / FinishSilver Inox
Dimensions 845 x 600 x 600 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Compare both Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 4242002841106
  • MPN: SMS88TI01A

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.