??!
6 photos
Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A

Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A

MPN: SMS88TI01A
4.5 from 198 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
135
4 star
39
3 star
8
2 star
11
1 star
5

TinToy

TinToyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Not up to the job!

published

When I was choosing a new dishwasher two years ago I thought that paying a premium for a product that was both designed and made in Germany would be a guarantee of trouble free performance. How wrong I was. My pots, pans, plates, cups, knives and forks, or any of the other kitchen ware that typically goes into a dishwasher rarely come out properly clean. After two years it is getting worse. Having a variety of settings is useless when even keeping it on the super wash option is not effective. There are times when I have had to repeat the whole cycle twice. Even though I use the recommended dish cleaning capsules they frequently remain undissolved at the end of a full cycle. In my experience this Bosch model is not fit for purpose.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Aly_S

Aly_SSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Quiet and cleans well. Large compartments for big pots and pans. Wish it dried better

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
craigwreid1

craigwreid1New South Wales, 2114

  • 22 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified purchase

Dishes Smell. Eco Mode Unusable.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Appliances Online for $1,336.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
cavara40

cavara40South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst dishwasher ever made.

published

Bought this dishwasher for $1400 November 18 took 6 months for it to fully stop functioning. Had to get both main boards replaced. After 5 weeks the machine wont turn on again. Worst $1400 ever spent. Should of stuck to a $300 Dishlex at least they turn on and function when you need them. How do i make it 0/5 stars?

Purchased in November 2018 at The Good Guys for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Tim L.

Tim L.South East Queensland, QLD

Died.

published

Bought 13 June 2015, expecting to get many years from it. It died two days ago. No lights, no one at home. For a premium product, this isn't what I expect.

Purchased in June 2015 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Dan

DanPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

This would be the Porsche of all dishwashers, and you pay for what you get

published

Purchased in August 2016.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

MyView2

MyView2Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

One month out of warranty and this is how it now cleans dishes

published

Two months out of warranty and this is how our promised 'amazing performance' dishwasher now cleans...it's like our pots never went through a wash. Incredibly frustrated and previously loyal Bosch customer.

Purchased in May 2017.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Brendan

BrendanCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice until 1 month after warranty then died, manufacturer no help

published

We bought the top model possible from the good guys on the basis of reliability. 1 month after manufacturer warranty finished it died. A dangerously faulty power cord was the cause, the likes of which 2 electricians with 60 yrs combined experience have never seen. Rang the manufacturer, whose 1st response was "not our problem, it's out of warranty". It has been a nice dishwasher, but this response to my problem from the company shocked me.

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
1234trev

1234trevAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Super Quite

published

Easy purchase; smooth delivery and installation. Like our previous family Bosch dishwasher this unit is even more of a hero. Digital touch display within the inside of door, easy to use. Several loading options make for easier loading. Filter easy enough to clean. **Whisper quite operation. Well done Bosch; more power to you for yet another quality product. (NB. I have now found receipt and can see we paid $1,398:00 more than I had remembered as this model was NOT on sale however no regrets at having paid more than some models.)

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys, Albury NSW.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Betty A.

Betty A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Dishes come our sparkling!

published

Great dishwasher, cleans dishes well, even when in the quick setting. It looks stylish and is very quiet. Great internal layout, that can cater for every day dishes or a dinner party without issue. So happy with our purchase!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Blark

BlarkSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good, until you have untrained guests

published

I had a couple of guests stay for a couple of days. They overloaded the machine so the spray arms could not swing. Fault code E19 came up. Soap delivery or or heat pump exchanger fault.
On inspection I have found a power transistor on the control board blown. Service call out is $99 includes the 1st 15 min then $35 every 15 min after woods. New control board over $400. I saw a $700-900 bill coming.
I ordered 1 x STN9620 power transistor and 3 x STN83003 transistors ($20) to replace the switch mode side of the power supply. You would think an expensive late model machine would cater for the untrained visitor.
Not Bosch. Wish me luck.

Purchased in March 2016 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

abjmelbourne

abjmelbournemelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very useful and efficient

published

I have been using this dishwasher for 8 months now. Silent Operation and uses only 12 litres of water as advertised. That is a big achievement considering the amount of dishes you can wash. I usually scape and rinse the dishes for better result. Always uses with Finish Rinse aid to complete the cleaning. Very easyto use

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Smashy

SmashyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Work great - very quiet

published

Had the dishwasher a few weeks, it's used daily. Cleans the dishes well and is very quiet. The option to do half loads has been very handy. We did get the extended warranty to be safe but that is more of a pre-caution should there be any issues in the future. I would highly recommend this dishwasher - SMS88TI01A

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,339.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Kylie

KylieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Highly unreliable

published

This was a beautiful dishwasher but highly unreliable. Its heating element failed a month before warranty end and they had to order the part in, leaving us without a dishwasher for over 2 weeks. Then 2 months after its warranty ended its computer failed which was apparently a $500+ repair. I called Bosch but they basically said too bad so we binned it. I wouldn’t touch a Bosch appliance again.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Kylie
Kylie

Hi
I emailed you guys my mobile number about 6 weeks ago but never heard back.

Manu

ManuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Quiet and very effective

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Karen Donnelly

Karen DonnellyQueensland, Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good quality dish washer

published

Our first dishwasher was quite easy to install. We have had it for 3 months and no problems so far. No leaks, drains well and no problems so far and we don't rinse our dishes before putting them in. Cleans well and I love the 44 min cycle as it cleans well but saves on water and power.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Amit

AmitSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Upper arm hitting upper rack - Noise problem

published

I have bought 2 of these dishwashers based on the reviews on productreview and also recommended to my family and friends.
However, after using this dishwasher for 3 months I see two issues common in my dishwasher.

Upper arm hitting upper basket during cleaning cycle and make lot of noise. This happen with both of the dishwashers.

I understand that these dishwashers don't use heating element but drying is not satisfactory. sometimes when I pull out cutlery tray after ECO cycle it is full of water. i have raised the concern with Bosch Support and hope they will help me out.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Amit
Amit

Thank you for your reply.
Middle basket already fixed up on the highest level. I will call Bosch customer support number.

Thanks


NikkiBikkie

NikkiBikkieMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

One of the best decisions we’ve ever made!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Rayes

RayesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Spotless cleaning and extremely quiet!

published

The most luxurious looking dishwasher I have ever seen! I love all the different settings and additional features it offers. I always use the extra dry option as it even dries all plastics and I never had an issue with glass cups either. I always scrape my dishes with a brush to avoid any scrapes clogging the dishwasher. I have been using this dishwasher for a couple of months now and I never had any issues with it. I usually put it on at night before we go to sleep and the noise never annoyed us. Installation was easy as we did it on our own. Definitely worth the money!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Row

RowSydney

  • 5 reviews

Works well

published

We bought this to replace our 10 year old Bosch that broke. It had been a pretty good dishwasher so we just went the same brand again.
We installed ourselves and the installation manual was terrible. Luckily YouTube videos helped somewhat.
We have been using it for about a month now and are happy with it.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Page 1 of 10

See all Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers reviews

Questions & Answers

Phil C

Phil Casked

Hey
My machine has been good
Today it wont turn on, the screen lights up quickly then goes out.
Tried resert etc.
After power was disconnected we tried again.
A message came up in german??? Saying no communication.
Its not that old

2 answers
Tim L.
Tim L.

Mine lasted 4 years. Then I didn't even get lights.

Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Phil C,
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch dishwasher.
We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your appliance.
We'd like to help, if you contact us on 1300 369 744 we’ll investigate for you.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia


Stephen Honig

Stephen Honigasked

The plastic on top tray that swings to hold the cups fell off and I don't know how to replace it?

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Stephen, Thanks for your question regarding your Bosch SMS88TI01A dishwasher.
Please refer to your user manual under Etagere.
Adjust the height of the etagere as follows:
1. Position the etagere vertically and pull upwards.
2. Push etagere at a slight angle downwards to the required height (1, 2, or 3).
3. Engage etagere. Etagere “clicks” into position.


Dawn and Ralph

Dawn and Ralphasked

what does the machine care function do and how often should i use it

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Dawn and Ralph,
Thanks for your question regarding the Bosch SMS88TI01A dishwasher.
As soon as the Machine Care display lights up in the control panel, or you are advised to do so on the front display, run the Machine cleaning program Machine Care without loading any tableware. After you have run the Machine Care the display in the control panel will go out.
If your dishwasher does not have a reminder function, follow the instructions on your manual for use on the machine cleaning detergents. Please note this function appears to not be available for your model dishwasher.
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia


Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Details

CategoryFreestanding Dishwashers
Price (RRP) $2,099
FeaturesCutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack and Self Cleaning
Number of Place Settings 15
Water Rating5 star(s)
Water Consumption12 L/wash
Energy Rating4 star(s)
Energy Consumption141 kWh per year
Control Panel Position Front
Maximum Noise Level42 db
Number of Programs8
Colour / Finish Stainless Steel
Dimensions 845 x 600 x 600 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Compare all Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 4242002841106
  • MPN: SMS88TI01A

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.