??!
6 photos
Bosch SMS50M22AU / SMS50M28AU

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
70
4 star
22
3 star
6
2 star
4
1 star
3

Poor lifespan for premium brand - Update: repaired under ACL

published

Purchased in August 2015 at The Good Guys Physical store for $929.00.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Jas

Jas

  • 2 reviews

Second machine - failed just out of warranty again! Avoid Bosch dishwashers!!

published

This is our second bosch dishwasher. The first one failed just outside the 2 year warranty (wrote a review about it here) Bosch replaced the entire machine as it was deemed unrepairable! This was with just 12months of actual use at 1 wash per day. This second replacement machine is less than 3 years old and has just failed. Will not start a cycle, press start, and nothing. Again just months out of warranty! Their call centre refused to help. Now we have to spend hundreds of dollars to repair it. Seems the bosch dishwashers are unreliable. Its sad this brand isnt the quality they used to be. Bosch, an expected life for a dishwasher surely is longer than 2 years right?

Purchased in September 2016 at The Good Guys for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
Doogle

Doogleperth

  • 2 reviews

excellent service from Bosch

published

the team at Bosch have been excellent in the way they have handled my issue. Ebony in particular was so prompt and polite in her approach. The dishwasher itself is outstanding and cleans really well and is quiet. But I just happened to get faulty one that has some problems and Bosch Australia did a great job in providing me with information and were exemplary in how they handled my situation. Thank you.

Purchased in November 2018 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Bibi P

Bibi PAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great dishwasher

published

Cleans almost perfectly. Great price. Looks fantastic in my kitchen. Very easy to use. Can fit a lot of dishes at top and bottom. Only negative is that the moveable pieces on the racks can sometimes pop off which is annoying. Overall, a great product and would definitely buy again.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

ness76

ness76

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great

published

I chose a more expensive brand this time and haven’t had a Bosch before I was hesitant about the cutlery tray up the top on a slide shelf but I will never go back to a basket style. It cleans much better. I don’t honk the filter stays as clean as it should.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

George

GeorgeBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Good price for a great dishwasher

published

We have been so happy with this dishwasher. The adjustable rack up the top means all the wine glasses fit in perfectly. The timer function allows us to schedule the cycle to start while we are asleep, this means we are using power in an off peak period. If you need a quick wash you can halve the cycle time although we mostly use the Eco setting and this works perfectly. The filter is easy to remove and clean.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Surfaone

SurfaoneSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Excellent value for money dishwasher

published

Whisper quiet. Nice clean dishes. Option to cut time to half is excellent, always use this option and dishes always come out clean.
After going through 3 dishwasher over 15 years Im hoping this one will last for years to come.
Only paid $980 so not an expensive dishwasher by any means.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Misse83

Misse83AU

  • 6 reviews

Very happy!

published

We bought a place and the dishwasher didn't work and on the hunt for a new one we came across this and so happy we went with it. It has been exactly what we wanted. We had a few features we wanted such as delay start and child lock. Absolutely love the top cutlery shelf which then frees up the bottom area to fit more in it. It is quiet and with multiple settings suits us perfectly.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
choom78

choom78Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Good dishwasher

published

I love my bosch dishwasher. I can't live without it. Washing dishes are such tedious everyday chores. I really appreciate my husband to convince me to buy this. I reckon this is second best dishwasher. I believe that best one is miele. However this is quite decent for a price. Especially I like the cutley tray on the top self. It washes spoons and forks very thoroughly. Annoying thing is I can't go to bed while it is running since it doesn't have the function it opens a door automatically when it finishes.

Date PurchasedAug 2014
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Ali

Ali

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Dishwasher!! Very quiet!

published

I purchased this dishwasher on sale from the Good Guys. Being told to look for the one made in Germany, this is made in Spain, but for the price it was too hard to miss. Amazingly good dishwasher. Cleans the dirtiest of dishes, and does so with little to no noise.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Radelaide

RadelaideAdelaide

  • 5 reviews

Two years on and extremely happy with purchase

published

Before buying this I did lots of research and it seems to have paid off. We have been using for almost two years and I don't think it has let us down once.
Surprisingly quiet and seems like it is always working efficiently. The dishes are nearly always totally dry, except where we have made a mistake in stacking it.
The only thing I don't like is the stainless steel cover is thin and buckles when you press on it, although it always regains its shape so probably doesn't matter. Very occasionally the tablet doesn't dissolve properly, but again it may be something we are doing wrong.
All in all this has been one of my best purchases ever, would recommend this or a similar one from Bosch.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Radelaide,
Thanks for your review. We really appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch SMS50M28AU Dishwasher.
If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.


Jake N

Jake NHobart

  • 3 reviews

Extremely quiet and efficient

published

This is the first dishwasher I have ever owned and I fail to see how one could be much better. It is very quiet, so much so that I struggled to believe it was actually working. It cleans to perfection every time and there is plenty of space to stash dishes, plates, and bowls.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Manda

MandaBLACKBURN NORTH

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Bosch dishwasher

published

I purchased the Bosch dishwasher as it is on sale at Harvey Norman. Although u have several programs for choices. But 3 of them take more than 2 hours to finish. The last choice is 25 mins. The worst thing is it can not clean the dishes well. I have to remove all the dirt completely before putting them into the machine. Otherwise, the dirt still remains on the dishes after washing.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

oshop

oshopAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

still happy with my purchase

published

We bought a new dishwasher a year ago and have had no issue with it. Love being able to elevate the trays as it makes it so easy to place large pots and lids in it for washing. I'd love to find out exactly how much water is being used for each cycle though.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Ack

AckNewcastle

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

So quiet!

published

This dishwasher cleans really well and has some great features. The optical detection system is clever and means you use less water each time. It's also very quiet, so much so I had to check if it was actually running the first few times I used it. It's a recent purchase so I can't comment on longevity. It seems a touch smaller on the top tray than our previous dishwasher though.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
margirabbit

margirabbitCaringbah South

  • 5 reviews

My Kitchen Lifesaver!

published

I love this dishwasher.
It is so quiet that sometimes I have to check if it is operating!
The cutlery tray is great! When you load put all like cutlery side by side. This makes unpacking so much quicker.
It cleans very efficiently.
It gives you many options to accommodate heavy duty cleaning, quick wash, glass, eco wash etc.
I am very happy with this machine!

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Janette Alford

Janette AlfordGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Disappointed with rinse aid

published

Would agree with other comments of the enormous amount of rinse aid that it uses. Haven’t noticed this with other dishwashers. I was thinking about changing rinse aid brand when I read the similar reviews. Could this be a fault with this brand. Overall, dishwasher runs quietly through the cycle.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Catherine2781

Catherine2781North Geelong

  • 2 reviews

Not as great as anticipated - want my old Asko back

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Drives me mad

published

Cleans and is pretty quiet. But goes through rinse aid like nothing on earth, dishes still wet. And for a family of four, is too small internally. I've had it for a year but will replace it soon. what more can I say? If you like to cook or have a bigger family, perhaps try another model or brand

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Coolvar

Coolvar

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good solid unit

published

Cleans the dishes well. Reasonably quiet. However, does tend to block more often than others. Flood protection comes in very handy.The instruction manual was easy to read and understand.
The unit tends to use more rinse aid than my previous dishwashers. Do not work very well with finish, tends to leave residue behind.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Simon L.

Simon L.asked

SMS50M28AU (Stainless Steel)

May I ask what are the sizes of the front panel to be installed separately?

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Simon L.
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch SMS50M28AU Dishwasher.
Please contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia


Zana I.

Zana I.asked

What is the price and where can you buy it?

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Zana, Thanks for the question regarding the Bosch SMS50M22AU & SMS50M28AU. Please refer to the Bosch Home Australia website https://www.bosch-home.com.au/shop
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia


Sophie

Sophieasked

SMS50M22AU (White)

Please can you send me clear, simple instruction on how to change to half load wash ? So, i can use it more frequently. I have a look in the manual booklet numerous times, instruction not clear (either that I am a dumb old housewife!) Thank you.

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Sophie, Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch dishwasher. You can set the half load wash by holding down the last button on your right hand side until the half load symbol appears (in the user manual it's button number 5).If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia


Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Details

Bosch Home Appliances SMS50M22AU (White)
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2018
  • 2017

Bosch Home Appliances SMS50M22AU (White)

48 reviews
Bosch Home Appliances SMS50M28AU (Stainless Steel)
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2018
  • 2017

Bosch Home Appliances SMS50M28AU (Stainless Steel)

57 reviews
CategoryFreestanding DishwashersFreestanding Dishwashers
FeaturesChild Lock, Cutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack and Time Remaining DisplayChild Lock, Cutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack and Time Remaining Display
Number of Place Settings 1414
Water Rating5 star(s)5 star(s)
Water Consumption11 L/wash11 L/wash
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)
Control Panel Position FrontFront
Maximum Noise Level44 db44 db
Number of Programs55
Colour / Finish WhiteStainless Steel
Dimensions 845 x 600 x 600 mm845 x 600 x 600 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.